Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Watercolor Stitches Dress

pWoven sleeveless dress with print and stitch embroidery on the top. Pintucking button closure on the front with drawstring dropwaist. Tiered ruffle bottom hem. Twisted keyhole at the back with smocking. pp 84 Cotton, 16 Silk br Hand Wash br Imported ppMeasurements for Size 6 br Length 35 14 br Chest 32 12p
overall average rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Review 1 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Need a slip
6.20.2009
" I bought the white and it is pretty see through. It definitely needs a slip. The dress is a little big at my waist and isn't as flowy at the bottom at in the picture. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Long Island
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Great Dress!
6.9.2009
" I bought this dress a week ago, and wanted to wear it every day since then! It is shear so I wear it with a cami underneath it, and leggings. It is easy to wear and fits well! Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:santa barbara, ca
age:26-30
body type:petite
Adorable and great detail
4.15.2009
" Ran a little small. I'm a size 0, always XS, and I thought this would be a litte looser. I can't button all the buttons. But, it's still adorable with a slip underneath or over a bikini for the beach. Wrinkles very easily, but I love the detail, the craftsmanship and the overall style of the top. Can be worn with jeans, tights shorts or as a dress with a slip, so it's versitile. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Adorable.
4.14.2009
" I love this dress. It is unique, like some of the other reviewers noted, such as the twist at the top back. I am a true dress size 4, and it seems pretty true to size. The fabric is a bit sheer, but when worn with jeans and a racer back tank, this looks super cute. I also wear the dress with a light jersey dress underneath to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Stow OH
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful embroidery!
4.9.2009
" I saw this dress in the spring catalog and had to have it. When it arrived most everything was fine except for the length and fit through the torso, I'm 5' and 105 lbs so the 4 I ordered was slightly to big, sent it back for a 2 and can't wait for it to get back to me. Only problem is that the dress has little to no stretch (which is why I ordered up) so if your large busted it may be an issue. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:mpls
age:41-45
body type:athletic
snug in bust
4.7.2009
" The fabric and embroider is beautiful. The dress is sheer and feminine. The back top of neck has an odd twist. I am not sure if it was made that way or if it is a sewing mistake. I am calling about that. Dress worth the purchase if it is made with the twist or not, but, very odd. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:michigan
age:over 45
body type:athletic
watercolor dress
4.7.2009
" This is a cute dress; however, it's very transparent. It was a little on the short side as well, but well-made and as pictured. Runs true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Hollywood, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
If I could give it 3.5 stars I would...
4.4.2009
" This dress is adorable but not even worth the $40. Its very sheer just as everyone stated and just looks kind of cheap. It's also odd because its very difficult to put on. Don't get me wrong, once its on, its cute but it was like I couldn't get it up over my hips or over my shoulders without struggling and that was weird because I have a very boyish figure. I wanted to use it as a swimsuit cover but because it was so difficult to take on and off I don't think thats very practical. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:90035
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great summer dress
3.26.2009
" Love this dress! Very sheer. Looks good with bright colors underneath. Runs very snug in bust but rest of the fit is slightly baggy. Length is much longer than I thought it would be. But Wearing a belt helped it stay at my desired length. Overall very cute dress that will get you lot's of compliments. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:D.C.
age:21-25
body type:petite
Good Swimsuit Cover Dress
3.20.2009
" I wear a size 00 and have a small C chest. The size 0 dress fit great on the top portion for me. But the bottom portion had some exccess fabric around the hips and lower back. Basically, the dress looks like it has folded areas because my small body lacks something to fill it in with. Also, being 5'4 I found the dress is neither too short or too long.
I'm hoping I can shrink the baggy regions in the wash without ruining it.
Overall, I look forward to wearing this dress as a coverup over a swimsuit and strolling around the beach.
Cons and Warnings: Buttons are rather thin and hard to put through closures. Fabric is rather sheer. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:florida
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great Dress
3.18.2009
" I absolutely love this dress. I am short so the length allows me to wear this as a dress with no worries. It is sheer but that allows it to be a great swim suit cover up. I ordered the white and bought the "Tie Dye Ruffles slip" in purple to wear under it for when I need more coverage. I do need to leave the top buttons undone but it looks better that way. Also, the silk blend gives the fabric a slight shimmer in the sun. I get tons of compliments, even from strangers, when I wear this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful Dress
3.5.2009
" I loved this dress as soon as I opened the package. It does run a bit snug in the bust area. I am petite, but have an hourglass figure and while it fits perfectly everywhere else I need to leave the first 3 buttons undone. Great quality and just a very lovely, feminine dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:san francsico
age:36-40
body type:slender
cute
2.15.2009
" This dress is great as a cover up on the beach, the material is really thin so you do need to wear top and bottom with it. The fit is fairly accurate, Im 5'6 and 115 lbs, so I needed a size 6, but it fits like the the photo. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Watercolor Stitches Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:petite
Not what i thought
1.22.2009
" This dress is super cute in the picture, but when i received it i wasn't thrilled with how it looked on. i chose to return it because of the length (i thought it would be shorter but it went down close to my knees) and the thinness of the material. Im sure this top would be great as a summer dress or a cover up to a bathing suit, it just wasn't the look i was going for. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large