Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Indian Enchantment Dress

Floral printed double layered chiffon maxi dress. Bustier style with lightweight boning down the sides under the arms. Removable/adjustable straps. Pleated detailing at bust. Double layered skirt portion. Top, shorter layer has slit down middle front and middle back of dress. Dress is fully lined underneath both layers. Upper back of dress has stretchy, smocked band for easy and comfortable fit. Zips up left side of dress. An enchanting and statement-making dress! *Shell - 100% Polyester, Lining - 100% Nylon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Under Skirt Length: 49 1/2" Outer Skirt Length: 40" Bust (all around): 30" Waist (all around): 26"
overall average rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Indian Enchantment Dress
Review 1 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:vermont
age:21-25
body type:petite
Must have
3.8.2013
"This dress is PERFECT for my friends wedding this spring. So bummed it's sold out...is there any chance for a re-stock? I NEED this dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:San diego, CA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
The Perfect Dress!
10.17.2012
"this dress is beautiful, i bought this dress in the store i think it was returned because the zip is very difficult to pull up. but i fixed it. i bought a size XS i am 5'3 and 120 pounds. the dress fits perfectly except for i have a small bust of 34 B sometimes i have to pull it up when i wear it strapless. it comes with straps so i usually just wear those.
the colors a re so beautiful and the layering makes you look like your gliding. i really do recommend sizing down. im usually a size small so XS was perfect for me. i highly doubt you will regret buying this dress!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Harrisburg, PA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
JUST WHAT WE LOVE ABOUT FP
10.11.2012
"This dress is wonderful. The colors are fantastic for fall and gives even the smallest bust the illusion that you've got something going on! I am 5'9'' 135 pounds, went with a small. Should've gone with an XS but am making do with what I recvd. Pair with a brown or green blazer and its a bit more casual."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
enchanting is right
8.12.2012
"i got the aubergine combo, and it's absolutely beautiful. the layers are light but the overall dress is not sheer. i had a lot of trouble with the zippers, and found the boning quite uncomfortable. but once i removed the boning, it fit a lot better and the zipper zips up easier. i found the dress to fit true to size, and didn't have issues with the top being too loose. it stays on perfect even without the straps. i'm only 5'3" so it's a little long one me, but heels will help. can't say enough about how gorgeous the color and print is. <3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
In love with this dress
8.7.2012
"This dress runs large in the bust, that's the only flaw. The colors in the aubergine combo are stunning. I see this as a dress for a nice occasion but not as formal wear, just my opinion. Looks just as pictured. This is one of my favorite FP dresses so far, and I have many!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Annapolis MD
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
GYPSY ENCHANTMENT
7.9.2012
"When I first saw this beautiful dress, I was in love! But it had already completely sold out every where. So I kept checking the Free People sight constantly.Then a size small came back, and I ordered it right away.Just got it today, and it is awesome! The small fit perfect in length and waist .The chest was a little loose,but I kind of expected that after reading the other reviews. But that's not much of a problem since it comes with matching straps. I'm 5,5 112 & 36B . This dress is so feminine and seems great for any number of occasions. You can't really see it from the photo's but the red top layer isn't one solid piece, it has four panels that come from the waist.So if there is a breeze they will float open to reveal more of the yellow-gold skirt underneath, so pretty. Can't wait to bring this dress along in the fall ,on my first cruise !"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:petite
Obsessed!
4.16.2012
"I ordered this dress online for my sorority formal. I'm 5'4", a 34B, I have a 28" waistline, and I normally wear a medium or small. After reading the reviews I decided to go with a small and it fit perfectly. I received tons of complements, and it was definitely one of the most unique dresses at the formal. I wore it with brown sandal wedges and a big gold necklace. This dress was so comfortable too, I really can't wait to wear it again."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:NC
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
simply dreamy.
