Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt

All over tiered ruffle maxi skirt. In between each ruffle tier is a more slightly sheer stretchy fabric. This skirt should be worn with a slip underneath for more coverage. Back is longer and pointed at the bottom. Waist band is stretchy with ruffled trimming. Dramatic and striking, but still with a casual, everyday feel.
overall average rating:
4.614 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Customer Reviews for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Stunning and unique
5.14.2014
"This is, by far, my favorite thing I've ever bought from FP. This piece is TTS if you are used to Free People, which can run a bit large. The skirt is see through in the panels between the ruffles but in the gray you can't actually see anything. I am 5'3" and with 6" heels the skirt barely sweeps the floor. This is a hard piece to tailor as it does have a train in the back but there are strings on the inside of the skirt that will enable you to tie the train up so it bustles in the back and won't drag behind you. I wear this skirt with a fitted Guess t-shirt that has embellished shoulders. I tuck the t-shirt in and wear it with the train down; the casual shirt with the dressy skirt is a great combination and tucking the shirt in doesn't take away from the skirt. The skirt is beautiful with the train tied up but the train makes the skirt stunning. I was stopped by men and women to tell me how much they loved the skirt. I even had people yelling at me from across parking lots to ask where I got it. Great piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Amazing.
4.2.2014
"Truly just that - amazing! By far the most flattering maxi skirt I've ever purchased. The weight makes it hang beautifully and creates a slim silhouette even with the abundant ruffles and material. After reading reviews I decided to size down from my normal size S to an XS. If I was planning on wearing it lower on my hips I might have wanted the S for more stretch in the waistband, but since I'm planning on wearing it high waisted with a crop or tied up tee I'm happy with the XS. I love the idea of it being a statement piece in an otherwise casual outfit, but it could very easily be dressed up too. The train at the back is absolutely stunning, but wearing it loose will be limited to places I don't mind it dragging! As it is at 5'5" I will need to wear heels to avoid the front dragging too. The ties inside that pull up the length at the back will allow me to wear it more often without worrying about ruining the train or having to carry it while outdoors! I got the black (dark grey) color and it didn't appear to be too sheer to get away with no additional slip, but it is a bit rainy and dark today - maybe sunlight behind it would change that. Jumped on the website today just after receiving this hoping to order it in another color but they're all sold out in my size! Jump on it while you can!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
You will not be sorry!
3.18.2014
"Tried this on in the store in large and it was super big for me even tho I take a large in FP. Waited a long time to order the medium - still too big and sent it back. Decided to buy the small based on reviews I had read here and I was SO happy I stuck with it and got the right size. This skirt is killer and once you get the right size, it wont feel like there is too much material and it wont be as long on you either.
I am 5 ft 4 inches and the small was exactly long enough for me. If I wear heels, I will not have to pick the skirt up at all when walking and if I dont wear heels - the skirt just grazes the floor.
DO NOT WAIT to buy this skirt if you like to have a statement piece in your wardrobe and like to be a bit different. This is not an everyday item but will be fantastic for festivals and rock shows or just going out for dinner. I live in LA so this type of thing rocks in my city.
Stick it out to find your right size cause when you do, you will LOVE THIS!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
I LOVE THIS SKIRT!!!!
2.7.2014
"This skirt is BEAUTIFUL! Its not as bright as the picture - more of a cranberry, but it is really pretty. Unfortunately, I had to send it back because it was too big...I normally wear a size 10 in zip up pants and a medium in pull up pants, but that theory didn't work with this skirt. The medium wasn't snug enough, in fact, it was very loose fitting. So much so, I really thought about sizing down 2 sizes because of the material. Its very soft and stretchy, but I need it for Valentines day (which gives me 7 days exactly) and don't have much room for error. I would like the fit the model is sporting (if you know what I mean), where it just hangs perfectly from the hips. All and all, if you're on the fence, I would definitely recommend this skirt....
P.S. I will do a follow-up when I received the smaller size.....
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Super stunning!!
1.28.2014
"167cms, 55kg/123 pounds.
Purchased this skirt on a whim as I read all the reviews and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The cranberry is super stunning. Purchased an xs and have to wear it high on my waist as it is long with flats on however will be the right length with boots on.
