Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Pixie Party Tutu Dress

Ribbed knit dress with mesh trims at the top. Metallic elastic dropwaist and tiered ruffle hem with knit and mesh fabrics. * Cotton Blend * Machine Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 27" Chest: 32" Waist: 30"
overall average rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Review 1 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
I CUT OFF THE TOP & MADE IT INTO A SKIRT
9.17.2010
" I saw this dress on clearance for a very affordable price, so i snatched it up. The top is awful. The weight of the skirt pulls on the basic weight of the wife-beater top, which causes it to stretch out terribly. The top made me look lumpy and very fat, but i loved the skirt too much to part with. So, i chopped the top off the dress and left a half inch of wife beater fabric. I took the left over fabric and folded it behind the elastic band of the skirt, and sewed it down. POOF! fantastic skirt! The skirt goes great as a petticoat or just as a skirt. I paired this skirt with the My Rapture dress in orange, the combo is lovely! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
My Rapture Dress
4.5 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 2 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:wi
age:21-25
body type:slender
Disappointed
8.25.2010
" I saw this dress awhile ago and I loved it, so when it went on sale I ordered it right away. When I got the dress it appeared to be stretched out in the top and it also smelled odd...something that has never happened to me before when I've ordered from here. I tried it on anyway and the top was HUGE. I ordered my normal size (S). The top was also much longer than it appears in the photo. Definitely not as pictured. Its unfortunate because the bottom was adorable...I contemplated cutting out the white top and just using the bottom but decided to send it back. Not worth the money or the two shipping charges...I would stay away from this one. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:slender
frilly and pink!
8.1.2010
" This dress is so adorable. I tend to like floral, intricate FP dresses, but there's something so sweet and simple about this one. It's super comfy and has a very ballerina feel. It'd be perfect with light sandals, or accessorized with clunky jewlery to balance it. It feels a little loose, but it looks fine either way. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:south florida
age:26-30
body type:petite
Sweet and girly... and messy
7.25.2010
" The colors and patterns are cute, and the xs fit me perfectly. I was disappointed in the way the layers fell - it didn't seem like much thought was put into placement. I was looking for a reason to buy it, but the weird arrangement of the layers killed it for me. :( "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Chcago
age:41-45
body type:athletic
eight year olds think its awesome!
6.28.2010
" It's super comfortable, the layers look a little messy which keeps the whole thing from looking too cute. Looks great with combat boots. Makes me feel like twirling. Perfect party or hanging out dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
not impressed
6.13.2010
" i tried this dress on in the store and i was sorely disappointed. it looked cute on the hanger but when i tried it on, the top part of the dress was loose and it didn't look like it belonged with the skirt. in addition, the band that connects the top and bottom looks cheap. i'm 5'6 and about 120 pounds and this dress looked awkward on my slender shape. overall, i wouldn't recommend this particular dress. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:athletic
ADORABLE
6.12.2010
" I had been eyeballing this dress for months and was bummed when it first sold out. Then I read the sizing comments and got a little turned off. But then they got it back (only online they tell me) and I went for it. I love it...it is big but I plan to wear a tube top or another tank under it and go for it. The skirt is so great and you can girlie it up with the Jeffrey Cambpell Mary Roks shoe or tough it up with Docs....sweet, original piece...next time they do need to work on the fit though... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Great dress, sizing all wrong.
6.4.2010
" I wear an XS or small in FP depending on what it is. I ordered an XS in this dress but the sizing was all wrong. It was huge around my hips. My usual jean size is 26-27, and when I put this diress on I had a lot of extra material that I could pull tighter around my waist. If you usually wear a small or medium, the XS may actually work for you. This dress is ADORABLE though!!! I did LOVE It... Definitely an original, fun piece that can be dressed up or down. I really had high hopes of keeping this dress, but for the price and for it not fitting 100%, I couldn't. :( Better luck to others out there!!! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:the islands
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
cute!
5.27.2010
" I also do not think the top is see through nor has the wife-beater look or feel to it. The top fits perfectly - the bottom part is an inch or two loose. I am 5'4 102 lbs 32A. When looking at it on the model now it fits me exaclty as it does her. The photo of her from afar is spot on. It does have that hour glass look to the hip area, had it been an inch or two tighter it would eliminate the hourglass look. I would say it makes my hips look a little to wide. The dress is very comfortable and cute. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:petite
so cute.
5.25.2010
" i love this dress. it is super cute, and it fits really well. it's very flattering also. i didn't really see a problem with the top wife-beater part. it isn't see-through at all on me nor is it too big. definite keeper! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Orlando
age:21-25
body type:slender
