Product Reviews

Native Sun Shift Dress

Cotton shift dress with rounded neckline. Bottom hem is pleated with multicolor patterned design going all the way around. Light pleating around neckline. Elastic around upper back opening. Straps can be adjusted to be normal or crisscross, with button attachment at back of dress. **Special Note: The ivory color way of this dress should also have a pleated bottom, as shown for the rum raisin color way. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 29 1/2" Armhole Drop: 5 3/4" Front Strap Length: 4 1/4" Back Strap Length: 13 1/4"
overall average rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Native Sun Shift Dress
Review 1 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Disappointed
12.6.2012
" I have an athletic body, medium sized bust, and normally wear a size small in FP. I purchased this dress and after immediately trying it on, it looked horrible. It was loose in every spot and looks different on the model then in person. It was much longer and was unflattering. Not only did it run big, the stitching on the bottom was ripped slightly in the front when I got it in the mail. For such a high quality, expensive store, that shouldn't happen. VERY disappointing. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Key West, FL
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I like this dress
11.19.2012
" I agree with the reviews, unless this model is 7 ft, the dress does not fit like that. (Almost comes to my knees, and I am 5.6. and yes it has a different seam, (not shown) but I still really like it. It fits loose, it is nice and light, a perfect throw-on dress for summery weekends. Very comfortable, still unique and a really good price. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Two different dresses?
8.18.2012
" I'm very confused. I just ordered a smaller size after trying on a medium at an FP store and the white dress pictured on the model is way shorter and is missing the pleats that I liked on the store version. The dress I tried on looks like the darker dress pictured. Are there two versions of this dress? I hope the correct one arrives in the mail! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute but no
8.16.2012
" I tried this on and I'm 5'4", 125 lbs, and this dress was practically to my knees which made me feel like I was wearing a sack. Design is cute, I actually loved the pleats and the details. I tried a size small and it was huge on me. I bailed- it didn't look anything like it does on this model. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
A must have
7.14.2012
" This is my favorite dress by far this summer! I got the ivory color (I didn't get it on the website) and the bottom of it looks a lot more like the purple colored one but I think its way cuter that way. I got a small (am usually a x-small) because they didn't have any x-smalls..now I am sure it wouldnt be a problem if I just got the right size but wanted this dress so badly I just went ahead and got the small...but anyways it doesn't fit right for ME..the back is too big for me but I just fix it with a safety pin..now like I said it wouldnt be a problem if I just got the right size but I do not mind it at all. Perfect summer dress...also perfect if your going to the beach. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVE. SO. MUCH.
7.12.2012
" Its a very youthful silhouette like many shifts can be. Its absolutely lovely in person. The pleats at the bottom are the perfect detail. The ivory is non-sheer enough that i don't have to wear a bra and nude underwear should work well on the bottom. I'm 5'7 and always an XS and the XS is a great length. It makes your legs look so good. Maybe try it on before you buy it since it got such bad reviews...? It looks just like the picture except for the pleats, which FP has kindly left a note about. The pattern on the bottom is really pretty, too. Overall, a total hit. Great job FP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:america
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
minor adjustments needed
5.9.2012
" I fell in love with the dress when I first saw it online. However, when I got it I was a bit disappointed. I wasn't expecting the bottom of the dress to be pleated since it wasn't in the picture of the white one (the one I ordered). It's a bit long and loose on the sides for my liking but then again I am 5'2". I'm still ticked off by the pleating at the bottom and want to find out if I can remove it somehow but I think I'll keep the dress.
p.s. dear photographer of free people,
PLEASE photograph the dress the way it actually is instead of nearly changing the entire design so it's more appealing.
p.p.s dear designers of free people apparel,
If my simple request above cannot be fulfilled, please remove pleats.
respectfully,
ag372
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
didn't love it
4.13.2012
" it looked great online but i didnt like the material at all. im about 5'6 and 100 lbs and it was so baggy. "
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Native Sun Shift Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
short
3.14.2012
" this is such a cute dress, but sadly it is not for us tall girls, as you can see on the model. I tried this on (im 5'9) and wanted to get it but i knew that if the wind blew just a little but i would be totally exposed. so sad. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large