Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts

Distressed 5-pocket denim shorts with scalloped crochet trimming around bottom hems. Zipper and button fly. Some destroyed texture in places for a cool, worn-in feel and look. Bottom hems above the trimming are frayed. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 32" Rise: 11" Inseam: 3" Leg Opening Width: 11 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Review 1 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
disappointed:( (PLEASE READ)
11.9.2014
"I bought these in a 26, and they fit quite tightly in the store. I usually buy Free People denim shorts that feel a bit too tightly in the store because they stretch out about a size once I wash and wear them. Unfortunately, these never stretched out and actually got tighter once I washed them. I am 5' 6.5" and weigh 128 lbs. They were way too tight in the thighs and also in the waist, but were oddly loose just above my butt. I attempted to alter them to fit my body shape better, but it has not helped much. So sad because they are so cute but I can't even sit in them for 5 minutes without getting painful red lines on my thighs and cutting off the circulation in my legs :( Perhaps I will purchase a larger size if they ever go on sale in the store. If you are considering buying these, please know that they DO NOT STRETCH."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:louisiana
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
"Old Trusty"
10.13.2014
"these are by far the best shorts I've bought from freepeople. When I first saw them I was kind of questioning the $88 price tag. A year later, I gave in and bought them and I am sooo thankful. I can wear them with literally everything. They're comfortable, and even cuter in real life. THE ONLY DOWNSIDE - it's been a solid 6 months and the lace at the bottom is starting to separate from the shorts. considering just buying another pair."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Kansas City
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Denim
10.11.2014
"LOVE these shorts! Have four different pairs. After buying my first pair these are now the only denim shorts I will buy. Not only the lace ones, but all fits are great. The ONLY downside to them is they have ripped on the side of two pairs. Would assume just from natural wear and tear of the shorts (have only had them for two years, only wear them during the summer/spring). I contacted Free People to ask about their policy on their denim just not holding up, they didn't have one and basically told me it was my own problem. Be careful when wearing that the sides may rip."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Vineland, NJ
age:14-20
body type:athletic
READ THIS
9.5.2014
"Its a little big I'm 5'3 128lbs and I got a 27.. look this shorts are adorable and I eyed them up for like two summers straight. I finally got them and I *kinda* regret buying them. After you walk around a little they ride up your butt (btw i don't have a huge butt either) and it just feels sooooo uncomfortable.. I would ONLY buy these if they are on sale at like nordstrom rack/macys. Just don't pay 88 for them like me. I got the daisy wash. They are so cute but pretty uncomfortable."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Favorite Shorts
8.23.2014
"These are definitely my favorite pair of shorts I own. I have the aero wash and they literally go with everything. They also fit so well. They look cute with a shirt out or tucked in. I also have problems with my cheeks peeking out of the bottom of my shorts and these shorts solved that problem for me, no cheek peeks! My only complaint is that sitting down with them on gets uncomfortable after a while. I wouldn't suggest a long car ride in them..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
My favorite shorts ever!
8.22.2014
"I bought these shorts in the Daisy Wash and I absolutely love them. They are a perfect length (short yet it covers up). Adding the lace gives it that perfect extra length without being awkward. I bought a size 24 and I'm 5'5 and 105 pounds. They still fit a bit large in the waist for me since my waist is about 22-23, but I like the extra space so I can tuck in a shirt and it doesn't feel like you're being suffocated or anything. Overtime it does seem like they stretched a bit in the bottom, but I think a good wash will tighten them back up a bit. I would definitely love to buy these shorts in True Blue or Stone Black! They look so beautiful and are so comfortable!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
My favorite shorts!!!
8.3.2014
"I wear these shorts so much I'm buying a second pair in my favorite wash (aero) because I know mine will wear out sooner than I'd like. I'm only 4' 10" and usually higher waisted shorts look bad on me, but these look amazing. They make my legs look longer, and my waist narrower. The best thing is that they don't ride up at all, which is a problem higher waisted shorts usually have. I'm slightly upset though because the first time I washed them, I washed them inside out in a laundry bag and everything, and the rivets on the back pockets fell off. I can't get them back on, and it's not a huge deal but I'm a bit upset that for this price, rivets are falling off on the first wash. Other than that I'm super happy. I'm always a 25 in FP and it's no exception with these in the aero wash. At first they were a bit tight around the legs, but they loosened up right away. However in the washed black I bought a 25 without trying them on, assuming they'd fit the same, and they don't. They're so tight it's unbearable. So I would suggest going into a store to try these on before buying. Doesn't seem that the sizing is standard between all the colors."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Jackson, Ms
age:14-20
body type:athletic
So cute!!!!
7.17.2014
"These are my favorite shorts! They are super cute! They are the perfect length and fit perfectly! I've always had trouble finding blue jean shorts that fit well and aren't so short they show my butt, but when I tried these on they were perfect!! If you're thinking about buying these, I highly recommend them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Weird Sizing! Great Shorts!
