Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Discharge Bali Flare

Balinese hand-printed distressed denim flares. 5-pocket style. Bottom hem is raw edge and frayed. Zipper and button fly closure. **Special Note: The print on each pair is hand done, so the design layout may vary per piece, but will be very similar to what is pictured.
overall average rating:
4.373 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Discharge Bali Flare
Review 1 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:London
age:31-35
body type:petite
STUNNING!
4.12.2014
"My Bali Flares in MALAYA WASH arrived today & they are stunning, I totally LOVE THEM... BUT I HATE THE FIT!... I ordered a size 26" as that was the largest FP had in stock, & I was advised that they have no plans to reproduce more, which was a shame as I so would have preferred a 28. For reference I'm 4ft 11" & 115lbs waist 26. The problem with these jeans are the legs! I'm not fat, I'm petite though whilst I am little, I'm not "skinny" I think to be honest if I were "skinny" not curvy these would be okay. My husband loves them & says I look skinny in them BUT it took 15 minutes to get me in them, & Goodness knows how I shall ever get back out!!! Luckily, I am able to take them to the most amazing alteration shop in London & they will let the seams out slightly! ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!... I simply CANNOT send them back as I just love them too much! Apart from needing to have miniscule legs to pull these off, the jeans themselves ROCK! They are represented well here on the website, they look just as good in real life as they do here on FP website!... Length wise they were very long, but I expected that being 4ft 11" - I shall have the bottoms taken up & it shall still leave me with 1.5" of denim before the bleached pattern starts so that's great!...PLEASE FP CAN YOU CONSIDER RESTOCKING ALL THE COLOURS & SIZES OF THESE BALI FLARES? :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Boulder, Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
I tried SO hard to make these work, but...
2.19.2014
"I absolutely LOVED these pants when I bought them and was so excited to cut them to my length and wear them but they just didn't work for me as much as I wanted them to. I got a sz. 25. They looked awesome but run super narrow in the upper legs and the particular denim used doesn't have very much stretch, so it felt like I couldn't pull them all the way up even though I was able to zip them fine at the waist; the crotch was just below where it was supposed to be and when I tried the next size up it made no difference, they were still just slightly too narrow to pull all the way up to where they needed to be in the crotch area and felt tight around my thighs and were uncomfortable to sit down in because of it. It was pretty upsetting because although I am petite, (5'3, 115 lbs) I have athletic legs and my thighs aren't super thin so these pants made me feel like my legs were too big :( these are the only FP jeans that I've had this problem with...I feel like these would have worked for me if the denim had a little stretch in it, I wanted so badly for them to work out. If you have long, thin legs, these are great, I was so sad these didn't work for me because they really are awesome. Super disappointed, maybe FP will re-release them with more stretch in the denim? ;)"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Absolutely perfect!
2.9.2014
"27" waist, 32"hips, ordered a 28 because I wanted them to be more hip-huggers than anything & they fit exactly as I dreamed! I am 5'5", so I did have to cut a little off the bottoms but since the paint doesn't go the whole way down, it didn't interfere with the design. They are super soft & I love everything about them! No muffin top or oddly tight thighs as stated in other reviews. I ordered the Malaya (blue) wash."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Boho Tribal Kimono
4.3 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:USA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Tight in upper thighs & Black wash is even smaller
1.25.2014
"I have these pants in all the colors and consistently found the upper thighs to be snug on the size that fit on the waist the best (sz 25). The black wash is even tighter in the upper thigh and in sz 26 fit like the sz 25's I have in the other colors with the exception of the waist being the correct size for a sz 26. So it makes it impossible to size up because the waist would be too large unless you are willing to wear a belt to hold the waist in and have bulk around the waist.
