Product Reviews

Belmont Leather Clog

Strappy suede and leather clog. Wooden platform and heel with rubber outer sole. Adjustable buckle strap at back of heel. Also ties around the ankle. *By Free People
overall average rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Belmont Leather Clog
Review 1 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:STL, MO
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Super cute, but LOUD!
2.25.2015
" These shoes are adorable, and look amazing. The issue I have is that they are crazy loud- I wore them once while shopping before an event, and people kept staring at me because the shoes make so much noise. I took them to a shoe repair guy to see if he could put something on the bottom to quiet them down, but he said it's the wood-like platform that is causing them to make so much noise. He also said the wood isn't really wood, but I can't really tell. He seemed to think it was carved plastic. So- if you like loud shoes.... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Great purchase!
2.25.2015
" OMG I am obsessed with these shoes! They are so versatile, so stylish, and so comfortable! I wear them almost 3 or 4 times a week. I get so many compliments on them whenever I wear them, too. They are a really reasonable price for shoes like this. Comparable styles could easily be double or triple this amount. They fit perfectly (I have a size 39, which is a US 8 1/2), but you have to know your European size. Like the reviewer before me mentioned, adding 30 to your US size is not how you properly measure your feet/find your European size. I would say that the shoes are perfect, too, but...
The suede top stretches. Enough that I'm worried that these shoes will not fit so perfectly this time next year, especially if keep on wearing them so frequently. I've only had them for 2 months now and it is already quite a bit stretched.
On top of that, as others have mentioned, the ankle strap is really long and you will more than likely have to punch in another hole for it to fit your ankle properly.
When I bought these, I was planning on pretty much never wearing the ties, but because the ankle strap is too big, I have to wear them just to keep it from slipping down. While I have grown to really like the detail of these delicate little straps/ties, they come undone ALL. THE. TIME. So, while these are super comfortable shoes and I could easily stand in them all day, be prepared to be tying them every 10 minutes if you are walking in them at all.
All things considered though, don't think twice about buying these. They are fabulous shoes and really look gorgeous if you keep them nice (this is weird, but I recommend using wood furniture polish on the bottoms to really keep 'em looking good, as well as typical leather shoe cleaners on the top). "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:slender
clog for every season
12.31.2014
" These are so comfortable (very important,) and very easy to wear with anything. I would have to agree that the straps on these are very loose, but I chose not to punch an extra hole after reading the other reviews. On one hand the loose straps make it easy to wear with socks but I tend to wrap the ankle ties tighter to make up for the looseness of the lower straps. I have worn these a few times with no evidence of tearing, hopefully nothing happens. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Charlotte, North Carolina
age:21-25
body type:curvy
broke after wearing them twice!
11.29.2014
" I had been dying for a pair of shoes that looked exactly like this for months...was so happy when I found them. I loved them when I first got them, but soon realized I was going to have to poke serious holes to get them to fit. I have pretty wide feet and a high arch so most things are too small but I ended up having to put the whole at the very last place I could---and they were still too loose. This wouldn't have been so bad, though, if they held up AT ALL.
After wearing them twice (once just to dinner and once just to the movies...no serious walking!) the arch on both sides started ripping completely! By the time I got home I could barely keep them on my feet.
I'm so disappointed with these shoes and feel completely cheated out of $128.
"
Response from Free People:By Free People12.2.2014
Hi aubreyt171,

We're sorry to hear about your clogs! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
wanted to love
11.25.2014
" I ordered several pairs of clogs: the Daubs, Devon, and the Belmont. I loved the Daubs but they were too small; I also loved these clogs. I'm usually a 9.5 and a 40 in Birkenstocks, but these in the 40 were a little tight, especially with socks. I ordered the 41 and noticed some variations--the suede strap and buckles were stretched out and looked worn, but worse, the toe covering part on the left foot was messed up. It was as if the stitching got really puckered and shrunk--I could barely fit my foot in and it was uncomfortable. The right shoe looked normal. I ended up returning these. Maybe I'll try again someday--they really are cute, but the quality of the Devons was better. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Telluride, CO
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Adorable, but they broke (twice!)
