Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Made My Day Maxi

Casual maxi racerback dress with oversized armholes and drawstring waist. Two front pockets.
overall average rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Made My Day Maxi
Review 1 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cute, but needs some work.
7.12.2013
" I was so excited when I received this dress, and I was still excited when it came; however, it needs a bit of work. The dress is super long. I'm about 5'6 and 1/2 and it trails maybe 6 inches on the ground. Luckily, the dress has a raw hemline, so the length problem can easily be adjusted. The other issue is that it's see through when standing in the light. A bodycon slip would also fix this problem, except that the straps may show. I purchased this dress in a small in the ash grey and I love the color and the overall fit! The dress overall is cute. It's very flattering and feminine, with just enough edge to make it easy to dress up or down. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 2 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Budapest, Hungary
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Perfect
7.6.2013
" I was very nervous when I've ordered it, because I thought it is the type of dress, what looks good on a model but not on me, so I was surprised and happy that it looks on me exactly like on the photo!!!
It is an amazing dress, the material is soft and beautiful (yes, a little bit too thin and see-through, so wear nude underwear or shorts under it) and drapes perfectly :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
5.24.2013
" This dress is so comfy! I love everything about it. It is very figure flattering. Im always in between sizes, xs - s. I order a small and it fit nicely. Im 113lbs and 5'6. The length is good for me. I like my dresses long. It drapes the floor just a little. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
cute but too expensive for a beach coverup
5.22.2013
" This dress is really cute. I am 5'4" 120 and the XS fits great. I love the slits and the ties on the side the only draw back is that it is really thin fabric & definitely see-through. I understand that it is a "beach" coverup but I honestly bought it to wear as a dress but I am torn. I really like it and could pull it off as a regular dress but cant justify spending $80 on a beach coverup (it says free people beach on the tag which makes sense) the material just isn't substancial. Also people we complaining about the length, if you take it to a taylor they are going to laugh and then charge you a fortune, there is no hem (aka raw edge at the bottom) so just take sharp scissors and cut it to the length you need, make sure you measure carefully though! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Everyday dress
5.19.2013
" Love this. Bought the grey in small. Im 5'9 140 34B. This is def see through just be selective for undergarments while wearing. very light. Going to be wearing with Giselle Bralette! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
this dress is not for short people
5.9.2013
" Despite some of the negative reviews, I wanted to love this dress. I am typically a size small, so I stuck with my normal size. I am 5'4 and have a longer torso, so sometimes I have issues with waisted items hitting higher on me than they should. That was not the case with this dress. The draw strings fell significantly below my waist. The slits in the dress hit nearer to my knee, and it was just too long. If the fit was good, I would have overlooked the extremely thin material, but this just didn't work for me at all. Doesn't seem to be a dress for shorter girls. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Doesn't run large! Just really long!
5.1.2013
" I'm slightly upset at myself for not ordering my true size. I sized down because everyone said it ran very large, but when I got this dress it wasn't that nice baggy look like on the models. The only thing that runs "large" is the length. Everywhere else its perfect. I was really looking forward to getting this dress and I will still be keeping it but I wish I had gotten my true size so that the dress actually had that baggier look to it. It's supposed to be a loose dress. I usually wear a large but got a medium and the medium is still loose on me but not as loose as I would have wanted. I suggest that if you want this dress to look like it does on the model, get your true size. Other than than I still really like the dress and highly recommend it. Like others have said it is quite sheer and you have to wear something underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:cali
age:26-30
body type:petite
Overpriced!
4.23.2013
" It runs way too big..I'm 5'3 and I wear size med but this looks like a king size sheet wrapped around me..if your tall this would look beautiful like the pics..and the way it's designed looks like someone just took a pair of scissors and cut the sides.I want to keep it, but definitely have to get a large portion hemmed. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Slightly disappointed...
