Product Reviews

Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt

Multicolor embroidered mini skirt with flowing cotton gauze bottom. Back of waist is stretchy and smocked for easy fit and wear. **Special Note: The embroidered part of the skirt will vary slightly with each skirt, in color and pattern. So no two skirts will look exactly the same, but very similar. *By Jen's Pirate Booty *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import *Hand finished in Los Angeles, USA Measurements for Size Small: Waist (all around - relaxed): 25" Hips (all around - relaxed): 30" Length: 15 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Review 1 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
If You Like Surprises
11.18.2012
" Well, this one's a bit of a gamble, isn't it?  The promise of a mystery pattern that may or may not look like the one on line, everything from 1 star to 5 stars from the reviewers, and  reports that it  fits small, but no info on the measurements of the m/l.  It has "Return" written all over it.  And if you' re from Canada, it has "EXPENSIVE  return"  written all over it.  Who would risk it??  
Er, ahem, if you're like me, and have a problem with FPA (Free People Addiction), then you do what any shopaholic does when they love something:  they order 2 of them.
 I ordered both sizes in the ivory, hoping that one of them would fit and have a pattern I liked. So overjoyed when I opened the package and saw that I liked both patterns. Ecstatic when I discovered that both sizes fit me as tops and as bottoms.  (I am 34-26-34 most days, for reference). Bonus:  if you wear them together they look like a pretty layered dress.  I turn the pattern of the bottom skirt to the back so it doesn't show and clash with the top.  Interestingly, there was only about an inch/inch and a half difference in waist between the two sizes. All other measurements were the same. 
Loved these so much I ordered another in black, and that is when the trouble started. It was good at first, as I liked the pattern a lot better than the one on line. But there was something wrong with the waistband as it didn't lie smooth. It was also smaller than my first two. And it didn't look very good on either. When I took it off, the stitching had come undone in the same spots as the other reviewer's photo shows. Had to return it unfortunately. So, the long and short of it:  the workmanship and sizing is inconsistent.   If you like to gamble this can be a fun purchase, especially at the sale price. If you don't enjoy surprises or returns, well, best to stay away. 
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Yay!!!
11.14.2012
" This skirt/top is soooo coool!!!! I love it. got it in black, originally wanted the cream, but very satisfied with what i got. Luckily, when mine came in, i recieved one with a great design (multicolored & tribal stitchery). didnt have a problem with that. If you usually wear the XS/S, you might wanna think about sizing up. it was a bit of a squeeze but not completely terrible :))) I wore it as a top earlier in the fall & im excited to wear it as a skirt next spring. versatile, one -of-a-kind, worth the sale price: get em' "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:FL
age:41-45
body type:athletic
looks good both ways as a skirt or top
10.23.2012
" Got this top in the mail today it is a very unique skirt; I ordered the x small fits perfect 110 1bs. this skirt is stunning I.am very happy with my purchase i would recommend any body to add this skirt to their collection go for it great price. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Texas
age:26-30
body type:petite
LOVE - Wear it as a shirt!
6.11.2012
" I bought this at the Free People store and I tried it on as a shirt and bought it...I didn't realize it was supposed to be a skirt until I saw it online!
It works amazing as a shirt, I got a xs/s and it fits true to size. I am 5'1 and fairly busty and I love the way it fits as a shirt! I paired it with wide leg denim jeans and brown espadrilles.
I have received many many compliments on it, each shirt is different though so they one you get most likely will look a bit different than mine or the one online. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Kentucky
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED!!!
5.16.2012
" I ordered this skirt and absolutely fell in love with it at first. While the print was different than the pictures shown online, I still liked it. However after wearing it ONLY TWICE, the seams along the back have completely fallen apart. I love free people, but this quality is absolutely atrocious and unacceptable, especially for this much money. Be warned buyers, if you purchase this skirt, it may fall completely apart. This is NOT WORTH THE MONEY. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb5.17.2012
We're so sorry to hear this! I've let our buyer know about this, and I've reached out to our customer service team who will be in touch with you soon to help! Keep an eye out for their email.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca
age:21-25
body type:slender
not too pleased
4.23.2012
" When I received this skirt in the mail it was definitely not what I imagined. The detailing was a lot different then what is pictured on the model. I ended up returning it back to a FP store. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:petite
Super fun!