I wish I could just have the bottom half
5.5.2010
" I was immediately drawn to this dress because of the way the skirt falls, it's so beautiful and it looks like petals of a flower, but then when I got it on, the top was just so ill fitting. It added an extra 15 lbs to my frame. I was sooooo disappointed because the skirt is so so sososososososo gorgeous. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Five stars for the skirt...
4.18.2010
" I love the bottom of this dress. If it was a skirt, it would be a home run. The flounces are romantic and whimsical, and when you wear it, you feel like a fairy princess. The top half of the dress, however, is a cheap, ill-fitting wifebeater. It is see-through (something I have to say about white shirts so frequently it gets redundant), but more importantly, it is BAGGY. The shirt part is just unflattering. It certainly did not look anything like the fit on the model. I also dislike the silver edge, as it reminds me of something that one would find in a store with the word "Mart" in it. The top doesn't totally ruin the dress, as a cute sweater would quickly alleviate any problems. However, it was a big disappointment because I KNOW Free People can make nice tank tops, and this is essentially a tank top attached to a skirt. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Springfield
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
BEAUTIFUL DRESS
4.18.2010
" I LOVE THIS DRESS! I got sooo many compliments when I wore it. My only complaint, is that since I wasn't sure on sizing, and I am generally a Medium, but I got a large, and it was a little loose, so I would say to stick with your regular size on this one. And it does hang down longer than the one on the model, but I see her waistline is higher, so she must have it slightly pulled up--not a bad idea, since the one area where it tends to be slightly less flattering is at the higher waist. I wore this under a pink tee so that it was more appropriate to wear to work. Tank material is too thin to leave uncovered. This is really, overall, a beautiful and unique piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Palo Alto, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
BIG
4.14.2010
" This one runs WAY big. I am normally a medium/large and I am a small in this one. I really like the idea of this one but having it all as one piece makes the fitting a little tricky. I would definitely size down at least one size. The skirt is pretty short, so this one may not be for those of us who are self conscious about our thighs. I like the idea of this dress but I think it might have worked better as 2 pieces. Fabric is soft and easy to wear. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
pretty pixie!
4.8.2010
" You will definately feel like a pixie in this dress!!! So cute and can be styled in so many ways! I'm 5'6'' 110 and got a small cuz I was afriad of it being too short or tight, the small fits nice and comfy with a little room. Love the detail and color! just as pictured... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:ma
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Pixie Party <3
4.8.2010
" This is amazing! I'm obsessed with fairy dresses and I'm so glad I got this!! I got a small and it fits perfect (140lb 34b). The top would have definitly been too big if I sized up. The skirt is the perfect length falls a few inches below my bum. Looks best layered with a lacey tank or cami. I just wish the top wasn't so basic, but it makes the skirt stand out more. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Convertible Cami
4.1 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
Lacey Corset Cami
4.5 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
Crochet Rib Cami
4.5 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
Pucker Up Corset Cami
4.2 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:seattle, washington
age:14-20
body type:curvy
pretty, but poofy.
4.7.2010
" I tried this in at my store and it didn't look very good on me at all. The tank part is very long; it was below my hips, which really threw off the skirt part. The skirt looked way too loose and poofy on me, it was really a disaster. I loved the colors and the patterns. This dress would probably be best for people with a longer torso, that way the skirt sits at the right spot. I tried it on in a large, so it may have worked if I sized down. I'm 5'4", about 137 pounds and usually wear a medium/large.
The skirt was also longer than pictured on the model. It's a pretty dress and very well-made, but the fit isn't amazingly flattering.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Pixie Party Tutu Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Summer Fun
4.3.2010
" Love this dress! FIT: The fit is the same as on the model. Take note, this is a drop waist dress, so wider hips beware. You'll want to go with your usual size on this one because the top is pretty thin, and will look TERRIBLE if it is too tight. You'll also want some room to wear a bra and tank underneath the dress as the top is quite sheer. For shorter girls, the skirt is a little longer than on the model - not long or anything, but I think it might be too short on the model. Note, I'm 5'2", so really tall girls may or may not need to wear leggings with this. LOOK: colors are the same as on the model. The top doesn't look like it in the picture, but it's almost like a wife-beater. Really thin. It didn't discourage me from buying it, but it's worth pointing out. OVERALL: I love the fit and how light and airy this dress is. Great for summer days! Cute with a tank over the top. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Seamless Cami
4.2 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Perfect Paradigm Seamless Tube
4.3 out of 5(142)
 
 
 
Luminescent Tank
3.8 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
Golden State Sweater Tank
4.3 out of 5(12)