Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ikat Kimono

Multi color Ikat patterned poncho with fringed edges.
overall average rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ikat Kimono
Review 1 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE!
9.15.2014
"I almost bought this last fall in the assorted colour, but it went out of stock before I finally ordered it. I was stoked to see it was back again this year, and in stock! I bought the Assorted colour and I am SO happy! I was a bit confused when I first saw it, because it looks like it's just a scarf at first, but once you find the arm holes, it drapes really nicely. It is quite long on me and hits just below the knee in the back (I am 5'3), but it gives the coolest boho vibe. I can't wait to wear this with a felt hat and tall boots! This is perfect for those cool fall days!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:singapore
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
COZY AND LOVELY
9.7.2014
"i'm about 5'7 and this is perfect length for me. i really love the colors and the patterns of this kimono! it definitely spices up a simple outfit of tanks with shorts/jeans!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cozy!
9.5.2014
"I got this in the assorted colors and I absolutely love it! Its perfect with jeans, skirts and dresses. It is perfect for the Fall temperatures in California. Its super comfortable and I wear it everywhere!
The additional fringe detail makes this poncho more fun :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Modesto, CA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
A GREAT PEICE! I HAD TO HAVE IT!!
8.24.2014
"I JUST LOVE THIS PONCHO! The color and pattern are beautiful. I have both colors, the assorted and the new red pattern, they are beautiful and not to overly similar. These are just great to through on to go out anywhere this fall which is almost here. A little heavy for now. Also, it is Feathers by Tolani. I love this brand so it was a great buy! I love mine! Also it has a decent length on the back, I am a size 12 and a 5'7. Get it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:florida
age:21-25
body type:slender
BIG YET PRETTY
8.20.2014
"I love this it is really just a lovely as it looks in the picture. I got the assorted version. However, I am 5'5 140 lbs and it is huge on me.Now if you look at the pictures it does show the true length of the kimono.It comes down to under my knees. I guess I didn't pay attention, but its still gorgeous. I'm thinking of getting it tailored but I don't want to ruin the cute green fringe on the ends. For now I have baby pinned it to my waist from the inside which is ghetto but works LOL. Its a bit heavy for Fl this time of year, but its great for work or school with high AC."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:petite
wish I liked it
8.19.2014
"I saw the picture of this shawl online and I had to have it! Sadly, when I received it, it looked more like a blanket with a beautiful pattern. I'm fairly short, so it completely overwhelms any outfit I would try to put it with. The pattern and material are amazing; however, the cut is just too big and shapeless."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect lightweight shawl
6.1.2014
"I ordered this poncho in hopes for a lightweight cardigan of sorts to throw on when it gets chilly in the Summer. It was exactly what I was hoping for! Love the simple black and white print and fringe around the hem."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Favorite Poncho
3.26.2014
"This is more of a slouch shrug than a poncho and it is great! The sleeves slouch enough to ride off the shoulder without being uncomfortable. The fun of a poncho while getting to use your arms!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Titusville, NJ
age:21-25
body type:curvy
PERFECTION!
3.21.2014
"This poncho is shear perfection. I own it in 'black and white' and 'novelty zig zag'. The zig zag material is heavier than the black and white, but both hold up very well. Unlike my findings with some of the other ponchos, I haven't seen any signs of ripping or tearing at the seams. This poncho is cute, functional, and trendy. I get non-stop compliments no matter which pattern I wear. These were the best buys I made in a while."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Maryland, USA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love it but can i make it?
2.9.2014
"i absolutely loved this pocho, i bought the dark multi design and was going to return it for the zig zag, but as i was folding it up to ship it off, i noticed that all it is is a large rectangle with two seams on the sides. so i returned the poncho and went to joann's to buy some material of my own and make it myself. i saved about 60% of my money and am glad to make my own one of a kind."
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Tulsa, OK
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE this poncho!!
