Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Austonian Boot

Incredible thigh-high cowboy boots with adjustable buckle strap at top and zipper closure at instep. Layers of fringe on side. Wooden heel. Handmade leather sole. *By Ash *Leather *Import *25" tall, 6" opening diameter, 2 " heel
overall average rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Austonian Boot
Review 1 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
<<<<<<<33333333
12.6.2012
" I read the review before i bought these shoes and noticed i kept seeing people saying that the 38 was too big, adn that usually my size so i odered a 37.5 and they fit perfectly!!
I ordered the brown ones because there was no more grey and they are gorgeous!! BEST pair of boots i've purchased so far, i live in Houston so boots are a life style. But I loved them so much when the grey came available in my size i ordered them too!!! :]
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Ashland
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Amazing!
9.19.2012
" amazing, so amazing! i;ve wanted these boots ever since i first saw them in the catalog and i was beyond thrilled to finally get them. i had to wait til they went on sale but they would have been worth the full price too! even more amazing in person and super sexy. cant wait to wear these babies out! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
beautiful, but impractical
8.22.2012
" I remember seeing these babies two years ago in the September '10 catalog and wasn't able to dish out $500 for them, so since then, I've been waiting patiently for them to get marked down (and patient, I was), so when I saw them on sale for 40% off, it was obvious I was going to get them. I snagged these bad boys up in a 6.5 (have a pair of Frye boots in a 6 and they fit perffff, and since these are also cowgirl-licious, decided to only go 1/2 a size up, rather than the full size up)--and, on that note, I'm glad I only went 1/2 a size up because they are the perfect fit for me, and a size 7 might have been a little too big (though, I am always the desperate girl who gets the size 7 and fakes it if it is the last size available--so, if you love these boots, but they're one size too big--I say dive into the 'risk pool' and take your chances because when are you ever gonna see a pair of boots like these again?--plus, winter blesses us with pretty thick socks!) Anyways, I got the boot in stone, which looks exactly as pictured, and though I read reviews about the leather looking cheap or discolored, maybe I got lucky or something, but my boots look fab. To be honest, I think the leather is anything but cheap--first off, when I opened the box, the smell of the leather nearly put me to sleep, it was so beautiful--secondly, I think it's a boot made too last, it's sturdy, but still soft. I am 5'3"/105 lbs., and they hit mid-thigh (as pictured by the model) and they also fit as pictured, for me, at least--so, I'm really happy about the length of the boot, makes me feel like a cowgirl vixen. However, my dilemma is, how do I wear them? They honestly don't go with anything I own and they look terrible with leggings, tights (tried them on in front of Mom with said items, and then giggled and made a comparison to an elephant--must I say more?) So, because they are hard to style for me, I might have to let them go, but after lusting for two years and them being so perfect and all, I think I will keep them after all. I could see these being flawless with some nude tights(in the winter--almost dumb to do, since I live in Boston, but for fashion, I will!) or no tights paired with a dark hued high waisted skirt (must be bubble, flared out at the edges, flowy, or pleated--you get the gist) because if you wear dark hued tights or leggings, you will look stumpy since the boot is pretty up-and-down all the same, and elephant legs might be the outcome--and I think the 'oomph' from the skirt will help bring more shape to the legs, but that is just my advice. This review was way too long, but, you know.. BUY 'EM while they're sill here!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
Grey thigh highs.
