Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lolita Syndrome Dress

Lightly texturized mini dress with crochet at neckline in front and the enter upper back. Sweetheart neckline in the front. Fitted at the waist with light pleating below the waistline. Skirt portion is pieced together for a flirty swing shape.
overall average rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Review 1 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Not the Best
9.20.2013
"This dress runs really big! I am regular chested and the chest area on me looks nothing like how it looks on the model."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
I love this dress
8.28.2013
"The front and back of the dress is lovely. I agree it is a baggy fit but when it is really hot you don't want a clingy dress. This is a breathy summer dress that will keep you cool and stylish looking. For reference I'm 5'4" and 128lbs, 34C and ordered a small. It is a bit long but I don't mind"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Adorable!
7.26.2013
"This dress is absolutely adorable!
I wore it on my honeymoon and enjoyed it's flirty, modern take on a traditional style. I also found it true to size.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:s florida
age:36-40
body type:petite
sad
7.5.2013
"Just got back from the store and I'm super disappointed this dress did not work out. Cute concept, cute dress but It just had too much fabric. I tried on a size S, they were out of the xs in white but had the coral color in xs which fit slightly better but not a great fit, oddly cut, but that could be because of my height and short torso? I really wanted this dress to work out but I couldnt bring myself to purchase the dress since I knew I would have to have it taken in at the tailor and I cant justify spending more money on it when it's just a simple white dress. Also, it was super long on me for what is shown on the model as a mini dress or top - i'm 5'3 108lbs, so not only would I need to take it in but I'd also want it at least 2-3 inchs shorter. See pic for reference. Perhaps if you're 5'5 and up its a better fit? Not sure but definitely would need to be less for me to purchase it then have it tailored to better fit my body. oh well. :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:petite
Stunning
7.5.2013
"I just received it today and I was really stunned. It's not just really extraordninary, but the fabric feels very soft and high quality.
I ordered it in coral and it really is a beautiful color and really adds summer to your wardrobe.
I ordered an XS. It really fits perfectly and is not too short. I am 5'2'' but have rather big breasts, so the upper part also fits perfectly.
I will buy a nude colored bra though, to not redirect the attention to my bra as you can really see it.
I am really looking forward to wearing it and I think it is the most beautiful piece in my wardrobe.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful, but poor fit
6.19.2013
"To begin this "dress" is beautiful in person, however there is a huge discrepancy in size between the small and the medium. I am 5'9 and 130lbs, 34c bust, and I tried on both the small and the medium. The small is fits beautifully in the bust and shoulders, but barely covers my bum, the medium gives me the length I need but is droopy in the chest. The material is beautiful and also has a slight pattern to it, which is hard to see in the photos. Wish I could have made this a purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful but not for me.
6.18.2013
"I was very excited to receive this dress. It has such a unique front and back. But I had a few problems. This dress wrinkles EASILY... and when it was shipped to me, it looked like it was crumpled into a ball over and over again. So it took me a long time to get the wrinkles out to even see the pattern. I got this dress in the coral, but it is not a soft coral like in the picture- I found it to be much darker. I am 5"1' 108 lbs and I was swimming in this dress. I ordered an XS and it was too long- came to my knees. It was also baggier around the waist, which normally I don't mind... but it looks unflattering because of the length of the dress. I am returning it tonight. Very sad it didn't work out!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:New york
age:26-30
body type:petite
lovely
6.15.2013
"im petite - 5'1" 110lbs. i got this in black xs. it's a bit loose on the waist and lots of fabric on the bottom but i love it! i love the front and back crochet, so sexy and just..lovely:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Way too much fabric
6.14.2013
