Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon

Velvet patterned body-conscious mini dress with 3/4-length sleeves. "V"-neckline front. Neckline is trimmed with lace. *55% Rayon, 37% Polyester, 8% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 30" Waist (all around): 26 1/2" Sleeve Length: 15"
overall average rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Review 1 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beautiful, photogenic dress!
6.17.2013
" I got this a few weeks ago in blue and it's even more stunning in person. The material has a bit of stretch to it, which is nice and comfy, and although it is pretty thin it's not transparent at all. Like some other reviewers I actually prefer to wear it backwards. The one flaw with this sexy little dress is that it rides up a LOT. I wore it to my university graduation last weekend and couldn't adjust it since I was wearing a robe. By the time I got my diploma I was praying that a breeze wouldn't come along and lift my robe because it had ridden up practically over my butt! In retrospect it would have been smarter to wear it with tights to give some more friction and hopefully avoid the slipping-up issue. So as much as I don't like constantly pulling down my hem all the time, this dress is worth keeping because it is so gorgeous and photogenic. I was in approximately seven bazillion pictures at commencement and this dress looked stunning in every one! Definitely recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
<3
4.21.2013
" so glad that I ran into my local FP store when I had a bad day, because I found this sexy little number on sale! didn't even have to try it on to know that I would love it :) like other reviewers, the shoulders are a little bit loose, but nothing a little body tape wouldn't fix, if it was that big of a deal....get this dress while in stock, a great purchase. and the blue is more vibrant than the picture, will definitely catch people's eyes! enjoy!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:san fernando valley ca
age:41-45
body type:slender
beautiful top
3.24.2013
" i got the pink..its gorgeous my only gripe is the shoulders are large and they slip off a bit cute in the pink !! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Sydney, AUS
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Winter Statement
2.18.2013
" I love velvets for winter, its risque and not many people pull it off along with the baroque trend which is hitting Australia everywhere at the moment. I saw this dress and unlike the popularity of the classic black colour, I actually fell for the pink. Ite bright under lights because the light sort of bounces of the crinkle of the velvet. I slipped it on without anything on underneath when it arrived....not see through at all which is surprising given the other reviews. The pink is so beautiful and unique; Im sure the blue would have been to. Im not really the biggest fan of throwing black and pink together unless its nail polish or something in gradient. So I'll wear this as is(great length; Im 5'9 and it covers my butt) or maybe sheer embellished stockings with pink ankle boots? The dress itself looks "different" on my clothing racks. Soft, slips on like a sexy sillouite. BUY now; great price!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Pretty in Pink
2.13.2013
" I recently ordered the pink because i found the color irresistible. When I first took it out i was a little disapointed because the fabric looked different to me. However, i tried it on and was shocked. The color was gorgeous, just as vibrant and beautiful as online (so dont be fooled when you open it).
Im 5'1'', 115lbs, and a 30 A bust (or lack of). I ordered an xs and it fit well except for the shoulders. If you have narrow shoulders beware! It keeps slipping off. It was also a little long for my liking, but im so short that its to be expected. So, apart from the shoulder issue, the dress is wonderful. I plan to hem it & take it in a little in the back (to fix the shoulders).
I definatly recommend if you are looking to make a statement. The pink is very fun. Overall, i love the dress & its worth the work to make it fit right.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Miami
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful fabric
2.8.2013
" I bought this dress on a size S ( I'm 5'5 128lb) it fits pretty well the only part of the dress that is really loose are the shoulders and the sleeves, the rest it fits really nice and sexy. Love the fabric is beautiful. On the picture the model is actually wearing the back of the dress. You can wear it either way. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Very CUTE!!
2.4.2013
" I purchased this dress in the pink color and I LOVE it!! I love how vibrant the pink is, definitely a piece that is different and totally wow's! The cool thing about this dress is that you can wear it two ways! The way the model is wearing is supposedly the back end, and the deep V is the front end. It looks great either way, which makes it harder for me to choose which side to wear, haha! But this is a great item and totally edgy and worth having. In regards to sizing, I am 5'10" and 140 lbs and I purchased the medium. People have been saying that the top part falls off the shoulders, and while its a little loose it does not fall off my shoulders at all; but I sort of wide shoulders. Hopefully this helps :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:scottsdale
age:over 45
body type:petite
GREAT DRESS - HARD TO FIT
1.30.2013
" After salivating over this dress for a month, I finally made the decision to purchase it. Black - the one I really wanted - was out, and so I chose Blue. It's an adorable color, but fit, not so easy. After reading all the reviews and trying to determine how a dress size given for a model of model height and proportions would fit me - a short 5' hovering one side or the other around 100 figure, medium bust, bit of a tummy where I shouldn't have one - I decided on an S. This was a mistake. The length was ok (I'm in my 50s and do not need a mini), but the neckline was way too low, the bodice was way too roomy, and the shoulders fell off mine. Now, of course, it's too late to get this dress in an XS in Black OR Blue, but I'm leaving the review to help anyone who's not model tall/thin figure out the sizing on this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:21-25
body type:petite
A little bit cheap..
1.6.2013
" I really wanted to love this dress. But there were several factors that kept me from keeping it. 1. The shoulders in XS fall off on my petite 5'2" frame. This is probably just my issue due to my size. And I would've kept it if not for the somewhat cheap material.. It just does not have enough substance and thickness for this type of dress in my opinion. I own another FP velvet dress from last season that is much thicker and feels right on the body. Also, the cream vintage color in the black one makes the dress look dull. A bright white would make it much cuter! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Boston
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Wicked Flattering!
