Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt

Maxi-length sheer skirt with elastic waistband. *Nylon *Import
overall average rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
obsessed with this skirt
2.13.2011
"i just received this skirt 1 hour ago. i love them soooo much !! i got both colors in size S :) so dreamy and romantic look, its all i wanted !! love love love !!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
super feminine
1.15.2011
"This skirt is amazingly long and full. I feel like a princess. It looks great with motorcycle boots and a tee. It could also be fancy with heels and the right jewelry. I might have to shorten it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:curvy
love this skirt
1.10.2011
"i have this skirt in black and i love it!! i am 5'10 and i hae the medium. it is very long but it does not touch the floor,but almost does. i can wear this with heels or flats. i agree if you are any shorter it will drag the floor, heel would be a must. i will wear black leggings with this as it is very sheer but super fun and very diffrent skirt. keep bringing the maxi length skirts and dresses for the tall girl!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Best buy of the season...
1.7.2011
"This is my favorite purchase of the season, hands down. I got both colors. They are gorgeous. They ARE long . . . if you don't want to have to wear heels, you may have to trim the bottom. It's not hard . . . I trimmed the white skirt -- took me about a half an hour to take 3 inches off the bottom of each layer. I'm not a seamstress, but the bottom is not even when it arrives -- my 12 year old could've cut it and no one would've known, so don't let the length hold you back.
I would size down if you are between sizes -- I have one S and one M -- the small is shorter.
The one problem I have is the white skirt has a black waistband. It took a bit to figure out how to deal with that, but in the end I'm layering things over it that do not allow the waistband to show, so it's working out. Don't know what they were thinking.
The "white" skirt is not white. It's a grayed white. I fought the color when I first got it, but once I embraced the gray, it made all the difference in the world. Pair it over gray or black leggings, or a sleek gray or black skirt - it's too sheer to wear without something under it (at least for me), and I found if I go with the gray/black/steel blue color, it all comes together very nicely.
Both skirts also work well to layer under other fairly full to very full skirts. And if you're looking for something to wear with a fitted military jacket, a corset, or a jacket with a little bustle or tails, look no further."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
4.9 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
We the Free Majorette Jacket
4.6 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:slender
Princess Maxi Skirt
1.6.2011
"This skirt is very dreamy and very soft.
However, you do need to get them altered, unless, you are extremely tall. I went to tailor it, and the lady told me she can tailor it from the top. She said it might be better since cutting it from the bottom might be difficult. After getting it cut, the length is perfect. It is bit sheer so you will have to something underneath. When I wear the skirt, I feel like I am wearing a princess skirt and I absolutely love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Vintage look that will last
1.3.2011
"I have to agree with several other reviewers that this skirt runs VERY long. I am 5'5" and wear platforms most of the time but even with the shoes the skirt was very long. For the price I hated that I would have to cut it but I stood on a box and my friend did the trimming and I have to say that I can wear it with a tee and biker boots or a sequin top and heels and it looks stunning both ways. Believe me when I say that this skirt makes a statement. I also bought it in white now that it is on sale."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:curvy
A Lovely Skirt
12.21.2010
"I wish people would stop complaining about Free People "maxi" skirts being too long.....that is the style and the beauty of this skirt, the fact that it is a "MAXI" skirt. I LOVE the length of this skirt and I am 5'6" tall, love the wear boots with at least a 2" heel so this skirt is perfect!!! It is not easy to find "long" skirts that are actually long enough to wear with boots. Usually, they are much shorter than they appear on the models.
I got the black and am considering ordering the blue pearl now that it is on sale...not a colour I normally wear but it's just so darn pretty I want it. Dreamy, floaty, romantic.....love it!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
Had to Cut It (Ouch)
12.15.2010
"Well, took up another reviewers actions, and cut it layer by layer so I could wear it with flats...then bought a white slip. Very very sheer and long. I'm 5'4", got the XS and cut about 5"...It is funny, because I saw An American In Paris, you know, with Leslie Caron and Gene Kelly, and in a dance sequence, the ballet dancers are wearing the same skirts, layered and sheer, and you can see their leotards and tights underneath, but the length is about mid calf...I think that is the charm of this skirt...it brings to mind grace, delicacy, movement, like a ballet dancer...but it is so !@#&^ long...if you have the money and guts, get it and cut it. After seeing the movie, I was even thinking of cutting it shorter...but I don't have the guts...but for spring,... with ballet flats...mid calf...if I had the moola...I'd get another for Spring, and chop it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:slender
dreamy
12.3.2010
"so dreamy but overpriced and way too long, also completely sheer"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Pretty skirt
12.1.2010
"Very sheer. Runs long. Bold statement piece. Not for me."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
can't.stop.obsessing.
11.25.2010
"i had a hard time with the purchase price, but after i received it, i have been obsessing over it. it really is beautiful. it feels dreamy, princessy, pretty. it comes extremely long. the medium is 43" long. another reviewer suggested cutting the bottom off, and it looks to be a viable solution. but i want to get a few wears in before i hack into a $200 skirt. i'm only 5' 3", and i tried wearing this as a tube dress with a thermal over it, and the length works out this way, and the tightness of the thermal contains the poofiness. there are 3 layers of netting, which create the awesome poofiness. with heels, or on a taller girl, wearing it high-waisted could also work. i got the blue pearl, which is really a grayish white, is completely sheer. i wore it with tights, and i think it'd work with the layering skorts too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Lacy Layering Skort
4.3 out of 5(35)
 