2.7.2014
"This is my first item purchased from Free People ever....and it won't be my last!! This poncho is amazing! I got the multi colored and had to order it through the Carlsbad store, and the girl I worked with was so fantastic! It got here promptly and it is so soft. It's a little heavier than I imagined it, but it's so versatile!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous, versatile piece
1.28.2014
"First off, for those who wondered, like myself, where the hood was in the photos there is definitely NO HOOD on this item. It's a ridiculously simple pattern, but the fabric is incredibly rich-looking. You can throw this on over just about anything and your outfit will look more put together. Looks particularly great with tights, tall boots, and the 'weekends layering top'. Wish I had grabbed a second one of the multi color before it sold out, I already know I will wear this one to shreds. As another reviewer mentioned, it's a nice alternative to a cardigan if you just need an extra layer. Not robust enough for cold weather wear, it's more of a woven scarf-weight, but it's a nice way to take the chill off indoors, I may just have to go for the chevron pattern as well. I'm 5'9" and it drapes down to my knees in the back, so I'd guess this may work better for the taller ladies."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Great poncho.
1.27.2014
"Purchased this in the zig zag colour way. Wonderful colours, very versatile item. I am 167cms and 55kg and it is a few inches longer all round compared to the model. To be expected of course:)
Great way to add the "wow" factor to an outfit.
Highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:honolulu, HI
age:41-45
body type:curvy
effortless throw over
1.22.2014
"purchased this in the novelty zigzag color way. i really like this piece because it doesn't look like you're "trying". it's very effortless and versatile. works with almost anything you decide put on for the day. easy to dress up or down. and you just can't beat the price for a "Tolani" item. although, the description does not mention the Tolani brand, i was pleasantly surprised when i took a look at the tag. :) also, some reviewers mentioned that it falls off their shoulders easily, i did not seem to have this problem...it could be because i have very broad shoulders or that i wore it over a t-shirt which might have given it some friction to help prevent it slipping off my shoulders....no idea. either way, no regrets. this one's a keeper."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Portland, Oregon
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
A vibrant kind of cozy
1.3.2014
"I just received this poncho in the zigzag design. It is exactly what I was hoping it would be- a super comfy luxurious sweater wrap, that isn't bulky. The fit is flattering and very boho. Love it, and highly recommend. I am about 6 feet tall, and it hits me below the knees so just a warning to people on the shorter side- it will fit long! For me that is a plus. I highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Houston, TX, USA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Great Little Poncho
12.31.2013
"One of the more roomy ponchos that I have - The pattern is very pretty and even though I expected the fabric to be quite a bit thicker, I still think it will do a good job at keeping me cozy. The warm colors are very pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful Detail!
12.4.2013
"This is a lovely poncho - I purchased it in multi, and the colors and patten combination is incredibly vibrant, and the quality is fantastic! It has some weight, without being uncomfortably heavy, and I think the Ikat print will work well with a variety of pieces. Definitely wearable for most of the year, except maybe in the coldest climates (unless you layer, of course). There is a tag on the inside, so you'll have to cut that if you intend to wear it reversed (which you can, for a more gold colored weave). Overall, I'm very happy! It's an amazing poncho for the price point, honestly I think the best on the website!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Santa Monica, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Beautiful Reversible Autumn Colored Shawl
11.3.2013
"I found this shawl in the assorted dark multi color at my local FP. I really love the ethic looking print, the soft blanket-like fabric, and how the print is reversible from one side that is more wine to another which is more golden. It does have arm holes, but there is no actual hood… I don't have trouble with it staying on my shoulders, and it's as long on me as it is on the FP model (I am 5'7"). I have been wearing this drapey shawl with maxi dresses, harem pants and crop tops, or a casual graphic t-shirt, jeans and cowboy boots. It's perfect for cool autumn evenings in Socal, or the early fall when I traveled the northeast coast. It's definitely not a substitute for a warm coat or jacket for those in cold weather climates… However it is more interesting and a good replacement for a cardigan. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Moon Crescent Necklace
3.2 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
 
Intarsia Bodycon
3.9 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:SF
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Play with this.
10.14.2013
"If it doesn't seem to fit right try turning it around. Though it appears to be a rectangle with holes cut out for arm holes, there's a fringed seam that works better one way than the other. I think it's very versatile but the threads fall out. I'm hoping that's just because it's new."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
beautiful
10.2.2013
"This is so beautiful. I love the feel of it and the lightness. It's very long on me though, about to my calves and it tends to slip off my shoulders alot. But I do love it. Really cozy and beautiful"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>