Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip

Sheer, gauzy layering slip with sweet ruffled bottom and stretchy crinkled bust. Features adjustable straps. *100% silk bodice; 100% nylon net skirt *Import This slip is part of our special FP ONE collection. The designer for FP ONE has lived in India for 20 years. While there, she became inspired by how the beautiful Indian workers worked so effectively from their homes and used traditional hand crafted techniques. She found herself joining these workers and getting involved in the process alongside them. Her hands on design approach helped bring a modern touch to the traditional techniques that these women used. Together, they created unique designs that mix both old world and new world aesthetics. A lot of the design details used on the FP ONE garments stem from the decorating ideas that came from the design elements in our very own Free People stores, such as the patterns, prints, colors, and embellishments found on hangers, curtains, furniture covers, and mannequins.
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Review 1 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Washington
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Rouched seam trim incomplete
3.26.2012
" This slip is very sweet, and looks great over a standard slip. But be warned, the rouched trim at the bottom does not go entirely around the hem. It stops in places and the hem continues without the gathered trim, and then it picks up again. Also, the hem is very uneven all around. But in a way it is more fashionable that way. I would have just liked to have known, before I bought it, so I wasn't thinking I had a defective one when I tried it on. I later looked very close at the images on the models, and it does slightly show that the roughing does not go all the way around and that the hem is uneven. But overall, I still like the slip very much. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 2 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love the color
3.22.2012
" I love the color. It did say it was red but I don't mind orange. It's kind of like red orange to me. Just like everyone said, it is asymmetrical which makes it great. True to size. I bought the small. However, I find the material not so much. One star down: I don't think I would pay regular $98 for it. I wouldn't even pay for $40 on sale but I really wanted it and wanted to see what it looks like. The stitches on the straps were coming off & this is a really delicate slip. Also, I had to buy another slip to wear under. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:26-30
body type:slender
Color Totally OFF!
3.6.2012
" Ordered magenta & "orange" at sale price. Wanted magenta since full price. Not worth full, $ but OK sale $. Not well made, Goget slips better qualty, can be worn as skirts or tops, but not as long. But better made. Magenta good layering color, green was gone, woulda liked. Really wanted the bright orange, loved the color on-line & SO dissappointed when arrived.. It is dark RED. Not orange-red, but kinda burnt red. Not same slip as in pic. Not just lighting issue, different color slip. Have had with FP items on colors before. Get if new to site, but items on long time, should replace pics w/ones that are what U are getting. FP has had long time to fix or warn. If read more comments,would have read others saying same thing. Only read 1st 5 reviews. Others said slip RED not ORANGE. Maroon same as shown. Decent quality. Only worth $39, not fill $. But good length to layer Have both Goget slips, are thicker, better quality material & workmanship. These lowest quality slips I've ordered from FP & have about 30. If U want dark Red slip order the Orange. Is TTS. Much flimsier than appears, but still good for layering, just be aware no "orange" slips. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 4 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:california
age:41-45
body type:athletic
adorable!
2.11.2012
" adorable slip; perfect for layering. i have it in the magenta na din the ivory, and the combinations for layering are almost endless as the material is very sheer and light. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:WhoDat Nation
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
sheer fun
2.5.2012
" The girl in the pic looks lilke she's not wearing anything underneath, but I guarantee she is! I bought this to wear under a lacey dress that I knitted, thinking two sheers would make a not-so-sheer. It wouldn't work. Im still looking for something to put under my dress. BUT I have had lots of fun wearing this slip ! I bought a pair if tights in the same color and wear it all w a velvet button front long shirt. Really cute, lots of compliments. I turned around and bought the teal colored one too though its not as easy to wear because the color is so vibrant. Good buy on both! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Meh
2.3.2012
" I bought the magenta color on sale and overall I think it's just OK. I can't imagine paying full price though as the material is very flimsy and there's really not much there at all, which is why I gave it only 4 stars. I will probably get good use out of this in the warmer weather, over a tank top with a pair of leggings or shorts. Uneven hemline is pretty cool. Color is as shown but I recommend sizing down. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 7 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:fort lauderdale
age:26-30
body type:athletic
VERY NICE BUT
2.1.2012
" I THINK IT IS A NICE, BEAUTIFUL PIECE BUT NOT FOR ME. I ORDERED THE GREEN IN MY REGULAR SIZE SMALL. THE COLOR IS AMAZING, THE SLIP FITS GREAT BUT I DECIDED NOT TO KEEP IT BECAUSE I WON'T WEAR IT ENOUGH. BESIDES, IT CAME WITH A IMPERFECTION ON THE FRONT OF THE TOP "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 8 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:athletic
sexy little thang!