 
 
Greatest Show On Earth Tee
4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Brit Boot
4.2 out of 5(56)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Love it - the skirt I have always wanted.. long..
11.23.2010
"Of course this skirt is ridiculously long as ; are all the long skirts it seems. This one is easy to alter as I just cut about 8 inches off the bottom. (I am 5' 3") and left the hem raw as it was. The fullness described by the other reviewer is so it is not as transparent as it might be. There must be hundreds of ways to layer this with stuff either under or over. it is a light blue gray and very soft. love it. There are three layers of tulle and a comfortable black elastic waistband. The princess gossets are slimming."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:North Carolina Fitness Instuctor
age:over 45
body type:athletic
dream skirt
11.18.2010
"I love this skirt ! I bought the sweater too...of course the skirt needs a slip underneath but it is everything I hoped for! I am wearing it to have photographs done for Christmas with my husband and my dogs ! Will wear my shortie Boots to finish the look. I have also paired it with a Tee Shirt and denim jacket and love it too with a denim long shirt and belted with a wide woven brown belt. It is my favorite purchase of the season ! I am 54 years young and feel absolutely feminine in all 3 outfits. Thank you FreePeople !"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP-1 Netted Layers Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Hmmm...
11.4.2010
"Just got this in the mail... I'm torn. 1. The listing says "partially lined" and looking at all the pictures, it looks like the correct interpretation of "partially lined" - and the interpretation I went with when placing my order - is "there's an attached mini skirt underneath so that you don't have to wear anything with the skirt to be decent. WRONG! Turns out "partially lined" meant "two layers of a sheer fabric instead of one". If I had known that going into the purchase, I wouldn't mind, but I didn't, and I'm a bit annoyed. This is why there needs to be a "what's she wearing" tab for the sheer stuff. (Or at least a note saying "modeled with a body con skirt".) 2. Looking past that, the dress doesn't really layer well. It's so bulky, the only option you really have is to wear bloomers or a skin tight mini underneath. Again, if I had known that going into the purchase... 3. The white isn't white. It really is blue pearl. Okay, they call it blue pearl, but in the pictures, the skirt LOOKS stark white. Work on the lighting folks. (This could be my monitor though.) 4. This skirt is SO SO long. The model is wearing flats with the skirt at her natural waist, and the dress is OFF the floor. I figured for certain I could just wear the skirt higher up, and be fine. NO! With the skirt up to my bust, I'd still need heels to get the skirt off the floor. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE start telling us how tall these girls are, and what their inseam is so that we know how long our legs need to be!!! Even if I look past everything else, I have to decide if I want a skirt which I am FORCED to wear heels with. (Because I don't wear heels but once or twice a month.) 5. Bulk city. Not sure why the dress doesn't poof out on the model, but it sure did on me.Maybe it's because of how high I had to pull the skirt up to get it off the ground. All that said, the skirt is quite lovely, and very nice. On a taller girl - we're talking 5'6" and up - this would be stellar. I'd suggest to size down if between sizes, there was a bit of room in the waist. The fabric is super soft, and the skirt is every bit as flowy as it appears in the oceanside shot. I wish the description had been a bit more accurate. I'll likely return this simply because of the length."
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large