Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Le Deux Velvet Tunic

Beautiful velvet body-conscious turtleneck tunic top with semi-sheer design on upper body. Long sleeves. *66% Polyester, 25% Nylon, 9% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32" Bust: 28" Waist: 26" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Reviews for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Review 1 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Worth it!
1.16.2012
"As you can see on the model in the silver tunic, she is wearing pants. By no means does this piece work for me as a dress. It does ride up because of the fabric, but it is GORGEOUS. I bought this in a Medium in the midnight colour once it went on sale and what a gorgeous, slim-fitting piece! (I am 5'5" and 130 lbs). The "off-centre" pattern is barely noticeable because of the dark colour and it is definitely not a see-through top with the burnout. It looks fabulous! I tried it on with my Marl Buckle Boots and its one hot little number!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Love it!
1.10.2012
"I got this dress in midnight and it's exactly what I was hoping for. I wore it for NYE with black tights. I usually wear a small or a medium in fp dresses, I got the Medium and it fit great. As other reviewers have noted the design is a little off centered. Mine is only about an inch off centered so it wasn't enough to ruin the dress for me."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
PERFECTION!!!!
12.25.2011
"So beautiful!!! I got this dress in the dark blue and it is simply stunning! I am 100% happy with this dress. I haven't tried it on yet but it is incredible. Buy it now that it's on sale!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:CO
age:21-25
body type:curvy
sexy
12.23.2011
"Love this dress! its great for the holidays and it is very slimming and looks great on! it is form fitting. i usually wear a size small but i sized up to a medium."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Lovely dress
12.19.2011
"I adore this dress! I'm 5'7.5", 103 lbs, 32B, 25" waist, 30" hip bones, 35" hips, and I got my usual size xs. The colour is gorgeous. I'm soooo happy that the pattern on my dress is centered! I was so worried it would arrive all crooked. The fit is perfect, and it's the perfect length to wear as a dress (even if you're tall) if you've got great legs and love to show them off! The dress does absolutely ride up though (minus 1 star) so I might try taping it to my tights (with body tape or something...?) when I wear it for my birthday. No idea if that will work or not but it's worth a try. This dress shows every flaw, so spanx are a must unless you have a perfectly flat stomach. The burnout part is totally fine as long as you wear nude underwear. I will be wearing this dress with black tights and cute wedge ankle boots for my birthday! Can't wait!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
retro elegance
12.18.2011
"this piece is beautiful! the velvet is luscious and the semi-sheer pattern is gorgeous! it does ride up like everyone else says. i sized up (for a looser fit and for more length), but it still rides up and i have to keep pulling at it (hence the 4 stars). i guess that's why they call it a tunic and not a dress. regarding the off-centered pattern, i didn't even notice it until i read the reviews. but you can't really tell in the midnight color so i don't think it's an issue. recommended."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Half Moon Bay, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Makes and awesome dress for petite women
12.17.2011
"Most of the reviews I have read talk about how it's a tunic and the pattern is off center. I have this tunic in midnight and it's so beautiful it doesn't matter how off center the design is. If you're 5ft 5in or shorter with a lean build, this tunic makes an AWESOME dress!!!! I'm 5ft 2in, it hugs in all the right places and falls perfectly as a mini dress. Plus it doubles as a great outfit for work (especially if you work the salon desk like me!) or a night out."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
touchable
12.13.2011
"I simply cannot wait to wear this. I bought the xs in navy blue, it is stunning! It rides up the legs so you'd have to wear tights or leggings underneath... It is soft and comfortable with some stretch. Great for xmas parties or new years!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous
12.12.2011
"I usually wear a small in FP, but got a medium because I was hoping it would be a bit longer. I love it and it fits fairly well, but gapes a bit at the back opening and is a bit loose at the waist. Still, I love it. For reference, I'm 5'7, 120 lbs, 34C. The midnight color is just beautiful."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love this!!!!
12.11.2011
"This dress is beautiful!!! i have it in the midnight and love it!!! the quailty is great and it can be worn with so many things it endless! The only thing i have to say tho is that it does ride up! The first time i wore it i wore it with the fp new romantics mesh poncho in the rose color which looked really great on top and you couldnt tell it rode up!!! but def a great purchase!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP New Romantics Mesh Poncho
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Torn over this! LOVE...BUT pattern is NOT centered
12.10.2011
"Initial Reaction: Ok, I LOVE, LOVE this "dress". It looks so elegant without showing to much for being trampy.
Color: The Midnight is so flattering especially on blonde hair and blue eyes as we see on Martha here. It's true to the studio photos.
Fit: I am 5'6 107lbs and could wear either an XS or S. Usually I am a solid XS but it depends on how you want it to fit. Just because it is short does not mean it runs small. I actually thought it was too loose, so did a friend of mine. I was hoping it to be body CLINGING! There is not much difference in size except it is a lil looser, sleeves are a tiny bit longer and that's about it. I did not find there to be much difference in the length as there usually is. it depends how clingy you would like the dress to look. This is very short esp when you have a bubble butt like myself. One to remember ladies. THIS IS A TUNIC, so yes it's short because really, it's not a dress it's a long top..
Fabric: Velvet is soft and comfy and is pretty well made. It is slightly sheer as it is an Intimately item and is a slip. So I wasn't surprised like that at all. It is not even noticeable that the burn out is sheer either. Overall it is an AMZING DRESS and I was all about this until...
