Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress

Vibrantly printed woven dress with all over rouched seams. Beaded embellishment on the neckline with embroidered button and loop placket. Cinched drawstring at the back for a more fitted look. Metallic lace bottom hem. * 100% Cotton * Hand Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 33" Chest: 40" Waist: 31 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Review 1 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:US
age:14-20
body type:athletic
love the patterns..not so much the dress..
9.5.2010
"When I saw this dress I just had to have it! When they finally had my size again I ordered it right away and was so disappointed when I put it on. I got a Medium thinking it would fit a lil tight but I was SOOOOOOOOOO wrong. The medium was HUGE. I thought it was a XLLL when I put it on. I'm about 5'3 and 140 pounds and it was just long and very roomy. I wish I had got a small. The tie in the back barley does anything, it does make it tighter but BARLEY. I'm returning and waiting for a smaller size. I recommend going down a size."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, Ga
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Fragile!
6.11.2010
"Be careful. I love this dress so much that I bought it ripped. The fabric is so delicate and if you pull too tight it'll rip in the back! I thought it was worth it though!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:curvy
LOVE THIS.
6.11.2010
"yes it has a lot going on, and yes it has a lot of fabric, but it's such a cute summery dress/ shirt! if you don't like bright colors, then just don't get it. i loved this so much i even bought the plain white and i'm definitely gonna go back for the brown and black ;) it's a cute thing to just throw on and leave. i love the baggy look and everything about it. definitely a "statement" shirt. but anyway, i highly highly recommend it. worth the $$"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Vibrant
5.13.2010
"The colors are truly vibrant and eyecatching. The beaded/sequence embellishment on the neckline is cute, and I really like the lace hem at the bottom. I got this dress in a small (I am about 5'6", 120lbs.) and found it to be quite loose. The dress has a drawstring that allows for a better fit, but the downside to that is that a lot of the material bunches up especially at the back."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
What an eye sore
5.3.2010
"I love bright colours, but this dress is too busy and the black and coloured stripe patterns clash. The cut and fit is so-so. Not particularly flattering."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Ok...
4.11.2010
"I tried this dress on in the store and while it looked better on than I thought it would it was still a little off and I ended up not buying it. There is a lot of material especially around the stomach area. The tie in the back didn't tie the dress around as much as I think it needed to be to look best. I would need to wear a belt or something with it. It's also insanely bright. It's fun but a little much for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:alabama
age:31-35
body type:petite
love this dress
4.2.2010
"i bought this dress to wear to a wedding reception..it does run big,and the arm holes are big so like another reviewer you will have to wear another top under it..i could have worn the small but bought a medium for the length..it is a short dress..the colors are great!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Sporty Bralette
5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
leaning towards not getting it...
2.18.2010
"I saw this dress in the store, buy I haven't tried it on yet, so I guess I shouldn't be writing a review yet, but whatever. This is not a size review! The colors are great, a little bright for my normal taste, but I still like it. I am considering getting it for 8th grade graduation, but I might see a dress that's a little more not as much "look at me" from FP. I guess if my mom bought this for me, I would like it, but NEVER EVER EVER would I get this dress on my own. If someone offers to get it for you, I'd say yes, but otherwise, it's not worth 108!"
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:slender
Meh
2.11.2010
"You wouldn't think that a dress this wild would be "meh". But it is. The dress is a pretty cute, sunshine-y design, but the fit was what lowered the dress to mediocrity. With the tie in the back tied at a normal tightness, the dress was almost a mumu. With it pulled as tight as it could go AND wrapped around the front, it was still hard to see my body. Perhaps sizing down would have helped, but the store was not stocked in the size I would have needed."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Mississippi
age:14-20
body type:petite
Very cute back!
2.6.2010
"I bought the dress online basing my purchase on the adorable pictures... The back is very cute when pulled tight, but the front is completely different when worn on an actual person instead of a model. I'm 34C, 110 lbs, and 5 foot. Low cut bust! I ordered the medium and still like it on but the dress would be more flattering in a smaller size. I am returning it for the small. Don't make the same mistake I did by reading the reviews and still thinking you need your actual size!!!! SIZE DOWN!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Houston , TX
age:21-25
body type:curvy
just not right
2.3.2010
"I thought this dress looked so cute when I first saw the pictures and I ordered it right away, but I was really disappointed when it arrived. I sized down because it seemed to have a baggy look and even with going down a size it just looked like a short mumu, it was awful even if you pull the tie it doesn't wrap all the way around so it looks cute in the back but still mumu in the front. I'm sending it back it was just not at all flattering"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:ma
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Sunny <3
1.27.2010
"I was so happy when I tried this on. The colors are bright and sunny and the dress actually looked awesome on! My regular size fit perfect. I love the green bow in the back you can pull it tighter to give a better shape. I will definitely be buying this soon!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Three Thumbs Up!
1.22.2010
"I ADORE this dress! Size: I'd size down, there is a lot of material, and while there's a drawstring ribbon in the back, you don't want to generate excess bulk. Look: The dress fit me - when I sized down - like it does on the model. To address some of the other reviewers' concerns: You can see that the armhole is big in the second image. The neckline is also pretty plunging... Wear a halter bralette, bandeau, or I bet one of the new seamless camis or tanks! Length, go by the model online. Billowy-ness, it does take some work to get the drawstring to gather up enough fabric to get the dress to go in at the waist. This is why sizing down is CRITICAL! (OR! Get a brown belt and remove the drawstring! Or leave the drawstring if you don't mind the ribbon and belt at the same time.) BOTTOM LINE: Size down, and know that this is a very flowy dress. If you are particularly curvy, especially in the chest, I could see this looking more like a moo-moo on you... But I'm a 34B and didn't feel like I was even approaching being too busty for the dress to stop being flattering. Very fun, very summer, and looks very hot with booties!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Sparrow Ankle Boot
4.4 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
Seamless Scoop Tank
4.6 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
Johnny Belt
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
not thrilled with it
1.21.2010
"I had a feeling something would be off with this dress because the photo in the catalog was a different length than the photo on the web. But since it described the dress as being 35" long, I figured it looks like it is portrayed in the catalog. The dress is not 35" long. More like 30-31". The arm holes are huge and reveal way too much. I sent it back. It's a little too young looking for me anyway."
Response from Free People:By HeatherFP Web1.25.2010
Hi! So sorry for the mistake, the dress had been shortened from it's original length. The correct length for a size 6 is 33".
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Patchwork Paisley Necklace Dress
Name:
Location:phila
age:31-35
body type:petite
hmmm
1.20.2010
"loved the colors and was drawn to it in the store. but there's too much loose material around the stomach area for my taste."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large