Product Reviews

Burke City Heel

Two-tone suede strappy sandal heels with spike stud detailing on front. Zips up back of heel. Elastic insert at ankle strap for a comfortable fit. *By Jeffrey Campbell for Free People *Suede Upper *Import *3 1/2" heel
overall average rating:
3.36 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Burke City Heel
Review 1 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
wore them once, fell apart
3.31.2014
" I also wore these for the first time to a wedding and before even getting out of my car the ankle strap broke. I had no extra shoes and had to super glue them together before I went in to the wedding. Then while at the wedding I noticed that 4 of the studs had already fallen off. This was a disappointment because I love the shoes and would like to wear them again! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
City Heel
9.3.2013
" They were ok, thinking they would be nice with the right outfit. But the spikes are a bit higher then they appear in the picture. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Nice to look at
6.22.2013
" Been wanting these shoes for so long, and finally bought them to wear to my prom this month. Within an hour (walking minimally) several studs had fallen off, a total of 10 by the end of the night. Beautiful shoes, but the quality was not worth the price. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.24.2013
Oh no! We're so sorry to hear this! We'll be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Strap broken too!
6.20.2013
" I bought these last summer and wore them one time for a wedding (where i didn't do much moving around in all honesty# and pulled them out this year for another wedding which I was super excited to wear. Same thing happened to me as other people... I was doing nothing #sitting# and my strap just came off on my ankle! Luckily I had packed some sandals so I was able to walk around but it was really depressing. These shoes are basically good to put on and look at and that is about it. :# "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.21.2013
We're so sorry to hear about this. We'll be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Best Purchase
6.1.2013
" I have been lusting after these gorgeous shoes for almost a year now and when I saw that they were on sale I knew I had to have them! I am concerned that the spikes will fall off because everyone says they do. I bought these for myself for a graduation present and I couldn't be happier! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Cincinnati
age:21-25
body type:slender
do not get these
4.21.2013
" I wore these one time. Within two hours, I was SITTING DOWN and the ankle strap snapped. 130 is way too much to spend on a pair of shoes when the quality is this poor. Yes I can exchange them but I will have to pay even more money to send them back to Free People! Beyond disappointed. This is a quality issue and FP should fix the issue or will lose a very loyal customer. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.22.2013
Sorry to hear this -- we'll be in touch to provide assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
not happy about this one
4.15.2013
" these shoes look great in both online and FP me pics so despite some negative reviews i ordered them. when they arrived one shoe was perfect but on the other one a spike was missing! i wouldn't have been surprised if it had fallen off while i was wearing them but it was completely unexpected that it would come with one missing, the spike was nowhere to be found inside the box either (go figure)! it's very obvious that even a single one is missing, i know fp can send me replacement spikes but for the price i don't want to to deal with a shoe that's constantly losing them, sadly i will be returning these "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
$128 for one wear. Studs fall off :(
4.1.2013
" Before I get on to the bad, I must just state how gorgeous and and hot these shoes are, they are absolutely to die for. Comfort is on point, I was able to wear these for hours walking around downtown Seattle. I am ALWAYS a 6.5 in any shoe, whether it be heels or sneakers, and I had to opt for a 6 in these. Anyway.. purchased these a few weeks back but wore them for the FIRST time on Easter Sunday and was disappointed to find a new stud missing every 20 or so minutes. By the time I got home I was missing an entire row of studs from the right shoe. How approx. 10 studs managed to fall off without my notice on the city streets is beyond me. I am hoping I can get my hands on some extra studs as I'd love to get more than one wear out of a pair of 128 dollar shoes. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.4.2013
We can get you some extra studs! We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Hawaii
age:26-30
body type:slender
broken strap!
12.28.2012
" Loved the heels, but after two hours of wearing them, one of the ankle straps ripped off from where they were sewn into the heel area. I had to deal with a disconnected ankle strap for the rest of the night.... very disappointing! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb12.31.2012
We are so sorry that the strap broke! A member of our support team will be in touch to offer assistance with this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Edgy heels
12.3.2012
" These are great heels to dress up in but give an edgy look at the same time. They run a little big though "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Amazing shoes!