Looks fabulous dressed up or worn casually. It really is a statement piece, super flattering, well made, I can't say enough good things about this skirt. Now I want the black. Thanks FP for making such great gear and allowing me to discover my look after so many years."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Everywhere, USA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Year Round Favorite
11.25.2013
"I absolutely love this maxi! I refer to it as my "dark bride gown" primarily because of the trail in the back. I've worn it on a summer's night, and most recently on one of the coldest winter night's I've experienced thus far in 2013. I've dressed it with a loose tee and plenty of long chains for a goth look, and more recently with my jeweled-up holiday sweater and bling belt. What's most amazing is with all this elegance, I donned a pair of combat boots and still remained fabulous. There's nothing like being fabulous and comfortable - oh my!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Fabulous
11.7.2013
"I am wearing the skirt as I write this. I wore it yesterday too and am going to wear it tomorrow. It is lovely. I have had quite a few complements and many a look whilst wearing this. I usually buy a medium or small and bought a small in this, but could easily have gone down to an XS. However as I am very tall (5'11") I can carry the extra fabric. I bought the red, which is a lovely cherry colour and am currently wearing it with a stripey long sleeved T and bolero leather so to balance out the fullness of the skirt. It is long though as I have heeled boots on with it and it is still floor length. Overall a fabulous skirt which is currently my favourite FP item. Definitely worth the money. Buy it whilst you can."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Lancaster , California
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Fav.customer
10.22.2013
"I love this skirt !! I got this skirt in cranberry and black. The cranberry is so pretty and looks like Christmas time. I will wear for hosting Christmas parties. The black one is also gorgeous and as you can see I love free people clothing! Excellent skirt ,run don't walk and buy this skirt!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Sanibel Island fl
age:over 45
body type:petite
Fantasicsuperfunkywow
10.18.2013
"I got it in the black color, which is a faded black almost grey. When i ordered it, I was worried that I would have to have it altered because the majority of people were saying how large it ran. I am 5'5 105lbs. Much to my delight,it fit perfectly!!! The most wonderful part is I can adjust the waistband to high up on the waist or lower on my hips so I can wear with flat boots or heels. I also love how you can make it casual or dressy. I feel so super funky in this skirt I'm thinking about getting the cranberry color too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Carrollton, tx
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
LOVE THIS SKIRT
10.7.2013
"So unique and beautiful. Got tons of compliments on this. This skirt is fuller because of the ruffles and a bit long. I had to pick it up to walk just about anywhere... I could've sized down, but I normally where a large, so I feel pretty good about keeping this. I'm obsessed with it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
We The Free Touch Down Tunic
4.2 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Dramatic
10.6.2013
"This skirt in cranberry is heart stopping. Tops the list of all my decadent FP skirts. The red is a deeper shade than pictured.
I'm 5'7" and it grazes the ground w/ no heels on."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:South Florida Beaches
age:over 45
body type:petite
Waist Material could be nicer...
9.30.2013
"You need to be a tall gal to NOT need some type of alterations... But, this lush trailing look is what makes this skirt- it's length & train. I am on the fence whether to keep the this in the washed black...Usually wear xsm, but the waist material is probably the LAST I would wear- In comfort and look. I realize this may have been picked for the skirt's weight. That is its Biggest drawback. The waist JUST fits, I am larger waisted for my size- 104lb 5 ft,2.5. If I wear higher on waist, it feels silly,(used to low rise) if I wear lower, I have a little hippage (doesnt lay flat). I would imagine the sm may be too big... and Ladies, the "off the shoulder cami" top looks perfect with this.
Other than this...
If you are not PICKY about waist material, and are looking for an unusual and lovely FEELING skirt, this is one to try...
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:curvy
this runs huge
9.27.2013
"I got this in a medium. Usually a 10. It is huge an x-small could be ok. Also it is just really long and I am 5'7".
Thinking I will try the x-small and let you know how that works out."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love to the MAXI
8.28.2013
"This skirt was in and out of my shopping cart for far too long. My sister's bachelorette party was coming up, so I felt I should be able to treat myself--the first thing that came to my mind was this skirt. I got it from the store in Chicago and I am so glad I got to try before buying. I was going to order the Medium, but read the reviews and changed it to a Small online. In the store, however, I ended up buying the XS. I am 5"6.5 and 135lbs. I am long and lean with a bit of an athletic build. The skirt is beyond gorgeous, but it is a fuller material especially with all of the ruffles so you are going to want it to fit perfectly. The XS fits me as a higher waisted skirt, but tight if I wanted to use it lower. I like high-waited so I wanted it to be perfect only in that area.
