Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Ballet Platform

Leather platform with elastic band detailing in the front that can be tightened and tied around the ankle. Rubberized bottom. *4 " tall heel, 1 " platform *Jeffrey Campbell
overall average rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for Ballet Platform
Review 1 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:14-20
body type:slender
order a size larger!
9.22.2011
" I'm a size 7 1/2 or 8 usually and bought a 9 after reading the reviews (I was super nervous buying that large of a size and almost didn't buy them) the 9's fit perfectly!
They're easy to walk in. I can wear them all day without my feet getting sore.
The only thing is that the elastic bands dig into my feet :( I think its probably because of my size of foot though. It's not super comfortable but it's not unbearable either.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 2 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
It looks NICE with dresses or trousers!
9.9.2011
" I am a size 6 and I decided to buy a size 6 as well. For me, it is true to size. I just need to loosen and adjust the elastic band by myself when I wear it. It is a nice pair of platform. However, I rated it as 4 stars because the elastic band is a bit worn out at the front. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:31-35
body type:petite
Too narrow a fit
9.7.2011
" These shoes look fab- on the model's feet. When I placed them on, the laces were cutting into my flesh so bad that no amount of readjustment could help. The cut at the front was also rather narrow so my toes ended up looking bunched up most of the time, and what with the wide angle of the toe spring adding to the strain on the feet...Love JC shoes but this is a case of form over substance. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 4 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:14-20
body type:petite
Favorite Shoe..ever.
8.2.2011
" Let me preface this review by saying I have very narrow feet. I think that's the only reason they work for me. The shoe bed is TTS, so it really comes down to the width of your foot. If I had a wide foot I would not purchase this shoe...sizing up would make the shoe too long lengthwise. However, if you have skinny feet, you will LOVEEEEEE. They aren't uncomfortable at all to me. However, they are kind of a pain to put on. It seriously probably takes me 5 minutes to put on and readjust the elastic so each eyelet's strand is pulled taut and even looking. I find it worth it though. Also, I have very narrow ankles as well and as it may be possible to tie the strand around my ankles, it would be uncomfortable.. plus I think it looks nicer without doing so. I'm pumped to wear them for the first time. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
NARROW!
6.14.2011
" These are narrow even by JC standards... they fit more like Dolce Vita. To make these work, plan on going to Hobby Lobby and findng some lace that suits your fancy, cutting out the elastic, and re-threading with the lace. Otherwise these will be too narrow. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 6 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:san diego,ca
age:41-45
body type:curvy
OUCH!
6.6.2011
" I love me some Jeffrey Campell shoes. The typically sky-high styles are right up my alley. Anyway, I got my regular shoe size (6) and they fit fine. However, the elastic shoelaces? WOW. Talk about pain. And not so attractive either, when they are laced up, digging into my skin and flesh is popping out between the laces, giving the effect of a sausage. The nude color is GORGEOUS, and the style is as cute as can be, but the overall effect is not. Also, what with the extreme angle of the heel, my foot slid forward in the shoe, accentuating the sausage-ness. Sadly they must go back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 7 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:petite
Really Incredable Shoe
6.5.2011
" I took a chance on this shoe after reading all the negative reviews simply because i loved the way they looked so much on the website, i got a size ten in black but my regular size nine would have fit fine. This shoe is gorgeous! and VERY comfortable, i wear them all the time all day and night and have very little problems, just make sure you dont tie the banding to tight, and i can rap the banding around my ankle like shown in the picture. My favorite pair of shoes i own! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 8 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Sana Clarita
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Great Shoes but HORRIBLE design
6.1.2011
" First, let me start by saying that so far every pair of JC shoes I have ordered have been sized differently which is really irritating, I have to go off of customer reviews to figure out which size I should order and several times they have still been to small. For example, one pair of clogs ran TWO sizes small. Im a 7.5 and a 9 fit me. The 8's had to be sent back. This is quite maddening to me.
I read all the reviews on these shoes so I pretty much knew I would have to change the design of the elastic straps. All reviews were right on target with the fact that the laces are too short and these shoes are EXTREMELY difficult (if not impossible) to even get on with them laced. They are really cute on but truely a horrible design. I have ended up making them work by changing the laces to only go up half way in grommets and tie the rest around my ankle. The elastic they come with is also too short to fully lace and then lace around your ankle. Not possible. This is the only way Im able to get them on my feet. Its a pain to unlace them as the ends of ribbon/elastic fray. You would probably be able to do the same thing (only lace up half way) with the elastic it comes with. As for sizing..Suprise. These run differently then my other JCs. I ordered an 8 (because of reviews) and the 8 actually fit me fine. I am normally a 7.5 with a normal to slim width foot. If your willing to put some work into these beauties then buy them. If your not, dont waste the money. You will have to return them "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 9 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Washington
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
So cute!
