Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Oversize Button Down

Super soft oversized buttondown blouse with two front slit pockets. Fabric is semi-sheer. Horizontal seam running across upper front and back.
overall average rating:
2.478 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for Oversize Button Down
Review 1 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love the shirt, poor quality
1.2.2014
" I love the style of this shirt, its very cute on. However, I've only worn it a handful of times and it is falling apart at the seams. The back seam has ripped in multiple places. I order from Free People frequently and have never had issues like this in the past so I was very surprised that this happened, especially considering the price of the shirt. I really loved this shirt and am very disappointed it is now unwearable. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:here and there, Texas
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Good...and hope it stays that way.
11.9.2013
" I've been eyeing this for almost a year, and the reviews pretty much scared me away. It's a great top, but I figured if it may need repair later, then I'd wait for it to go on sale. Well, that didn't happen. So what did I do? I scoured the internet for a source that did have it on sale, like, really on sale, and I found it. FP may not like me saying this, but this review is for my fellow customers. And with all of the complaints, good customer service protocol would have seen this item marked down. I got the white in my usual FP medium and it's okay so far. However, when and if it does need to be stitched up, at least I won't have to grouse about how much I originally paid for it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Omigosh
9.28.2013
" Got the black today at Bloomingdales. I can't rave enough. Hangs so effortlessly cool. The reviews concern me, but if it falls apart I will sew it right back up. It's worth it. Pics don't it justice. Size 4, got the xs - drapes beautifully. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:petite
At a loss
8.22.2013
" I really don't understand the complaints. I absolutely adore this top. The fabric is thick enough to keep it from being sheer. I could see how the fabric could be annoying to some, especially those who do not want to take the time to care for it properly. I haven't had any issues with snags or tears. I love the asymmetry and the thick hem at the bottom. Thinking of getting it in the other color. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:U.S.A
age:14-20
body type:athletic
crying
8.8.2013
" this top is sooo nice for the first two times you wear it and then the seams start literally shredding. both the shoulders and above the pockets on mine are practically separated and for no reason because i never wear a bag on my shoulders. i have it in the white and its incredibly soft and easy to wear, slightly shear, and perfect for summer. I loveddd it when I got it and now I'm really disappointed especially considering that the price is worthy of better quality. I'm going to have to throw out the shirt :( also be warned that the way the dye affected the fabric with the green and black colors makes them rough and not soft like the white top. wish this top would have lasted! "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb8.8.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this! Our team will be in touch to help with this today! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute but FALLING apart!
7.16.2013
" I wish I would have read the other review before I bought this shirt. It is a really cute shirt and I love the fit, but I wore it one day and during the day I noticed the seams started to fall apart. It is cute, but not worth it unless you do not mind sewing after you wear it every time. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:ga
age:14-20
body type:petite
not worth the money
7.2.2013
" I don't know why I didnt read the reviews before I bought this but I experienced the same thing. I wore the shirt around the house for an hour and noticed the seams were tearing apart from the pockets. Also, I'm 5'2 110 pounds, got an xs and the shirt didn't look oversized it looked just way too big for me. $88 is just another way freepeople is trying to rip people off. I'm definitely returning this. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.3.2013
We're sorry to hear that this ripped. Our team will be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute but Falling Apart
6.24.2013
" This shirt is very cute and fits well, but it is far too flimsy. I bought one and wore it once, in the car. Just from sitting in the car it got two big holes along the seams. I though at first that it was a fluke and exchanged it for another, but I've worn it for one day and again it was flimsy in quality. I walked past a stone wall lining the side walk, and the shirt brushed against the wall, causing it to snag terribly. Don't buy unless you plan on only standing in the corner while wearing it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.26.2013
We're so sorry to hear this. We've passed the feedback on to our designers and will be happy to help you with another return.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Poor quality
6.21.2013
" Just like the review below I was super excited to receive this shirt. I put it on as soon as I got it and loved it. The same thing ended up happening to me, however, the rip in mine was even bigger. The material for this shirt is very cheap and not worth the money. I will be sending this shirt back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Boston
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
LOVE!..but it's falling apart
6.20.2013
" Great for summer, comfy, looks good even on my curves. For me, a oversize white shirt that looks good on a girl with curves is well worth the money. BUT, this shirt started falling apart with in an hour of putting it on. I got it this afternoon and wore it to dinner. By time the coffee was served the shirt was literally coming apart at the seams. $88 for 2 hours of wear is outrageous. I live in my free people clothing and it is disappointing that something so poorly made would have found its way onto their racks. "
Response from Free People:By Free People web6.24.2013
We're sorry to hear about this! Our team will be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:atlanta, ga
age:21-25
body type:curvy
falling apart
6.20.2013
" i was really excited about this top, until i wore it. the image attached is after day 1 of wear. even if this top actually could make it to day 2, it's not happening because it's getting returned. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.21.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this! We offer free shipping on exchanges, so please call us and we'll be happy to waive your shipping on the replacement! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Birmingham
age:14-20
body type:petite
Breezy Shirt for Summer
6.13.2013
" I got this shirt in the moss color in an xs, and I love it! It is a great alternative to a tank top when it is humid and hot outside. It is definitely oversized, but it looks like it is supposed to be that way. This shirt would be comfy enough to wear traveling as well. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Definitely a big white shirt!
