Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress

Gauzy crinkled, semi-sheer maxi dress with beautiful embroidered detailing on body. Battenburg lace trimming around "V"-neckline. Waist is stretchy. Unlined. Take a walk in the woods with this bohemian stunner that has length and pattern for days. **Special Note: The fabric of this dress is semi-sheer and runs slightly larger than normal. It is recommended that you size down one. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *100% Rayon (exclusive of trims) *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 47 1/2" Bust (all around): 38" Waist (all around - relaxed): 26 1/2" Sleeve Length: 20 1/4"
overall average rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
I really wanted to like this dress
8.29.2013
"I really wanted to like this dress. The style is great, though I found it to be slightly loose in the bust and I have a medium-large bust. The embroidery is the star here - it's fantastic. I really love it. But overall the dress was too sheer, and I can't be bothered wearing a slip. If that's not a problem for you and you have a bust on the larger side, then this could be a fantastic dress for you. But for the reasons above and because beige isn't a great color for me, I returned it. If the colors were reversed and it were a black or very dark grey dress with red and white/ cream embroidery it would be amazing, and I would definitely buy that!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
2 different dresses
2.12.2013
"This dress is beautiful! The only thing is the dress on the model in the field is different then the one in on the model in the studio pics. The one I received has a lower waist and blousier top. As you can see the dress in the catalog picture has a higher waist. That's the dress I want so I have to now tailor the dress which is difficult to do.
Will email to see if the original dress is actually available. Runs large also. You have to pin the front shut or wear something under it.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Jacksonville,FL
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Love
1.10.2013
"I bought this while in NYC. I got a little mini slip underneath and put on my cowgirl boots for a great walk threw Broadway! I got so many compliments on my whole outfit. I felt lie a million bucks!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:St. Augustine, FL
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
My favorite dress
1.4.2013
"I absolutely LOVE this dress. It's loose and flattering, hangs beautifully and is very comfortable. The material is soft and has a nice weight to it that, again, makes the dress hang nicely and feel expensive. Every time I wear this I get compliments. It's sheer so I wear a simple nude slip underneath that has a bit of lace that peeks out at the top for a pretty layered look. I'm 5'8 and it hits me midcalf, and looks great with boots. I'm a 36C and the bust of this dress is definitely loose. I just use a little turquoise and silver post earring to secure the overlap where I like it to be- it's a pretty solution that I can adjust if I want and it does the job. And after adding necklaces, you barely even see the little earring post anyway. I love the way I feel in this dress, I'd wear it everyday if I could!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
tts but sheer
10.25.2012
"This dress is true to size but totally sheer. It will require a slip. That being said, it is incredibly comfortable and beautiful. Well made with great details. I highly recommend this."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful dress but the size is off
10.9.2012
"I loved the dress, its color and its details. But unfortunately it's not as fitted as pictured! I order the XS and The top is way too loose and big. Tried to pin it or put a belt on, still didn't work. It's too bad but it's going back tomorrow!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful dress, but not as pictured
10.2.2012
"This dress looks great on this model; in fact, the dress looks great in person - but wearing it is another story. I must say that I keep running into this reoccurring problem with FP; I buy a dress in my usual size small, and then when I try it on it not only looks completely different on my body, it looks really oversized. I am about a 4-6, 5'5", but when I say that it looks oversized on me - I'm talking like the difference between a small and a x-small would be so minute it wouldn't change the overall bagginess that I experience. It is quite unfortunate, because I really do love this dress. The front is so loose, I don't know how it could possibly look so fitted on the model unless it was pinned, which takes away from the look I thought I was getting. Too bad - sent it back to FP. My only regret is that I didn't take a picture to provide a more clear example. One more thing, I did try it on with an off-white FP slip underneath, so if you have the length to pull this dress off (I think I am about 5 inches too short) then plan on wearing a slip!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:DV
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Just what I was looking for
9.19.2012
"This dress is the perfect sheer gauze dress. The color is a great ivory and I love the stitched details. It was longer on me than what is shown on the model, and the bust really gapes open, so you'll need to pin it or wear a slip. Also, I found the sleeves to be a bit shorter (they hit me mid forearm...the first photo of the model makes it look like the dress is actually long-sleeved, but it isn't). Also, I found the waist to be lower on me than what is shown. All in all, a great dress that was just what I wanted. It is a bit delicate and wrinkles very easily. I was able to order a size down."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful, delicate
9.11.2012
"The other reviewers are right--this dress is gorg. It is a bit big on top--I'll need a pin to keep it closed as well. I'm only 5'3" so this dress is really long on me, almost to my ankles or just about there. The fabric is sheer, but soft and delicate. It has beautiful details and the draping seems perfect. I don't have any other dresses like this, it's so unique. It's definitely worth the money. I bought a small, which is a just a bit oversized. I'm 5'3", 140lbs and 36C."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:slender
cute dress but large on top
8.27.2012
"i really wish this dress fit me because it is so pretty. nice fabric, a bit sheer but nothing a slip won't fix. my issue was with the top - it was just way too big on me (i'm a 34A) and even with a slip i don't think it would look right. i'd recommend trying this one on before purchasing."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Dress is gorgeous
8.16.2012
"I do agree with the other reviews so far, this dress is a great find. One of those things you can just throw on and look sweet. I was disappointed that there's no slip but I ordered it anyway. It is a soft, slightly crinkled material, quality is OK, detailing is gorgeous. I ordered an XS since I'm normally a size XS in FP tops and S in some thermals. The part where the crochet meets gaps quite a bit in the chest (I'm 34A) but I have to wear a slip underneath anyway, so it still works."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous dress!
8.7.2012
"I saw this dress at Nordstrom.com before it was posted on Free people and immediately bought it. Nordstrom indicated in their review to order a size down. I got a small instead of my usual medium and I am glad I did. This dress does run large. You will definately need to order a size or 2 down. I am actually thinking about getting the extra small for comparison but am afraid it will be too tight at the chest (for reference I am a 38C). The details on this dress are fantastic. The dress is sheer and like another reviewer stated you will definately need to wear a slip underneath. The skirt is full but not in a bad way where it makes your hips look huge or makes you look like you put on 20 pounds. I plan on wearing it with brown boots like the model."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Splendor in the Grass Embroidered Dress
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Beautiful details
8.6.2012
"This dress is simply beautiful and full of little details that make FP clothing so special. The lace and crochet trim around the neckline is very well done, and I love how the trim goes all the way around the neckline and not just on the front of the dress. The embroidery is machine stitched and very delicate. There is a tiny covered button on the cuff of each 3/4 length sleeve. The shoulders fit pretty nicely, however there is a lot of room through the rest of the dress. The waistline is not quite empire, but just above the natural waistline. I'll have to pin the front closed as it gaps a bit, and the fabric is pretty sheer so a slip is a must. I purchased this in an XSmall in ivory, and it looks pretty true to the online photos. The dimensions of the XSmall I received are:
length from back of neck to hem: 46"
bust all around: 36"
waist relaxed at elastic: 25 1/2"
sleeve length from shoulder seam: 20"
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large