Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ikat Kimono

Multi color Ikat patterned poncho with fringed edges.
overall average rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ikat Kimono
Review 1 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great but Plum not as pictured
2.4.2015
" I got the PLUM COMBO and I am extremely frustrated to find it is a purplish pink color!!!! It is NOT at all like the lovely deep brownish color they have in the photo. I wish FP would not saturating their photos so much! !!! This is not the first time a FP item has been nothing like the photo. However, I also bought the ICEY PAISLEY which is perfect! So soft and the color is as pictured, the pattern is so intricate I think its the best of all the patterns. For size, yes they are BIG!!! I am 5 feet, 5 inches tall and this kimono hits the back of my calves. I always wear boots with the kimonos to create a long, lethe silhouette. Initially I bought the ASSORTED COMBO and it is true to the photo and gorgeous with rich colors and contrasts. All in all I will keep the PLUM COMBO , but I like to know what I'm buying ahead of time. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Oregon, USA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Pretty, but I'm not quite sure...
1.26.2015
" I got this in the mail the other day, and I'm feeling a little uncertain about it...I ordered it in the plum color. First off, the colors are definitely not what they look like in the picture! On the model, it looks much darker and more burgundy. In person, it's much lighter and more pinkish purple. I definitely would have preferred a darker burgundy, but the lighter color is still pretty. I am very tall, so it fits me about how it does on the model. It just feels like a lot of fabric to me, and sometimes it hangs a little funny when I put my arms down. I think I may be reluctant simply because it's unique and unlike other clothes that I have, and I think I'll keep it. It's very pretty, I'm just not sure I can pull it off. Hopefully it'll grow on me after a couple of wears! Overall it's a pretty piece and a dramatic boho look. Other than the colors, it looks very much like in the pictures. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Ottawa, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Colour not as pictured
1.16.2015
" I just bought this in the plum colour and it is nothing like in the photo. Its a definite pink - magenta and very bright! Very huge as others have said - falls to the back of the knee (I'm 5'5"). Kind of just meh for the price to be honest but I'll keep it anyways. Would have loved it if it were actually the darker/ muted colours as shown in the photos. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Seoul
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Dress it up or down!
11.24.2014
" This is a great BoHo-feel shawl!
I love wearing it dressy with a black dress or a more daytime look with washed jeans and boots. The length is perfect for me. I am 5'9. It's long enough and very wide. Perfect for my style.
This is also a great travel accessory. It's light enough to pack and it doesn't wrinkle much if you stuff it into a bag.
Note that the arm holes are a little bit awkward to find and it can take some fiddling around to get the fabric to hang the way you want (especially if you wear a thicker sweater underneath.) I'm definitely considering getting one in another color! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Falls apart instantly
11.17.2014
" I bought this kimono just last week and wore it once and it's already torn apart where it stitches together on one side. I didn't even snag it on anything, it just fell apart on its own. Very disappointed as I loved the print and wanted to be able to use it a lot over the winter for extra layering. "
Response from Free People:By Free People11.19.2014
Hi dmiskovitz,

We're sorry to hear about your Kimono! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Delicate fabric
10.28.2014
" Fabric threads snag really easily on things and stitching on the sleeves is pulling the fibers loose and I'll need to restitch them up soon after 3 wears. Bummer it's dry clean only but still worth the price I think. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Beautiful ..
10.18.2014
" Love this kimono, will be wearing this a lot over the winter here in Texas. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Nice fringy wrap
10.14.2014
" I first saw this and really liked the pattern in the dark red tones. The multi colored fringes ad a nice touch. The clever design reminds me of a table cloth sewn together with some arm holes. The fit pulls a little when you raise your arms up at the back. I'm tall so it hangs nicely but can imagine someone short these types of things empasize and make some even more squaty.
The price for FP is fairly reasonable as well.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Springfield, Virginia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
you will not be sorry buying this!!
10.3.2014
" I have this in assorted and I LOVE it. So comfy, goes great over a dress, jeans and a tank, or leggings. Perfect for those fall days when you need just a little more cover, doesn't keep you super warm though. Thinking about ordering it in another color. Every time I wear this I get compliments, and it is impeccably made. 5 stars. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE!