3.21.2013
" I saw a sales associate wearing this dress in the gray color and I fell in love. The same night I ordered it but only in lavender. So excited to get my dress I ripped open the package and to my disappointment the dress was pretty sheer. It would definitely work as a layered ensemble but as a stand-a-lone it doesn't work. It also runs pretty big. I'm 5'8 and the Medium was dragging on the floor. I tied the side ties tight to give it a tiered look but that made the slits way to high. If FP could make this dress thicker I would totally recommend it. But for now I'm going to have to return. Sad face :( "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:nyc
age:31-35
body type:petite
not worth it
2.24.2013
" this item is not worth it. It is a very thin cheap looking fabric with a raw hem at the bottom but the worst part is that the slits are just cut into the skirt. That means that it will take the slightest catch on something to rip the slit further and there goes your dress or at least it goes for repairs. Also it does not hang well and just looks kind of sloppy, this situation would probably be improved upon on a tall lean body, but still it just isn't a good design overall. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.27.2013
We're sorry that you aren't happy with your dress -- a member of our service team will be in touch to offer help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Casual and Sexy
2.10.2013
" This dress is so effortless. Everything works together perfectly. The arm hole of the dress is low so I recommend a bandeau underneath. The color and length is as pictured (I have lavender) and the fit is large. The slits make the dress stand out. A great dress for summer. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:ks
age:31-35
body type:petite
Disappointed :(
1.29.2013
" I thought and thought about this grey dress. I finally bought it. This was going to be my summer maxi!! I love how it flows and the idea of this dress. This dress is completely see through. I could resolve this problem on top, but the bottom has slits that would require a small slip. Then the length of this dress is VERY long. I even tried it with my 4 inch heels... I am 5"2 and got the XS, I would have to pay to get it hemmed. Also this dress is super thin!! All is together made me revalue this purchase. I just can not justify all this plus hem money for a dress that is not worth the price in the first place. If it did not have all the flaws- I would have kept it. I will wait for another maxi to come my way. I returned it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Love love!
1.29.2013
" I love this dress! I ordered it in the dark green/gray color in XS. I am 5'4 so it drags on the floor. I plan on making it shorter so it fits me better. But I love it! The fabric is super soft and see through, so its great over a swimsuit or layering piece. The sides have adjustable ties on them so you can make it tighter or looser! Overall sooo amazing! Very elegant on! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
LOVE IT!
1.28.2013
" This maxi is a great as I expected it to be. It feels great and looks awesome on. But, it is very long. I am 5'10 and I ordered a medium because I wanted it have a really loose fit. I will have to wear wedges for sure. Love it regardless. I can't wait to wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:slender
Very pretty, but runs large and long!
1.25.2013
" I bought this dress in the dark lavender color in an XS which is my normal size. i love it but unfortunately I have to return it because it is far too long even with heels on and a bit too roomy at the top as well. Wish it would've fit, oh well... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
So cute!
1.24.2013
" This dress is going to be so great in the summer time! It fits a little bit loos like the models, but I don't think you should size down. The length is a little too long for my liking, and due to this the bottom of the dress would obviously get dirty quick. This would be a perfect dress to wear to the beach/pool. There is a tie on the waist that you can loosen or tighten. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:over 45
body type:slender
Great Summer Dress
1.23.2013
" Love this dress, can't wait to wear it! The material is very soft and thin - drapes beautifully. It is ridiculously long, but with raw edge, it will be easy to alter. Perfect for beach or for any occasion. I can tell I will be wearing this a lot! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
HUGE!
1.18.2013
" I ordered this dress in my usual size *small, 5'5" 120 and this dress fits me similar to the way that it fits the model in the pictures pushing the bike, but it's much longer as she is much taller. I would like to exchange it for a smaller size, but they are sold out as of now. The hem on the bottom is a raw hem, so the length could be easily trimmed. Cute summer dress, great concept, but size down!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Made My Day Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago, il
age:14-20
body type:athletic
LOVED THIS!
1.11.2013
" This dress just came in today and overall i love this maxi dress! It has a very casual but sexy look to it. The material of the dress is awesome! It very soft and light, perfect to just throw on. I am 5'8 130 lbs and i got the small. It is just a little long on me and i did have to tie the sides a little tight. but im still gonna keep this size cause now it will work great with wedges for the spring and summer! I recommend it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large