"This could be an awesome dress, but it was way too overwhelming on me. I'm 5'4", 115lbs, small chested, have hips... small, but not really what you'd call petite. I got the smallest size, and the skirt itself has sooo much fabric that i looked like i was wearing a bag. I tried putting a cropped shirt, jacket, chambray, cardigan, belt, scarf, anything over it to cinch it up a bit, give it some shape, look more flattering, and all of a sudden i had hips for miles. It just wasn't working out for me. The details are great, the fabric is lightweight and fun for summer, and its very comfy... but there's no way i can justify keeping this little number if all i can envision is walking around the house in it or using it as a beach cover-up. I'd have to literally take out 5 inches in width of the skirt for it to even look like a body was underneath... AND, the white is definitely thin enough to see through, which means i'd have to invest in something else to go underneath. Originally i bought the ruched shorts for underneath, but the dress is so long they don't show, and well, they're cooper and you can see this brown bit under the dress and it looks bizarre. Disappointed, very, it's going back."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:athletic
My new favorite top
5.7.2013
"This may be a dress on some but it is a top for me. But it is my new favorite top!! It actually has good coverage and is so cute and comfortable. Definite 5 star!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
UNIQUE AND CLASSY-NOT TOO SHORT
4.26.2013
"Unfortunately I do not have a Free People store near me, so I buy a lot of their clothes at a big department store that I love. When I was at the store I saw this in the white and tried it on and it is a must. I originally tried it on with a nude bra and you could hardly tell, unless you got right up close and awkwardly stared at my chest (I think the design does a good job of hiding it). However, when I got home I tried it without a bra and that worked for me as well. I say it's not too short b/c I am close to the average height of a woman, about 5'3", and it was a great length; however, if you are the height of the model though it may be too short. I also added a little belt with it and it was perfect. I loved it so much that I just ordered it in black and am hoping to wear that to my cousin's rehearsal dinner!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:petite
soft, pretty, & gorgeous
4.21.2013
"I saw this on Free People website and had absolutely no interest in it. I assumed it would be too short, and I would not like the materiel
But it caught my eye at their store , I decided to try it on!.
I LOVE the materiel, so soft and almost worn in but not worn out. I.m 5'3" & it is plenty long enough! Makes a cute mini dress! And for the bust area, you can simply wear a nude bra, or white or black strapless. the black would give it a cool layered look.....Boots or sandals...this ones a winner!!!!! Thanks Free People!!!!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
adorable but short!
4.18.2013
"Just picked this dress up in an XS and I love it! I'm 5'7, 32A & 115 lbs. This is definitely a top for me as it barely covers my bottom. Aside from that it fits my body well, not super fitted in the bust but not too baggy either. It's comfortable and the material is very nice. Just keep in mind you can't really wear a bra with this. Can't wait to wear this out!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Austin
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
may try on XS in person
4.10.2013
"I fell in love with this dress once the April catalog came out!! I'm 5'6 & normally wear a size S or size 4 in FP dresses, but I am considering trying the XS version of this dress because the bust is a bit roomy and looks a little floppy on my frame. I was also expecting the length to be as short as is featured on the model, but I guess I would need to grow my legs out a bit to achieve the mini dress look! Overall, I'm a bit disappointed with the fit, but am willing to try the smaller size. Otherwise, getting it altered would not be a problem :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
Baby Doll Love!
4.10.2013
"This dress is so cute! I was't sure at first if it would be a shirt or dress, but knew I'd make it work either way. I am 5'2", 110 lbs and ordered an XS, my normal FP size. It fits perfectly! The boob area is a little loose for me, but it looks fine. I can't wait for warmer weather so I can wear this all the time! And for anyone wondering whether it fits more like a dress or a shirt, as a 5'2", it's definitely a dress! Covers the butt and shows a lot of leg :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.10.2013
We're elated that you love your Lolita Dress! For anyone who wants a little coverage on the bottom, a great addition would be the Ruched Seamless Shorts: http://www.freepeople.com/bottoms/ruched-seamless-shorts/
The shorts have a little ruffle on the bottom that would peek out perfectly from the hemline of this dress, the Sunbaked Orange with the White Lolita would be stunning!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lolita Syndrome Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Lolita love!
4.7.2013
"This dress is baby doll perfection! It's fun and flirty! I got it in a size medium my normal FP size and it's lovely. I got the coral at macys and loved it so much I bought the black from FP. This dress will look lovely on every size and figure and it's very versatile can be dressed up or down. Love it :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large