Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Frances Shift

Embroidery and bead embellished shift dress with "V"-neckline and "V"-back drop. Upper back has beaded strap running across. Lined. *100% Polyester *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32 1/2" Bust (all around): 38 1/2" Armhole Drop: 9"
overall average rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Frances Shift
Review 1 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:petite
wide but still works
3.29.2013
" Got this in a small and probably needed an extra small (I never wear extra small in FP). The dress is wide; too wide to wear without a bra, or even a backless/strapless bra because you would have too much of a side view for comfort. Paired with an all black intimates top or bandeau though and it still works. Beading is nice and subtle and so far does not seem to be falling off or damaged easily. Nicely lined. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Kansas
age:26-30
body type:slender
Gorgeous Shift
2.16.2013
" I bought this dress knowing that it was going to be oversized, so it was pretty much exactly what I expected when I got it in the mail. I ordered the XS in the Rust (I’m 5’5”, 115lbs) and for the most part it fits like it does on the model (unfortunately I’m not 5’10”. Boo) As far as length goes, it falls about mid-thigh. The color is GORGEOUS and appears the same as it does in the pictures. The embroidery and beading is beautiful and understated, but this also causes the only negative I find with the dress. There is a sort of puckering that happens around the beading that is quite distracting. You can kind of see it in some of the studio pictures with both colors, but it’s very apparent in person. I am going to try to steam it and see if that helps, but other than that I am completely happy with the purchase. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
An Absolute Steal!
2.11.2013
" This dress is a steal on sale with all the delicate (but not overly done) bead work. Warning, this dress runs very large for even the shift style. Usually a S in FP dresses, i'm an XS in this shift with a lot of room to grow. I'm 5'4", 115lbs with a small bust and some hips. It's low cut in the back making this hard to wear with a bra, but a simple bandeau looks nice. Great layering piece. Perfectly low cut in the front to not show the goods. Get this, folks! I'm layering the ballet color with the pale pink vegan leather jacket and it's adorable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
lovely shift
1.9.2013
" i really like the fit of this shift. i find it very flattering. it has mostly embroidery and less beading than the secret garden shift, making it more casual. the light pink color of the ballet is very pretty. i find the shift to fit true to size, a little loose as designed. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:British Columbia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love love love
1.8.2013
" I bought this dress in a size small, I'm 5'5 and 115 pounds, I love the dress its great quality and has fantastic detailing, but the size small hung on me. I would definitely recommend ordering a size smaller. Even though the dress is way to wide and long, i can still wear in tucked into pants as a shirt or with a belt. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Love love love
12.19.2012
" When I first saw this dress I absolutely LOVED it. I saw it online a while back and was hesitant to get it since the price is a little high. I finally broke down and got it and I am sooo glad that I did. First of all, price, totally worth it. Second of all, some of the reviews say that this dress is big and I would just like to say DUH. It is called a Shift Dress for a reason. The lenght of the dress is perfect. I am about 5'4 and it hits about 5 or so inches about the knee. The beading on the dress is b-e-a-utiful. It seems like the beads are swen on really well so I am not expecting to be leaving a trail of beads everywhere I go. I got the dress in the Rusty color size Large and I am super happy with my purchase! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Frances Shift
11.21.2012
" This dress looks very nice on. I bought the ballet color, which is a pale pink, not an ivory like it looks in some of the pictures. In my opinion both colors are much prettier in person than online. The beading detail is especially noticeable on the red colored dress. I bought a size xs. I am 5'6 - 5'7; 38 bust, 26 waist, 36 hip. The length is great for me, but I have a short torso. The dress falls just below my finger tips. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful but so short.
11.12.2012
" I tried this on at my local FP in the rust color. It is incredibly beautiful. The color, pattern, material, and fit are all amazing. The only thing holding me back is that it is so short. I am 5'5" with a long torso and it fits me more like a tunic then a dress. I would definitely have to wear leggings. The back of the dress is pretty low cut and somewhat slips off my shoulders, not sure if I want to layer with this piece. It would make a cute Christmas or New Years dress if you can pull off the length. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:petite
RUNS LARGE!
10.31.2012
" I saw this dress online and fell in love with it. I was so exited when my local Free People had it in stock, but was incredibly disappointed when I tried it on. The fabric and detailing were lovely, but the sizing is huge! I'm 5'2" and 105 lbs, and my normal size, XS, was way too large. DEFINITELY SIZE DOWN! It fit me nothing like the model (so sad): very boxy, excess material (not so shift-like (more flowy), and ended close to my knee. While this did not work for me, it probably would work for someone taller. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:NYC
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
20s throwback!
10.27.2012
" I LOVE this dress! I purchased the darker color way, and the black/dark purplish beading & embroidery is a beautiful contrast against the red. The fit is true to size (I got a small) and extremely flattering, especially the deep v in the back. The silhouette is reminiscent of the 1920s. Definitely a great purchase for the upcoming holiday season. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Clearwater
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute Shift
10.25.2012
" As someone else said, this is same fit/shape as the secret garden shift. No beading in this one tho and the top is cut a little higher. Rust color is prettier in real life than online photos. It is a shift and will just hang on your body. It runs big. Im 5'3, 120 poinds and the xs was almost too big, but would defintely work. The s was HUGE in the arm holes and overall way too boxy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
not so much
10.20.2012
" amazing color, fabric, and design but fits like a sack. i am 5'2" 118lbs and the xs was too boxy on my frame. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Frances Shift
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Secret Garden Shift Dress Version 2.0 :)
10.12.2012
" Well since I LOVED the Secret Garden Shift Dress I knew I was going to love this also!
As I am sure many other's noticed this is the same exact cut as the "Secret Garden Shift Dress". This is an update more mellow version.
Fit:
I anticipate many reviews stating the dress is "shapeless", "big" and "ill fitting". Keep an open mind when trying this dress. This is a SHIFT, therefore it will not be body hugging or cut in the waist. A shift silhouette is straight up and down. (A popular '60's style). I found this dress to be TTS. The dress is very "open" and you will 100% have to wear something under it. Again, it is not that it is big or ill fitting, this is just the style of the silhouette. In keeping with the '60's cut, it is also somewhat of a "mini" dress. Usually, shift cuts in order to keep it a bit sexier will be on the short side. I am 5'6 and about 108lbs. I took my normal XS. I actually love that the dress is baggy and open. I think it gives it a sexier look. If you are on the taller side, you may need something under it. I plan on wearing a lacey black bandeau under mine, although a seamless slip would work fine also! From shoulder to hem measures about 32.5" and armpit to hem is about 23.5". The width of the dress straight across the center is about 19".
Look/Styling:
The colors are closer to the STUDIO photos. I attached a close up of both colorways (also you can see the beading/embroidery). I was not sure what color to get but I ended up getting the rust color, as it was more flattering. I really liked the ballet in the catalog, but in person the colors are much lighter and muted. It washed me out too much. Usually I am skeptical of anything with embellishment, however this piece is very well made. There is tight, well stitched embroidery on this piece. You definitely can get a lot of "bang for your buck" with this lil number. Some people may only see this as a "dress up" dress. However I see much potential with this! you can def wear this with some studded Converse and a denim vest/jacket. You can throw a button down or flannel over it also. i wore mine with some tall brown boots and sweater socks. You can also throw a leather jacket over and change up your shoes to go from day to night.
If you are into free moving dresses this one is for you! I really love this dress and am glad I spent over an hour debating which color to buy. I have a feeling once word gets out about this dress being so lovely and versatile it will sell quick!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations