Product Reviews

Belmont Leather Clog

Strappy suede and leather clog. Wooden platform and heel with rubber outer sole. Adjustable buckle strap at back of heel. Also ties around the ankle. *By Free People
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Belmont Leather Clog
Review 1 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Telluride, CO
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Adorable, but they broke (twice!)
11.7.2014
"These shoes are absolutely adorable and comfortable too. I purchased my first pair, and after one wear, the strap across the foot (just under the buckle region) started to rip. The suede material is nice and soft, but it doesn't seem to be made for cutting a rug. So, I called freepeople up and they happily exchanged the clogs for a brand new pair. Guess what? The exact same thing happened! I was under the impression that I received a lemon, but it appears that the shoes are just not created to withstand a night of wedding festivities. For $128, the quality of this shoe is kind of a disappointment."
Response from Free People:By Free People11.14.2014
Hi patriciaofield,

We're sorry to hear about your shoes! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Falls Church, VA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
cute shoe!
11.3.2014
"I have been wanting these shoes for a while and when I got them I was pleased. I don't have a problem with the buckle, I like how soft and streachy it is. I do find that it is true to size because I went up a size since my feet are wide, but my feet move around a lot in them. I also find that they are loud. I wore them to work and walked around all day on hard wood floors and it was LOUD! Also, don't be on your feet for eight hours cause they do start to hurt a little. But to go out for some fun these are awesome."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Lawrence, KS
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute Idea, flawed design
8.11.2014
"The overall look of the shoe is fabulous! Gorgeous leather, suede, and the wood heel is very pretty. But like all the other reviews noted, the ankle strap was loose and flimsy. Yes, you can add a hole but then the lace is pulled to the side and there's a lot of extra suede strap sticking out from behind. Also, the suede strap across the foot felt flimsy to me and didn't provide much, if any, support. I'm giving 3 stars because the shoe is absolutely gorgeous (I ordered the berry color#; if they fixed the issues regarding the strap #even if higher cost), I'd buy every color! Anyways, after walking around the house some, I've decided to return, sadly."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Wanted to love
8.2.2014
"These shoes are beautiful, but not comfortable for me. I am a size 8 and originally ordered the 38 which was too small. The 39 fits perfect. Unfortunately, the inside feels very hard and as someone who was hoping to wear them to work standing all day, they won't work for me. If you are looking for a shoe to wear for a short night out, I bet these would be perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Wasco, CA 93280, USA
age:21-25
body type:petite
their cute...
6.25.2014
"I got a 37 first and they fit ok but I noticed they were a tad too big but not noticeable. but I kept wanting to see if a 36 fit better and I exchanged and im sooo glad I did they fit way better. so if your on the fence I say try both on if you can. now the only issue I have is I don't know what to wear them with but I totally love them. for being clogs there not ugly."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Mill Valley
age:21-25
body type:petite
Bummer
5.30.2014
"These shoes are so painfully cute, but even after punching extra holes in the strap they still don't sit right. I wore them for the second time today and ended up spraining my ankle. :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:rochester, ny
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
beautiful, but fell apart immediately :(
5.5.2014
"I received these as a gift and was THRILLED. they are stunning-- more so in person than in photos. I could not wait to wear them all over the place.
Unfortunately, I wore them probably wore them four times (maybe a total of 10 hours total) before my the suede strap covering the top of my foot tore where the strap across the rear of the ankle meets it. All I did was stand or walk-- no running or skipping or tripping! It's not torn through, but is on its way. I took them to a shoe repairman, but he wasn't sure that they wouldn't cause other areas to tear, so I haven't decided I want to go that route.
Unhappy Birthday to me.
It seems like so much of this shoe is quality-- the wooden platform and the leather on the front are both beautiful quality. The suede, however, is so thin.
I'm very upset. These were beautiful, but now they are unwearble.
So sad!
"
Response from Free People:By Free People5.6.2014
Hi boooosh,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adorable but broke right away
4.15.2014
"First off, let me start by saying this shoes are even more adorable in person. I wore them once for the first time and got compliments right away, BUT after wearing them for a few hours the suede strap that goes across the top of your foot completely ripped. It is impossible to ever wear these again. For a $130 purchase I'm really disappointed."
Response from Free People:By Free People4.17.2014
Hi amato4951,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:slender
compliment magnet
4.12.2014
"These clogs extremely versatile and perfect for transitioning from early spring-summer and into fall because they can be styled with or without socks. They are strappy enough to be a summer staple as well. Although I wouldn't suggest wearing them if you're walking miles, they are more comfortable than I expected. The heel looks quite high from the back, but the platform reduces the slope of the heel. As was mentioned in one of the previous comments, (and i think this is a really good thing to be aware of for online shoppers) for all you american ladies, european sizing conversion works like this: you take the second number and subtract half a size. (a 40 is a 9.5, a 38 is a 7.5, and so on). Therefore, i think they're pretty much on point as far as sizing goes. Also.. these shoes are compliment magnets! I have yet to wear these without being noticed, so if you are hesitating, definitely buy them! xx."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
New favorite shoe
3.25.2014
"As a petite lady, I'm constantly on the hunt for shoes that will give me that nice boost in height while remaining both comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. This shoe encompasses all those qualities and more. I've been able to wear them for an eight hour shift racing around a high volume store & subsequently into the night for a concert with friends (true story).
Excellent craftsmanship. Excellent design. Chunky enough to balance out most ensembles, but not overwhelmingly chunky to the point of almost-clown-shoe status. The style pairs well with a multitude of outfits for a vast array of occasions (and I do think my opting for one of the neutral colors, tan, greatly assists with this). However, I did have to size up a half size after being a pretty solid 6 for 10+ years now. And, you have zero ability of ever being stealth while strutting around in these bad boys -- they're pretty loud, especially on a wooden floor. But that's just the nature of the wooden clog, I suppose.
Other than these above-mentioned minor things, this was an overall awesome purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute Shoe but Became Unwearable
3.17.2014
"These shoes are so cute and I am so upset to report that I truly was only able to wear them about 5 times. Afterwards the suede stretched so much, making them totally unwearable. I tried using the straps to hold them up; I even punched my own hole to make it tighter, but then they began to rip. I do not recommend buying them and have to say I am so unimpressed with FP on this. :-/ Really disappointing, especially since my dear cousin worked for them for years in the Bay area."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Don't buy!
3.15.2014
"I wore these twice and the flimsy ankle strap ripped. Also, the small leather ankle ties were hard to manage. They kept on coming undone as i walked. I ordered a 7.5, but they stretched out after the second wear time, so if you still insist on buying these, stick to your original size.
I loved these so much. But, after spending almost $140 the shoe shouldn't rip after the second wear. I'm not sure why they didn't make the ankle strap a strong leather like the upper.
I returned them. Don't buy!"
Response from Free People:By Free People3.18.2014
Hi calm,