3.26.2012
"I am 5'8", 145lb 34C, and I ordered a size M. It fits great; is in fact a tad roomy around the bodice, due to the smocking in the back. This type of dress is normally not my style; I don't really do the "bohemian" look...but it's truly lovely! The red is slightly more "brick" red in person and I love that...it's not too bright. The fabric is a lovely cool and lightweight printed chiffon; it sort of floats when you move. There is a mustard yellow cotton lining underneath the sheer yellow layer. I chose to wear mine with the matching adjustable straps it comes with...although, the placement of the strap loops causes the top edge of the dress bodice to fold over slightly as the straps are tugged from inside the dress. It looks a little odd. I wish the dress had another inch or two in length, since I wear it with 2.5" platform beaded sandals. I also wear this with a brown leather waist belt (looks *very* cute this way) with a crochet bolero shrug over the shoulders. This is a very unique dress that's sure to bring compliments!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, BC
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Size Down!
3.23.2012
"In the description it says the waist is 26". My waist is 28/29 so I ordered a medium. The medium is HUGE! So much fabric at the bodice that my 34 C cup doesn't fill somehow...It is also about 2 or 3 inches too long #I'm 5'4# and considering I have a previously broken ankle I can't wear 4 inch heels. Definitely returning it and getting the size small because I really don't have time to restart my prom dress search. That being said, it is an absolutely gorgeous dress. The fabric is soft and flowy and falls just right and the colour is vibrant. I also like the effect when the sun shines through the red layer onto the yellow layer. I hope my sizing woes help others to pick the right size!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
FANTASTIC
3.8.2012
"I just got it today, it took forever for it to go across the Canadian customs and I had to pay A LOT for the customs but compare to what my friends are buying for their prom, I guess it could be worse. I read through the other reviews and took a size lower and that was the smartest decision- take a size lower haha. Now the quality of the dress is beau-ti-ful! It's soft and the colours are stunning and I'm really tall and it touches the floor so that's a bonus for me. I really love it and excited to shot it off at prom because it is also very unique and I am not fond at all of the stereotypical prom dress"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY, USA
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Love this dress! <3
2.25.2012
"I ordered this dress for my junior prom, and was so excited when I finally got it! The fabric is absolutely gorgeous, and its very comfortable. I got a medium, and I'm a 34-36 C, and it was a little bit big on the top, but nothing that a padded bra can't fix. I absolutely cannot wait to wear it. I think the price could be a little less, but it's definitely good quality and a beautiful dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Amazing dress!!!!!
2.16.2012
"I ordered this dress for my senior prom.. and when I got in it the mail and tried it on it was definitely better than I expected. Even though its a little big, and there's a little bit more fabric on the top than I wanted.. it still fits almost perfectly and i looooove it. I'm 5'2, 95-100 lbs, and i got an xs.The waist fits fine.. its just the top part. Also the material is so pretty and soft. The dress isn't as fancy as I had expected but i'm a pretty casual person so it'll work for prom. Anyways, it's a fantasticcccc dress and if you want to stand out i would recommend it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Tacoma, WA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Way too much
2.7.2012
"This product is HUGE on me, and I got the xs! I'm 5"3 and a 115 lbs, and this dress is just huge on me. There's way too much fabric, and it just bunches around the waist line and makes me look bigger. The bust is also huge and would NOT stay up at all. I dont know if the dress was mislabeled or somthing because its really big on me. I really was excited and wanted to like it but I just can't."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:athletic
disappointed...
2.7.2012
"I was debating ordering this dress due to the reviews online some were glowing and others not so much. After lusting over this dress I finally decided to pull the trigger and order it.
After trying it on I was so disappointed in not only the fit but also the material. Online the Dress looks as expensive as it costs. After taking it out of the packaging the material really wasn't as nice. What was the point of having the side zipper is there is elastic in the back?
It took the dress from being dressy to looking like more of a summer day dress.
The fit... I ordered a small and am 5'5" the length was just right could be worn with flats or heals. The bust was huge!!! I probably could have taken it in about 2 inches and I was worried about the dress being too small when I ordered it. Because of the elastic you really couldn't do much about the size or even think about having it taken in.
