Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress

Contrast floral embroidery is the highlight of this voluminous New Romantics dress. Lace trim, a Hi-Lo hem, and a split neckline finish the look. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy.
overall average rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:petite
"Is that dress vintage?"
7.7.2014
"Everyone keeps asking me if this dress is vintage. This dress, though definitely roomy, has that perfect Olsen-y "yes, it looks like I'm wearing a giant sack, but I'm still chic" look. Being really petite, I was worried when I pulled this dress out of the package that it was going to swallow me whole, but I found that it's a flattering kind of roomy. The embroidery is gorgeous and the weight of the dress is very substantial- I'm not worried about it snagging or getting damaged while I'm wearing it. I bought it in the ivory and I was pleased to find the color neutral (ie not pure white) enough that it can easily transition through the seasons. And for the sale price, it is definitely worth a purchase! If it wasn't so distinct looking I would have bought the gold version as well!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Modesto, CA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Unique, great dress!
7.2.2014
"I absolutely love this dress! So much so I bought it in the Gold and Creme. I am normally a size large but sized down to a medium. I am 5'8 160 pounds and its perfect. I wear this with cute knee length ruched leggings and it looks great! Dress up or down. I wear this just out to do errands or to a social business event/dinner. Its versatile, it craves that! Right now its an awesome price! I found the gold one at the store for $99.99 with 20% additional percent off! score! Pick this dress up if you can!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautifully made but not flattering (on me)
6.20.2014
"Urgh, I so wanted to love this dress. Pulling it out of the box, it was heavy and the embroidery done beautifully. Possibly the nicest quality dress I've come across from FP. However, wearing it was another story.
>
I'm a 36DD and after reading the previous reviews, I got the Medium. I was still *swimming* in the dress. I considered maybe getting it tailored - the embroidery is *that* gorgeous - but ultimately it went back. There's just *so* much excess fabric. I really wish it fit more like the a-line look in the first photo (in white). Alas, no.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
huge
6.19.2014
"this dress is beautiful and unique. that being said it is much stiffer than it appears in the photo and it is gigantic. the fabric is thick and doesn't move much. i ordered a small which i normally do in free people dresses and it was huge to the point of being unflattering. i'm having it altered because it is worth it to me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Upstate, NY
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Loves It!!
6.18.2014
"I have a Love Jones for this one. Wonderful weight fabric, I got the white and it is kind of like canvas. Beautiful well done embroidery. I usually wear a L but they only had M and it fits perfectly so yes it runs large. Wish they still had the black - may try it in the S. I want to wear this everyday. Love it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Big and Beautiful
6.14.2014
"Yep, very oversized, sized 2 down,and am going to get the sleeves taken in but over all beautiful quality fabric and embroidery. Purchased the gold colour and is exactly as pictured. Love it, very unique."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:acme pa
age:over 45
body type:curvy
gorgeous
6.11.2014
"This piece is unique, detail work is awesome, the fabric is yes, very weighty... it has an oriental vibe., I am 5'3" front is by top of knees, back is mid calf., I purchased black & gold in Med.(usual size) to get the voluminous look one of the best made pieces I have purchased dress, with leggin, jeans..but to me it's all in what u make it., it's special"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful Details. Size Way Down.
6.11.2014
"I have to agree with the other reviewers that the dress runs really big. I am normally a M/L and I got a Small. I could have probably gone with a X-Small if I wanted, thats how big it runs! Other than that, the dress has gorgeous details and the quality is top notch. For reference I am 5'11" 150 lbs."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:indiana
age:over 45
body type:curvy
too heavy and big!
5.27.2014
"I am a large in free people, I read the reviews and ordered a medium…it was still huge, and the high low hem, was too short in the front. The fabric is so heavy, can't wear it for summer. I will be returning this."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Such quality, so big
2.22.2014
"Bought this dress at the end of 2013 online, I'm an Australian 14, so My husband bought a black, large size for me, but it was very unflattering and absolutely huge.
I didn't want to send it back though, such a hassle, and it's such and phenomenally gorgeous dress in all other ways. I've had a friend take in the sides and under the arm and now it's fits beautifully. There is plenty of fabric to adjust this or get it altered if you want it as bad as I did.
I'd highly recommend buying a size, if not two, down from your normal size.
A few things too: the pictures perfectly show the texture, embroidery and colour of the dress, though not the epic size of it of course. If you've got some boobs, the dress sits pretty high at the front, I can't wear it to work as a teacher (hopefully with stockings and boots in winter ja) it's super low at the back, and hits mid calf.
Everyone comments on how beautiful it is. It's worth every dollar, but just might cost you a tiny bit more to make it fit.
Xx
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love the look - Ordered the wrong size
11.8.2013
"I bought this dress and love it. However, it is SO big! I am a size 8/10. I bought a medium. It is so large that I am thinking I may need to have it majorly altered. I should have exchanged it for a smaller size but I thought that given it was a heavy cotton it would shrink a lot. Not so."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautiful But...
10.10.2013
"I ordered this dress in black. It was huge and unflattering when I took it out of the packaging, but beautiful on. It is big, but hangings in a lovely way. The stitching is lovely and the fabric is sturdy and the best quality of FP I have experienced in a while. This dress is truly a unique and lovely piece."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:deep south, usa
age:over 45
body type:athletic
My fav FP item!
10.6.2013
"This dress is made of high quality fabric, a heavy canvas feel to it. It is more gorgeous in person . The trick is to get correct size, my idea is the gold dress is being worn by model a bit snug.. I would rec calling FP and buying according to your bust measurement.....the rest of the dress will be fine but more fitting on you. The black dress is being modeled more relaxed and this is what I wanted. I am usually a m and ordered a m . A small would definitely fit but look more like the gold model. I am 5'8" and wear a 38d .. I like the way the dress hangs and am keeping the medium. Good luck and this dress is ALL THAT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Beautiful on the model
10.1.2013
"I was so excited to get this dress. I ordered it in the black and brown and what a freaking disappointment!! The detail on the dress is fab but the material is heavy and fits and hangs like a circus tent. It looks nothing like what the model is wearing and my only thoughts are that they pinned or altered it to be more fitted. Completely false advertising. I am not one to throw stones but everyone I showed the picture to and then showed the dress fit to said the same thing.
Boo!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:curvy
really big
9.27.2013
"I ordered in a medium after reading the other review but this is even huge. I was going to wash it in warm water and shrink it. The stitching is beautiful."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP New Romantics Doll Face Peasant Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Not as pictured :(
9.23.2013
"I ordered an XS and granted, the dress is supposed to be big and free-flowing, but it looked like an XL potato sack. Was super bummed as it looks adorable on the models. The stitching was lovely though."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large