Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Capture The Night Hoodie

Jailbird striped maxi dress with hood. "V"-neckline in front. Slit at each bottom side. Super cozy and casual. We love lounging around the house in this dress, or pairing it with a leather jacket and cool sneakers for a day out.
overall average rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Customer Reviews for Capture The Night Hoodie
Review 1 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Charleston
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
WHY'S EVERYONE RAVING? FOR SHORTIES ONLY!!!
8.30.2013
"OK.. I was on the fence with this but I bought this dress mostly because the reviewers we raving about it. Tho, WHAT DO YOU DO WITH THIS DRESS?? It's to heavy to wear as a cover-up but the slits LITERALLY comes 3" below your hip bone. Therefore, this dress can not be worn out. The only thing that can be done.. is wear it around the house. If I can going to pay $128 for something no one will see me in, it better be coated in gold. LOL!
FIRSTLY, if you are 5'6"or taller, this dress is too short and the slits are CUT extremely too high. I am 5' 10" 125lb (I AM A FORMER MODEL, BUT STILL HAVE THE BODY), I ordered a Sz Small. Which it fit like the picture, however, has NO Shape, and if I belted it, that would make it even shorter.
FP, WHY DO YOU MISREPRESENT THE PHOTOS AND THE MODELS DIMENSIONS.. UNLESS THIS MODEL IS 5' 4", THIS IS NOT THE SIZE AND FIT OF DRESS THEY ARE SELLING CUSTOMERS. THIS MAKES ME SOOOOO MAD! PLEASE FIT MODEL WITH ACTUAL ITEMS YOU ARE SELLING. IT'S NOT FAIR TO ALTER THE DRESS AND SELL SOMETHING DIFFERENT.
ADDITIONALLY, it's better to make items longer because shorties can always shorten the piece. Talls cannot add fabric. You should start making Short and tall inseams.!!
So, if you live in Alaska and go swimming, or you are under 5' 5",Furthermore, if shapeless dresses look fab on you.. this is the dress for you!
NOT FOR ME.. going back!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:petite
i'm going to live in this dress
8.2.2013
"I saw the dress on the website and thought it was really cute. After reading the reviews, it seemed like it was worth the purchase but with all the reviewers RAVING about it, i was honestly thinking in the back of my head "how great could this dress really be?".
It was answered when I recieved it this week. It's amazing....I'm honestly going to live in this dress. It runs slightly large, but not by much. For reference, I'm 4'11", 110, and a 34C bust. I got the small because the XS was sold out for so long and I didn't want to miss out on the dres completely. The small fits fine and I'm keeping it but i could have gotten away with the XS. I was, however pleased that i didn't have to shorten it. It grazes the ground slightly, but that is how I like my maxi dresses so i was thrilled."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:SCOTTSDALE ARIZONA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
BEAUTIFLUL
7.16.2013
"I LOVE THAT THIS FABRIC IS NOT THIN AND SEE THROUGH. VERY GOOD QUALITY. CANT WAIT TO WEAR IT IN THE FALL. WITH MY CURSOE GLADIATORS!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Amazing!
7.16.2013
"Wonderful quality. FTS. I am 5'5 138 and a C cup. I got a Medium and it fit perfectly. The only thing I have to say differently is I disagree with others who say it can be worn in the summer. I live in the south on The Gulf of Mexico and there is no way I will be sporting this dress this summer. The material is a little bit heavier. It will be perfect for winters down here seeing as in we only get chilly weather. Otherwise amazing and worth the price!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:CAlifornia
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
I love it!
7.16.2013
"I just had major abdominal surgery, so lately, I've been wearing nothing but long flowing dresses. The problem is that too often, they look and feel like I'm wearing a giant sack. Not this one: The cut is just right, the fit is flowy but skimming, the fabric is soft and drapey, this dress is perfection. I'm a medium at FP, and it is true to size, fits exactly like the dark haired model in the picture."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
A Very Versatile Little Number
6.28.2013
"This is an incredibly versatile dress. It can be a casual dress (for going out or just hanging around at home) or a dressing gown or a bathing suit coverup.
I am 5', so I do have to turn up the hem a bit. There was one little problem - the slit on the left side wasn't serged all the way up to the side seam and there was a tiny tear, but (I didn't want to to through an exchanging all the way from Canada) I'm taking the side seam in a bit from the pocket down into the slit which should hide it. (So glad I sew.)
That's another positive - pockets! And the weight of the fabric is great - it's substantial and not flimsy. It will last.
Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Centennial, CO
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Nope! Didnt like!
