Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Beads and Branches Jacket

Quilted and printed jacket with bead, rope, ribbon and dome stud detailing. Zipper opening at the front. Two front pockets. **Special Note: This jacket does not have the beading detail at the bottom of the sleeves or the hem of the jacket as shown in the catalog shot. It is exactly as shown in the web studio shots. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 21" Bust (all around): 37" Bottom Opening (all around): 34" Sleeve Length: 25 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Beads and Branches Jacket
Review 1 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
An odd fit, but a great style
3.2.2013
" I like this jacket a lot...but I'm confused. I bought this exact model, but mine isn't cropped at all. In fact, it's kind of long. I'm not short or ever wear petite sizes. It's also a bit big over all. Maybe I just need a smaller size, but I still don't think it would look cropped on me. The shape is a little weird too. It's not fitted, but it's not a "swing" shape either. With a visit from the tailor I think I can get it to look right on me fit-wise, but I do wish it were actually a cropped jacket. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Maine
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Favorite Jacket
2.28.2013
" I don’t understand why everyone is hating on this jacket…it’s truly one of a kind. When I first took it out of the package I was 50/50 about it. It was different and a little out of my comfort zone, but the more and more I wore it the better it felt. It’s got a cool Asian meets military vibe to it, and whenever I wear it I always receive compliments about it. All in all it is well worth the price. If you’re on the fence about this, I say order it, it will surely become one of your favorite pieces. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Unique and fun
2.27.2013
" I really don't understand all the negative reviews on this jacket. Almost all the FP jackets I own are unlined, cropped, have raw seams and are lightweight and I love each and every one. They are great for layering! This one looks great with jeans or a long flowy skirt and boots with a contrasting top that brings out the pink or green. The beading is perfect. I can see being disappointed because the product shots show more beading than the real thing but I actually prefer less. This is a great jacket and a statement piece. I have worn it several times and received compliments every time I wear it. Definitely recommend. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:over 45
body type:slender
Lovely
2.15.2013
" I took into account all the negative comments and ordered it anyway. Yes the colours are faded compared to the studio shot, yes it's a light layer and yes it's narrow through the back when I lift my arms and it is better with the original beading. So I bought it anyway, added the beads and trim myself copying the original picture and I am thrilled with the result. A few evenings stitching is all it took. I like that it sits under my chin as I feel cold in breezy air con. I prefer it unzipped and just clutch the top closed when dashing indoors in a cold wind. It is a perfect layer that smartens up a casual look better than a cardi - perfect for work. Check out my photo! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.18.2013
It looks beautiful on you!!!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
LOVE THIS JACKET
2.12.2013
" This jacket it stunning. I love the details in the stitching, the fabric, the cut, especially the way the back of the jacket is cut. You can see all the stitching in the back image. The sleeve has a bit of a puff at the shoulder which I wasnt expecting - but it works. The pink piping on the shoulder is very very bright and stands out. WOW I love it - Thanks "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Not worth it.
2.8.2013
" I saw this on sale at Nordstrom but decided not to spend the money. Even reduced. The jacket itself is cute, but the patterns are busy. It is tight across the shoulders than some FP jackets. Cropped shorter too. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
yeah, not worth it
2.7.2013
" not the worst of fp like their low top back top (fit was really bad), but i wouldn't get this even if it was on sale. saw this at the store and have to say that it looks worst than the studio shots/catalog. sorry fp, sometimes you're just inconsistent. the quality is really not up to par with the price. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:LA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love
1.20.2013
" I first saw this jacket at Nordstroms and immediately fell in love. While I agree with the other reviews the colors are much softer than those pictures, it is still a beautiful jacket. The detailing on this jacket is perfect and simple.
It is a fitted light-weight jackets, nice for breezy days. If you're planning on layering I would size up.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:michigan
age:36-40
body type:slender
cute jacket
1.18.2013
" This is a nice light weight jacket. It is a little lighter color then the picture shows but is still very pretty, I only wish it had all the beading on it like the big picture shows and I would have rated it 5 stars. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:san diego, ca
age:41-45
body type:petite
Thin material and faded colors...
1.2.2013
" did not make me want to keep this jacket and pay full price for it. Boo! The 'quilted' material, which I guess it technically is, is so thin as to be laughable. Even too thin for SoCal. But the biggest disappointment by far was the faded aspect of the fabric. It appears vibrant in the online pictures but isn't even close to that in person. Very very very faded. In a bad way. Maybe when it's on sale, marked way way way down, I'll buy it again. Otherwise, back it goes... "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:VA
age:31-35
body type:slender
ah, major oops Free People!
12.31.2012
" It's a cute jacket, but very thin. Feels like a quilt with very little backing. It's not nearly as vibrant as the picture. I like it and will keep it since it was a gift to me...However, it would have been really nice had it been finished, with the trimming around the sleeves and bottom.
Everyone that purchased this should receive a discount of some kind, or at least an apology that it doesn't look like the image shown.
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Russia
age:31-35
body type:slender
I'm not even disappointed, I just can laugh))))
12.30.2012
" I do not even know where to start)))))))))) The idea was cool, but, guys, you have not finished it)))))))) Why so thin? You have to lay money was not?))))))) The price of this jacket a maximum of 700 rubles our))) together with delivery) The money you are asking for their products should be worked) otherwise so things are not done. You pretend to seriously, to do with you) And where lining?))) Do not do that) Laughter) "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:36-40
body type:slender
Very disappointing
12.19.2012
" Super-thin, poor quality material, a flimsy design and no where near as impactful as the photo suggests. With all the competition FreePeople is facing today, you'd think they'd show more of a commitment to quality than what's delivered here. Especially for this price point. Totally disappointed. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Saint Petersburg, Florida
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Not worth it.
12.15.2012
" Does have high collar which I like and I knew it did not come with embellishments around the hem and wrist, but thought if it were that important, I would add my own. Runs true to size, and I like the bold colors. The problem I have is this, the material is almost laughable. It is so flimsy, I find it difficult to qualify it as quilted, and the strings that are hanging off the jacket in the back make it worse. Now I have to trim them??? The pattern is cute, the general idea is cute, but it feels very cheap. I really believe I could find a similar jacket in a thrift shop and add my own "extras" for $50. I cannot understand the price considering the quality. Some of the other jackets for the same price are worthy of this price tag. Sorry, really wanted to like this. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Bit of a let down
12.10.2012
" Received this jacket today and am pretty disappointed. Seems to be of poor quality. The felt padding is exposed in some of the seams (think this is meant to b a desing feature) giving it a shoddy feel and the outer fabric is thin, kinda like it will pull apart after a couple of wears. Also its a big shame the bead detailing etc is not around the hem and sleeves as in the catalgue shot...the jacket needs more of this, not less. Fits true to size which is a redeeming feature. Will probably return. Shame. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Beads and Branches Jacket
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Disappointing....
12.3.2012
" This is my most disappointing FP purchase so far. The top of the sleeves are puffy and makes my shoulders look large and square. The beading and ribbon and detailing are all lost in the busy pattern of the jacket. BTW, there is no bead trim around the sleeves and the bottom of the jacket as shown in the catalog shot. The jacket is VERY light and the high collar scratches my neck and is really quite uncomfortable. "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large