11.7.2014
" These shoes are absolutely adorable and comfortable too. I purchased my first pair, and after one wear, the strap across the foot (just under the buckle region) started to rip. The suede material is nice and soft, but it doesn't seem to be made for cutting a rug. So, I called freepeople up and they happily exchanged the clogs for a brand new pair. Guess what? The exact same thing happened! I was under the impression that I received a lemon, but it appears that the shoes are just not created to withstand a night of wedding festivities. For $128, the quality of this shoe is kind of a disappointment. "
Response from Free People:By Free People11.14.2014
Hi patriciaofield,

We're sorry to hear about your shoes! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Falls Church, VA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
cute shoe!
11.3.2014
" I have been wanting these shoes for a while and when I got them I was pleased. I don't have a problem with the buckle, I like how soft and streachy it is. I do find that it is true to size because I went up a size since my feet are wide, but my feet move around a lot in them. I also find that they are loud. I wore them to work and walked around all day on hard wood floors and it was LOUD! Also, don't be on your feet for eight hours cause they do start to hurt a little. But to go out for some fun these are awesome. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Lawrence, KS
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute Idea, flawed design
8.11.2014
" The overall look of the shoe is fabulous! Gorgeous leather, suede, and the wood heel is very pretty. But like all the other reviews noted, the ankle strap was loose and flimsy. Yes, you can add a hole but then the lace is pulled to the side and there's a lot of extra suede strap sticking out from behind. Also, the suede strap across the foot felt flimsy to me and didn't provide much, if any, support. I'm giving 3 stars because the shoe is absolutely gorgeous (I ordered the berry color#; if they fixed the issues regarding the strap #even if higher cost), I'd buy every color! Anyways, after walking around the house some, I've decided to return, sadly. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Wanted to love
8.2.2014
" These shoes are beautiful, but not comfortable for me. I am a size 8 and originally ordered the 38 which was too small. The 39 fits perfect. Unfortunately, the inside feels very hard and as someone who was hoping to wear them to work standing all day, they won't work for me. If you are looking for a shoe to wear for a short night out, I bet these would be perfect! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Wasco, CA 93280, USA
age:21-25
body type:petite
their cute...
6.25.2014
" I got a 37 first and they fit ok but I noticed they were a tad too big but not noticeable. but I kept wanting to see if a 36 fit better and I exchanged and im sooo glad I did they fit way better. so if your on the fence I say try both on if you can. now the only issue I have is I don't know what to wear them with but I totally love them. for being clogs there not ugly. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Mill Valley
age:21-25
body type:petite
Bummer
5.30.2014
" These shoes are so painfully cute, but even after punching extra holes in the strap they still don't sit right. I wore them for the second time today and ended up spraining my ankle. :( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:rochester, ny
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
beautiful, but fell apart immediately :(
5.5.2014
" I received these as a gift and was THRILLED. they are stunning-- more so in person than in photos. I could not wait to wear them all over the place.
Unfortunately, I wore them probably wore them four times (maybe a total of 10 hours total) before my the suede strap covering the top of my foot tore where the strap across the rear of the ankle meets it. All I did was stand or walk-- no running or skipping or tripping! It's not torn through, but is on its way. I took them to a shoe repairman, but he wasn't sure that they wouldn't cause other areas to tear, so I haven't decided I want to go that route.
Unhappy Birthday to me.
It seems like so much of this shoe is quality-- the wooden platform and the leather on the front are both beautiful quality. The suede, however, is so thin.
I'm very upset. These were beautiful, but now they are unwearble.
So sad!