The pictures show very dressed down and relaxed styles to wear with the skirt, but it is not hard to dress up, which was my original worry. I wore a fitted cropped black tank with the "Washed Black" skirt along with fuschia heels. Unfortunately, I do not have any full length style pics to share, but trust me, dressy works! I love the skirt for that reason--it can be played up or down depending on your mood or plans for the day/night.
The details leave out exactly how the train can be tied up, but basically around the back of your knees on the inside there are 2 thin , but durable strings that can be tied together, pulling the train up very easily. I ordered the "Washed Black", which is just that. For all the confusion: it is NOT black. It has a tint of lighter hues so if it is easier, think about it as a dark gray. I loved the pebble and white color, but the train is the most magnificent thing about this dress so I want it to be able to be shown and also last.
Amazing skirt that I will wear through every season of the year!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 15 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
The Best FP SKIRT EVER!
8.20.2013
"I just received this skirt in washed black. I am usually a S or XS in FP skirts. I read reviews that said to size down, so I did. Purchased an XS. IT IS PERFECTION! The waistband is stretchy enough to fit securely, The real beauty of the skirt is how the ruffles cascade down all around the skirt. Yes, the hem is lower in the back, If this becomes an issue of tripping, you can always put a few stitches to keep it up..I am so pleased that this item really is worth all the hype, the quality is very nice also...I am totally thrilled with this purchase. It makes you feel so pretty..don't hesitate if you are a collector of FP skirts..THIS ONE IS A GEM! THANKS, FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
gor-ge-ous
6.27.2013
"size down! even with one size down, it's still not super tight, and i usually like my clothes roomy. the elastic waist band stays put well without being uncomfortable. it's definitely long on me as i'm 5'3". i don't find the bussle at the back to be all that useful, it seems to just bunch the skirt up in the back a bit. as it's long, i probably can't wear it a lot, but i still think it's worth it as it's absolutely stunning. the ruffles are beautiful without being overwhelming. i think the washed black actually work better as solid black would have been too heavy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Beautiful, comfortable, flattering & versatile
6.23.2013
"Size down! I wasn't even sure that I'd be able to pull off wearing this skirt, curvy as I am, but it is so flattering. I would recommend to anyone similarly unsure. I am 5'6", UK size 12/14/16 depending on the brand and item (more 14/16 than 12/14!) and have found I vary between M & L and 10 & 12 in FP skirts/dresses, excepting the Mix in the Crochet dress which for me was fine from the hips down (?!) but too narrow from the waist up in the L: if you tried that with no luck, don't let it put you off this skirt. I ordered this in M & L to compare; went with the M which, perhaps counter-intuitively, was more flattering. Tried the S too in the end and it fit fine, just preferred the look of the M. I think those who found this made them look wide might have preferred a smaller size. Impossible to choose between the washed black and the pebble: got both because this style is lovely, feels really comfortable on and has a really nice weight and movement. Very casual or very dressy, however you style it. I got the Embroidered Confections top in M as it was shown in the catalogue picture: nice, half tucked in. Or I will put it with a simple T shirt or strappy top for any-day wear. Not sure it really does need a slip underneath, the ruffles offer plenty of coverage and camouflage and I wouldn't want the extra layer myself. Might have to double check this with the light behind me in the pebble though. Investment piece. Many years' potential."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Embroidered Confections Top
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
Just, gorgeous.
6.18.2013
"Had to hunt down this skirt in Pebble in XS for a while, the lovely ladies at FP NY 5th ave shipped me one all the way to Los Angeles (thanks!) and I am so glad i took the time to find one. I get compliments every time i wear this skirt. It's beautiful and soft, a bit heavy and i love love love the train. I was afraid the bulk of fabric and ruffles wouldn't be flattering but the fabric is so thin and soft it doesn't make you look huge. Added bonus is that you can bustle it! super cute. It does run long on me, but I'm 5'2 so pretty much everything does. I love this skirt enough not to mind at all, and if i wear it at my actual waist it's all good."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:New port Beach
age:41-45
body type:slender
Beautiful!
6.14.2013
"OMG! The skirt is so much prettier in person love it! It is made well and so girly sexy! One of the best items I have ever purchased from FP and I am a long time FP shopper. Runs large as all reviewers say size down 1 even 2 sizes I got a XS and its a bit loose on my hips I'm 5'4 115 but it works just fine this is a must have!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous
5.26.2013
"This is a beautiful skirt. Sorry to say I had to return it, no fault of the item, just wasn't flattering on me. Someone with a smaller frame would look great in this."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>