7.7.2014
"I bought these shorts in 3 different sizes. I own a pair in size 27, a pair in 28 and a pair in 29. All three sizes fit exactly the same. The store manager told me that there is something wrong with the sizing on these shorts. My regular size in FP jeans is 28. I don't know who was labeling the sizing on these shorts. You definitely need to try them in the store, prior to purchasing them in different colors. But once you find the right size, then well, the right size fits perfect! These are the cutest shorts ever. I normally dislike jean shorts, but these are adorable!!! Love them!!! I can dress them up and dress them down. They look just perfect on me, Three different sizes... Wild!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
giving them a shot!
6.23.2014
"I'm not a big shorts person, but my all time fav's are the FP dolphin hem cutoffs and I've already bought those in all the colors I want. I had been eyeing these for a while and was able to try them on in my local FP store. I got the washed black and ended up sizing up for comfort. I know they will still stretch a little, but my normal size wasn't comfy enough to chance it. I'm 5'2" 112 lbs, curvy and petite (got the 27, usually wear 26). I don't have the thinnest thighs in the land, so I usually wear tights or a maxi cardi with my shorts. With that said, these don't make me feel as self conscious as some of the short-shorts out there. The washes are nice and the lace adds just a bit of uniqueness. I will probably get the stone black wash next!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Wonderful
6.13.2014
"These shorts fit tts and are the perfect inseam and rise. I got the "stone black" colorway and it is more of a gray w/a faded black lace trim. I am a comfortable 29, that's what I ordered, and they fit well; not tight, relaxed and perfect fit. They will be cute year round, w/a tank or w/tights underneath. The lace will look cute peaking out under a slip or tunic too. Looking forward to a 2nd pair and rocking these all year round."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Kansas City
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Summer Staple
6.13.2014
"I was looking for a pair of good ready to wear with anything shorts for summer....and these are it! They fit well maybe a little too big but not bad."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:21-25
body type:petite
Bad quality
6.3.2014
"I love these shorts so much, but the lace trim on mine completely ripped where the short and the lace meet! I'm so disappointed! These were my favorite shorts :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute Shorts
5.8.2014
"I tried these on in the store and I am normally a size 26 (115 lbs, 5'4") but the size 26 was a little loose and baggy so I sized down to a 25. They are a little tight when you first wear them but they loosen up and are so comfortable! I have two pairs in the washed black and the daisy, love them both!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Louisville, KY
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Adorable, but large.
5.7.2014
"I wanted these shorts to fit a little looser than they do on the model, so I didn't listen to other reviewers who had already said they ran large, and sized up anyway. I was absolutely swimming in the larger size.
I do love them, though, so I purchased my normal size, which is loose, but just to my liking. I purchased the Aero wash and they are edgy with their slightly distressed feature, yet feminine with the lace edging, and I love that. They aren't high waisted, but they certainly aren't lowrise either, they are a perfect in between. And also, I'm fairly certain that I will not have issues with immodesty in the new, fitting pair. I'm not a fan of glorified denim underwear, nor do I typically go for "short" shorts. I have incredibly long legs, so shortshort shorts make me uncomfortable. These are not long, but they are also not showing my butt to the world. Definitely going to be a staple in my summer wardrobe.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute, but...
5.5.2014
"I bought these shorts in the stone and daisy wash. After only two wears, the lace on the daisy shorts has started to come off. I haven't had any issues with the other pair, so maybe I just got unlucky with the daisy ones. Anyhow, really cute, but for $88 I expect better quality. I found that they ran a bit large, as well, so you may want to size down."
Response from Free People:By Free People5.6.2014
Hi mckelly219,

We're sorry to hear about your Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Boulder, Colorado
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE
4.27.2014
"I've really been struggling to find great shorts but the search is finally over! I'm really not into the butt cheeks-hanging-out-of-pants look that most shorts have these days. Not these ones! They are the perfect length and fit really nicely around the waist. They're a little large, but I think it gives them a relaxed vibe. Very cute. Now I want them in every color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:14-20
body type:petite
really cute
3.26.2014
"so these shorts are super cute, but run a little big. I typically wear a size 24 in fp jeans, so i ordered a 24 for the shorts. They're a little loose , and a little longer than i thought (i am petite). I bought the daisy wash and they have a really cute color"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
HOT. HOT. HOT!
2.21.2014
"<3 <3 <3 these shorts, they are SO cute, so sexy, so flattering!
I am 5ft6 (168cms), 132lbs (60kgs), pear shape, usually wear size 4-6 bottoms, got these in size 27 and they are a perfect fit. Worth noting that because the waist is quite high, I got size 27, usually for more hipster jeans I would get 28-29.
I love the length, longer at the back, so comfy and flattering. I love that they're shorter on the sides - makes them sexier. Anyway the cut is expertly done, well done FP!
I got them in pacific railroad, and they are so special, something different to what you see everyone else wearing. I have just also ordered them in stone so I can dress them up or down. I will be wearing these 2 pairs all year!!
Cannot say enough about how awesome these are! Do not hesitate, get a pair now, they belong in every girl's wardrobe, they have the feel-good wow factor!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Lacey Denim Cutoff Shorts
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Adorable
2.6.2014
"I've had these shorts for a few years now, and they still fit perfectly and look adorable. I get compliments every time I wear them! Honestly they're my favorite pair of shorts, and I'm considering buying new ones in a different wash.
Definitely can't go wrong with these! :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 2 3 4 next>>