6.27.2013
"I really wanted to like this dress but nope - didnt!! I didnt like the fit in the least!! Or the material! The material seemed heavy and def not cool enough for summer wear. So back to FB it goes!!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:brooklyn, ny
age:26-30
body type:slender
I'm glad I didn't wait
6.20.2013
"I'm so glad I got this when they had my size XS since now I see that it's sold out. It's the perfect easy breezy piece, and the material is great for any season. This is definitely a transitional piece and worth adding to my wardrobe. I'm 5'5, and the length falls perfectly behind my ankles, a couple inches above the ground."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:St Albert
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Excellent quality
6.17.2013
"As others have mentioned quality is awesome. I love everything about it. Runs a little large. It's supposed to fit baggy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
I absolutely love it!
6.12.2013
"The moment I saw this in the promotional brochure, I wanted it, but was reluctant to pay the original price. Kept waiting for it to go on sale...but finally decided to go ahead and order it, since I had lost out on other items before by waiting. Am I glad I did! It is everything I hoped for and more. Great fabric and fit. Very flattering and so comfy to wear. Don't hesitate for a moment. I think you'll love it as much as I do!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:petite
Petites, don't be afraid!
6.8.2013
"As I was waiting for this dress to arrive, I was prepared to alter the hem. I am 5'2", 108lb and most FP maxi dresses and pants have been too long for me to wear. But to my pleasant surprise, this one fits perfect! The fabric feels and hangs nicely, the V patterns and slits look very sexy, and the pockets are another surprise. I am very happy with the purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Awesome!
6.4.2013
"The only problem I have with this hoodie is that I can't get away with wearing it every day! It's super soft and comfy, yet it also looks very stylish. I get tons of compliments every time I wear it. It's a little too thick for a summer day, but its great at night or if there's a cool breeze. The slits on the side come up pretty high (I'm 5'6" 127 and wear a size small), so I only wear it on its own as a swim cover up and add cropped leggings underneath if I wear it as a dress. I love it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:canada
age:41-45
body type:petite
one of my favourite pieces
6.1.2013
"comfortable and versatile, fits beautifully. what's great about this dress is it can be worn all season (cooler summer days/ nights, or with leggings in winter). It's so soft, and with boots easily loses any moo-moo vibe you get around the house when you pair it with slippers. I'm 5'4, 103 lbs and didn't need to alter it. Side slits are perfect height. Highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Worth the wait
5.29.2013
"Fit is easy and sexy. Washes well. Waited 4 months for it come back in stock and it was totally worth it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:ky
age:31-35
body type:curvy
not sure yet
5.28.2013
"For some reason this dress fits me very differently than pictured by the model and buyers on here. The neckline is plunging and the slits are so high on my thigh that I have to wear leggings or jeans underneath or my butt would show. I don't know if it is the wrong size by accident or runs small on me......."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Very Flattering and Sexy
5.25.2013
"I fell in love with this dress months ago but I always hesitated too long and they sold out of my size twice! I got it in the mail yesterday and I'm wearing it tonight. The high, sexy slit looks awesome with engineer boots. Top it all with a denim vest and I'm ready for the pub! I'm 5'5" and a size 14-16 and the large fits perfectly. The stripes are very slimming. The perfect dress for a casual night out."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Don't hesitate!
5.21.2013
"This is a must! The fabric is heavier than I expected,but drapes very nicely. I am 5'9 137, broad shoulders DDD cup. I ordered the L and I could have prob done the M, but I am happy with the loose, comfy fit. It is flattering and not overly billowy. Great after beach, or on a cooler summer evening. LOVE IT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Best purchase!
5.15.2013
"The quality of this garment is Awesome. I bought it winter and thought i would have to wait for spring/summer to wear it, I was wrong this dress transitions perfectly in to any season! <3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Fabulous!
2.15.2013
"I loved this piece in the catalogue shots, but thought it might be a bit too house loungy based on the studio shots. Boy was I wrong! This piece is SO versatile! It is great as a tunic dress, and an FP slip peeking from the thigh high slits looks cute. Over jeans and boots it's funky and comfy, and as a sack out on the sofa cover up it can't be beat! The material is a nice heavy jersey that holds its shape. The length on a small (5'7") is a few inches above my ankle bone. I hope FP makes this in more colors and more fabrics. I'd buy them all!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Capture The Night Hoodie
Name:
Location:Vegas
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Great Purchase!
1.30.2013
"Quality construction. Great fit. So soft! I am so happy with this purchase. I was worried it might be too long...since I ordered a M and usually FP runs long...but this is the perfect length. I'm 5'7 and M hits right at the ankle.. I am in love with this one. If there were more colors, I would buy them all."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>