We're sorry to hear about your Belmont Leather Clog. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make this right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:41-45
body type:slender
stylish and confy
3.14.2014
"I hesitated a long time before buying these clogs, although I loved them the second I saw them. However, they turned out to be much less noisy or heavy than I expected and they look even better in real life than in pictures. I wear 36 (35 for sandals) and ordered 36, and they turned out perfect with or without socks. My favorite footwear!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
HOLY GRAIL!
3.10.2014
""Ive been looking for the perfect clog for about a year now and I have finally found them! These shoes are ridiculously comfortable, soooo cute, and great quality. Ive worn them for 7 hours straight and not one complaint. I ordered a size 40 in the tan (Im a US 9) and they fit perfectly. I probably couldn't wear them with chunky socks as i wanted to but thats ok. The only issue I have us the straps being super loose, but thats nothing a good shoe man can't fix! Cant wait to wear them all spring and summer!""
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Nebraska
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Super Swooning Over These Clogs
3.5.2014
"Really love these clogs. Was worried about the fit (normally a size 7.5) so I ordered the 38 and they fit perfect. Lovely craftsmanship and lightweight. Will possibly be ordering another pair!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Georgia, USA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
LOVE THESE SHOES
3.4.2014
"I saw these online and they were out of my size. So I called every store that said they might have my size and eventually found them, They arrived in the mail and ever since I have worn them. I got the taupe color and they are the perfect shade of brown. I normally wear an 8.5 or 9 in US sizes. I ordered the 39 and they fit perfectly. Love the shoes."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
I didn't need to size up
2.28.2014
"After reading the reviews I decided to size up in the black. I am usually a 6 or 6.5 so I ordered the 37. Mistake :( they are a size too big so I am very suprised so many people found them to run small. I am bummed as they will cost me a pretty penny to ship back from Canada. Wish I had just ordered the 36. Otherwise I love the shoe super comfortable and well made!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Love it!
2.26.2014
"I have been wanting these shoes for some time and finally treated myself! They are beautiful but run small. I usually wear a 37 but will be sending these back to exchange for a 38. Can't wait to wear them!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:31-35
body type:petite
The Perfect Heel Clog!!!
2.24.2014
"I had been eyeing these clogs for several months... I looked around online to see if I could find anything comparable for a lower price, but decided these were it to as you do get what you pay for!!! Also, I really didn't find anything else that was crafted so nicely. I bought them in the tan color and it's just as it looks in the pics. I'm more than pleased; they are very well made! They are top quality and are comfy to wear. The leather is very pretty and soft with just the right amount of patina. I don't use the smaller leather strap criss-crossed around my ankle b/c I just don't care for it (I knew I'd leave it off before I purchased based on the website pics). I'm sure it looks nice on others, but I simply prefer how the clogs look with only the fastening strap. Leaving the smaller strap off does not alter the wearability or aesthetic of the clogs at all. I did end up taking them into my neighborhood cobbler to have some "traction pads" applied to the soles (they are very slick). I anticipated doing this from reading through the reviews. I also had the cobbler punch 2 additional holes in the strap so they fit more snug (I do this for almost all my shoes w/ straps so it's not a design issue with these clogs). I am very much looking forward to wearing these year round with all types of outfits... they are my new universal casual option and I'm smitten."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Belmont Leather Clog
Name:
Location:Westen Canada
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Wide toe
2.18.2014
"I seldom have issues with shoes not being snug enough but these were very wide. I always wear a 38 and my feet are wide so this really surprised me.
Cute for sure but they do fit wide.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>