Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Black Magic Mirror Bodycon

Pieced together cotton body-conscious mini dress with embroidery and mini mirror embellishment all over. Zips up the side. Woven straps crisscross in the back and are adjustable. Lined. Dress is heavily texturized.
overall average rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Review 1 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful dress
2.2.2014
"I had missed this dress a few times and I'm so glad I finally got it. It is on the expensive side but when you see the dress in the flesh you can see that it is worth it - very well made. I am usually an Australian size 8 (equivalent to a US 2). I am a 10DD/32DD. I bought a size 4. I find the dress a little hard to get on because the dress has no stretch in it - I put it over my head and have to squirm a little to pull the bottom down over my hips. The top fits well but I can imagine it may be loose on a smaller bust. It can be adjusted in the straps though. Really like the length, don't have to worry about it riding up too short. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, the dress is much more green than the blue-green photos convey. Overall a special, elegant dress that I felt great wearing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Gypsy Chic
12.11.2013
"Love this dress! Wasn't disappointed at all. It is more green than aqua blue/green in the photo on the left but is otherwise identical. I got the medium which is quite generous in the bust eventhough I am a size 36B, so I will have to get that taken in a bit but otherwise all good. Big thumbs up! Can't wait to wear it :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:orange county
age:36-40
body type:petite
Gorgeous dress well worth the $
12.4.2013
"I lOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESS!!!!! I just received it today and i'm planning on wearing to a xmas part or new years. I fits perfect on top and I'm a 34b. The straps are minimally adjustable, but with a strapless bra it looks fab. It fits me perfect through the stomach. It is a little room around the hips,but I do not wan it to be super tight. It does fit like a glove else where. As you can see on the model it does not hug her hips, which is exactly how the dress fits me. I'm a size 0 34b, 24" waist. I wear a size 24 in pants. And just to add...the dress is a vibrant green!!! IT can be dressed down also, but it is a great party dress.It sold out once and it will sell out again. MUST BUY!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:United States
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful
8.25.2013
"I saw this dress and immediately fell in love and ordered it in the emerald color. When I first tried it on, the dress was quite large, especially in the bust area and the adjustable straps did little to help. However, I decided to keep the dress since I was so in love with it and I have not been disappointed. I put the dress in a garment bag, washed it with cool water on gentle cycle, hanged it to dry and the dress now fits perfectly! So happy, its a very beautifully detailed dress. It can be casual or dressed up!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:21-25
body type:slender
Don't Buy
6.19.2013
"I've never returned an item or had a bad experience with Free People until I purchased this dress. I was looking for a unique piece to wear to my best friend's wedding, so I decided to take a chance and order this online. I normally wear a size 0, but this dress was big on me. I would not even consider the straps adjustable, since tightening them hardly lifted it an inch. I was more disappointed by the overall look and feel of the dress, however. I was expecting a beautiful, detailed piece. Instead of looking expensive and sparkly, this dress looks almost faded and worn. At best this might be good for daily wear, but not for a night out or any kind of special occasion. In short, I was very disappointed. It will definitely be going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful dress but different in person
5.30.2013
"First off this is a very unique and heavily texturized dress and has quite some weight to it due to this. When I first read "mirror embellishments" I wasn't sure if this meant, it's actually made of seashells or something of similar material. I ordered the dress in black and based on the pictures I thought the embroidery was a burgundy color, IRL it's actually a deep purple (I guess aubergine is the correct word for it). Also, it runs a bit loose, I'm 32-23-32, bought the size 0 and it's a good 2 inches too loose around my hips, the bust area is also pretty roomy but only without a bra which I had no problem wearing under it. The length reaches down about mid-thigh. My main issue is with the color of the embroidery though, I might end up sending it back and try to get it in the emerald color"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
Absolutely amazing!!!!
5.24.2013
"I am SO over the moon happy that I decided to get this dress, even though I was unsure because of the price point.
The details are exquisite....so well done, sturdy and beautiful.
As for fit, there is no real stretch to the dress, so if you are in between sizes or curvier, I would go up. It is a bit on the short side, not that I mind at all. It covers enough.
As for wearing a bra with this dress, I disagree with the last reviewer, I think you have options for wearing a bra without it being seen; if you didn't I wouldn't have kept this dress, braless is not an option for me :) (i wear a 32d for the record). I wore a low back strapless bustier the first time I wore it and it was perfect. I also wore a regular strapless bra with it as well.
I bought the emerald color and love it so much, I am actually debating on getting the black....its that good!! Thanks FP for another beautiful piece!!! xoxo
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:SC
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful but the embroidery is aubergine, not red
5.16.2013
"When I took this out of the bag and realized that the color of the embroidery is more aubergine than red, I almost decided to return it then and there, since aubergine on black is not great on my coloring. However, it is truly a beautiful dress, and as the description says, it is skin tight. I am 34-26-36 and ordered a size 4. It is somewhat loose on top for me but would be right for someone 36-26-36, not wearing a bra. Can't size down as it fits like a glove elsewhere. Can get the straps altered (they don't adjust much# but that makes this short dress shorter. So I would say this dress is most suited for clubbing, as it is also difficult to wear a bra with it. I am petite, so with the loose, low neckline, the options for me are to wear a black #lace) cami, or a bandeau, or to let a good bit of my bra show. Lovely dress, but may need a bit of work unless you are exactly the right shape for it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Black Magic Mirror Bodycon
Name:
Location:charlottesville, VA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
my all-time favorite free people dress
5.10.2013
"i buy a lot of dresses from fp but this has to be the most beautiful. i purchased the emerald color in a size 8, one up form my normal size. it fits perfectly-- the natural waist really flatters my figure. it's very texturized, and the mirror embellishments are gorgeous. perfect with sandals for a casual day, adorable with heels for a night out!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large