Color wise the bleached parts are a dark grey with far less contrast than the pictures. Not sure why FP cut the black wash so small and the bleaching is so poorly done. My favorite colors are the dark blue, Carmel and light blue bali wash.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Maryland (DMV)
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Jean Beauty
1.7.2014
"I ordered these jeans in 2 sizes a 30 and a 31 based upon the reviews. I normally wear a 8-10. The size 31 actually felt smaller then the size 30..go figure. The pattern was beautiful but more bold on the size 31 (which felt smaller). i will keep the size 30. Also I am 5'9 and these are very long on me and will have to shorten them. i do not wear a lot of 3 inch heels. They make me feel slim and sexy! This is my first splurge on a pair of jeans."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
So right and so wrong!
1.4.2014
"Like everyone else, I love the look of these jeans! But that is where the love ends, and the hate begins: I am a size 27, 5'7". I bought and returned the blue color in size 27 several times before finally finding a pair that fits more or less decently - I still get the muffin-top, but at least the hips are not ridiculously loose. To think that I settled on purchasing a pair of pants that does not fit that well, just for the sake of the design - I should have my head examined! That said, I proceeded to go through the similar ritual with these jeans in the black color. This time I was unable to find a pair that permits me to breathe and does not look like a deflating balloon through the hips at the same time. I own many FP jeans and often bought in my size without trying knowing full well that they will fit. Sadly, this is no longer true. In fact, in the last year I returned more bottoms, than I kept, all due to fit problems. I still fit into the old jeans, so I urge FP to rethink the current fitting trend."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Very Beautiful
12.30.2013
"These are very striking and beautiful. So glad to own them. Perfect for a summer festival.
To address some issues others have asked about:
* These are bleached, not painted. The white is more cream than pictured but still very high contrast. The blue is also not as brilliant as the picture would imply.
* I normally wear a size 12 and I got a 31. They are almost a little big, even though a 31 in another pair of FP jeans is very tight. Some say this runs small, but it would seem the larger sizes run big. Still, I decided to keep the 31 in case it shrinks some, plus I don't necessarily love them skin tight.
* As others have mentioned, these are absurdly long. You'll have to get them hemmed.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:petite
Prepare to be impressed & disappointed
11.25.2013
"I have ordered these about 4 or 5 times and Im still not sure on the 5th pair that I have at home right now. This picture does not show how jeans look...this picture has been enhanced to make the Blue & White POP but for real the colors are not as striking. One pair I ordered and returned the spots (design) was actually yellowish. Another pair I returned actually looked like bleach was poured along side the outside seam. Also, I find that they all run small ..... So...here I sit with a pair that I may be returning after all. If the price was half I would keep them but for the price I would expect more."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:New England
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Caramel Was Beautiful but Not For Me
11.9.2013
"I purchased these in the caramel color and while they are beautiful, I felt like they may have been a little "too much". I may still order these in one of the darker colors but haven't pulled the trigger yet. A note on sizing, I'm usually a 28 in FP skinnies (5'4" 125 w/ athletic legs) and based on the review for this color, I ordered a 28 and a 27. The 28 was way too big and while the 27 fit, they were still a tiny bit loose for my taste especially since the fabric seems to have a good amount of stretch. Also as others have noted, these jeans are LONG. I expected this based on the review. Expect to have to cut these unless you are very tall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:zagreb
age:36-40
body type:slender
Best ever
10.29.2013
"This are the best flares ever! Thanks to all written rewievs I have ordered the right size ( I am 172cm, 61 kg, size 27)...i can' t wait to wear them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Djibouti, Africa
age:21-25
body type:slender
80% Happy
10.23.2013
"The first thing I noticed about these was that the paint on mine is yellow, but the picture makes it appear really white. So it was eh, whatever. The other thing is the horrible waistband and butt fit. Totally unflattering in the rear, but that's OK, I shall wear longer shirts in that event. Also, there's a slight tightness in the thigh very close to the groin, not bad at all though. Now the good things! Despite the two main things (hence the 4) they're still so striking and unique. I love them so much. I ordered the 28 and they're alright in that dep't as explained above. The length I will gush about because I require unnaturally long jeans and they fit the way I like, slightly dragging on the ground but not that I'm stepping on them. They're nice and snug through the thigh and knee and flare exactly right for me. I was very pleased about this. I'm 5'9" and 146 lbs with unproportionate long legs lol. I ordered the featured pair too, by the way."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
gorgeous pant, terrible fit.
