Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Marina Embroidered Dress

Cotton hi-low dress with beautiful embroidered detailing at front of chest and upper back. Comes with slip to wear underneath for extra coverage. Slip has adjustable shoulder straps.
overall average rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Marina Embroidered Dress
Review 1 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful dress
1.24.2014
"This is my first Free People piece ever and I am in love with it it! I am 5'2" and I got the size small and it fits perfetcly, even the slip fits. It is a little longer on me than on the model of course, but it still looks great. It is a little spacey, but I like it that way. I f you want a more fitted look then size down."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Chandler
age:26-30
body type:slender
Love it
12.1.2013
"I got this dress in xs I'm 5'7 115lbs and think its a beautiful fit. It runs a bit loose but that's a style of it. I like wearing it with black leggings and Truemay Lace Up Boots from FP."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Yonkers, NY
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
A twist to the classic Mexican dress
11.13.2013
"I am so in love with this design! Being Mexican, I am very fond of the traditional Mexican country style. This dress brings such a delicate and modern twist to the classic boxy embroidered dresses. I absolutely recommend the ivory one. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
my new favorite dress :)
10.1.2013
"i just bought this dress in a size xs in the rouge color and i LOVE it :) im 5'6 124 pounds. it fits like a dream :) it is very roomy though and thats how i like my dresses. so i would recommend sizing down with this dress. if you usually wear a size 4, buy the extra small still. the slip is very short but it reaches just below my butt. so any shorter would have been a no no haha but im tall so i expected it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Sweet, elegant
8.30.2013
"love this dress. It is elegant without compromising comfort. Fresh for the summer weather and easy to layer for coldest seasons. Love the coral color. Got lots of compliments on this one."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:boston, ma
age:21-25
body type:athletic
couldn't pass it up
8.28.2013
"Bought this on a whim while I was browsing the store one day waiting for a friend. They only had size small left but it looked roomy enough so I grabbed it. (Im generally a solid medium sometimes even large depending on the dress so this was really taking a chance) Im SO glad I did. It's definitely a favorite right now, Ive received a ton of compliments and the small fits perfectly. DO size down, ladies. The material is very airy and the peachy color without the slip ( slips never fit right so I always toss them) is not too see through, plus a little pop of a cute black bra never hurt anyone."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver BC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
boxy but so comfortable!
8.27.2013
"the bodice of this dress is very very boxy, it's not fitted in any way, i may take it in a little on the sides because it's a tent! i have it in red, the colour is as pictured. glad it comes with a slip, though i don't always wear it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Calabasas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Romantic and beautiful
8.21.2013
"I just got this dress as a gift and I love it so much! I am only 5'2 so the legnth on me is a lot different than the model. The front goes to my knee and the back goes to my ankles. It runs large but if you want it to fit like the model I suggest you get your normal size or maybe even a size down. It is super soft and comfortable. It is also nice that it comes with a nice slip underneath (I got the ivory) so I can also wear that under other outfits as well which is nice. I love this and it is perfect for all seasons. I cant wait to wear it in Fall or winter with high socks and tall boots with a colorful pea coat."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Super cute, runs large....
8.20.2013
"Both of the colors in this dress is simply stunning. I decided on the rouge because it is just so vibrant. The detailing in the photo does not do it justice, very detailed and alluring. The dress runs very large, I had to drop down two sizes because if you do not it is not at all flattering. The slip like other complimentary FP slips runs very small especially in the bust (I am a 34-36 C-D) so you might have to buy a separate slip as the dress is very sheer. The piece will carry you through the seasons by adding the FP knee high socks, boots, leggings and either a thermal underneath or one of FP's maxi cardigans."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Lovely!
8.12.2013
"I got this dress in the cream and black and it was just beautiful (the slip fit more like a cami). Unfortunately, the embroidered design was not centered in the front and was very apparent. I have been finding this a problem with the embroidered pieces. Not an issue if they aren't meant to line up, a big issue if they are."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Tucson, Arizona
age:over 45
body type:petite
Pretty but Runs Huge
8.1.2013
"This dress is very pretty. I ordered it in the rouge color and it looks just like the picture. The fit of the dress is HUGE! I ordered my usual size small and according to the measurements given, it was supposed to have a 34.5" bust all around, but the actual measurement of the bust on the dress I got was 40". I had to send it back for the xs, which fit better, but was still rather loose. I recommend sizing down on this one. The slip that comes with the dress runs very small; not really wearable. Had to use another slip with it that I already had since the dress is rather sheer. Free People really needs some better quality control if they are going to charge these kind of prices."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Northern NJ
age:over 45
body type:curvy
A gauzy cloud!
