Product Reviews

Pointelle Bike Short

Pointelle bike shorts with sheer scalloped lace trimming around bottom opening. Elastic waistband. A versatile layering piece that works under cutoff shorts, mini dresses, and tunic tops! **Special Note: The ivory color does has a slight contrast in color between the body and lace trimming. *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Waist (all around - relaxed): 22" Rise: 8 1/2" Inseam: 4 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pointelle Bike Short
Review 1 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:21-25
body type:petite
love love love
4.12.2013
"bought them in moss and ivory! They do stretch. I am thicker on bottom wear a size 27 jean and got a small in the these. I wear them with everything. I just hope free people brings them back inthe black! They are the prefect layering piece under shorts, dresses, tunics etc."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Do the job
3.20.2013
"I bought these to wear under sheer skirts/dresses and they'll definitely do the trick. I ordered the ivory in a medium since I don't have stick thin legs and was nervous that the lace bit on the small would cinch in on my thighs (I take anywhere from a 26-28 in pants depending on the brand). That said, the medium is quite roomy on me, so I'm wondering if I should exchange them for a small as I'm guessing they'll stretch out even more after wearing them.... Anyway, like these a lot overall, but wish they were a tad bit longer as they ride up on me in the back (I have a bum)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect under dresses!
11.18.2012
"I adore these shorts-- they do loosen up a tad after the first wear, but that's my only critique.
They are super soft and made out of a nice light material especially perfect for the warmer months.
The shorts have almost an eyelet pattern on the body which is a nice subtle touch and the lace is sturdy and doesn't show any loose ends after I've had them for months.
Despite the photo, the moss is true to its name and definitely has a soft green tinge to a base color of khaki.
I use them mostly for under dresses as a "just in case" running up stairs and surprise wind gusts-- the lace is a lot higher up the thigh than I imagined, so your shorts would have to be super short for the lace to peak out if you use them for layering."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Nice layering piece
7.27.2012
"I am 5'5", 115 lbs and bought these in ivory in a small. They fit nicely in both the waist and the thigh for me. As other reviewers have mentioned, they are a bit sheer - but used for layering under short dresses or skirts, that's fine for me!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE
4.19.2012
"I got these in a small, I am 5'4, 102 lbs and they fit like a glove. I want them in every color. They are a tad bit sheer but I bought them to wear underneath things."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Gross
4.2.2012
"I have the other lace bike shorts in nude made of 94% rayon, 6% lycra and those are amazing. Unfortunately, I couldn't get my hands on a black pair, so I was extremely excited to order these pointelle bike shorts in black. However, upon receipt, I immediately disliked the material. It's cheap feeling and doesn't seem very breathable. Then I tried them on . . . extremely disappointed in the fit. I ordered my usual size medium and they were severely unflattering and squeezed my thighs between the part where the lace and the bottom of the shorts meet. Perhaps I just need to go up a size, but regardless, the material is nasty. Also, the name on the tag of the shorts was not Free People. I think it said "Splash" or something in some super cheesy lettering and coloring. Anyway, Free People PLEASE bring back the other lace trim bike shorts in 94% rayon, 6% lycra in black!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
No No NO!!!
3.24.2012
"I must say that when I saw these online I instantly wanted them. I happened to be in a Free People store today and actually tried them on in my usual size (small) because the girl there said they were tts. They fit me well in the waist but the lace area squeezed my thighs and made them look HUGE. I don't have fat thighs either. I suppose if you're just going to wear these under something anyway, I guess it doesn't matter that much, but it does to me!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love them
3.7.2012
"I bought these in the color black and I love them, they are super coft and comfy. they fit well and do not give you added muffin top as some elastic waisted items sometimes do. I wear these under cut off jean shorts or super short dresses so you dont feel too nakey.. if you are questioning these Get them!! they are a great layering piece! its really cute when the lace peeks out from underneath.."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Lace Bike Shorts
3.6.2012
"I got these in the ivory and charcoal. I went up a size because I didn't want them to be too tight and also I was hoping they would be a bit longer if I did, and I am very happy with that decision. They have a very comfortable fit and the lace peaks out from underneath my cut-off shorts just as I had anticipated. I love the charcoal color and I am definitely keeping them, but I am on the fence about the ivory because they are more of a nude color than a white/ivory that I was hoping for and is not complimentary to my skin tone."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Pointelle Bike Short
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Glad I bought
3.2.2012
"I am 5"3 and 135 . I purchased in a size medium since i have some extra love in the trunk ;) . Did not give me the feared muffin top i was anticipating. I am happy I went with a size medium"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large