Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

With A Light Heart Dress

Cotton high-low dress with tiered bottom and gorgeous embroidered detailing. Bohemian peasant sleeves. Button opening at front of chest. Comes with slip dress to wear underneath. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length in Front: 39 1/2" Length in Back: 47 3/4" Bust (all around): 38" Sleeve Length: 28 3/8"
overall average rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Customer Reviews for With A Light Heart Dress
Review 1 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Canterbury, UK
age:31-35
body type:curvy
My new favourite dress
1.13.2014
"I adore this dress - I read the reviews and nervously sized down and it is a perfect fit. The slip is ideal and the dress is fitted in the right places and loose and floaty in others as it should be. Very bohemian and romantic. I get tons of compliments on this dress! Ordered the navy and absolutely love it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
True boho style
11.19.2013
"Great dress! I ordered the navy and rust and it is lovely and very feminine. I read the reviews so was a bit nervous about the sizing, needn't have worried. the dress as with my other PF purchases is soft and flowy which is the charm of the brand. I am 5'3" and about 120 pounds small but with a bust. The S fit me really nicely, the slip is Perfect and the dress big but in a nice way. Found a fab pair of rust coloured ankle boots on special so am set to go!!
thanks again."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Urban City
age:36-40
body type:slender
Black & Rust For Fall//Winter
9.21.2013
"Picked this up in medium in store without trying on and it was waaay too big - I was swimming in it and the sleeves covered my hands! Exchanged for small which made a huge difference! This dress is very comfortable, roomy and kind of shapeless (I am 5'8" with small hips and a DD bust and it looked like a sack on me), but all it needs is a belt like the Lapis Metal Belt or Bronze River Belt and instant curves! I have this one in black with rust embroidery and was going to get it in the cream with pink embroidery as well...until my bf said it looks like something from Little House On The Prarie which is not how I saw it, but now that is all it reminds me of. The black and rust doesn't have that "pioneer" vibe though, and it's a great fall/winter layering piece with beat up cowboy boots, with or without knit tights or thigh high socks, jean jacket, suede shirt, shaggy cardigans or sweaters. Would get 5 stars if the embroidery was dual or tri coloured. A keeper nonetheless."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:pittsburgh
age:36-40
body type:slender
way TOO big
8.28.2013
"I read all the reviews, so I ordered a size down. The under slip fit well but the dress itself is HUGE! not flattering whatsoever. It is ok from the front profile but the side and back are clearly unflattering. Tried with a belt, but there is just too much material. I will be sending this back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:curvy
I love this dress!
8.12.2013
"This is one amazing dress. Yes, it is roomy but the fabric is so lightweight this is as it should be. The only complaint I have is that the embroidered stripes going down the front did not line up, one was longer than the other. I would have exchanged it for another but I needed the dress the next day for a special event. I have noticed that with embroidered garments, you have to pay special attention to the detail of the embroidery. This isn't the first time this has been a problem."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:livermore, vs
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
one of my go to dresses
6.23.2013
"love this dress, it hangs great, is casual chic and can be worn in the summer or fall.
i love it!!
it is also lined so you don't need a slip!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Like a Gypsy
5.21.2013
"I love this dress. I ordered the navy, and it is beautiful! I did read through all the reviews and I sized down, I'm 5'10 and 85 kilos, and always wear a large, so ordered a medium, and it is a perfect fit for me. This dress is designed to be loose and slouchy, very boho. The details in the embroidery and the cut of the bodice and sleeves is gorgeous. I imagine it would not be so good on a short, stocky person, but on someone tall or slim it's great. The slip is a bit difficult, I have to organise it and be careful putting the dress on, but when on I feel beautiful and very comfortable. Getting lots of looks in this dress. It is also seasonally versatile, it can be layered up with boots and a cardigan/coat in Winter, on it's own with sandals in Spring and Summer. I will be working this dress hard over the next few years. Very happy customer."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Not for me
2.15.2013
"I had originally tried on the black version in the store and sized down from my medium to a small. I have an hourglass shape and it looked dumpy on me. Two months later I was reading a great fashion blog and the girl was rocking this dress in the cream color. I wanted desparately to pull off her look. So, I ordered the cream in small. It arrived, and yep, still looked bad on me. I LOVE the hot pink detail mixed with the cream in this dress. Unfortunately, this dress was not made for my body type. If you are an hourglass figure, I highly recommend the splendor in the grass dress instead (be sure to size down). That dress looks great on an hourglass figure. Bummed this dress did not work for me, but it looks fantastic on those who can pull it off."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Black is not black, runs really large!
2.12.2013
"I ordered the "Black" online and was disappointed when it arrived because the dress is very clearly navy. Not that I couldn't make that work, I was just looking forward to the contrast of rust against the black. The dress also runs very large. I am usually a S, sometimes an XS in dresses at FP, I ordered the S, and it was very large on me. Not flattering. I returned it."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Fabulous
2.12.2013
"I ordered this dress via internet. I love the fit of this dress. I have seen reviews about this dress being "too big" but if one looks at the photo, the model is showing it is suppose to be loose fitting. I went to an actual Free People store after purchasing this dress and am still in love with it!