7.31.2012
" I bought these in the grey and followed what other reviewers said by ordering a size up. I am a 6.5 and bought the 7.5 (37.5) and they fit fine. The toe area is narrow so be cautious if you have wide feet. Unlike the other reviewer who said her grey boots were almost yellow in places, mine seemed to be a plain grey with maybe a small hue of olive. I had hoped they would look like the last image but they're not that aged looking. I wouldn't recommend these boots to girls with super thin legs due to them being pretty roomy unless you want that look. I have pretty skinny legs and they look a little silly on my thighs. I still like these for the sale price, though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Stunning Boots
3.30.2012
" These truly are stunning boots and will earn compliments whenever you wear them. I had already read the comments about the colour not being true in the photo and this is quite correct: the colour is definitely brown, not the rich red colour as per the photo, but regardless, I still love them. They've proved pretty comfy for new boots, although they were really quite large on me, so I have had to use quite substantial inner soles and wear thick socks. I've always been a true Euro 38 so was very surprised when they came up so large. I am contemplating buying the other colour now! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Great, but not too great cowboy boots
2.10.2012
" I was contemplating on buying these boots because of the price and the look. After all, I am 39 and I have a 10 year old son and a 15 and half year old step-daughter. My step daughter and I have the same shoe size, so I am sure, if she ever sees me wearing these boots - she will want them really bad. As far s I am concerned, well I took the risk and bought them. The boots arrived on Friday to my work place. I opened the box and immediately tried them on. However, to see the full picture, I took them home and tried them on again. I am 5.4, 127 pounds, size 7.5 woman. I bought these in 38.5. The boots are a bit loose on me. But ok with a pair of socks. I have quite wide feet and even though the boots are pointy, they still feel fine on me. My only concern is I don't know, if I can pull them off. I have mainly Chanel, D&G, YSL, Gucci kind of outfits and shoes. I am also guilty at charge, since I own a lot of amazing, gorgeous dresses and tops from FP. And Yes, I did own prior to this experience two pairs of cowboy boots and they look pretty ordinary. Very cow-boyish boots, but these are extreme cowboy boots. I am trying to convince myself. I want to keep them, but not so sure. Plus I have to wear very short skirts or just leggings to look nice in these boots. However, I am gonna be 40 in 3 months and do I want to expose my butt in the leggings? Or a too short skirt? Or a too short dress? Well, yea, I have a beautiful body, but I am married and have two kids. One is a teenager, who wants to look super hot and super sexy. And here I am turning 40 and trying to wear the boots that will make me go a bit over my comfort zone. So not sure. But the boots are amazing and they will make any young single girl look drop dead gorgeous. But if you have teenage daughters, perhaps you should hold off from buying these boots, unless you are buying the boots for your teenage girls. Sorry FP, but this is my honest opinion. I love a lot things from FP, but this is not the age appropriate for me. And trust me, I have a pretty daring taste in fashion. "
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Cowgirl Cool!
2.9.2012
" These boots are pretty awesome! I Love them…definitely a funky pair of cowgirl boots that has an edgey twist. The high thigh and the fringe give it a “where western meets city” look. For me (I’m a size 10) they are true to size and very comfortable/roomy (I can wear a thick pair of sox). However, my main disappointment is I purchased the Shedron color (brown) and it’s not the color that is in the picture. What I really wanted was the burgundyish brown color with brick red undertones that are in the picture. I have to admit as much as I love Free People I’m a bit annoyed that they would advertise a color that is totally not the boot’s true color and texture for that matter. It’s a shame b/c I really love these boots but I’m contemplating on whether I should return them based on the color alone b/c they are a pretty penny and I want to be 100% satisfied when I make that sort of an investment on one pair of boots. Wonder if Free People will ever get them in the exact color that is in the picture? "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:over 45
body type:slender
Size up 1 full size
12.14.2011
" Beautiful. I bought them for my daughter. Fit her just fine. I read the other reviews and sized up 1 size. She is a dancer so I was a little concerned around the calves but they are fine. I wear the same shoe size as her so I tried them on before I wrapped them and they fit perfectly. Calves area is big enough for a dancers leg. They are really cool boots. Box they came in was beat up like the other reviewers wrote but boots were fine. I bought the brown and they are very pretty. She will get a lot of attention in these boots. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Northern CA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
My favorite boot and true to size
12.1.2011
" I fell in love with these boots when I saw them. Unfortunately, I found them late in the season so size options were limited. I managed to get them in a combination of three sizes in both colors to determine which size I needed. I find, depending on the design, I am anywhere from a 39-40, so I got all three sizes-39, 39.5, and 40. I wanted the stone color. I felt like goldie locks. The 40 was a tad big(my foot was slopping around too much and I knew the would stretch a bit)and the 39 was too tight. The 39.5 was snug in the toe but good everywhere else. This is how a cowboy style boot fits at first though--its to be expected! I am going to wear them a few times and hopefully they stretch a bit, but if not, I will use a shoe stretcher. (My right foot is really the only issue due to a past foot injury that heeled funky and made the foot bigger in one area by the toe) Due to the style, I think these boots run true to size. Don't be mislead. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
Gorgeous boots
11.8.2011
" Ok. So these are sensational boots. I have about 40 pairs of boots and these are something special. However, I ordered the brown thinking they were burgundy-ish because they look so red in the picture. Spectacular, original color! Forget it. They are brown. No two ways about it, and I already own a brown, distressed, western, over the knee boot. Back they went. But I love these so much that I ordered the other color. We"ll see. Also, I am 5' tall. Petite ladies, don't be afraid of these. They are tall, not outlandishly, because they are narrow at the top and they hug quite close to the leg. They just work!!!!! I love these boots!!! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Bronx
age:41-45
body type:athletic
HOT Boots!