7.19.2013
"I've been wearing this dress throughout 100-plus temperatures, and it feels cool and feather-light! I purchased the rouge, which is more raspberry in color than the orangey-red pictured. The cutout in the back is placed perfectly for women like myself who need to wear a bra - my bra back falls a few inches below the opening. This dress moves with the breeze, and is a great find for a easy summer garment. I receive numerous compliments every time I wear it.
Only complaint: The slip that comes with the dress is way too small to fit anyone comfortably - even the svelte saleswoman in my FP store noted that she can't fit into it. I was somewhat relieved - I thought maybe it was just me. . .
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:virginia
age:14-20
body type:slender
a must have!
7.14.2013
"This dress is gorgeous! I saw it in the window of the store and knew I had to have it. I got my usual xs and it fit pretty much like it looks on the model with a loose fit but not too oversized. It can be worn as a dress or you can tie the long part up and wear it as a shirt. Both colors are great but I got the ivory because I just don't like bright colors. If you're thinking about getting it, get it, it's totally worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect
7.11.2013
"I made the mistake of entering my local FP store not expecting to buy anything. ...Boy was I super wrong. this dress immediately caught my eye and I found myself continuously circling back past it while I browsed. I decided to try it on and fell in love with it. It's perfect. I am 5'4" 120lbs 34 C and the small fit like a dream. The length is great for shorter girls. The quality is also really great.
I'm so excited to wear this through fall, layering it with anything and everything.
Such a great boho market girl dress. <3
Worth every penny."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Such a lovely dress
7.9.2013
"This dress is incredible. The details are gorgeous, the fabric is light, and the high low detail is so much fun. The sizing is pretty true, but the body is free sized, so you're only really fitting the top! My only complaint is the slip...which is simply swapped out for the voile slip instead. The slip it comes with is just a bit too narrow for my curvy shape. Highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:sc
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
slip
7.9.2013
"love the dress, the slip is too short though. I ordered the small, the dress fits great, the slip though shows my backside through the sheerness of the dress"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
The details are beautiful
7.5.2013
"I got the beige one, and I think that color is beautiful. I didn't I would love the silhouette and I was worried there's to much fabric. Yet the pleading makes it more refined. The high-low cut gives it a more casual feel. And, it's quite comfy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Fab Summer dress
7.2.2013
"Okay, let's get this out of the way... the slip is way too small. Otherwise perfect dress for the hot summer weather. I got the dress in a size small --I am a 6 and the slip did not come close to fitting. I have other slips that I have gotten with other FP dresses so I pulled one of those out and voila it was a perfect fit. I am thinking about getting this one in the rouge color as well as the off white. You will not be disappointed with this purchase."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:36-40
body type:petite
I feel pretty
6.22.2013
"I love the versatility, detail and quality of this dress. So worth the wait. I am 5'2 and 155lbs (and losing... goal is back to my old weight of 130lbs)! Even at that size I would still order the small. The dress is very forgiving since the extra weight is mostly on my stomach and waist. It flows nicely and I like how it is high low. Being petite, I was surprised the dress is still quite short and above my knees in the front. I plan to wear my hair pulled back to show the cute open cut out detail in the back. Happy with my new FP dress! An extra plus is the slip underneath can detach and be worn with other FP dresses that I have that may be a bit sheer."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Marina Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Worth the wait!
6.19.2013
"When I first saw this dress online I ordered it on the spot. It was a long wait but I've learned with FP if you want it, grab it, as attractive items get snapped up fast. I'm tall and a size 12 with an hourglass build. This dress is lovely on, so charming and flows over the body in a pleasing and flattering way. It is a roomy fit, but the fabric drapes in such a way from the yoke that it is quite flattering. What I love most about it , is how many ways I can imagine wearing it. In summer with sandals, in early fall belted over jeans, in fall with leggings and boots. It is also vey nicely made. Great purchase! Yay"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Chateau Moccasin Boot
4.6 out of 5(14)