Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist

Gorgeously embroidered sun dress with drop waist and ruffled skirt portion. Two front pockets. Back has two cool cutouts with tie closures. Stunning detailing. Lined. **Special Note: This dress runs a bit large, and it is recommended to size down one size. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy.
overall average rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
age:14-20
body type:athletic
so cute!!
5.23.2013
" this dress is awesome. i got the white and it is so summery and fun. I am 5'6" 110lbs and got a small. normally i get xs but they were out. the small is a little too big but looks cute and a little baggy. all in all i would recommend this dress for a fun summer day dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:DC
age:26-30
body type:curvy
fresh love!
4.15.2013
" I was hesitant to purchase this dress after reading all the reviews. I'm so glad I bought it! Love the embroidery details and the fresh look it was on me. Sure the armhole is big, but there is nothing a bandeau or a jacket can't fix! Can't wait to wear it when the weather warms up! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:NC
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Ok
4.11.2013
" This dress is of good quality and the details are nice but the fabric is just too thick for a sundress. I live in the hot, humid south and was hoping for a lightweight summer dress but the heavy fabric on the dress would be entirely too much for hot temps.
Will be returning, unfortunately.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:26-30
body type:petite
Ehhhh
4.11.2013
" The color is really off in the photo...it is more like a bring orange-peach and not at all a calming color in my opinion. It is also huge and I am guessing it will not fit most body types well. The fabric is pretty though. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:31-35
body type:slender
Needs some work
3.16.2013
" I love the details on this dress and am a big fan of a drop waist. This dress is so large though, i had to take it up in the shoulders about 5 in and took in the sides about 8 in. Now it looks amazing!!
If you have the time or a great tailor buy it
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:36-40
body type:petite
Looks cute but is enormous!
2.14.2013
" I was so excited to receive the dress but completely disappointed.
Ordered the black, it's more of a faded navy blue.
I'm petite, 5'4", 110lbs so I ordered XS. You could put 2 of me in the dress! It was a tent, completely unwareable.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:center valley
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
A little disappointing...
2.13.2013
" I'm 5'11" and this dress hit me kinda weird. It also ran a little small across my butt but I suspect its because of the fit of the dress. I wasn't thrilled with the look of the dress either. If I wasn't so lazy I might actually return it. I'll wear it eventually but I don't expect to be getting many compliments like other fp dresses I own. I wouldn't buy it or recommend it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:36-40
body type:slender
Brighter Orange !
1.30.2013
" I got the White,the colored details appear pastel on the web,it is really more of a neon. It does run large. I took the advise of the only two reviews at the time of puchase,very glad I did. It is true about the arm holes being huge. I measured the Trapeze dress and the arm holes were 11',these are said to be 12'. The problem is that they are cut in so the whole side of your gils are exposed. It might be wearable to the beach or on vacation ,however church is out of the question. Still lovely details and there is no way I am returning! 5"7',125lbs.36b,.27,36,the xtra small fit just like it is shown. Wish I could afford the Black too. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:NW
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Sunshine day drop waist
1.26.2013
" I loved this dress. I'm am traveling to the Amazon and felt this would be the perfect dress. Sadly it was way too big and long. It didn't flatter at all. Too bad because it sure is cute. I guess I just need to be a foot taller so it will look on me like the model. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great Cover-up
1.21.2013
" Although this dress is better in person, it doesn't jump out at you. That said, I can tell it will be one of my standard go-to garments on vacation and at home in the summer. It's comfy, substantial and flattering. It is very roomy; would require a tank underneath if wearing as a dress, but that's one of the things I like about it. Thought about sizing down but decided to keep it loose and comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Sunshine Day Dropwaist
Name:
Location:New York City
age:41-45
body type:slender
Not Wearable
1.21.2013
" This dress looks nice in the photo, but in reality the arm holes are huge. It can't even be worn with a blouse or camisole underneath because they are so big. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large