Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top

Lightweight, semi-sheer woven babydoll top with flouncy bottom. Pleating below waistline. Waist and front of neckline are trimmed with sheer lace. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *65% Polyester, 35% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 29 1/4" Bust (all around): 40" Sleeve Width: 8 1/4"
overall average rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pretty but big
12.28.2012
" This top is very pretty and great for layering. However, it runs very very big. I ordered an extra small and I will still have to get it taken in 2 inches on both sides where it is hugging the model. I normally where an extra small, so I wish this came in xxs. Luckily I ordered this when it was on sale so I don't mind paying to get it tailored. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Delicate and feminine
12.12.2012
" Pretty top but it is not lined and feels like something is missing. It is very delicate though and feminine. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Portland
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Perfect
12.11.2012
" If you wear FP and understand how their items fit you will know that this shirt is supposed to have a loose flowy fit. I am always a size small in FP, and this was another hit for me. It's a nice ivory color with beautiful lace work. It's a gorgeous layering piece that is extremely versatile. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Russia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Runs large!
12.11.2012
" I bought this in balck and I totally love the design and the fabric is gorgeous.
However, the size S feels like M or L! It is too big...It is really loose in the waist (does not look as on the model) I will still keep it.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:MI
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful top, true to size for me
11.30.2012
" I got this top in ivory in my usual FP size XS, and at the sale price it is a real bargain. 5'8",128 lbs and 34C, and the top fits me perfectly. I think it's supposed to be a looser fit. Material is very comfortable, and ivory could go well with almost everything - I really like the red one as well, but it is out of stock. My only worry is the top could be too delicate - have to take extra care not to snag it. Otherwise, a truly beautiful piece with attention to details well paid. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:FL
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Too big
11.29.2012
" Got in the mail today did not really worth the full price . I ordered the extra small and was to big 110 pounds . The material is more like a curtain or lace for a table. The top made me look fat and shapeless. I decided to keep the top since it was reduced. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:AB Canada
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Cute but huge!
11.20.2012
" I had the read the reviews that this runs large so I sized down and when it arrived it was still sooo big! And when I looked they didn't have any smalls left in the red so I'm keeping it and getting my seamstress sister in law to alter it for me. It's really pretty just runs huge! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
so pretty
11.4.2012
" Online this shirt looks allright but I saw it in the store and knew I had to have it. Like all FP clothes, this shirt runs big so I got my usual FP size of an XS and it fits fine. It's beautiful and worth the price "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Mill Valley, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Very Flattering
10.17.2012
" I'm 5'3" , 129lbs, weight is in my waist, and wear clothes that hides my waist. This top does it and gives the illusion that I have a much smaller waist. Unlike most babydolls, this one doesn't make me look like I'm 7 months pregnant. If you are pregnant, this top would work for now and long after. I bought both colors in size M because besides hiding my flaw, it is comfortable, has a unique weave pattern #getting tired of lace# and is made well enough that I don't have to worry about throwing it into the washer and dryer. Nice change from the usual pretty FP tops that are fragile and/or made with poor workmanship. This top has the look and weight of lace with a refreshing pattern. There is no give in the waistline because no elastic is used on the horizontal strip of lace. Going a size up for my waist, did not effect how the bust area fit. I wear XS, S, M and L.....depending what the FP item is. LOL "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
A Fun Layering Piece,,,
9.25.2012
" I purchased this in both the black and the ivory. It is really adorable layered over so many different pieces, dresses and blouses and more. The material is very delicate so handle with care. Runs a little large so consider sizing down. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Better than pictured
9.13.2012
" i didn't give this top the time of day online, but i saw it in the store and it is absolutely beautiful. It looks more geometric online, maybe? The meshing is much more subtle in person. It's a great layering piece to add under sweaters for fall, too. It adds a girly boho touch to any outfit without being overly lacey or ruffly. Love this piece! Runs a little large, i usually get a small or extra small in FP and went with the XS in this. I do see the upkeep of this top being an issue, tho, it is rather delicate. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Delicate, Intricate, and Beautiful
9.2.2012
" I really love this shirt! I bought the white in a large and it fit tts. Yes, this item is delicate, but not as delicate as the Phoenix Sweater Tunic. I have worn this twice with some necklaces that had the potential to snag and I had no problems. I will suggest that you be very careful when taking this on or off. My top had a normal hemline and stitching.The fit of this is flattering and flowy. This looks fantastic layered over the lace and voile slip in blue with some leggings and boots. Great item at a decent price! "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:NC
age:21-25
body type:slender
Chestnut is a MUST for Fall
8.30.2012
" While this shirt definitely has a lot of snag potential, I find it's pretty much the standard quality you get with FP lace items. As for it being uneven or anything, mine was made okay as I didn't see any stitching defects or anything. I found it to be really pretty and I love the color of the chestnut color. It's such a beautiful and unique color compared to the usual choices offered. I think this will be a lovely layering item for my jackets and scarves come fall. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Light as Air Babydoll Top
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Unimpressed with the quality
8.22.2012
" I have been finding the quality of Free People items to be a little below par lately and it really sucks because the styles are so beautiful. This top is VERY delicate so beware. I wouldn't normally have an issue with delicate, but when you add the horrible sewing job it just equals disaster. The hem of my top was sewn crooked or something because one side is longer than the other. Also the lace panel in the middle goes down further than the fabric on the sides. The hem rolls up ALOT!! This could have probably been avoided if the design included a finished hem or maybe a row of lace at the bottom. Overall very unimpressed!!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large