Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Russian Doll Dress

Floral printed babydoll dress with sequin embellishment and embroidered trimming around neckline and waist. Two pockets at bottom front of dress. Sleeve hems are stretchy. Keyhole opening at upper back with button closure. Zips up left side of waist. Lined. *Outer - 100% Polyester *Lining - 100% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 34 3/4" Bust (all around): 35 1/2" Sleeve Length: 23 7/8"
overall average rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Customer Reviews for Russian Doll Dress
Review 1 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:ny
age:31-35
body type:slender
adorable frock
2.18.2013
"This dress is so cute! I love the modest cut and the detail. The pockets are so much fun!! I liked the black one so much that I got it in white too!
Great buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful But Odd Fit
1.25.2013
"After reading the reviews, I sized up from a 2 to a 4. When I tried on the dress it was big on me, kind of looks like maternity wear. I am currently deciding on whether or not to exchange for a 2, because the dress is a little difficult to take off as it gets stuck around the shoulder area. It's not loose on the bust but loose on the band directly under the bust (I'm a 32 C). This dress is beautiful however and very unique, I like the feel of the material."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Az
age:41-45
body type:slender
Cute dress
1.23.2013
"Casual, fun to wear. Received many compliments. I am 5'4" 115 lbs, ordered a size 8 after reading reviews and it fit just right, hits 2 to 3 inches above the knee.."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Sweet but Small
1.14.2013
"This dress looks exactly as pictured. I have the cream color. The name suits the dress as it looks very much like a Russian doll dress. This dress is worth the sale price. It is made of delicate material but not cheaply so. The one thing is that it is made extremely small especially across the chest. I am usually a 2 and I needed a 6."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:slender
SO GORGEOUS WORTH EVERY $
1.11.2013
"This is a jewel! The material is so soft and its not cheap looking. Very cute on, but be careful of the band across the rib cage -its a little snug to get on/off but wearing it is not a problem. I bought in the cream colour and cannot wait to wear it tomorrow! as mentioned above, this is a great piece and i highly recommend!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful dress!
1.11.2013
"I read reviews before I purchased, so I ordered two sizes up. I normally wear size 4, and I ordered size 8. I am now 7-month pregnant, and I can wear it! It can cover my belly, LOL. However, it is still hard to raise the arms. I guess 2 sizes up will be a good decision! I will wear it at my baby shower this month!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Florida's Sunny Gulf Coast
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Timeless.....snug
1.3.2013
"Thanks to all the reviewers who recommended we size up. Luckily I was able to try this on at the store and a 10 fit me perfectly. (I'm usually an 8/ 36b). The length is longer than pictured, a little above my knees and the cut is flattering on me. I wanted this for a Dec wedding and future event. I liked both colors on line, but wasn't feeling the cream/red in person. It just looked too Christmassy for any other time of the year, IMO. The blue/black is really pretty, although not as vibrant as it appears in the photos. The only thing I may change about the dress, is the elastic wrists. I'd prefer a very slight bell sleeve, with maybe a similar ribbon trim to that which goes around the neckline. The elastic wrists annoy me, but are not a deal breaker. I like that this will work for years."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:slender
Gorgeous, but difficult
1.3.2013
"I love this dress. After reading other reviews I sized up to a 2. When wearing the dress, it does look like a 0 would fit better. When trying to get the dress off however, I needed help. It went on fine, but trying to get it over my shoulder blades was near impossible. There is absolutely no stretch in this dress, but it needs it. I don't have a large bust or huge shoulders, but this dress was a struggle. I am keeping it because I love how it looks so much, but I will be planning ahead for taking it off. Maybe a cotton fabric would have been a better choice. The colors are more muted in person and the tiny sequin embroidery is nothing spectacular. Overall, very cute, but definitely a commitment to wear."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
It does run small in the bust and shoulders
12.31.2012
"FP tends to run really big on me, especially in the bust/shoulder area, so tried this dress on in sizes 0 and 2. The 0 fit better but I had to take off my bra (which had a thin layer of padding) in order for it to not be too tight. I'm very slight-shouldered and a small B cup, so if it was snug on me--it's snug! Otherwise, beautiful dress overall. The size 2 gave me no constriction issues up top but was a little loose."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:free
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful holiday dress
12.29.2012
"Dress pattern is pretty but a size too small to wear the usual 2 bought 6 fit.This is a suitable for holiday dress is the national style I like it very much"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Make it work
12.28.2012
"The dress is absolutely gorgeous, but the sizing is definitely funny. I generally wear a size 4 for dresses that aren't form-fitting, but I decided to go with an 8 based on other reviews since I have broad shoulders. Getting the size 8 made the length much more wearable and safe to even bend over in or lift my arms, and it was loose enough in the shoulders and arms that I could lift my arms up over my head without fear of ripping anything. However, the empire waist is extremely baggy, and the bodice area is a bit loose, as well. But, had I gone with a size 6, it would have been too tight in the arms and shoulders, and possibly too short for comfort.
