Product Reviews

Denim And Sherpa Jacket

Distressed denim sherpa lined jacket with woven detailing at each front pocket, at each shoulder, at slit at lower back, and at the upper back. Buttons up the front. Button belt detailing at each sleeve hem. Oversized collar. *100% Cotton *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 31" Bust (all around): 40" Sleeve Length: 25 3/4"
overall average rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Review 1 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
cozy. soft. warm.
1.5.2013
" i got this in a size up as it was the only one available, and i find it pretty loose and have no issue with the sleeves, so i think this fits true to size. the denim is really soft and the sherpa lining comfy, and the jacket is actually quite warm. i like the woven details as they make the jacket more unique than an ordinary denim jacket. i also like the length. overall, this is a very good buy. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:boston
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Boohoo on the tiny sleeves
12.14.2012
" Loved the jacket, but yes, the shoulders and sleeves are TIGHT. Hadda return. Sigh. FP: Remake it right! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Beautiful Jacket and Warm
12.7.2012
" This jacket is impecable! It's not only insanely cute but it fits like a glove, I'm 5' 11'' and about 110 lbs and the medium fit me perfectly. People did say that it was tight in the arms and it is a little tight around the wrists but it's not uncomfortable at all. This jacket is also very warm and keeps me nice and cozy in the frigid Vermont winters. Love this, even more extraordinary in person!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Disappointed
12.7.2012
" I also sized up to have extra room in the upper arms/back area. That wasn't the problem though. I didn't like the fact that this particular jacket had a "used" look. The denim looked a bit "dirty" - not distressed or broken in, just unwashed and stiff- and for a high price IMO. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Utah
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Size up+
12.4.2012
" This jacket is cute and warm. I am usually a size US6-8; 5'8=172cm. I ordered this one for a size Large. Because I tried the medium one in Nordstrom but the sleeves holes were too tight for me. For my suggestion, one size up should be better. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Size up and Enjoy it!
11.25.2012
" I LOVE this coat. I saw it online and almost drooled on my computer. I don't know why it's so appealing because of the boxy design, but its baggy in a good way, and so darn cozy you feel like you're being hugged as you wear it.
I'm 5'6" and 35-28-35 size wise. Because of all the warnings about the arms being tight, I definitely wanted to try this on before buying. The store closest to me only had S or L, not the M I wanted but after trying on both and having them both fit, I chose the L because the over-sized look of the coat works well, especially for a winter coat. I want to be able to wear sweaters and layers beneath without the arms being tight.
So, bottom line. Size up and ENJOY! It's a great, warm, awesome looking coat with a vintage Almost Famous feel. It's all happening! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:MN
age:14-20
body type:slender
A little bit disappointed
11.24.2012
" The fur and the denim appear darker than the picture. Looks a little dirty. I ordered small which I usually wear, and I also have the hug problem... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:31-35
body type:slender
Adorable BUT...
11.23.2012
" Exactly as other reviewers have said, this jacket has got so much personality and I just adore it, BUT I did struggle with the sizing. It was a toss up between fitting tight in arms but great everywhere else (in my usual XS), or having comfy arms but a bit too boxy every where else. I umm'd and ahh'd for a good 15 minutes in the store before I stuck with the XS. It will be challenging wearing anything but a thin long sleeve in the arms, but I figured I'll just accessorize with a vest and chunky scarf. If the sizing was right on this it would have easily gotten 10 stars from me. True the pictures are slightly brighter - the sherpa is more of an ivory with a worn look, and the denim is not as crisp blue as in the photo, but it gives it a cool hippie rocker vibe that I really appreciate. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:canada
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
adorable
11.23.2012
" the lining is creamier coloured than pictured. my only problem with it is as everyone else has said - the arms/shoulders are tight and restrictive. other than that its super comfy and cute! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:san francisco
age:31-35
body type:petite
Not as picture
11.21.2012
" Sad to say after eyeing this for a couple months I finally ordered this jacket and it's going back.The denim and the fur material appear dingy and old and not bright the way they do in the photos. I like brighter denim but this denim looked sort of old and beat up. The fur is not as bright ivory as it is in the photos - it's darker and looks old and kind of dirty to me, it's also not as fluffy as I thought it would be. I am petite (5'3" and 115lbs) and ordered the small. It fit pretty well although it was a tiny bit roomy in the arms and back, and the sleeves were too long and had to be rolled up. Overall, just not worth $228 for something that looks like I bought it used (in not a good way!!) "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Almost Worked
11.21.2012
" The sleeves on this jacket were a bit tight. The proportions are a little off. Going up in size for the sleeves makes for a boxy fit in the body. The faded denim is pretty as well as the beading. I love the cozy collar too. I wish the cut was a little better. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
the hug review says it all.
11.16.2012
" For me too very uncomfortable to reach for anything or extend arms out. It becomes very tight and the sleeves too short ( I am 5’10” ish, thin and bought a Large) I hoped they were nice and long since it appeared it might be that way in the pics. I kept because I love it so. but I may regret it, and I too worry about wearing anything with sleeves under it. Would be soo perfect with a little more room in the upper back and longer sleeves that were a little roomier. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful Jacket, BUT....
11.15.2012
" Free people have a problem with their sizing. The Jacket in the XS (my normal size) fit perfectly everywhere, except the sleeves, which were tighter. One could not wear anything long sleeve underneath it. The S was really big everywhere. Why oh why cannot FP get this issue right? The Jacket itself is beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Laguna Beach, CA, USA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
very cozy but trendy too
11.1.2012
" I saw this coat on line and loved it but didnt want to take a chance at ordering it because I hate returning things. Last week I found it in a boutique and immediately grabbed it, The only size left was a medium. I normally wear FP size small, but I like the way it is a bit oversized so that I can wear a heavy sweater underneath it without feeling constrained.
It looks awesome with skinny jeans, and it is nice and warm too. The details look even better in person too! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:mountains
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Can't hug
10.31.2012
" Based on the other reviews I ordered a size up. This is the 4th jacket that has been ill fitting in the shoulders even in the larger size. The torso is -huge- and the upper back and arms are so tight I can't even give a proper hug :(. (The sleeves are lined with a cotton fabric, not the fuzzy Sherpa).
I do love the jacket, all the details and embroidery, but am disappointed with the fit design of the Free People jackets/coats. I generally would be wearing a long sleeve top in the colder weather and every jacket I have tried this season won't comfortably allow it.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing!
10.26.2012
" I love this jacket. I am normally an XS, but found the S to fit perfectly as a winter jacket. The sleeves are tight at the bottom and I think I would've found the XS too tight in that area. It's great oversized. I prefer it with the buttons undone. The embroidery details are beautiful. I've gotten many compliments. I think it'll last a lifetime! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
incredibly beautiful and soft
10.25.2012
" This jacket is worth the money. It is thick, soft and durable. Very detailed and well made in person. It will match with literally everything and anything. It will last many years as well. Highly recommend. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Denim And Sherpa Jacket
Name:
Location:Houston
age:26-30
body type:petite
Almost Famous
10.23.2012
" The jacket is even better in person. Once you try it on you feel like you are in the movie Almost Famous. The lining on the inside is so soft and delicate. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large