11.7.2011
" I was unsure about these at first, like another reviewer thought, were they uber cool or just plain ridiculous? Once I tried them on, it was clear that these boots are just HOT, I mean AWESOME!!! I agree they are initially a tad snug in the thighs... I am a pro athlete, I can leg press over 600 pounds so my thighs are all solid ripped muscle. I can't imagine them not fitting anyone, if I can get my thighs in them, so can you! I ordered one size up (got the 38 and I wear a 7 boot), they fit perfectly at the last hole and I think they will break in very nicely for easier bending at the knee. Good thing I ordered up with the pointy toe (almond, HAH! It's POINTY!) They are so comfortable in the foot area, my foot is on the narrow side but I HATE tight boots, I prefer to wear thick socks and an insole and have room to save my foot health. I am under 5'2", and I think you have to be on the petite side to get the full thigh-high effect. Also the top of the boot opening is rather big so you need them to come up higher on the thighs in order for them to look good, they're mid-thigh on me with just enough room for skinny jeans or leggings. If you're tall, they will be baggy on top. Just look at the first photo on this web page, from the side, they look baggy on the model, she is obviously tall with skinny stick legs and at the top of the boot she looks like she's standing in two barrels. They look much better on me because I'm short with muscular thighs. I love the way the fringes drag on the floor, very boho but I saw that one person didn't like it, why not just trim them if it bothers you? Overall, these are awesome, and the Stone gray color looks AMAZING, better than basic black or predictable brown. I am going to have rubber soles put on as I do with all my boots and shoes so I can run if I have to without slipping (they're a bit slippery). Plus I got them for an absolute steal, can't say where but I'm SOOOOOO happy with them!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:ND
age:26-30
body type:curvy
B-E-A-UTIFUL!!!
11.4.2011
" I absolutely love these boots! To start off, I wear a 39 and ordered 39 1/2 with these boots. 39 1/2 fit perfectly. I chose the shedron color because I absolutely love boots that are in the "brownish" realm. The shedron color that you see them being online is the exact color you will get. SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!! These boots go up mid-thigh for me. I am 5'5, 140 lbs. They aren't too snug either. There is nothing negative to say about these boots. I guess the sizing being off could be a bit negative, but one must go up in size when ordering "pointy" shoes. I am sooooo greatful for these well made boots. They are definately high quality and will last a lifetime I'm sure! Thank you thank you thank you freepeople! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
A Whole Lot of Amazing...
10.29.2011
" Quite possibly the most AWESOME boot I have ever owned. I was afraid that it was going to be too much boot for me to pull off, but at 5'7" the top of the cuff hits about 3 - 4" above my knee - the perfect height to wear with skirts and jeans/leggings. The quality of the leather is superlative, and the sheldon color is a deep rich brown with heavy red undertones. My beau tells me that when I wear this boots I walk like I mean business! They are super comfortable and surprisingly easy to get on and off. They do run tight - I ended up going a full size up, and now the fit is a bit generous in the toe box, but nothing that a thicker pair of socks can't fix. I definitely have a better attitude when I wear these boots, and I haven't taken them off since I bought them...I've been in a really good mood lately! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:valencia, ca
age:41-45
body type:slender
Smoking Hot!!