9.15.2014
" I almost bought this last fall in the assorted colour, but it went out of stock before I finally ordered it. I was stoked to see it was back again this year, and in stock! I bought the Assorted colour and I am SO happy! I was a bit confused when I first saw it, because it looks like it's just a scarf at first, but once you find the arm holes, it drapes really nicely. It is quite long on me and hits just below the knee in the back (I am 5'3), but it gives the coolest boho vibe. I can't wait to wear this with a felt hat and tall boots! This is perfect for those cool fall days! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:singapore
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
COZY AND LOVELY
9.7.2014
" i'm about 5'7 and this is perfect length for me. i really love the colors and the patterns of this kimono! it definitely spices up a simple outfit of tanks with shorts/jeans! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cozy!
9.5.2014
" I got this in the assorted colors and I absolutely love it! Its perfect with jeans, skirts and dresses. It is perfect for the Fall temperatures in California. Its super comfortable and I wear it everywhere!
The additional fringe detail makes this poncho more fun :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Modesto, CA
age:36-40
body type:curvy
A GREAT PEICE! I HAD TO HAVE IT!!
8.24.2014
" I JUST LOVE THIS PONCHO! The color and pattern are beautiful. I have both colors, the assorted and the new red pattern, they are beautiful and not to overly similar. These are just great to through on to go out anywhere this fall which is almost here. A little heavy for now. Also, it is Feathers by Tolani. I love this brand so it was a great buy! I love mine! Also it has a decent length on the back, I am a size 12 and a 5'7. Get it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:florida
age:21-25
body type:slender
BIG YET PRETTY
8.20.2014
" I love this it is really just a lovely as it looks in the picture. I got the assorted version. However, I am 5'5 140 lbs and it is huge on me.Now if you look at the pictures it does show the true length of the kimono.It comes down to under my knees. I guess I didn't pay attention, but its still gorgeous. I'm thinking of getting it tailored but I don't want to ruin the cute green fringe on the ends. For now I have baby pinned it to my waist from the inside which is ghetto but works LOL. Its a bit heavy for Fl this time of year, but its great for work or school with high AC. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:petite
wish I liked it
8.19.2014
" I saw the picture of this shawl online and I had to have it! Sadly, when I received it, it looked more like a blanket with a beautiful pattern. I'm fairly short, so it completely overwhelms any outfit I would try to put it with. The pattern and material are amazing; however, the cut is just too big and shapeless. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect lightweight shawl
6.1.2014
" I ordered this poncho in hopes for a lightweight cardigan of sorts to throw on when it gets chilly in the Summer. It was exactly what I was hoping for! Love the simple black and white print and fringe around the hem. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Favorite Poncho
3.26.2014
" This is more of a slouch shrug than a poncho and it is great! The sleeves slouch enough to ride off the shoulder without being uncomfortable. The fun of a poncho while getting to use your arms! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Titusville, NJ
age:21-25
body type:curvy
PERFECTION!
3.21.2014
" This poncho is shear perfection. I own it in 'black and white' and 'novelty zig zag'. The zig zag material is heavier than the black and white, but both hold up very well. Unlike my findings with some of the other ponchos, I haven't seen any signs of ripping or tearing at the seams. This poncho is cute, functional, and trendy. I get non-stop compliments no matter which pattern I wear. These were the best buys I made in a while. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Maryland, USA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love it but can i make it?
2.9.2014
" i absolutely loved this pocho, i bought the dark multi design and was going to return it for the zig zag, but as i was folding it up to ship it off, i noticed that all it is is a large rectangle with two seams on the sides. so i returned the poncho and went to joann's to buy some material of my own and make it myself. i saved about 60% of my money and am glad to make my own one of a kind. "
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ikat Kimono
Name:
Location:Tulsa, OK
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE this poncho!!
2.7.2014
" This is my first item purchased from Free People ever....and it won't be my last!! This poncho is amazing! I got the multi colored and had to order it through the Carlsbad store, and the girl I worked with was so fantastic! It got here promptly and it is so soft. It's a little heavier than I imagined it, but it's so versatile! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>