Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Rio Sweater Dress

Long sleeve bodycon sweater dress with diamond knit design. Scoop neck tank slip underneath. *63% Rayon, 37% Polyamide *Dry Clean *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 34" Bust: 22" Sleeve Length: 21 "
overall average rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Rio Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:South Korea
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
really wanted to like it
2.28.2012
" I usually wear a small in FP dresses and I needed to size up to a medium for this one. Even the medium was a little tight, but I think it was probably appropriate for a body con look. I didn't find the outer material to be as troublesome as some of the other reviewers did, but I had major issues with the under slip. It would ride down and expose my breasts if I wasn't careful and the outer material of the dress tended to bunch up on it in places. Since the dress has a pattern to it, I found the bunching caused it to look rather off at times, so I sent it back. Replacing the underslip with a black one would've probably worked but for the price I didn't want to have to improvise. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Knoxville
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Eclectic Beaut
2.27.2012
" This is one of those dresses you can dress up or down- and with this one, your promised complements! I typically wear a small.. but with the body cons I go up a size bc I didnt want it to be too clingy. However, the designs really show up more if its tighter so I guess decide which is more important to you. Its absolutely a new favorite and the slip underneath is perfect to mix with other things. I couldnt be happier with this purchase!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:over 45
body type:petite
crocheted beauty
1.31.2012
" I was very pleased with my purchase of this dress. I am petite, but busty. I ordered a medium in this dress because I knew it was tight fitting. The length on me is about the same as shown on the model. I am short, but since the dress is tight that seems to pull it shorter. The fabric is beautiful. It seems well made, but may snag easily. The slip is detachable, therefore I may wear it with a black slip I have, as well as the white that came with it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
Delicate
1.8.2012
" This sweater dress is very flattering. So far as the length, it hits above my knees (I am 5' 4'' for reference). My only complaint is that the dress had a hole in it before I even wore it. The pattern is very pretty but be careful and check the dress for holes! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Her name is Rio.....
12.15.2011
" I love this dress so much that I could cry! You will feel like a Duran Duran video girl in this. The fit is amazing! It is very fitted, but also quite stretchy. The length is perfect. Not too mini, just sexy enough. The fabric design and textures are what keeps this from being just another fitted dress. The material is a bit delicate and soft. The way it shapes and hugs the body is so very flattering. Don't worry if you aren't super skinny. The stretch is quite flattering. A great dress for a night out. I would never try to layer or add to/take away from this. It is a sexy dress intended for head turns and maybe a couple of cat calls! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
nice, interesting dress
11.9.2011
" my boyfriend had mixed feelings on this dress when i showed him the picture. he bought it for me anyway and liked it once i had it on. i'm usually a M when it comes to bodycon dresses in fp, so that's what i ordered. it is tight and curve hugging, as it is supposed to be. the only thing that differed for me in person is that the white doesn't show up as much as it does in this photo and it is A LOT shorter. it kinda comes to a weird unflattering length on me (mid/lower thigh) which is kind of a bummer because it makes me look wider in the hips than i actually am (but i'm 5'11"). other than that i think it's beautiful and good quality (careful it will snag all your jewelry when you're putting it on) so i would definitely recommend buying. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Winnipeg
age:21-25
body type:petite
Far too delicate.
11.8.2011
" I was looking forward to this purchase for quite a while, finally ordered it. Upsides - the knitted pattern is nice.. the fabric is pretty stretchy and comfortable. Dress is skin tight, but that's what I was expecting.
However, after trying it on for the first time, it has three snags in it. THREE! I have no idea what it snagged on, either. I've somehow damaged it so I can't return it. Definitely would not recommend - just not worth the price. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Rio Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, Ca.
age:31-35
body type:petite
Super Sexy and Well Worth the Price!
10.3.2011
" First of all, I should tell you that I am 5'2" and 108lbs. In FP clothing i can sometimes fit into XS, S, and M. This is why I was afraid to purchase this online at first because sizes vary depending on "how" you want the item to fit you. My bust is a small 32D. I got this in Small. It fits PERFECT and is super unique and sexy, yet classy. Nothing else out there like this dress. It's my favorite FP piece in my closet now and will be hard to top this one.
A bit pricey for a sweater dress that is knitted and can easily snag, but WELL worth it. Love Love Love this piece!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large