11.26.2012
" I bought these to wear in a wedding that I was in (the bride let us wear any shoes), and I couldn't be happier with them. I received tons of compliments on them, and they were okay to wear throughout a day of running around, and taking photos. However, I did lose a spike sometime during the wedding ceremony, and finishing the photos. I did contact FP customer service and they sent me extras, which I was thrilled with! These are amazing shoes, they add a great hint of girly-edginess to any outfit! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not happy with quality
11.11.2012
" Just received my order. Upon opening it the bottom inside of the shoe was beginning to peel on both shoes and on one of the shoe there was 3 missing studs, no where to be found in the shoe bag or the box. I read other reviews about the studs being lost after being worn but I did not expect the shoe to arrive without them. SoO Disappointed since I was to wear them for a event. I think I've must of received a item that was previously worn and returned. It's a shame because its such a cute shoe but I don't know if I want to even try to order them again. One star for poor quality control. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb11.12.2012
We are very sorry that they arrived in this condition. A support member will be in touch to assist you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Hot Heels!!
10.9.2012
" After reading these reviews, I'm glad I'm not the only one with the spike issue. I LOVE, LOVE these shoes and have been debating on returning them as well. I wore them once and lost about 3 spikes. I'm bummed because I received tons of compliments that night and they are currently sitting in my room, unwearable since the missing spikes are pretty noticeable. They should have come with extra spikes! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.10.2012
So sorry about that! We will be in touch to offer our assistance.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Lost a spike after first wear!!!!
9.30.2012
" First off, let me say that I LOVE these shoes. I got them for my birthday, and I've been waiting for the perfect occasion to wear them out...which was last night. I had read the reviews about the spikes coming loose, so I took the time to tighten each and every spike. I even checked a couple of times during the night to see if any had fallen off. I was completely disappointed and shocked when I got home and noticed that one had fallen off :( I immediately went back to the store today and told them what happened, and I was debating just fully returning them and not reordering for fear of losing another spike. I decided that I loved them too much, so I reordered...fingers crossed that they are okay this time. Free people: is there any way we can get replacement spikes from Jeffrey Campbell? Can you please look into it? "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.1.2012
Hello! Good news!! We are getting some spikes in from JC. A member of our service team will be in touch to get your details and we will send some your way as soon as they arrive!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Loose Fit
9.27.2012
" These are beautiful quality shoes, but way too loose on me in the ankle strap and the toe strap. I tried both the 7.5 and 8 because I am between sizes and I think they ran a bit big. No way to adjust the strap lengths, so I returned them. Maybe you will have better luck than me... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Berkeley, California
age:21-25
body type:petite
Loose fit but killer shoe
9.26.2012
" Just received these and love them already. Heel height is just right and stud detail is impeccable. Hoping I won't have any issues with the spikes falling off, but they seem to be attached pretty tightly. J. Campbell also included an extra set of heel ends to replace the ones you wear down (very thoughtful touch).
I'm normally between a 7.5 and 8, and I decided to go with the 8. The toe strap is a little wide, which is noticeable for me because I have wide feet but in these my toes have a bit of extra wiggle room--consider going half a size down. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Everyone Who Sees These, Loves Them!
9.13.2012
" I first bought these in a size 7 and they were a bit too big (and one of the spikes came off), so I exchanged them for a 6.5 and they are perfect. The spikes are fine, the ankle strap is snug and the heel height is not too tall.
I wore these on my blog ohtobeamuse.com and everyone who saw them (and people who see me wearing these JC heels in person) absolutely loves them. They are the ankle strap staple in my closet for sure! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
age:26-30
body type:slender
Loose spikes!
9.6.2012
" First let me start by saying, I love these shoes. Great design and quality, they are very tall, but considerably comfortable.. My only quip is with the spikes, you need to make sure they are screwed on tight before you leave the house. Two of mine screwed off and got lost when I went out wearing them for the first time! They should include extra spikes in case this happens.... In any case, I loved them so much that I ordered them again (I returned the old ones, of course). Hopefully this was just a fluke, as no one else has commented on this problem. Either way, I will make sure to check that the spikes are screwed on tight before I leave the house. :) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb9.28.2012
Sorry about that! If it happens again please let us know. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
sexy shoes
9.3.2012
" I LOVE LOVE LOVE JEFFREY CAMPBELL. he makes shoes that are sexy, edgy, and comfortable. i died when i saw these because i have been looking for a single strap heel just like this and the rose gold stud detail is so cool. they are a little hard to walk in (for me) even though it is a relatively low heel. but they are so freakin cute! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Burke City Heel
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
hot spikes!
8.17.2012
" wow these are so hot! the spikes are rose gold color and the shoes look just as pictured. the foot part fits true to size. maybe i have chunkier ankles, but i find the ankle strap on one foot to be on the tight side, as the little elastic insert doesn't offer a lot of flexibility. these aren't sky-high heels, but they're still trickier than platforms but still manageable. i consider taking a star off for the fit, but i just can't because they are so darn HOT! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>