Yes, it is big in size but it is suppose to be! Who would want this type of dress to be fitted anyway?
Great dress for all seasons, depending on the shoes/boots you would wear."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:St. Augustine, FL
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Difficult
2.8.2013
"First, the "black" is definitely Navy blue, I compared it to several other pieces of black clothing and it's not even a close call- dress is blue! But I was hoping it would be anyway.
The dress is very flowy- while the slip fits fine, the dress itself is very loose. I like flowy, not a problem. BUT, the gathered skirt hit me right at the hips, and without accentuating the waist it just didn't do much for my curvier figure. If you notice the model wearing the "black" version, she has her arms and hands strategically placed which gives the dress an illusion of having more shape, but it really just hangs straight down until the gathered skirt starts.
Lastly, the slip sewn into this dress is SO DIFFICULT to maneuver to get on! I own several dresses with sewn-in slips, I know my way around getting one on, but this dress.. this dress wants to strangle you first. I was still considering keeping it until I tried it on for the second time and had to fight with that darn slip again. Returned!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:petite
just not me
2.6.2013
"I think I would have liked this dress better if it was whiter as in the pic. I think the neckline is not flattering for me. Not sure why I didn't like the dress. I ordered a size down which was good. I think it just doesn't look good on me so I had to return it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:41-45
body type:slender
I am not sure....
1.31.2013
"I loved the dress, however, as the other reviewers said, it is huge in the back. The front is fine, but the back in extremely full and long. I tried with a belt and looks better. I am 5'6 and the dress is xs, i kind of like the way it looks belted, even though, my idea was to wear it loose. I think i am keeping it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 14 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love this dress
1.30.2013
"Bought this dress as a transition piece heading into spring....read the reviews and ordered a size down and it fits perfect. Loose but not swimming, attached slip fits just as it should. absolutely will be a favorite in my closet. Beautiful pink stitching! Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:london
age:41-45
body type:slender
BLUE!! huge!!
1.26.2013
"BLUE!!...HUGE!!
Ordered mine before the other reviews came up stating the colour of the dress...seriously Free People show a bit of respect for your customers...how many of us have to remind you of the colour before you change your listing..poor show. That said i've kept it..one trip across the atlantic's enough for any dress.. it is large i'm 5'9" uk 10 and should of ordered an x small...or possibly an xx small .... ho hum"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
The Dress is Wearing Me
1.17.2013
"This item just arrived at my house today, and I was both happy and disappointed; happy because the design is lovely, the contrast of embroidered detailing and darker fabric is striking, the overall style is very bohemian and I loved the concept. I am disappointed in the fit as it doesn't just run large... it runs HUGE. I am 5'3" and 110 lbs and I purchased the extra small and I could have fit a second person in the dress with me (the outer more sheer part - the inner slip fit perfectly). From the front the fit looks a tad loose but still wearable, but from the side there is a second dress-worth of fabric just hanging from my shoulders. Still, the dress itself is so perfectly what I have been looking for that I think I will find out what alterations would cost before I give up on it."
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:WA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
A little disappointed, but still cute
1.13.2013
"This dress definitely runs large. The slip is fitted and pretty long. The dress does not look how it looks on the model in the black (which is navy), but more like the first model in the white one. It hit me mid calf and had no shape. It looked a lot cuter after I belted it, so I just kept it. I kind of belted and pulled the dress so that it hung over the belt a little at my waist so the overall length was shortened. It the belt didn't fix the fit, I would've returned it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Lovely Dress
1.12.2013
"As others stated this does run large, however as a woman with a larger chest I often have limited choices with free people as their cloths often do not have enough room in the chest. This had plenty of room on top! The larger fit compliments the boh-ho style of dress, so the extra fabric all around was non-issue for me. I also have an AWESOME tailor who has fixed up lots of free people for me when I had to size up. The black is actually dark blue which is actually so much better! I wore it with brown leather boots with ruffle details and a purple and blue fringed blanket sweater over it. The dress is everything I love out FP...girly, boh-ho, comfortable, pretty and it has pockets! As some one who does not wear pants, a dress with pockets is my favorite score!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:CT
age:36-40
body type:petite
beautiful dress, runs huge
1.2.2013
"I tried this on in the store, it was labeled M/L, I usually wear M in FP. It was huge, the back was nrearly to the floor! The slip, though, was fitted. The bodice was too big, but not overly so. They didn't have a smaller size so I ordered a S online, we'll see... It's so pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for With A Light Heart Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Pretty but huge
12.27.2012
"This dress is pretty but truly gigantic. I am usually a M on FP and ordered that size but could've easily fit into a XS. It's rather see-through and, the worst part for me, is that the BLACK is not black at all but dark BLUE. If you like dark blue, go for it; otherwise, do not waste your time."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>