"
Response from Free People:By Free People5.6.2014
Hi boooosh,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adorable but broke right away
4.15.2014
" First off, let me start by saying this shoes are even more adorable in person. I wore them once for the first time and got compliments right away, BUT after wearing them for a few hours the suede strap that goes across the top of your foot completely ripped. It is impossible to ever wear these again. For a $130 purchase I'm really disappointed. "
Response from Free People:By Free People4.17.2014
Hi amato4951,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:slender
compliment magnet
4.12.2014
" These clogs extremely versatile and perfect for transitioning from early spring-summer and into fall because they can be styled with or without socks. They are strappy enough to be a summer staple as well. Although I wouldn't suggest wearing them if you're walking miles, they are more comfortable than I expected. The heel looks quite high from the back, but the platform reduces the slope of the heel. As was mentioned in one of the previous comments, (and i think this is a really good thing to be aware of for online shoppers) for all you american ladies, european sizing conversion works like this: you take the second number and subtract half a size. (a 40 is a 9.5, a 38 is a 7.5, and so on). Therefore, i think they're pretty much on point as far as sizing goes. Also.. these shoes are compliment magnets! I have yet to wear these without being noticed, so if you are hesitating, definitely buy them! xx. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
New favorite shoe
3.25.2014
" As a petite lady, I'm constantly on the hunt for shoes that will give me that nice boost in height while remaining both comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. This shoe encompasses all those qualities and more. I've been able to wear them for an eight hour shift racing around a high volume store & subsequently into the night for a concert with friends (true story).
Excellent craftsmanship. Excellent design. Chunky enough to balance out most ensembles, but not overwhelmingly chunky to the point of almost-clown-shoe status. The style pairs well with a multitude of outfits for a vast array of occasions (and I do think my opting for one of the neutral colors, tan, greatly assists with this). However, I did have to size up a half size after being a pretty solid 6 for 10+ years now. And, you have zero ability of ever being stealth while strutting around in these bad boys -- they're pretty loud, especially on a wooden floor. But that's just the nature of the wooden clog, I suppose.
Other than these above-mentioned minor things, this was an overall awesome purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute Shoe but Became Unwearable
3.17.2014
" These shoes are so cute and I am so upset to report that I truly was only able to wear them about 5 times. Afterwards the suede stretched so much, making them totally unwearable. I tried using the straps to hold them up; I even punched my own hole to make it tighter, but then they began to rip. I do not recommend buying them and have to say I am so unimpressed with FP on this. :-/ Really disappointing, especially since my dear cousin worked for them for years in the Bay area. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Don't buy!
3.15.2014
" I wore these twice and the flimsy ankle strap ripped. Also, the small leather ankle ties were hard to manage. They kept on coming undone as i walked. I ordered a 7.5, but they stretched out after the second wear time, so if you still insist on buying these, stick to your original size.
I loved these so much. But, after spending almost $140 the shoe shouldn't rip after the second wear. I'm not sure why they didn't make the ankle strap a strong leather like the upper.
I returned them. Don't buy! "
Response from Free People:By Free People3.18.2014
Hi calm,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:41-45
body type:slender
stylish and confy
3.14.2014
" I hesitated a long time before buying these clogs, although I loved them the second I saw them. However, they turned out to be much less noisy or heavy than I expected and they look even better in real life than in pictures. I wear 36 (35 for sandals) and ordered 36, and they turned out perfect with or without socks. My favorite footwear! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
HOLY GRAIL!
3.10.2014
" "Ive been looking for the perfect clog for about a year now and I have finally found them! These shoes are ridiculously comfortable, soooo cute, and great quality. Ive worn them for 7 hours straight and not one complaint. I ordered a size 40 in the tan (Im a US 9) and they fit perfectly. I probably couldn't wear them with chunky socks as i wanted to but thats ok. The only issue I have us the straps being super loose, but thats nothing a good shoe man can't fix! Cant wait to wear them all spring and summer!" "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Nebraska
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Super Swooning Over These Clogs
3.5.2014
" Really love these clogs. Was worried about the fit (normally a size 7.5) so I ordered the 38 and they fit perfect. Lovely craftsmanship and lightweight. Will possibly be ordering another pair! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>