Product Reviews

Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts

5-pocket distressed denim cutoff shorts with multicolor woven patches on front and back. Bottom hem and edges around patches are frayed. It's shorts season, and it's time to start making a statement with our favorite warm weather bottoms! The patterned fabric will vary from short to short because they are fabrics found in local markets. Because of this, each pair of shorts will be special and unique, but very similar to each other. All will be very vibrant in color. All the patterned fabrics are individually hand picked by the designer Jen herself. *By Jen's Pirate Booty *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Waist (all around): 32" Rise: 8" Inseam: 3"
overall average rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Review 1 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Mammoth Lakes, Ca
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
So unique!
10.18.2012
"Love these shorts! I always order a size up in shorts because I dont like them tight and they were perfect. So cute and unique!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Could have been great...
10.17.2012
"So I read the other reviews before I bought these so I kinda knew what to expect. I was hoping for the fabric to be like the colors in the photos, but they were way off. Mine were pink, purple, and green. They fit pretty true to size, but the waist was a little loose. The construction wasn't as high quality as I would have liked so I sent them back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
awesome but you have to catch the 'right' one
8.22.2012
"So based on the reviews i ordered two pairs, and one i absolutely love while the second did not look great on me...its also a sizing issue..size down one size...i am mostly a 25, but here the 24 looked better...5'4" 107 lbs got the black and LOVE them see the images, the 24 is closest, therefore looks larger...the 'hemlines' hit wrong in the larger size and also the pattern looks awkward when worn . SO my recommendation is order couple of pairs and try different sizes, if you find one that fits and in the right size, you have the awesomest pair of shorts :::::evan::::. Probably best to wash by hand, just in cases:) if you are between sizes order down. Fits kinda like the m2f maui short that is sold out here now, a full size looser so one size down from that short size is perfect in my case...lots of stretch, and no muffin top as the waist is generous:) The black shorts look cute with ankle booties, ankle height moccasins or with wrap -style biker boots."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Vestal, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Not durable
8.12.2012
"The denim itself has a nice fit/stretch to it, but the patches are haphazardly sewn on and start to unravel. Even at the sale price, a stretch."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
Horrible!
6.8.2012
"Online, the patch designs are amazing, they look intact, and look super cute. However, they are NOT! These pictures are deceiving. I saw these recently and laughed at how ridiculously cheap they looked! It literally looked as if they spent less than 10 mins making each pair and priced it at nearly $200! They are so cheaply made and sewn on poorly!! Not to mention, the location I went to did not have cute patchwork designs. Be aware, each pair is diff so dont waste your time ordering these online. You will most likely be disappointed. If you MUST have these, I suggest finding them in stores so you can choose which patchwork you like best (if any of them happen to be as cute as the ones shown online) & you can decide yourself whether, or not they are worth $168. In my opinion, they are NOT! Such a shame, I wanted so badly to love these."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:salt lake city utah
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cheap! Poorly Made!
4.30.2012
"These shorts are horribly put together, poorly stitched and the material is not as pictured is fraying and cheap looking. NOT WORTH THE MONEY! Totally disappointed with this purchase!!!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:athletic
A fantastic surprise!
4.8.2012
"So, the first review was correct in telling you that each patchwork detail is different per short, but FP forewarns us in the description. The designer definitely spent time picking out the most beautiful textiles and I am super ecstatic about my shorts that arrived today. I am 5'6" with a booty and typically take a 26 in FP shorts, BUT since these shorts were designer I went up to a 27, just in case, and they fit like a glove. If they stretch over time they may get a little loose, but my normal size may have been to small. The inseam is such a great length and the jean material is super soft. Get 'um before their gone chicas!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:26-30
body type:slender
UGH!
4.7.2012
"The previous reviewer was so right! The fabric and pattern on the shorts I received was no where near close to what is pictured. The fabric on the ones I received was some cheap looking kilim pattern. So disappointed. Also, the shorts arrived wet. Not damp, wet and smelling a little bit mildewy. I bit the bullet and spent nearly $200 on these ($190 with shipping and taxes) and I guess I learned my lesson. I have other items from JPB that I really love, so i am extra bummed out with these because I guess I was expecting what is pictured since there is no note that they would be different from the photos. Unfortunately, these will be going back."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Guipil Rodeo Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:california
age:26-30
body type:athletic
I don't trust JPB anymore ..
4.2.2012
"Due to my unfortunate previous experience with the "guipil asteria skirt" I have become very cautious about buying any JPB brand items.. looking at these pics I can immediately tell the Aztec fabric is not going to look the same for the other shorts, so I may expect big red circles, stars or whatnot..I spared myself ordering these but my fp holic friend just told me she tried them on and I was right!!!
I think if I buy a pair of plain FP cutoff shorts and have some craft tailored on them at least I know what I'm getting!!
"
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large