Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lacy Layering Skort

Pieced skort with elastic waistband. Visible stitching detail throughout with lace trim along the hem. *Viscose *Import
overall average rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Reviews for Lacy Layering Skort
Review 1 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:slender
Light and delicate element for any outfit!
1.23.2012
"I got the Ivory in XS and it's a very cute piece. It is extremely sheer and is not to be worn alone. I wear it over tights or with some short shorts underneath (like the Lace Trim Bike Shorts). Then I usually layer this under long sweaters, like the model in the Ivory. It is a little loose throughout so it becomes more like a skirt than shorts in the coverage department. 4 stars only because it's so sheer and it'd be nice to wear alone sometimes. At the same time, I kind of like that it's so sheer and delicate looking, though."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
great for layering
12.5.2011
"bought this in ivory in my usual xs. i own the viscose voile slip in ivory as well, and if you can imagine cutting that slip and making it into a short, skort version, this would be it. it is obviously sheer but i bought it to wear under things, so it doesn't bother me a bit. i would have to agree with other reviewers. it does run a bit big. the elastic band does not fit all that well, and ends up bunching a bit and creates sort of an odd look if you tuck something in with it. besides this minor flaw, i would say this is a great piece for layering with, certainly versatile."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:21-25
body type:curvy
sheer
10.6.2011
"I got the black, and I knew it would be too sheer to wear as shorts, so I am not shocked. I plan to wear this over top of leggings with shirts that don't cover my bum, since I hate the look of just leggings with t-shirts. It is feminine and cute, and not too expensive."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:14-20
body type:petite
Really cute but runs large!
9.13.2011
"After reading everyone's comments about how these were pretty short and just another form of lingere, I decided to get a S in charcoal, hoping that it would be slightly longer and perhaps more decent. What a mistake though - S is pretty large! The waistband drooped all the way, slightly below my hip bone! I managed to solve the problem by folding up the waistband 2 times, but that means I can't wear it with a tucked in top anymore.. :( So for petite girls, get an XS! Yes its slightly sheer but its fine with a pair of short safety shorts inside! Very cute and pretty too I must say, great for matching oversized tops and sweaters. Just be careful if you are wearing oversized, as when u bend forward or stand up (after sitting down), the shorts tend to cling to the top, revealing whats supposed to stay hidden. All in all, a really beautiful piece! Can't wait for the other colours to be restocked in XS! :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
runs very big
7.27.2011
"These are super cute on and I love how they kind of look like a skirt but are shorts! However, they run HUGE. I have hips but am thin. I am usually a size S or XS in tops and a size 27 jean. I originally ordered a M, but exchanged for XS."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Nice
7.20.2011
"I specifically bought this in ivory to go under the printed godet slip in champagne. Though it is a little see through, it is a slip so as long as your wearing it underneath something it works just fine. I bought the XS, my usual size, and it fits just right- maybe just a touch on the big side. Its perfect for the godet slip but works so well with many other things in my wardrobe! good buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Printed Godet Slip
4.3 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
My most useful FP purchase
6.8.2011
"Great great great skort! I got the white, size XS, and I'm 5'7.5", 116 lbs, 32" hips, between sizes XS and S. I wear this skort at my hips because I don't like it super short. It fits fine, but the waistband does crinkle (if you look at the models, the front of the waistband lies perfectly flat/smooth against their stomachs, so if you don't have a perfectly flat stomach, the waistband will crinkle) - for this reason, I would order a small if I decide to get another. The only thing to look out for is that the lace can catch onto another piece of lace in a different part of the skort, so I would run my hands over the skort every now and then to unhook any areas that get caught and could potentially cause an embarrassing situation if you're going to be wearing it alone. It is COMPLETELY sheer and the material is very thin, so I will only be wearing it underneath shorter skirts and dresses as well as under sheer garments. This skort is so so pretty! It works under every piece I own! I wish FP made them in every single colour!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Full Maxi Chiffon Skirt
4.1 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Costa Mesa
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
look like granny panties
6.7.2011
"I ordered the ice blue in XS... the true color is very baby blue. On the web it looked more like a grayish color, but in person it is much more blue (and a little see-through). Not only was I not expecting the color, but the color is somehow granny-ish. Plus, they run slightly large so they are slightly saggy, making them feel like granny panties. They also hike up a bit in the back, and with the flowy-ness of the material it feels like you aren't fully covered. Soft and comfortable stretchy waist. If it wasn't for the color, I may have kept them because I think they would still work as a layering piece underneath dresses."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:austin
age:21-25
body type:slender
VERY short, and flattens butt
6.3.2011
"i'm normally a 0 or 2 or size 25 in jeans, and the xs was too big on me. it also completely flattened by butt. i wouldn't recommend this for anyone who doesn't wear super short shorts, because they are VERY SHORT, and if you bend over, you can see EVERYTHING because of how loose it is. the design is good in thought, but wish it came in number sizes so it can actually fit like it's supposed to."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Pretty
6.2.2011
"I bought these shorts in white! I love the way it hangs, it's so pretty and super comfortable. I would of given this 5 stars if it was more solid. It is a bit see through, so you shouldn't wear bright or dark coloured panties underneath especially if it's the ivory/white coloured one. I'm about 128-130 pounds and 5'7" and the medium fit well for me (I like it how its a bit loose but doesn't fall off). Overall, so happy with my purchase esp. while wearing loose sweaters, it gives it a comfy/girly touch."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Beverley Hills, California
age:14-20
body type:petite
lets talk about how in love I am
5.28.2011
"these shorts are so cute on and deffinetley sexy. I got them in black and I usually pair it with a baggy nude top, with a black blazer. Its the perfect effortlessly chic piece, it adds a whimsical air to tailored pieces. I get so many compliments when I wear these its ridiculous."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
nice layering piece
5.3.2011
"a really simple, thin, and comfy skort, exactly as pictured, but the only thing i dislike is that the waistband seems very flimsy and the actual elastic inside flips around in the fabric which is somewhat annoying."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:36-40
body type:slender
I LOVE THESE!!
4.16.2011
"I just got my baby blue pretty little short, skirt, skorts....whatever in the mail.. and they are so cute. I'm 5'5 and 114, I got an Xtra SM.. they are perfect and flirty and sure a little shear , so don't wear black undies under them, my only bummer is I can't get the black in a extra small. Super cute and gorgeous.
BUY THEM!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love style, not ivory, too sheer, fits large
3.13.2011
"I was obsessed with this skort in ivory and was upset when they sold out in only a few days. I finally got a chance to have them shipped from an FP store in NYC, so jumped at the chance. Unfortunately I will not be wearing these, but am stuck as I have no way to return them. I will start by saying that the style of this skort is simply adorable. The hem is cute and the soft fabric drapes perfectly. If FP ever releases these in new warmer colors in the future, I will def buy them. Unfortunately, I pirchased this to wear instead of a layering slip under sweaters, tunics, etc. I cannot use the ivory this way as the fabic is totally see through. Seeing every detail of your panties sort of defeats the purpose of using a skort to make shorter pieces "decent". I don't wear tights, but if you found light enough opaque tights, you could make the ivory work that way. I personally was looking for (and expecting) a true ivory. This is closer to pure white. This is something that is a matter of taste and may actually be a plus for someone else. In addition, I ordered a S and it is HUGE. The relaxed waist measures 30". I def need an XS in this style. The hip and thigh opening is very generous, so I would suggest sizing down if you are between sizes. :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Sheer & sexy
3.6.2011
"I got the white in XS and it is such a great layering piece! I love to wear it with long tops/tunics. The skort is sheer;
sexy "bedroom" look.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
so cute and useful!
2.8.2011
"I love these! I have the ivory and the charcoal, and they're the perfect layering piece for long shirts and short dresses. I got the XS and wear it low around my hips. I love how it gives just enough length to short dresses and adds a lovely lacey touch peeking out the bottom. Highly recommend this piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
A little short but beautiful!
1.28.2011
"I got the charcoal ones and they are so dainty! I feel in love with these when I saw them online. I'm usually an xs so I order in that size. They seem to be long in the front but they are really short in the back. I hadn't noticed until my mom told me she could see my bottom... I still wore them all day but pulling them down was difficult since they seem to ride up and waist stays well on my waist. So if you want a little more control I would size up I think. Overall though I love them and they are great for layering but not so much for being my only bottom piece."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
love
1.14.2011
"I've been watching the returns on this item, and managed to snag an xs in the charcoal colour. I love them. They fit true to size - I'm 5'8, 120 pounds, and they fit me exactly as they fit the model. The charcoal colour isn't very see-through on me -- you can only see through it when there is backlighting. The colour is a nice dark grey with black lace, and the length reaches to not-quite my mid-thigh. I'm planning on layering these under slips, tunics, and see-through or slightly-too-short skirts. I'm also planning on layering these under dresses and skirts when the wind is stronger for some extra protection. I'm hoping to snag these in an xs or s of the ivory too (fingers crossed), and maybe a s of the charcoal colour to see if that gives me a little more length than the xs. I keep hoping FP will restock these in all the sizes since they went so insanely quickly, but so far obviously that hasn't happened. Dear FP, please restock the ivory colour. Please please. Thanks."
Response from Free People:By EmilyWeb1.17.2011
Have no fear! The Ivory color will be back in the Spring!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
cute
1.12.2011
"i ordered the black skort in a size small and received them about a week ago. they are not exactly as pictured. i already knew they were more of an off black (dark greyish)/see thru from reading other reviews. to get the black shorts as pictured on the model i had to pull them up almost as high as they could go without hugging me down there. from the front they looked nice, but from the back my bottom was halfway exposed. so i pulled the front up like before and the back end down if that makes any sense. also put a pair of tights underneath them. well i didn't feel very comfortable wearing them and the tights rubbing against the skort would cause the skort to ride up inbetween my legs which would lead to me constantly pulling them down in that area. i was hoping these would become one of my favorite items considering i immediately bought a size small when it came in stock. i will be returning these."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Lacy Layering Skort
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Very Cute!
1.10.2011
"this is a "must-have" layering item. the fit is pretty true to size, but it does run a little bit big in my opinion. however, i definitely recommend it"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>