1.31.2012
" Sexy! I bought both Magenta and Ivory. Very happy because it's versatile, feminine, and has that eye alluring capture. As you walk it flutters in the air current behind you. May slip down off your chest and found myself readjusting. My only compliant. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 9 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:orange county
age:31-35
body type:petite
vibrant green
1.26.2012
" I just received this slip 2day. I love the color! It fits true to size. I'm 5'1 107, 34b & i ordered a sz. xs. I'm definitely not sure if i going 2 keep it or not. I dnt know if i actually love it. I'm not sure if it's practical for me. I know it can be layered w/many things. i tried it on underneath last years black crochet dress&it looked great. I'm just debating to keep it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 10 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:NC
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
LOVE
1.20.2012
" I love this slip!!! I am 5'11" and curvy and it falls beautifully. I wanted it for a long time and saw it was on sale so I grabbed it up in emerald, which is a lovely greenish turquoise. Wish I could afford two, they would look amazing layered! Totally flatters my curves and is so so so soft! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
really fragile
1.11.2012
" this slip is really cute but also really fragile. the first one i got, one of the straps appeared to have ripped (really, really small and fragile!). the worst part is someone had tied it to the second strap (there's 2 on each end). i mean what were they thinking, that the buyer would not see it??! don't know what happened there, but i returned it. the second one i received, there was a small little hole. i would've given this 5 stars if everything was perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:21-25
body type:slender
Princess
11.2.2011
" Let me begin by saying that this slip runs true to size. An XS fit me perfectly, at 5'3" 110lbs 32D. As many other people have mentioned, the "orange" color is in fact red, and it is absolutely gorgeous. This slip is flattering and versatile, but whether or not it is worth the $98 price tag is debatable. The material is extremely delicate, and the straps on mine arrived already fraying at the edges. Also, the straps are fragile and difficult to adjust. Ultimately, this slip is very beautiful and can be worn with many other FP garments, but I would recommend not purchasing it unless you are in love. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
perfect
10.2.2011
" this is gorgeous.. i got the wine color, and its so rich and beautiful! the hem is not straight across so it gves a really fun look under oversized sweaters, i wore this yesterday with the scoot inn oversized pullover and it looked unbelieveable. i was hanging out with my friend and he looked at me, said how nice the sweater was, then how nice the slip was, then said "yeah.. you definitely have style". thanks free people! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Scoot Inn Oversized Pullover
4.9 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:newton, pa
age:26-30
body type:curvy
beautiful!
9.21.2011
" This slip is beautiful but fragile. I am 5'5 147 lbs and a 32D i bought a large and it actually fit my chest!! It hit just above the knee. i can't wait to wear it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
One hit, one miss!
9.10.2011
" I purchased this slip in ivory when it was first released and am quite happy with it. I like the twist of the bodice being silk while the rest is chiffon. I had some issues with poor sewing as with many FP-1 pieces, but nothing I could not live with. There are endless ways to style this slip, so versatility is a plus. I sized up by mistake thinking the bust might be too small in my usual M (38C-26-36), but all my worry was for nothing. The relaxed width at the bust is barely 12". How could anyone find any size of this slip too large? A 28" bust would still cause the bodice of the L to stretch 6"! I can only see size being an issue for length. I am 5'5" and the L falls to mid thigh. Fast forward to the release of the newer colors: I was so excited to see an orange option! I ordered right away (in M, which fit exactly like the L) but much to my dismay, what arrived was far from orange. The "orange" is actually red. It is not orange in the slightest. I sent this one back as I can't wear red. I love this slip and wish FP would offer more color options for those of us who can't wear such saturated dark colors. Suggestions: yellow, periwinkle, coral and honey/caramel. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 16 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Pretty!
9.3.2011
" I have this in the ivory in xs (my usual size) and it fits perfectly. The slip is very pretty and girlie, and meant to be worn as a layering piece as it is completely sheer. There truly are a number of ways to wear this: layer over/under shirts/sweaters/dresses/skirts, or worn as a layered skirt (just tuck the straps in). :) Definitely a must have if you're a layering maniac. ;) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
So much love!
7.27.2011
" Finally snagged this in my local fp shop in the green. All they had was an XS, and I took a chance, normally being a S in fp clothing. It was plenty roomy and had more than enough give in the bust area. I would have pictured the seam at the bottom of the bust line to be sturdy, but the whole things stretches to allow for easy layering and a comfortable fit. I'm 5' and it hit to about my knee, which is perfect for my own layering preferences. The green is so beautiful, and it lays in a flattering way on my curvier hips. The delicate frill at the bottom is asymmetrical, and there are certain areas where it lacks that bottom ruffle (scene in the second photo on the green). Great purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
pretty
6.13.2011
" I ordered the ivory color and it works well with many items I already have in my closet! I realize that this is a slip but the fabric is very, very sheer. Granted, it is gorgeous and hangs lovely on the body. I love the smocking on the top! I might order a second if they go on sale, the emerald is stunning! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Laguna Beach
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Perfect if you have great legs!
6.13.2011
" This slip is so pretty for layering! The ruffles and the sheerness are so feminine and gorgeous! Be warned that this is completely sheer, and that you will either need to wear a slip under this or layer something over it so that the ruffles just peek out. It hits about mid-thigh, so it's SHORT. If you have long, lean legs this would look awesome; if you're self-conscious about your thighs they cannot hide while wearing this, so I'd choose something longer, like the Cascade of Ruffles slip or the Maxi Godet sheer slip "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Cascade of Ruffles Slip
4.3 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 20 for FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
Name:
Location:Ashland ,Oregon
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Not Burgundy
6.4.2011
" loved the dress online, however once it arrived it's a violet / magenta color. i was hoping for burgundy. also shorter than expected. feel like a little girl in it.
definitely not worth $98.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>