Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Parisian Slip

Super soft slip dress with vertical lace trimming down the middle front. Ruffled hi-low hem with lace trimming. Light pleating at front of bust and upper back.
overall average rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Parisian Slip
Review 1 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Lexington, KY
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful, but falls apart
10.26.2014
"First let me say that I love this slip. I really do. It looks great with everything, and oh the layering possibilities! Knee boots, high socks, cardigans, jeans, the crochet slip, you name it, this slip can do it. I did have to order a size down - I am a 32 D, 5'7" and weigh ~140 lbs. A medium was swimming on me, but the small fits perfect. Now, for the quality. Twice now I have had to sew up bits where the lace was ripping away from the dress. I am not rough on my clothes! However, I am way past the return date, so I will keep sewing up the pieces as they rip, but for $88 I really shouldn't have to do that. My voile and lace trapeze slip has never ripped and I wear it alllllll the time."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Fabric Pills
10.5.2014
"I put that this dress runs TTS because it seems to be meant to be oversized but I sized down and it fits comfortably but more fitted. The French Vanilla color is pretty sheer but if you wear nude underwear it's fine. The dress itself is very pretty and the fabric is soft but it pills easily. I wore it once for a couple hours with a denim jacket over it and the fabric is pilling already. For the price this is very disappointing."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
I want more colors!
9.29.2014
"I bought the cream colored one in small, and although I am keeping this one I would size down in the future. I am 32A so the straps were super long on me and I will have to shorten them. I am 5'9", 120 lbs for reference"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:vancouver, bc
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
perfect easy to throw on& look fabulous dress
9.7.2014
"I wasn't sure about this dress online (despite all the great reviews) but I scooped up the midnight blue colour in store & I am in love. I was worried it was going to fit too loose & baggy but it's actually cut very flattering up top & flows nicely on the bottom. I'm 5'10, 34B & slender and the small fit perfect. Absolutely love the colour - it's true to the photos. This dress is perfect to throw on on a hot summer day or layer when the weather cools off."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not worth the price
8.24.2014
"This is a beautiful dress, all the colors are nice. I'm almost 5-6 with a C cup chest and the XS fit great. It's a little short, but it's still nice. The S was way too big for me in the chest, otherwise the length was great.
I returned the French vanilla because it's way too sheer. I also was a bit afraid of the quality issues everyone has been having on the FP website. Once I hear the quality has improved on this and the lace isn't ripping for people, I will consider buying it.
Until then, buy at your own risk!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI, USA
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Pretty but scared of wardrobe malfunction!
7.9.2014
"I have the ivory one and the pink. Both are very pretty and flattering (I ordered down one size to XS). I've only handwashed them once, never even worn them. The other day I noticed that the lace of the ivory one ripped on the front bottom just from hanging in my closet!! Now I'm too scared to wear them because I feel that they'll fall apart while on me."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:NJ
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love it - but it ripped!
7.6.2014
"I ordered this in a S, french vanilla. It's soft, breezy, a versatile length and thick enough fabric to wear with a minimal layering. I bought it anticipating that I would wear it in the summer, and I finally did - layered under long, but light tops. Then last week - after only 2 short wears and no washing, it ripped in the front area where the lace runs down in lines. I'm so disappointed. This is one of my most beloved FP items. I'm not sure what to do since it's pretty pricey for a slip.
Please beware that this item is very delicate and rips super easily!
I'm giving it 3 stars only for how quickly it fell apart."
Response from Free People:By Free People7.8.2014
Hi ModernVintage,

We're sorry to hear about your slip. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Lightweight, good for layering
6.24.2014
"I was worried about the hemline on this slip, and have to admit it looks strange even on the hanger. But I purchased the ivory color and I can't wait to wear it. It will look great with tons of different outfits. I think It runs a tad large, but that is good for me in dresses/slips because I have a long torso."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Loves it!
6.14.2014
"This is one of my favorite Slip Dresses from FP. I have it in 3 different colors and I plan on buying a 4th. This is a great layering piece. It is also very flattering on any body type. The best part about this Slip is it is wearable through all seasons. The possibilities are endless with this one. I highly recommend purchasing it, you will absolutely adore it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Florida
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love it but delicate
6.12.2014
"I really love this piece, very flattering. But the quality isn't worth the price. The first time I washed it (on a delicate cycle in a delicates bag) the lace tore."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect Summer Slip
6.9.2014
"I adore this dress. It is extremely easy to pair with anything and can definitely be worn during any season. It's perfect for layering but also perfect for just slipping on and adding a few accessories during the summer. I ordered the purple and like to wear it with my black silverado boots and layers of necklaces. It definitely runs large, I usually wear a medium but could have ordered a small. Definitely one of my favorite summer purchases!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Edmonton, Canada
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
So very big
6.2.2014
"I really wanted this to work.
