Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Zella Dress

Nubby cotton shapeless maxi dress with crochet trimming around the bottom. Scoop neckline. Super soft with a perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Zella Dress
Review 1 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Massive!!!'
1.29.2014
" 167cms, 55kg/123pounds. 35 inch bust.
Ordered xs/s took it out of the package and went "whoa". Huge, checked to make sure that I had been sent the wrong size. Tried it on and amazingly it hangs beautifully. Looks cute with a t shirt and knit over the top and I love the crochet however this dress was obviously a return as no tag was attached and it also appeared to have been worn as there was a large amount of pilling on the upper half which suggest that a top has been worn over the top of it. I sent it back as I am not in the habit of purchasing pre worn garments. Most certainly had that worn in feeling. Such a pity as I could have worn this in Winter and it is a beautiful shade of grey. Purchase a lot of FP gear and very rarely have problems. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Big Gals Size Down and You'll Be Happy
12.21.2013
" I am 5'8" tall, 38D bust with an athletic build (not willowy by any means) and I ordered this dress in the XS/S. I LOVE it! It hangs beautifully from my shoulders and just skims my bust and hips giving me a long, long look. Sizing down was a risk but it paid off for me. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any gal around my height, large or small bust. I got the grey dress and it is not see through. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:arizona
age:21-25
body type:slender
mis matched colors
11.1.2013
" i have this dress in the grey and love it! but i got it in the white and it's too sheer and the lace band at the bottom is super yellow and looks dingy next to the ivory fabric...returning it. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Zella dress
10.26.2013
" This a lovely comfortable dress. It is quite roomy, being oversized, but with the fall of the dress it does not look huge on. I purchased the black and it is not sheer, so you don't need to worry about seeing through the fabric and I purchased the XS/S, when I would normally purchase a med or a large depending on how I would like it to fit. My measurements are 37" bust and approx 40" hips and there is still heaps of room. Beautiful cool and comfortable dress, I am very happy with my purchase, it fits exactly how the picture shows it to. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
loved this dress, before i received it in the mail
10.10.2013
" hadn't realized how many bad reviews this dress had before i purchased it. i wish i would have read up before i bought it so i wouldn't have been so disappointed. i tried it on, strolled around my room a bit, and in the first 5 minutes, the back of the dress was dragging the floor. the back is definitely longer than the front. i had to pull the shoulder seam forward for the dress to fall evenly (front and back). maybe this wouldn't be a problem for a taller person but im 5'6", 135, doesn't work for me. furthermore, once i took the dress off, i realized there was a huge brown stain on the back of the dress at the bottom. tisk tisk free people, tisk tisk. "
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleFree People10.10.2013
Hi! Sorry about the condition of your item. We will be in touch to help make your return as easy as possible.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:virginia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
like an awesome giant tee shirt
8.29.2013
" so comfortable that i bought two - black and pink. dress pulls in slightly at the band at the bottom, but it makes the ruffled area (lower skirt) seem more kicky (if that's a word). with or without a belt, this one is a definite keeper "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Tough call
8.6.2013
" I had such a hard time deciding whether to keep this dress. I bought it in XS/S, white; I'm 5'6 and 125, with some curves. The material is definitely nubbier than in the pictures--I had imagined it to be a smooth jersey, but it's a nice nubby, soft textured cotton. Very comfy. The back is very slightly longer than the front and dragged just a tiny bit, not enough to bother me. The lace around the bottom is beautiful. The neckline was a little low and sometimes the top of bra peeked up, but not a big deal. It is a good layering piece for baggy sweaters, vests, ponchos, etc. It looked super cute with a belt and I also thought it draped nicely without a belt, although as one reviewer said, the armholes are big so you'd have to wear a cami, slip, or crop bra. However, I just didn't think I'd wear it enough to justify the price. Plus both my boyfriend and my mom thought it looked too nightgown-ish without a belt. Wish I could've kept it as a nightgown :) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Edmond, Oklahoma
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Wanted to love this, but couldn't
7.4.2013
" This dress is very nice, soft material. The gray is not sheer, although I can't speak for the others because I have never seen them in person. First of all, the armholes on this are way too lose. You could see my bra and even a little bit further down than that. Not cute. Second, the front is way shorter than the back, and the back is so long that it drags, and I consider myself above average height. I am sad to say I am returning this, and would not recommend. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:AZ
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Terrible Quality & Service
6.27.2013
" I purchased this dress earlier this week and it arrived today. For reference I'm 5'8'' 130 lbs. and I ordered a M/L because I wanted a roomy comfortable dress. The length is great but the arm holes expose my bra and skin. After it arrived I opened the package to find the dress rolled up in a ball. Terrible way to receive a new garment. The quality of this dress is something I would find in Target. It is already piling and I'm suspicious that it was warn prior to my buying. There are no tags and it clearly looks warn in the back and arms #hence the piling balls of fabric#. I love FP and look at the website quite regularly. For $88.00 #plus S&H# I'm afraid I expect more. I would be shocked and appalled if I truly found out this dress was a hand-me-down from another customer so I'm afraid this will be my last purchase from the company. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.28.2013
Hi, we're sorry to hear that your dress arrived in this condition. Our team will be in touch to help with this issue today! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Simple and Chic
6.20.2013
" I'm 5'10" and 135lbs and I ordered the XS/S in ivory. The dress is very oversized, just the way it is on the models. But I also think it's strangely flattering. I don't find it scandalously sheer. Nothing a slip can't fix. It's a really simple and comfortable summer dress that looks really chic. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful dress
6.20.2013
" I just purchased the dress in ivory. It is roomy, but the flow of the dress is actual slimming. Very nice & soft material. Looks much better in person then in the picture. I am 5'11" and the length of the dress is perfect, even in flats. Maybe not for shorter girls. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:Spring Branch,TX
age:36-40
body type:slender
Love this dress!!
6.14.2013
" I am 5"5, 120 lbs, dress fits just like I hoped. Very comfortable! I ordered it in the ivory, it is somewhat see through in the sunlight so I wear a slip underneath. Wish there were more colors!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Nice piece
6.6.2013
" I like this dress, it's soft and fits well even a voluptuous figured woman as myself. However, because it is quite sheer I'll wear it as an under garment throughout the Fall, Winter and early Spring. Or, on the beach, "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:birminham
age:21-25
body type:petite
Disappointed
5.28.2013
" I LOVED this dress, I was planning on wearing it with a belt and kind of folded over it to shorten the length a little since I'm short, or as a cover-up to brunch at the beach or something.... well when I got the dress right off I noticed there was a stain on the front right above the crochet part, like something sticky had been on it maybe. Then I got to looking at the dress and I'm pretty sure someone had worn the dress and returned it, even washed it. There was not a tag on it anywhere and the label inside was crumpled like it had been through the wash, :( so I will be returning it to the store tomorrow so I don't have to pay the return fee, oh well maybe I'll find something else there I like. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Zella Dress
Name:
Location:KC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
lots of room
5.15.2013
" I am 5'6 broad shoulders. 118lbs I usually love every dress from fp. Even if they run large. I just recieved this dress today in an extra small and its super comfy but large even for me. Its pretty giant. The fabric is a little heavier than i thought. I still like it though. It it pretty versatile. It isnt as fitted as it looks on the model . It kind of just hangs but it is a great layering piece and the length never bothers me. It will be cute with some brown booties "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations