Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket

Distressed cargo jacket with contrasting patterned sleeves and upper back. Zipper and button front closure. Four front utility pockets. Drawstring tie at front of waist. Lightweight feel that is great for layering. **Special Note: The webshots of this jacket are more accurate than the catalog shot.
overall average rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Review 1 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Amazing!
11.20.2013
"I bought this jacket for the sale price in size large. It is a bit roomy, but I thinks it's good because I can still wear a sweater underneath and have enough space to move around. It's a great fall jacket and it's so cute an unique! I wear this everyday. There are plenty of pockets, and it is made very well. It is a bit thin, but I think that's the point. I would definitely recommend this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:broomfield
age:26-30
body type:slender
GREAT!!
9.7.2013
"Love this coat. haven't worn it out yet but I got a medium and think its just about true to size. maybe bigger but I think it fits great and its super cute. I'm 145 and its a good fit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:petite
Unique but poor quality :(
6.23.2013
"Loved this jacket when I saw it in the store. It was very unique and different so I decided to buy it. I had to cut all excess threads from it for 15 min when I got it home, so I already had a kind of a bad feeling about the quality. I wore it once and washed in the gentle cycle in a laundry bag and hung to dry. Look what happened in the picture. I couldn't believe this as I paid so much money on this! I have to take it to a tailor to repair..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.26.2013
We're sorry to hear this. Our team will be reaching out to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Super unique
6.9.2013
"I agree with all the reviewers that said this jacket runs large, however being a size XS I wondered if I was gonna have to pass on this one since I wouldn't be able to size down. I tried it on at the store, and yes it is roomy BUT it has two drawstrings at the sides that you can adjust so that it can cinch your waist - thereby giving you more shape. Also, since I felt the sleeves were loose on me, I decided to roll em like pictured on the model and I just instantly fell in love. There's tons of cargo jackets at every single store, but if you're looking for one with more unique bohemian classic FP detailing then get this one! It's not too heavy, in fact, I found it to be rather light. Perfect for spring and in the fall, since it's roomy, I can cozy it up with a thick sweater underneath. Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
boxy
5.21.2013
"i really liked the look of the jacket, but it is very boxy and makes it feel larger than it is. also, the sleeves were very short. you would have to roll them up for it too look like the jacket was not too small."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:over 45
body type:slender
It's a beauty!!
5.10.2013
"This is a terrific jacket! The color online is much more green than the jacket is... It's more brown. I think the jacket runs true to size - my actual measurements for a sz. M were very similar to the web-site's measurements for a sz. S. this can go easily from summer to fall!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:36-40
body type:slender
Jacket Sizing runs large
4.22.2013
"This jacket is so cute and a bit different for casual wear. The sizing does run large. I ordered a medium and it is more like a large. I hot washed it and put it through the dryer however, it did not shrink much. Will be good for winter over sweaters."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Birmingham
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cool Statement Piece
3.9.2013
"This jacket is awesome! It is so different than anything else out there now. I love that it goes with everything too. It will be a great transition piece for spring because it is not too heavy and insulated."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Loved this, but...
3.1.2013
"I loved this jacket. It's so pretty and unique. Unfortunately, it runs large. And I am normally an XS. So of course, it was huge and I can't size down. So disappointed. Went with the Knit Hooded Twill Jacket instead, which I do love. I just wish this would have worked out. It actually feels heavier than I thought it would, but in a way, it's light at the same time. It's a great jacket, just size down."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:36-40
body type:slender
made for me!
2.27.2013
"This is different from other free people jackets that I have so it was a nice addition to my wardrobe. I love the contrast in the sleeves and it looks heavier but it feels really light and comfortable on. I live in Southern California so it was a perfect jacket for winter to spring and even summer nights. It feels loose and non-constricting but it is still flattering to my shape. Love it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Naples
age:14-20
body type:petite
AMAZING
2.24.2013
"I saw this jacket in the store and I instantly fell in love with it. It's so different from any Free People jackets I have, which is quite a few. It's bigger, so size down. I rarely buy Free people items full price, but this one is totally worth it! My new spring jacket!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
sweet shirt jacket
2.17.2013
"Tried this on in my FP store and felt it was a bit tooo thin for my taste and for 168. It looks exactly like the studio shots. Fits a little roomy. If you think about it as a shirt jacket you might better envision the feel of this jacket."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE
2.10.2013
"i LOVE this, i disagree with the other reviews. I was looking at this online & in the catalog and then I saw it in store and couldn't leave without it!!! I sized down and could have even gone 2 sizes smaller, it just depends on what look you want & how you plan on layering. The jacket looks identical to the picture and its awesome i love the contrast of fabrics! My favorite new free people piece, and the best part is that i can match it up with so many other FP clothes. Definitely recommend!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Love it!
2.9.2013
"I love this jacket! But I was expecting it to be thicker based on the pictures but its actually quite thin. Definitely a spring/summer sweater. I got a size small, i'm 5 foot 3, 125 pounds, 32C and it fit perfectly with plenty of room to spare for layers. I was worried it could possibly be too big but the small was perfect. I love the contrast of the sleeves and the back is more fitted than it looks on the model, because on the model the back of the jacket looks a bit big on her. Overall, I love the jacket I don't mind that it was thinner than I was expected but 168.00 is a bit high for such thin a jacket!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Just okay.....
2.8.2013
"I ordered this jacket the moment I saw it. After reading the measurement for a size small (40"-chest#, I went down a size and got the small. The small fit perfectly. For me, the jacket was just okay. I wasn't in love with it. It was not super flattering #or I would have kept it#. It looks much better closed/zipped up. The sleeves are thin. The pictures makes the sleeves look thick and substantial but sadly they are not. The brown part of the jacket also looks like it would be think material from the picture, but it is not. It does have ties on the outside of the jacket that you can cinch the waist. It is not long #hits at top of hips#, and it's not worth 168.00. For all these reasons I shipped it back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Follow Your Heart Cargo Jacket
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Cute but not perfect
2.8.2013
"Overall, this is a cute piece. There are a few things I really like about it, such as the fact that the green in my jacket is really faded and has almost yellow spots to it, giving it a worn-in and distressed look. The fit is good too, flattering but with room for a long-sleeved shirt underneath. The thing I don't like about it is the design on the white part; in the picture, it looks softer and more "hippie-ish," however in reality, it's looks more Native American or Mexican. It gives the jacket a different kind of look altogether. Still, a good piece for those sixty-something degree days. The sleeves are thin enough that you won't get too hot."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large