I'm too in love with this dress to not keep it, so I'm going to get it tailored; I'm just not sure it's possible to get the fit perfect, which is certainly disappointing."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:the cold north
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
unfortunately, i have shoulders.
12.27.2012
"this dress is so beautiful. i mean really, so beautiful. but it is so narrow through the chest, shoulders and upper arm area that you will rip it if you give someone a hug. i was hoping to wear it to a christmas party, yet when trying to pull my hair back from my face, thought i was going to shred this extremely expensive dress. maybe for 1/4 of the price, i would keep it. but really, this dress was not made for women."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE THIS DRESS
12.23.2012
"This Russian doll dress is absolutely beautiful. I get so many compliments on it when I go out. It runs small in the top for sure. If you are busty at all, I would go up a size. The rest of the dress fits fine. It may be hard to move your arms over your head. Other than that, this dress is perfection. :) Wonderful holiday dress also."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Whimsical and beautiful
12.22.2012
"I got this dress in both colors and they are truly gorgeous. I followed previous reviews and sized up (I'm usually a 6 or 8), but found out that the dress runs true to size and so I had to exchange them. Otherwise, a totally pretty dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful, but runs small
12.20.2012
"The dress is very beautiful in both colors and looks as pictured. Maybe it was just the lighting in the store, but the blue/black combo looked almost shiny, so I slightly preferred the white/red colored dress. As pretty and flirty and festive as this dress is, it runs small as others have mentioned. I sized up and got the dress halfway past my shoulders before I stopped. I was already constricting my shoulders as I was putting on the dress, so I was scared that if I pulled it completely past my shoulders that I would never be able to get it off without tearing the dress. So my recommendation is definitely to size up and try it on first, especially if you have a larger bust or broader shoulders. But other than that, this dress is unique and the floral print is pretty. A pity it didn't fit; I would have bought it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Not for the busty
12.19.2012
"I absolutely fell in love with the black and blue color. I'm a huge sucker for empire waists and baby doll styles, too. Reading a couple of the previous reviews, I decided to order a size up. Unfortunately, just getting the tightest part (the band that goes under the breasts)pulled down over my chest was a hassle. And there is no zipper to help you out. For reference, I'm a 34C and run between a M and L at FP, depending on the item. Like others mentioned, once I had it on, I could not lift my arms all the way up without it tugging across the chest. The rest of the dress fit fine, but I didn't think it was very flattering on me. This one will definitely be going back."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
beautiful but....
12.16.2012
"I ordered this dress in the red and white in my usual size. It was abosolutely gorgeous and unique, but way too snug in the chest and shoulders. I took it to my local FP store to exchange for a bigger size, but the bigger size was also too tight in the shoulders and chest. The girls who worked at the store said they had been hearing the same from a lot of customers. Unfortunately, I had to return the dress. Maybe FP could re-make this in a stretchier fabric? So disappointed I won't be able to wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:colorado
age:over 45
body type:petite
SAD
12.14.2012
"Oh my gosh this is the cutest dress, but unfortunately, the fabric does not let you move without fearing it will tear; there is absolutely no stretch to it. I feel very restricted in my movement. especially in the armhole area - if I move my shoulders/arms forward it really felt like the fabric would pull apart at the seams. Sadly, it's going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:Mississippi
age:31-35
body type:petite
i love this dress
12.14.2012
"This dress is beautiful. I ordered the cream and red. It is very festive for the holidays and i had at least 10 compliments on this dress. The Breast area was a little tight on me and i wear a 34 B. If you wear a large cup size you want to size up alot."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Russian Doll Dress
Name:
Location:CHINA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Nation, cute dress
12.9.2012
"A beautiful dress, dress like Russian dolls, lovely, very beautiful, very love,But the Bust a little small,Lift arm is not convenient"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>