1.2.2013
" This dress is so beautiful, flattering and easy to wear. I wore it on New Years Eve and I can not tell you how many complements I got. Everyone wanted to know where I got it! I wore it with the V in the front with a strapless bra and it fit perfectly. There was no problem with it being too low. You can easily keep sleeve up on shoulders or wear off the shoulder. I am fairly tall… 5'8" and curvy and the dress was not too short at all. It really fits like a dream and looks perfect in winter with black opaque tights. I was able to have fun, dance and party all night and not worry about anything riding up or tugging etc. There is also plenty of stretch and give so while it holds you in quite well, you can also pull down lower on your legs to make it longer.
I had a great night because of this dress. Happy 2013!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
very pretty
12.28.2012
" I had ordered this dress online in an XS but later received an email telling me they were out of stock. I ended up ordering a small and I'm so glad I did. At 5'7" the length on the small fit perfectly. It's definitely loose in the shoulders as others have said, but not loose enough to fall off the shoulders. I may use some double-sided tape to make sure it stays in place. I also found that wearing it backwards, as the model does, makes the dress more flattering. Otherwise, I would not be able to wear the dress without something underneath. It is a little see through, but doesn't matter once the dress is on. My measurements are 34-25-36, 120 pounds. I love this dress! Cannot wait to wear it NYE! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Cleveland
age:26-30
body type:petite
Its cute but..
12.24.2012
" So I bought this dress with NYE in mind. I really wanted something sassy and classy. I'm about 115, 5'3, average/athletic build. From first glance the dress is not truly black and white. It's more of a vintage off white and black. The material hugs the body in most of the right places, except for the shoulders, which seemed to puff up a bit and not stay on the shoulders. I went out to get a deep v neck bra just for this dress and I still felt like the dress didn't look right. It seems tight in the bust area (which has a deep v neck, and allows for potential bra cups showing). The material itself is translucent, so wear nude colors underneath, and thigh high (black) stockings, both are a must. I'm still going to give it a chance, but I can't deny my disappointment. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
gorgeous!
12.23.2012
" I actually went to the store to buy this dress and i'm glad I did. I'm 5'6", 124 lbs, 34DD, 26" waist and I got a size small in the blue. It fits great and the length isn't short. I think I could have actually gone with a XS but they didn't have any in stock in the store. The blue is a gorgeous color, and I actually liked the pink one better online and was going to get that,but i'm so glad I saw the blue in person. it's not in your face, it's just a pretty color. i'll be wearing this dress for a NYE house party and i'm really excited! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:New jersey
age:41-45
body type:slender
Rides up cheap material
12.22.2012
" I thought this would be a great dress. I put it on, put on my coat to leave and by the time I got to the car the dress came all the way up to my panties. Oy. Went back inside and changed. Returning . "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Greenwich Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
Very pretty and classy
12.13.2012
" as the other reviewers mentioned, the dress is modeled backwards, I think it looks much better that way. the shoulders are a little loose but not loose enough to fall off so it's nbd. very great choice for holiday parties "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Sassy & Classy!
12.9.2012
" Height: 5'10''
Weight: ~140lbs
Measurements: 36C-29-38
I got this dress in a medium and it fit to a T! I got so many compliments when I wore it out. It is a little loose in the shoulders and around the abdomen, but everywhere else it fit like a second skin. A comment about the color: it's more of a tannish, vintage white than the colors shown online. This dress was great for dancing because it moves with you. without bunching up too much. However, my one complaint was that it is see-through if you are not wearing the appropriate undergarments, but black or nude shades are fine.
PS - to fix the baggines in the shoulders, I simply used fashion tape to fix the sleeves and my bra straps in place. Bra straps didn't show, and the sleeves didn't fall down !
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
GET THIS
12.9.2012
" Ok so I NEVER buy bodycon dresses because they usually hug awkward places/ride up/look trashy. But this one does none of these things. I am 5'7, 34C, 27 waist, 39 hip. The Medium fit perfectly. It fit like a glove.
JUST FYI though this is not as pictured. It is a V neck front and back. Also it is maybe two inches longer than it appears in the photos, which for me was great because the way it flares out a bit made it so I don't have to worry about it riding up. Also, I have broad ish shoulders but for girls who have narrow shoulders I have a feeling this dress would fall off a lot. Also the V neck is pretty low. I'm planning on wearing a cami or something under it.
The black color is classier and more timeless, but i went with the blue because it is just a showstopper.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:VA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Very Classic
12.9.2012
" First, let me just say that all of the models are wearing it backwards. The V is in the front, not the back, as indicated by the tag. Free People has actually been doing this a lot recently and I really can't understand why. This Bodycon fits like a classic bodycon. It has a bit more give in the fabric without loosing the fit, which is much more comfortable. The velvet pattern is stunning and this piece can absolutely be dressed up or down. I am 5'6" 120lbs measuring 33"-27.5"-35" and I wear a small. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Allentown, PA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute
12.8.2012
" Elegant dress. Fits well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Fair Maiden Velvet Bodycon
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
great dress!
12.7.2012
" Great & flattering fit! I was able to fit into the xs, but got the small. I'm 5'8" and 130lbs and am always a 4,small, waist 27. The xs fit me but not in the bust area...My boobs were completely popping out of the dress so i went with the small. With that said, the fact that I could get away with a size xs tells me it runs a tad big.Can't believe how flattering it was. I have a lean body, but curves as well and it looked great. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>