It's a gorgeous dress, however, it's huge. I ordered it in small. For reference, I'm 5'10.5" and 118 lbs., 34A.; a typical small. The dress was so big that it fell off of my shoulders. An oversized muumuu would've been more attractive (on me). I'd planned on wearing it to a big event; had the whole outfit planned. I'm glad I had a plan B. It's a shame it didn't fit, since it's a lovely dress.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Looks nice until .............
5.27.2014
"Disappointed FP I have only just washed this garment once and this is where it all falls apart.
When I bought this I was well aware of people claiming the lace was breaking apart well it has and I'm not happy. For starters the fabric is such that yes it need a "press" but the lace is some cheap synthetic material so fragile I don't know why these two fabrics were put together as it would never be compatible. Yeah looks great on once and then your a slave to it because the lace needs constant repairing !
So all I can say is buyer beware "it's lovely on " but in the end is it going to be worth it.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Utah
age:36-40
body type:petite
Size down!
5.15.2014
"Definitely size down on this one. I obsessively read reviews before ordering but I'm never quite sure if I'm a Small or XS. I'm 5'4 122 lbs and a 32D and the small is literally falling off my shoulders. The shoulders are cut wide and big and the bust is also large, I have a good couple of inches extra on both sides of the bust and its so low in front that I'm almost hanging out. I like my dresses to fit kind of drapey but this looks like a shapeless sack on me. I have decently defined arms and shoulders (just wrote a review for the drippy jersey dress being too tight in a XS in the shoulders) but would still be considered petite here. The length hits me at the bottom of the knee in the back and 2 inches above the knee in the front - just like it does on the model. The length I love and I wonder how much shorter it will be in the next size down?...
The midnight blue color is absolutely stunning, the purplish body of the dress is complemented so well by the dark periwinkle lace. The lace also has a hand-dyed look that has soaked into the body of the dress (zoom in to see) and its so cool looking. I will probably reorder in a XS.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:athletic
softer than a baby's bum
5.9.2014
"I have had this item on my wishlist forever! I saw it in one of the NYC stores and it is so soft! I almost wanted to get a voile slip, but I think I will end up getting this piece instead! It's much softer and unique in my opinion! This item will definitely be making it from my wishlist into my shopping cart at one point! I just need to find a job and regain steady income and it's mine! I plan on wearing mine as a slip underneath t-shirts and also just as a dress alone! ( I love sheer items paired with the right bras)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:San diego
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Parisian slip
4.26.2014
"I love this slip! Looks so cute paired with my favorite leather or denim jacket. It's perfect on a warm summer day. The mint is gorgeous and is a great summer color. I love the high low effect too! I am 5'4 and 115lbs and the XS works great."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Parisian Slip
4.16.2014
"I have this slip in four colors now-- I really like it. It looks wonderful under the voile and lace trapeze slip that I otherwise wouldn't be able to wear as a dress. It's a little bare in the chest area for me (I'm a DD), but I think most people wouldn't mind. I think the sizing is on the large side, but I like it a little roomy so I didn't size down.
I haven't had any trouble with the lace coming apart, but I seriously baby my clothing. I always wash this in cold on the delicate cycle and hang it to dry.
Overall, I would recommend this slip and hope it comes out in more colors."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
lace ripped after one-time wear
4.15.2014
"First let me say that I love this slip and I have never had a major issue with anything I've ordered from freepeople. However after wearing this slip one time for 3-4 hours the lace running down the middle ripped, so there is now a 4 inch or more hole right in the middle. I don't know if the fabric was just so delicate, but I'm very gentle with my freepeople purchases and hand wash the extra soft things, and I'm very disappointed with how long this piece lasted. It feels like all i would have to do is touch the rest of the lace and it would being to fall apart as well."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:jessheim norway
age:21-25
body type:petite
mint
4.11.2014
"got this one in mint & i need it in other colors :) love the look & its perfect for sumer"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Parisian Slip
Name:
Location:Venezuela
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Not what I was expecting...
4.11.2014
"I live in another country and had to wait months to get this dress. I was super excited about it!! The fabric is indeed very soft and you should definitely size down. I ordered the dress in french vanilla. The color, however, is not even close to a white, off white, ivory, or cream, but it actually a soft peach. (which looks horrible with my skin tone!) I'm really bummed because there is no way I can return it from where I live. Oh Free People, you have disappointed me so...."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>