I'm sad to say I will be returning this dress."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Another red carpet dress
2.3.2012
"Literally a red carpet dress. The style of it and the colors of the fabric are from the runway couture, like Jean Paul Gaultier- high fashion designer. It looks simply amazing. I disagree with all the previous reviewers who were complaining about this dress one way or the other. This dress fits me perfect. My size is Small for this dress. My measurements are 32C, 5.4 height and 130 pounds. I am an hour glass shaped girl with the perfect bust, narrow waste line and quite wide hips. But OMG, I can't wait to show it off yet on another social occasion. I am from one of the Easter European countries originally. We are called Eurasians, but here I am mistaken for a drop dead gorgeous Chinese girl with a body of a girl from Spain or one of the African countries. So, I am invite to the Chinese year celebration at one of the VIP parties. I am sure that I will be the most glamorous, Chinese looking girls out there. Thank you FP for making my wardrobe choice easier. All I do now, is just pick the right dress for the right occasion."
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Just okay...
1.23.2012
"I fell in love with this dress when I saw it online. I ordered it, and received it quickly. When I put it on, it made me look a lot larger than I actually am. I'm 5'9" and weigh about 135 lbs., and am straight up and down. When I turn to the side, it pooches out at the belly and makes me look a little pregnant. Also, it was a tiny bit too short for my liking, but then again, most things are on me. I was expecting to love this dress, and felt that it was just okay and not worth the money that I spent on it. Unfortunately, I will be sending it back :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Park City
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
1.22.2012
"This dress is absolutely beautiful. I bought it to wear to my senior Prom this year after I tried it on, I can't wait to show it off! It fits perfectly for my body shape (I have a small waist and the dress is snug). I can't hold the dress up by myself, but with the included detachable straps, I don't see dancing around all night being a problem. I couldn't have been more pleased with my purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Quite Charming,
1.12.2012
"I just received my dress in the mail. The red is more dull than I expected but is still very lovely. It think it runs true to size. Maybe a tiny bit big. I'm usually a size 4, I bought a size 4 and it works. However, I am a 34D and this dress will NOT hold me up without the straps. The straps are fine but the dress does pull a little funny when they are on. I don't think anyone will notice other than me though. All in all I think this is a great dress. It will definitely make a statement. I plan to couple it with a great wide brown leather belt and wear it to my sister's wedding in Mexico. I can't wait to watch it blow in the wind on the beach!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Indian Enchantment Dress
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Radiant Jewel of a Dress!
1.12.2012
"I never thought of yellow as a jewel tone until this dress arrived. It's absolutely regal, while maintaining its fresh and upbeat color palette! It brings joy in the depth of winter gloom; I can hardly wait for summer so that I'm able to wear it outside and share it with the world.
The style is so flattering with its sweetheart neckline and twisted bodice detail. On my small-busted (33"), long, slender torso, I am unable to hold the dress up as a strapless piece, but thankfully, Free People addresses this potential plight in the most ingenious way
. . . they include removable, adjustable straps that enable all of us to participate in this little delicacy of a dress! (Look for them in the tiny plastic packet attached to the label inside the neckline.)
The fabric is light and fluid - reminiscent of an Isadora Duncan design with the wispy, scarf-like panels that take flight with dance. Just for fun, they can be wrapped around the neck for an entirely new look. The lining is lightweight, yet ideally opaque. All of the fabrics are gossamer in nature, yet sturdy enough to have built-in longevity. And the biggest bonus, for me, is that the dress is machine washable, which it does so perfectly. And then air dries back its original crispness. It makes beauty carefree. I love this combination!
The color of the over-dress is a little unclear in the photograph. In reality, it's a deep, rich, orange-red; similar to tomato aspic. The yellow base of this hue blends with and highlights the luminosity of the under-dress, which is a saturated, bee pollen yellow - a really plush version of yellow that I've had a hard time finding. It's especially flattering on my tawny skin tone, so I'm thrilled with this!
The length for a size XS is 48 1/2", measured from the center of the neckline to the hem of the under-skirt. This falls to the top of my feet, which I find to be an elegant length to wear with sandals or boots with heels so higher than 2". For reference, I'm 5'9" inches tall.
The only "flaw" in the dress is the zipper. It's a nylon invisible zipper that is either of inferior quality or sewn in improperly, because it jams about halfway up and feels as though it won't last very long. Regardless, I'm so enamored with this charming dress that I'm willing to face the fact that I'll likely hire a seamstress to replace the zipper at some point.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this dress for day or evening wear
"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large