Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic

Lovely semi-sheer oversized tunic with long sleeves and perforated pattern throughout. A great layering piece! *100% Cotton *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 30" front, 31 " back Bust: 60" **The garment may be incorrectly labeled but the sizing will be correct.
overall average rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:petite
A Staple Piece
1.23.2012
"There's a reason this lovely piece has continued to be sold since the Spring. For one, it is extraordinarily versatile in how it can be worn. Both ends can be tied up in a way that makes this knee-length tunic (at 5'3) able to be elegantly worn at the waist. During the summer, it works wonderfully as a piece worn over swimsuits. Pairs great with skinny jeans and shorts. The stitching is intricate and delicately sexy. A shame it's no longer available in the plum color, though! At any rate, the unique cut of this piece (the way the ends tie together) makes it a staple item for any FP lover."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:TEXAS COUNTRY GAL
age:over 45
body type:petite
ANOTHER HIT FROM FP
12.17.2011
"I ORDERED THE SMALL IN THE CACTUS COLOR AND WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE OUT OF THE BOX COLOR AND THE FLOWING FIT. I TIE MINE UP ON BOTH SIDES MOST TIMES BUT OCCASIONALLY JUST ON ONE SIDE.. IT IS FAB OVER BLACK TIGHTS AND BOOTS AND T OR SLIP. I HAVE SOME TIGHTS ABOUT THE SAME SHADE (IMAGINE THE LUCK)! I PUT WITH BROWN VELVET TOP UNDERNEATH. LOOKS AND FEELS GREAT! I ALSO PUT WITH A SHORT BLACK SKIRT AND T."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:slender
Gorgeous!
12.15.2011
"I'm 5'8" and usually wear a size M or L but I had to change to a size S/M for this tunic as it runs big. This is gorgeous over anything, so versatile. Only thing is the actual tunic doesn't look identical to the photo, the shoulder doesn't naturally drop off like that."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:over 45
body type:slender
Lovely
12.13.2011
"Soft, feminine, comfortably oversized and very easy to wear. I love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:austin,tx
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
So versatile!
11.11.2011
"I love this piece! I have it in the tan color, and got it when it first came out, I still wear it all the time! As a dress with one of your white flowy slips under or tied on both sides with denim shorts and a cute bra is super cute too! I think it's gonna go well in winter too with certain things!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Loveeeee
8.12.2011
"i love this tunic so much~ i got the petal pink in size xs/s. it fits roomy but in a good way.. i tide a side like the model and it looks really nice~ looks great with cutoff, maxi skirt, legging..etc. the material is soft n light weight, and the crochet pattern is beautiful~ def 1 of my fav piece from fp ! :-)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:21-25
body type:athletic
So pretty
8.4.2011
"I love this sweater. I saw it in the FP store a little while ago and had to have it. It is very long, just as the pictures show. I'm only 5'4 though and it hits me right about where it does on the models. It's super great for layering and I love how it looks with boots for the fall :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:santa clarita
age:14-20
body type:petite
shammeeee
7.30.2011
"such a shame that this shirt is likeafoot too long. Im 5'2 and this seriously hit my knees, let me remind you that means that it covers more than 3/4ths of me. i seriouslydon'tunderstand why everyoneelse gave it such great reviews, but maybe they were tall *sighhhh. I did however love the material, the concept,how the sleeves were tight, and i ADOREDDDDD!!!! the cactus color. ahhhi really wish freepeople will come out with some greentonecolored sweaters/tunics/tops this fall. but overallif you're tall(saw this ona tall gal)buy it! if you're petite i'dsay stay away unless youre wearing this with some super high-heels."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Yummy!
7.28.2011
"So, I'm not sure what the deal is with the sizing. I got an XS at an FP store. It wasn't an xs/sm. There was plenty of room. The xs fit me like on the model, and I usually wear a small, so I'd say an xs-medium should go with the xs/sm and a large-xL could go with the m/l. Maybe an xxl if there isn't much extra weight in the arms. The sweater is GORGEOUS! I got the green and love it. It's more brown than green, but it's still a cool shade. The fabric is a bit too heavy for the current heat wave, but in TX this will get me through November or so, and I should be able to wear it again by late Feb/early March. LOVE this!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:14-20
body type:petite
Goes With Everything
7.28.2011
"I love it. My sister surprised me with the light pink. She got the green one. I got the xs/s and it has more than enough room. My sister likes to tie hers but I like to let it hang loose. I wear it with a cute pair of pants and flats. You can definitely get away with wearing it as dress too with a slip under it. If you get hot in it, the sleeves look super cute pulled up anyways. It's so comfy I even fall asleep in it sometimes. I'm in love with it. Great surprise from my sister. Definitely suggest buying it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful crochet
6.6.2011
"I am on a major crochet kick this summer and bought this in the petal. The style is a long tunic similar in fit and style of the jammy jam tunics. The color is sublime and it looks great with leggins, sheer skirts or over a bathing suit. I also love it with a white crochet skirt. Glad I got it and may wait to see if the other colors go on sale. Totally hooked on Free People this Summer. Keep it up!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
all in the way you tie the sides
6.5.2011
"i expected this to be roomy but i stuck with my regular size anyway. it worked out fine. the scoop neck isn't as wide as shown in the catalog pic so it doesn't fall off the shoulder naturally (i have wider shoulders though). the end of the sleeves are also quite fitted. it's a lot longer on me as it reaches just above my knees (5'3"). i tie the front and back on both sides to make it around hip length and it's really cute. the material is light and this makes for a good spring and summer night sweater."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:over 45
body type:petite
Beautiful color and weight
6.5.2011
"The only fault I have with it is that even xs size is too big , so I will have to knot it or belt it. I am only 5' tall, so taller women will have a better fit. I bought it to wear with the banded floral dress in rose and it covers the whole dress, practically. I also intend to wear it with leggings.
It's very lightweight and feminine..perfect for summer.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Message In The Sand Tunic
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
In Love!!
6.4.2011
"This sweater is SOOOO beautiful! I just got it in the mail today. I normally order mediums, but here I got the xs/s. It fits the way it looks on the model. I got the petal pink; it is soft, gorgeous, and dreamy. I see myself wearing this through the fall. It casual and elegant. Buy this, you won't regret it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large