6.7.2013
" My family and I are frequent shoppers of Free People. However this shirt has definitely changed my views about your clothing. This shirt looked like two giant pillow cases that were stitched together with - the sleeves added on in a list minute ditch to make it look like a shirt. The shirt is so flimsy that even the buttons pull it down and believe me the neck looks even worse. To add insult to injury the shirt I received was damaged too! For this amount of money this was just an epic fail. Unfortunately I will no longer be shopping via catalog as I would now want to try the item on so my shopping will be limited to only what is in the stores. This really is frustrating because your stores do not carry everything in your catalog. Just to end this review on a positive note; your staff at the call center are courteous, knowledgeable and try very hard to fix the problem. So kudos to all your call staff members. I am so sorry to see this shirt go back but even without the damage it is just to "wrong" on so many levels. Thank you. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Sunnyvale. CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Not worth the $$$..gorgeous but extremely delicate
6.5.2013
" I Love Love Love this shirt! especially tucked in with high waisted shorts and a belt. I'm 5'3, 110lbs(XS) and just loved the flow of the shirt. But I am dispointed that I only got to wear the shirt ONCE!. I purchased this shirt on friday 5.31.13 and the shirt is now falling apart at the seams. To make matters worse I took it to the cleaners bc I was scared to wash it and it is now discolored. I should have taken a hint at the store because the display shirt also was falling apart at the seams. I really think this shirt should be sold at a lower price point because the poor quality of the material. I am really really disappointed as others are in the quality. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.6.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! Someone will be in touch soon!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Strange sleeves, boxy look
5.28.2013
" I’m not quite sure how I feel about this shirt at the moment. I purchased it while looking for an alternative for my Stavros button-down shirt (hands down one of my favorite things I’ve purchased on this site) and, a little worried about previous reviews mentioning issues with sleeves, decided to purchase this one a size up with an L (I'm 5'6" and around 110lbs.#. This may have been a bad idea. While the sleeve holes do fit comfortably #and I do call them “holes”—for some reason the one I bought doesn’t seem to have the same sort of sleeve as the ones in the pictures. They’re odd, batwing-type holes in the sides), the rest of the shirt is very boxy and shapeless. It is soft however, and I wear it everywhere comfortably. I’m thinking about purchasing the medium to compare the two but in the meantime the fit and look of the shirt isn’t what I hoped for. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:israel
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
beware
5.19.2013
" loved the shirt even received compliments but wore it only one and it came apart at the seams - dissapointing "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.20.2013
So sorry this happened - we will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
too delicate
3.15.2013
" Such a cute top but the fabric is a loose weave and the seams pull out! the entire back of my shirt ripped open just from my cross-body bag rubbing on it. I tried stitching it back up which worked but now the front is ripping too. I wish I had returned this before I sewed it the first time. im SO disappointed this would be such a cute item. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.18.2013
So sorry this happened! We will be in touch to provide assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
VERY DELICATE!
3.9.2013
" I bought the white one in large coz' I want that same look on the model so if you want to get that same picture and effect go a few size larger. Yes, it is true if you go your normal size the arm hole is tight so I suggest size up but other than be extra careful when you wear and wash, fabric is thin! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
VERY Disappointed!
3.1.2013
" I was very disappointed because I was really excited about the style and fabric. Really poor quality & strange fit. I rated sizing as small due to the small arm/sleeve sizing in comparison to the rest of the shirt. And the fabric was pulling apart at seams on the one I received! Had to send back. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Oversize Button Down
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Pretty
2.19.2013
" I'm 5'4, 118 lbs and I ordered the size xs, and it fits pretty much the same as it does on the model, just maybe a little shorter everywhere, arms included. If I decided to order it in white when it's back in stock I'll probably size up to small. Other than that, it's a beautiful shirt - soft, flowy and comfortable. It is slightly sheer, but I just layer a cream colored tank underneath and it's perfect, can't even tell it's under there. I have a running issue with FP pricing though. A top like this should have gone for $68 MAX,not a whopping $88, or rather a hundred including CA taxes. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>