10.21.2013
"I received these pants for my birthday after drooling over them for months. I am normally a size 2/4, [slim with some junk in the trunk] but based on a previous order from FP where a 28 way too big (went by the size the model is wearing in the photo, supposedly), I was gifted a 27.
These pants are every bit as incredible in person as they appear in the picture, however, the fit is terrible.
The size 27 was incredibly long, I'd easily have to cut 6 inches off, but I can live with that. They were huge in the waist but incredibly tight in the thigh and bum. I wore them out once to see if they'd stretch and they didn't budge. I sent them back for a size 28.
The 28 is even bigger in the waist, obviously, and fits exactly the same everywhere else. It somehow runs small and large at the same time.
I've ordered another pair of jeans from FP before, the Extreme Vintage Flair, and had the same issue. What's up with the jeans, FP?!?!?!
I am so torn over these pants because they are so beautiful, but they are not comfortable to wear, as a great pair of jeans should be. I can't decide whether to keep them despite the fit, or send them back because of the fit!
To keep the jeans, or not to keep the jeans. That is the question!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Laguna Beach
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Fantastic pants, more versatile than they look
10.20.2013
"Have these in the Maleya wash and they fit true to size. Loved them so much, I ordered them in the black wash, which ran at least 2 sizes too small (but gorgeous.) Iconic boho flair in flares ;-)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:austin
age:21-25
body type:slender
gorgeous, pick out in person, runs small
9.18.2013
"these are great, but i recommend you go into a store and hand pick the pair you buy. the print is smudgey or uneven on some pairs, and if you order online, there is no way to know what you'll get. also, size up. i am normally a 25 in designer jeans, a 26 in FP jeans, and i had to get a 27 in these."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:OKC
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Excellent Statement Jeans
9.9.2013
"I fell in love with these jeans when I first saw them, however the insane inseam length (I'm only 5'2") scared me off for a while. When I had the spare money, I went for it. I wound up cutting about 5 inches off the hem - and they still look amazing. I purchased a size 29 (hips are 38"), and I was surprised to find they ran slightly bigger than usual. Not a huge deal, a belt will remedy the situation. I wholeheartedly love these jeans, they make a huge statement!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Goldilocks Sizing!
9.3.2013
"Love these jeans. Have a blue wash pair & loved them so much ordered both the caramel color & the black color. Sadly, both are going back. Even though I ordered all 3 pair in the same size (27), the blue wash fit perfectly, the caramel pair was noticeably too big, and the black wash pair was so tight I could barely fasten them. Beware about the sizing of these!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:slender
THE BEST!
8.27.2013
"There's nothing bad about these jeans, everything good! I get so many compliments and I wear them all the time because they make me feel so good!
Don't hesitate, buy them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Davis, CA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Really want these jeans but the fit is impossible!
8.18.2013
"I absolutely love these jeans and have been looking for a wide leg patterned pant. I think these pants are so fun but after ordering them online the fit is pretty much impossible. They are ridiculously too long and really tight in the crotch area. I'm 5'8", busty but lacking in the derriere and size 30 was not a practical fit. I'm not sure if I'm going to return these or try to exchange them for another size now that they are back in stock, but I really hope they work out the dimensions a bit better in the future!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE
8.18.2013
"I got these in the orange/brown color. I'm only 5' tall, so I was nervous about the length, but I was able to cut off the bottoms just to where the pattern ends and they fit perfectly :) The waist size is perfect, sometimes Free People pants seem to run a little tight..and basically, I love them :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Discharge Bali Flare
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Sizes seem to differ by color
8.15.2013
"I bought these in black and in blue, and although both were size 24, the black one barely fit around my thighs while the blue fit perfectly. I'm exchanging the black for a size 25. Other than that, I think these are great. They are very flattering and actually pretty comfortable. They do run long - I'm 5'2 and they will have to be hemmed a few inches, but it seems like you can cut them yourself, since the ends are frayed rather than hemmed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>