Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

We The Free Irma Tank

Casual burnout peplum-shaped tank. Racer-back style. Super soft and lightweight. We the Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Customer Reviews for We The Free Irma Tank
Review 1 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Florida Southern Beaches
age:36-40
body type:petite
Perfect Fit
8.14.2014
" Oh pretty Pretty PRETTY PLEASE...
Bring this Basic Standard Back in all the Colors I see available. Just put it on, and go! Always looks good, always feels great. Very fine material, so yes You have to be careful, but it is great for Florida and warmer weather.
Thank you for the TTSize for XSM, (could even use shorter straps!)
Bring on the Colors, ...Looks like WE WILL BUY THEM...
XO
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love!
7.23.2014
" I didn't expect this top to fit so perfectly (32B, 106lbs)!! I originally wanted any colour other than black but there was only black left so I decided to order it anyway...and I'm so glad I did. The material feels nice for warm weather (not too thin or thick) and the way the tank flows is really flattering on my petite frame. The only thing was that I wasn't expecting the front to be that high, but I like it that way because it only rises when I raise my arms a bit. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Perfect for Spring and Summer!
2.18.2014
" I love the flattering silhouette of this tank. I bought a size L, which I like to buy in everything, because I like things comfy and loose. It hangs nice, but I wish there was a size XL as I think it would hang a bit looser. I am only a medium, but I do like things loose in case I want to layer them.
All in all, a really fab tank! You don't need a bra with it because the armholes are perfect. I bought the olive and it's a fantastic color! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Boone, NC
age:26-30
body type:petite
LOVE
1.12.2014
" I wore this tank all summer and just got another one in the same color in case anything were to happen to it. It's so soft and comfortable and feminine. I heart it! XS fit perfectly. 5'4" 115lbs. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Elegant and classy!
12.26.2013
" Wonderful little number! Can be very versatile. The color is marvelous! I got the army color. I love how the burnout is even unique in color. Fits curvy girls wonderful. I am 36-38 D/DDbust. No problems at all. This is one of my favorite FP items ever. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Great Basic!
11.2.2013
" I love this tank! I purchased the army color, and yes, the material is thinner than you might expect, but I usually get these pieces in order to layer them with other tanks or sweaters, so that wasn't an issue for me. I will write that if you've a large bust (for reference, I'm a 36DD) the tank will ride shorter in the front (although to be fair to myself, I actually think the tank I purchased was constructed in such a way that it's actually shorter than it appears in the model photos). I purchased mine on sale, which was a big plus for this tank, since I was initially debating whether or not to send it back due to the shortness. I would recommend it, it grows on you! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:worcestershire, uk
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
lovely simple top
10.29.2013
" I ordered this in Ivory and love it. The graduated peplum is so flattering and you can easily dress it up or down. The fabric is thin so it is relatively see through but that's not a problem really. More colours please! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:St. Michael, MN
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Fabulous little top!
10.2.2013
" I have this top in several colors. Love it! So cute it's great alone ... or perfect for layering. Love that it's longer in the back. Great colors. FP, keep making these!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Pasadena
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Its cute
9.24.2013
" I bought the blue and I wear a black lace halter under it. It's really cute. I also wear an embroidered belt that shows a little since the front of this is shorter than the back. I really like this top. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Fun and Casual
9.20.2013
" The material of this shirt is very soft! It is some what loose fitting enough so that it the shirt flows along in the breeze. It looks great dressed up with some fun accessories. I like this shirt some much that I bought it in more than one color. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Flattering & colorful, a little crooked
8.27.2013
" I got this in two colors and am very happy with them. The multi-shade colors are flattering, the cut is forgiving, and the weight works for really hot days without being too revealing. I was concerned that this would be low-cut, as this can be an issue for those of us with smaller shoulders; but, surprisingly, despite the photo the neckline can be moved up by simply shifting the shirt back on the shoulders; there's enough peplum to get away with an asymmetrical look. The only downside is that the construction is a bit chintzy. You can even see in the photo that the waist seem tends to be crooked. However, so long as you wear it loose this is compensated for by the flouncy, deconstructed look. I am 5'6" w/ a 38" bust, and the M fit just right. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Solid basic
7.25.2013
" This is soooo cute and the burn out works really well. The hems are also burn out even though they look solid. It's kind of awkward to wear it with jeans so I pair my olive one with black leggings and wedges. i'm 5'4'' and 113lbs and i got a small. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Adorable Fit
7.8.2013
" Love this sweet little top, very flattering, great cut for shorts and skirts. I sized up, I thought it looked a bit better as it was a little longer in the next size up. I am 5'5" 120 32DD and ordered a Medium. The green is GORGEOUS! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Vegas
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love it!
6.25.2013
" This is a wonderful tank. I purchased an XS in the Royal Purple color. For reference, I wear a 36C bra. It was true to the color shown online. The size was spot on. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Good tank.
6.19.2013
" Stopped by the Free People in Calgary and picked up this tank. I don't usually like to spend so much on just a plain tank, but justified this one because I loved the burnout details. I bought the royal purple, and loved how the pink burnout popped against the purple colour. I got a size S and it fits pretty true to size, but it is quite short in the front. With a pair of low-slung bottoms, this tank will look like a crop top, but dips low enough in the back that it almost covers my butt. My only complaint is that it is a bit pricey for what it is... maybe wait for it to go on sale. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:petite
Versatile tank
6.18.2013
" I LOVE this tank. I am 5"1' 108 lbs and I got a XS. It is loose fitting but looks adorable with all kinds of layers or no layering at all. I like to wear a FP lace bralette underneath with simple jean shorts. It's a must have for warm summer weather! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:PA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
not for me
6.12.2013
" This tank is cute but I have a little hip to me and the way it fell on me made my hips look HUGE! So unless you are tiny and very slim, this shirt probably isn't for you...On the bright side I really loved the coloring (I bought the army). "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Turquoise Tank
6.10.2013
" I got this in the turquoise and the color is gorgeous. I'm 5'10 so I ordered up from my usual size small to a medium for the length. I'm glad I did in that respect, but it makes the shirt a little wider and not as fitted. For me it's just a cute, casual tank to wear with shorts. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Ombre Fringe Collar
5 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:petite
really cute
6.2.2013
" Bought a small in pink. Very cute shirt, worn it five times already! I prefer to wear with a strapless bra. Very flattering for the shoulders. The waist band isn't overly fitted but the shape is still flattering. Considering buying another color :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for We The Free Irma Tank
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek
age:31-35
body type:petite
great tank
6.1.2013
" Bought the purple in a small. A nice basic tank with cool acid wash details. I'm a size 2, 34B and it fit me perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>