Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

First Dance Tunic

Solid-toned or printed shapeless tunic with ruffled bottom hem. Straps are adjustable and tie together at upper back.
overall average rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for First Dance Tunic
Review 1 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:santa cruz, ca
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Adorable
11.17.2013
" Great fabric - looks cute with the right bando - color is better in person. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:over 45
body type:slender
Very Cute!
11.9.2013
" I got this in the polka dot colour and it is very versatile. The ruffles give it a little weight so it hangs nicley. I do wish the colour was a little less see through so I could wear it in the hot weather with only a cotton bra. Recommend it for a comfy casual but pretty look. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:New England
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Nice fabric , good on sale
10.5.2013
" I am 5'4",125#s, athletic built. I bought this in the off white with a dot. I thought it would be lighter in weight from the look of the photo but is a little heavier than I imagined, still very nice fabric & best, "all cotton"! Very roomy and not too short for my height . Hangs nicely and will make a nice summer piece. Personally I wouldn't like it with leggings etc. but at the sale price i like the vintage appeal of the dotted print and it will be great on hot days. If you are big busted , you will be showing too much as it hangs very lose and has just a couple of strings that keep it hanging in place, so you might want to wear a show able bralet with it.
Worth it on sale.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:31-35
body type:petite
Very cute but doesn't suit my body type
9.18.2013
" I found this in the store and was really excited to try it on. I thought it looked really cute on the model but it was way to big and frumpy for me. I'm 5'2" and weigh 100lbs.
It's too bad... :( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:FL
age:36-40
body type:curvy
very cute and comfy!
8.28.2013
" i bought this in the grey at the Brooklyn store off the sale rack. I am so glad I bought it. This is so comfy and cute! I wear it as a dress but in the cooler months it can also be worn with leggings & boots or a layering piece. Love and a great addition to my wardrobe! I got the med and it fits great! I might get the blue one, can't beat the sale price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Burlington, VT
age:21-25
body type:petite
New favorite!
8.4.2013
" I added this to my basket on a whim last minute. I had checked it out before it went on sale but didn't view it as important enough to spend the money on. When I saw that the polka dot one was still available in an XS, I figured I might as well try it out for the sale price since I was already placing an order (what's one more dress, right?). My package came, and this afterthought of a purchase turned out to be one of my favorite things in it. It is easy and flattering despite the fact that it is "shapeless". The layer detail on the bottom is actually much sweeter than it appears online, and adds interest. I am 5ft and the xs is a perfect dress on me, a few inches above the knees. At fitst I was kind of bummed out that the pink wasn't available in my size, but being petite and blonde, the ruffles on the bottom would have been too "little girly" on me anyway. I usually opt for the safer color options, but I am so glad I got the polka dot. I plan on rocking it the rest of the summer, and wearing it with tights, boots, and a slouchy sweater in the fall and winter. This dress is worth the money, especially now that it's on sale! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Montreal, Quebec
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Very versatile
7.30.2013
" My first review.
So happy with this purchase, you can wear it as a dress or over a jeans.
I’m 5 feet and 140 lbs. (34 DD) and the small is perfect.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:41-45
body type:athletic
So cute!
7.20.2013
" I got this at the FP store on sale for $35 and I think it's adorable. I got the denim blue and wear the galloon lace racerback underneath it; so cute! It runs big; I'm 5"8, 135 lbs, 34B and a small was roomy but I like it that way. Looks cute w/beachcomber jean shorts underneath. Even in the winter it will look cute w/a shirt or sweater over it w/the ruffles flouncing out below! Happy w/this purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lovely dress!
7.1.2013
" I ordered this is the lovely, delicate rose petal shade, with the intention of wearing it as a top as I expected it to come up really short on me, being a six footer, however, I can wear it easily as a dress-the straps are adjustable and I have adjusted them enough so that the dress (it is a dress!!) can be worn just a few inches above my knees without the top of the dress being ridiculously low on my chest. The dress is soft and very flowy and I tend to wear it with leggings and vest under and slouchy cardi over or one of the trapeze voile slips over- it's lovely!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
IDEAL FOR A DRESS!
6.12.2013
" I was so impressed how flattering this dress on me! I am 5'9 and at first I thought the length was short but it was just perfect! It doesn't make you look huge, it gives you nice shape! Super comfy and soft! One of my FP favorite piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:scottsdale
age:14-20
body type:slender
perfect for summer
6.3.2013
" I just bought this in the polka dot pattern and cant stop wearing it. It is perfect for a summer dress or as a pool coverup. the strap length is adjustable because the back unties. I think I may get it in another color. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Gaviota, Ca
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Wanted it so bad but it's huge!!
4.15.2013
" I got this in a size large in pink but large was huge! Going to return it. Color was nice though and I like the shapelss design of the dress. Sorry to let this go and I really wanted it in my wardrobe.
Im 5'6'' and it came to my knees. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for First Dance Tunic
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Perfect as a dress!!
3.26.2013
" I ordered this in a LARGE because I wanted to wear it as a dress. Based on the measurements it does run verrrrry roomy. I am a 36DD, size M/L and I am 5'5". This sits about 3 inches above my knee and is very roomy around the back. You can definitely size down. I love the color, bought it in the ivory, and the style of the top. I wear it with a cute bustier underneath, belted and with cute boots. Throw on a lovely hat and you have got the sweetest outfit. Can wear this is so many ways. Love it love it. The best part is that you can also adjust the length of the straps. It is not see through and is exactly as pictured. From side view though it definitely can make a girl look wide but belting it solves that problem. Love!!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large