4.1.2012
" I ordered both colors in XS/S. I am normally XS in Free People clothing. They are a bit tight the first time you put them on because of one elastic band that is machine-sewn to the back ruching (the elasticky/gathered folds in the back). After the first time, they go in and out without any problems. The embroidered pattern of each of mine is different and unique, and it is this artisanal look that makes them special and such an eye-catcher. I have got tons of compliments each time I have worn them. I love that they are very versatile: They can be worn as mini skirts, or on top of skinny pants or leggings. They also work for me as tops (for reference I am 32A). I bought the lacy knickers and wore the black ones underneath my black skirt to add just a bit of length and comfort (I want to make sure I do not show more than I should even on a windy day). I wore the white skirt on top of the amethyst tunic in white (they both are the same ivory color) with off-white tall boots and it was a big hit wherever I went. Both colors are gorgeous and easy to wear, very flattering too, they make your tummy area look flat, the small of your back is delineated and then the fabric puffs out a bit in the derriere. Again, can be worn as super cute tops too. Try them! You might be lucky and actually get a pattern that you like. I loved the ones I got so much that I had to keep both of them, and I am sure glad I did. I have worn them several times in different combinations and it is not summer yet! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Reno NV
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Cute Skirt
3.28.2012
" I called Free People customer service and asked about the fabric on the yoke of this skirt. I was told that it would look like the one pictured on the website. This is not correct as shown by some of the other reviewers. I must have gotten lucky because the one I received is pretty close. I ordered the M/L so that I could use it as a top or skirt. The white portion of the skirt is not too sheer, in my opinion. I like this skirt and may order another in black. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:Valencia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Very Unhappy
3.19.2012
" Just the same as the other two reviews, the embroidering is nothing like the models. I agree that I expected a few differences, but the skirt I received is ridiculous. The print is ugly and for $160 I will not accept it. It is a completely different skirt having only one pattern of colored stripes. That type of information should be listed in the details! I am very unhappy and just like blackw1dow says, "Why the Trickery?" Will return back to company... "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:va
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love it
3.16.2012
" I ordered this the second I saw it, it finally arrived and I love it! I'm 5'3 105 llbs and I order the natural in xs/s. As a top it fits great and so cute with a pair of shorts or even pants! As a skirt it was a bit tight at first, becuase even though I'm petite I have wide set hips. But still, it fits and it's super flattering around my stomach/hips area. The pattern on the skirt I receieved is slightly different from whats shown here and in the catalog, but really, that should be assumed. I have no problem with an original peice. I did not find the bottom white part to be sheer. Like I said, I love it and cant wait to wear it!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Guipil Asteria Mini Skirt
Name:
Location:california
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Why the trickery?
3.15.2012
" I really really wanted this skirt to work, but you can imagine the look on my face when i opened the package: ---> :-(
And I thought i knew what i was getting..First off I'd like to remind everyone that these 'Aztec/Embroidery/Marrakech' prints FP and Anthro do are NEVER the same as the one in the pic, no two skirts are alike..I should have known that when i saw the catalog girl and then this girl on the left, then click on the black, like HELLO they should say in the description that no two skirts have the same print.. the catalog girl has the cutest skirt because her's has lots of blue and Navy (thats why it works with her grey top) but NOT mine, mine is all green and red..and DEFINITELY NOT as much detail in the aztec as the girl on the left.
Color issues aside, the skirt itself is completely sheer but NOT made of what looks like a delicate handkercheify material, instead the white part is JUST LIKE BANDAGE GAUZE. yep I said it first, go check it out.
No idea how the catalog girl was also able to wear his as a top because it doesn't have much stretch to it, unless you're completely flat chested like the catalog girl
Overall I am not happy with this purchase but cant be bothered to return it ..
I hope it doesnt go down on sale because then i would get really upset for paying so much for it :( "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large