I thought I was seeing things and thought "I prob had the dress on crooked because I was in a rush" . It never came to my FP but a department store had it so I went there to try it on again after reading reviews here and seeing the XS was sold out. I decided to see if I could settle for the S and order online.
I tried it on and my hopes sunk. Usually I pay no mind to complaints in reviews. However the pattern on this is 100% NOT STRAIGHT. I thought I wss being picky but the girl told me it wasn't selling for that reason. The problem is the pattern is too symmetrical so it stands out even more. It wasn't a lil off center...it was wayyyy off. The "v" dip in front was all the way near the HIP!!! :(
Final: I love this dress to pieces, however I do not want to order from a store as the chances of a not centered one are very high. I do not love the Silver as much but maybe it will be less noticeable. This was FIVE STARS until I noticed the off center.
I am not too upset...there are so many amazing party dresses to choose from!!!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Can't wait until New Years!
12.8.2011
"Just got this fabulous dress delivered to me this afternoon. I bought it in the Midnight color. I thought the dress would be a darker blue, but with the combination of the black see-through portion, it's a gorgeous blue, definitely not your typical choice of outfit for going out. I am 5'5, 34B, curvy, ordered the M. It fits like a glove. The quality if very good, so you're getting your money's worth. I have a shirt, which is made of the same material, so even though I don't expect to wear this dress often, it's very high quality and should remain as if you've never worn it. Definitely looking forward to wearing it outside of my house this upcoming New Year, I wore it around the house, in love with it! Thank you so much Free People! Can't wait to order some more from you guys!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:slender
Off center pattern!
12.5.2011
"I absolutely love love love this dress! It fits perfectly, the color and material is just beautiful. True to size. HOWEVER when I put it on the pattern seemed to be sewn in very off center. I'm sad to read that a few other reviewers had this problem also, because this is the PERFECT new years dress. It is so off center that you couldn't get away with wearing it; much too noticeable! I called in and am being sent another one; hopefully this one will be centered : )! The only reason I gave three stars is because of the pattern, otherwise it would receive all 5!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Berkeley
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Possible NYE dress
12.4.2011
"I tried this on in the store today. It is labeled a tunic but I'll definitely be wearing it as a dress. I loved both colors but ended up getting the blue. Unfortunately the grey washed me out a bit. Although if it hits sale I might buy it and just use some self tanner before I wear it. For reference I'm 5'6", 145, 34A, slim but athletic and I took a size M. I could have gotten away with a size S in the blue (not the grey simply because it's sheerer) but I wanted the extra length of the M. The grey is a bit sheer. I was wearing a black bra and green thong and you could definitely see them. Nude underwear would be just fine or FP has these great little underwear rompers. I tried one under the dress and it was perfect because it eliminated any worry about the dress riding up. If you're much taller than me this might not work as a dress. Also velvet is a little forgiving (because it is a thicker fabric) but there is no hiding major rolls or bumps. This is a bodycon dress and you either have the confidence to wear it or you should skip this. I bought this to wear for NYE and the sales girl said several other customers were planning on the same thing. Hopefully I don't run into any of them!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Luscious Velvet
11.30.2011
"I had hoped this would be my perfect holiday dress, but I'm just a couple of inches too tall (5'9") to make this work. It's beautifully body-contouring and very flattering, but I agree with the other reviewers who say that it rides up the moment you take a step. And keeps on riding . . . ! The fabric is sumptuous, the burnout patterning is very elegant, as is the keyhole opening in the back. So many lovely touches; I wish that I were shorter!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Pretty, but...
11.30.2011
"This tunic fits like most bodycon items fit, that is, like a glove. It is very comfortable and despite it's burnout quality, it is not very see-through. So, great fabric, great fit, great stand-alone piece.. what's wrong? The dress I tried on had an off-center pattern. The seams were lined up against my sides, but diamonds were off to the left! Hopefully this was a one time malfunction, but it is something to be aware of! Oh and the keyhole back adds an innocently sexy touch."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Disappointed...
11.29.2011
"Let me just say that this dress would have been really awesome if it weren't for a couple of things. I must have gotten a defective dress because the burnout pattern on mine was NOT centered on the front or the back like in the picture, and it's so bad that it's definitely noticeable. The other thing that bothered me is that the opening in the back was somewhat gaping, and that could have just been a fitting issue since I got a small (ex-small wasn't available). And by the way, the color it is a brighter blue than pictured, but still nice. I would have loved to wear this dress for my work holiday party, but looks like i'll just be returning it instead. :("
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:31-35
body type:petite
lovely
11.29.2011
"I just got this in the mail, and it is so beautiful. I got the blue, happy with the color. It is overall a rich, soft, classy and sexy little piece. I am small so i can absolutely get away with wearing it as a dress with some hot thigh heels. and as i am small in the bust i think i can even go without bra. the shearness is not too much. i can't wait to wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Northern Virginia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love!!
11.27.2011
"So I thought I would get this in midnight (thinking it was more black, but its definitely navy blue). I ended up trying silver and fell in love!! It's tight and comfortable, so if your like me and like things to show off your body...GET THIS!! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Le Deux Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Fabulous until you move
11.26.2011
"This tunic is amazingly flattering and looks fabulous as long as I am standing in front of the mirror. As soon as I walk across the room it creeps its way up until... well... I don't know where it would stop because I am constantly tugging it down."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>