10.28.2011
" Someone has something to say everywhere I go. Hottest boots I own, and trust me I own a lot! Kinda narrow so be careful. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Sizzlin!!!
10.22.2011
" Just got the boots and they are outrageous! Gorgeous! I ordered a 1/2 size larger as previous reviews suggested and they fit great. I'll have to put extra holes in the buckle at top cause they're a little bit big up there. But, I'm tall with skinny legs and the shaft fits very well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Grand Forks, ND
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Most Extreme
10.18.2011
" Well, this is the most extreme of all the pairs of boots I have collected, but that's good! They have a wonderful leather smell and are very comfortable.
After reading the other reviews, I ordered a 1/2 size bigger, when I received them I thought they felt too big, so I ordered my regular size. BAD decision. They were too tight in the toe like the other reviews had said! Luckily, I had kept the bigger pair and I just added thicker socks and the bigger pair now feels fine.
They have a bit of a green cast to the color so they actually match army green colors a bit better than greys.
They are great boots, trust me, I have a LOT.
I am 5'7" and they sit at a nice height for me. I have medium to slender legs and they are not too tight.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:las vegas
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Glam Western all the Way!
10.13.2011
" I ordered these in the brown and screamed with delight when I saw them and nearly fainted when i tried them on! They are the most comfortable easy wearing boot i have ever owned and I collect vintage cowboy to couture boots. Needless to say I ordered them in the grey as well, what one color does not cover the other will as I plan on wearing these all the time, even lounging around the home...they are that incredible. Fringe never goes out of style if done properly so please do not feel you need to cut the fringe off at a later date, I read this in one of the reviews and gasped...please don't hurt these boots :) As for the size I did order a full size up, they are big but I like my boots that way especially thight high so you do not get that claustrophobic feel, I did the same on the gray that are on the way...all is perfect and my hunt for the perfect boot is over! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Tel aviv
age:36-40
body type:petite
All things western
9.25.2011
" I'll break this review down for easier reading.
On sizing - I have to agree with previous reviews about sizing. These do run on the snug side because of the almond toe shape, BUT after careful consideration I decided to go with only 1/2 size bigger and I'm glad I did. They are still a little tight with regular socks (not sports) but leather stretches and seeing how there's already SO much boot I don't think you'll be happy with a loose footbed after they will stretch into your foot shape, and they will stretch....
On color - fp modified the color via photoshop from the brown to a blah grey. These are definitely NOT blah color..It's an amazing grey that will go with EVERYTHING. The color is a slight dark brown some green and a whole lot of grey. These will work with black, brown, jeans, white, pretty much everything.
On tall vs. short - I am 5'3" and I LOVE how they fit, they are for shorties TOO. Thigh high boots are all the rage this fall and these are amazing.
On overall design and comfort - Like I said they are snug b/c of the toe and the leather is pretty stiff but they will break as leather boots always do. The heel is awesome for all day wear.
For a lover of all things western these are a MUST !!!! They look great with legging / short dresses & skirts / skinny jeans / and shorts. You can not go wrong.
Get them before they are gone !
P.S - for more looks and how to wear check out the Ash italia official web site...
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:41-45
body type:petite
Boots run on the small side
9.12.2011
" These boots definitely run small and even though I returned the 6.5 for a size 7 the toe area still fits tight. I am a petite 5'2" and these boots look great with skinny jeans. I received lots of compliments the first time I worn them. So, they are not "just for tall gals!" "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Austonian Boot
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I'm Pystol Whipped
9.11.2011
" I love these they are a very soft gray leather well made with plenty of room! I have large calves 15 inches they fit fine. I'm ordering the shardon ones next month, when they get my size in. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>