5.20.2011
" First off, these shoes are ADORABLE. I decided to risk getting them because they had one of my size left. Normally I wear around a size 9, occasionally a 9.5 if I know they run small. I actually think these fit pretty darn well! The leather is very soft and feels pretty pliable, so while they're a little tight on my bigger foot right now, I think it'll stretch fine, because it started to stretch a little even while trying them on. If you don't like the elastics on them, they are just knotted into place, so they are easily removable and replaceable. Like others have said, there's no way you could put them on your ankles, but if you put in your own string, you might be able to (you can get the same type of elastic at any fabric store for a dollar or two, tops, or get a wider elastic or ribbon for similar charge). I also wasn't sure about getting a "nude" type shoe, but I'm pretty well sold on them. The only downside for me is that the way the heel is built makes it a little difficult to walk; there was lots of ankle rolling to start with. If you are thinking about getting these, especially since they're on sale, DO IT! Maybe size up, though, if you're really nervous, but I don't think it's required. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Shoe Incredible, Elastic Uncomfortable
5.2.2011
" Got these in nude, size 9. First of all, these shoes have a wonderful look to them -- the perfect combination of function and whimsy. The leather is soft, supple and slightly wrinkled, just like the handmade loafers I bought at a market in Buenos Aires. The wood is smooth and beautifully varied in color. I found the sizing to be true to JCs. I have three other pairs of JCs in size nine, which fit perfectly, and one in a size ten, which is quite loose. What makes these appear to be so small and uncomfortable is the elastic lacing, which I am going to switch out for silk ribbon. Once I loosened it up quite considerably, by taking the elastic out of three of the grommets, it became much easier to slip into and to wear. Summary: the shoe itself is gorgeous, true to JC size, of good quality, and is comfortable, but the elastic needs to be replaced with something less binding. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:louisiana
age:21-25
body type:athletic
run a half size small
4.11.2011
" I am size 6.5 in most every shoe and i ordered the seven in this. there is even still a little wiggle room and you can adjust the laces accordingly. my foot is neither narrow or wide. all in all, i love this shoe!! not for super long wear but they look sooooo cute with summer dresses yay! don't listen to the reviews that say to order a full size up. My mom's foot is a size 7 and these even fit her. her's is a little narrower than mine so that may be why. LOVE YOU JC! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Love them
4.7.2011
" I love these shoes!!! I normally wear a size 8, but I got these in a 9 and they fit perfectly. They are very sexy! I would suggest that you get them a whole size larger and you will not feel any pain. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:slender
So cute on
4.7.2011
" So these shoes are as cute on the feet as they are in the catalogue/online.
The thing you can't see here is that the lighter color, the nude color, they look a little worn And if you like that sort of thing, which I do, it looks pretty cool.
My only lament about these shoes is that they are very tight and leave those many little lines on your feet after you have been wearing them.
But they look great with socks too!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Minnesnowta
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Ballet Platform
4.2.2011
" So I guess I'm not sure if my feet or weird or what, but I absolutely loved these shoes. After reading the reviews, I sized up to an 8 (I normally wear a 7) but I definitely didn't need to. They look a little too long in the front.
But as far as the laces go, I had PLENTY left and I don't consider myself to have skinny feet or ankles. The strings weren't long enough to wrap around twice like the picture, but there was definitely enough for once and a bow.
I really love these shoes, but I wish I would have gotten a 7. I'm not sure if they'd be in stock long enough to exchange, though :(
Definitely a 5 star shoe. The nude color is beautiful.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:CO
age:36-40
body type:petite
Dead Sexy!
3.28.2011
" Well, I sized up for starters to an 8 (yes, thanks other reviewers) from my true 7.5 size. When I first tried them on, they were not even close to comfortable. But after adjusting the elastic some and stretching the leather at the heel a bit, they are way more comfortable. I even have enough lacing to wrap around my ankle once or twice. Oh yes, they are so sexy on and all my friends covet my shoes. But, when the boyfriend says they are dead sexy, then they are keepers for sure. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:michigan
age:36-40
body type:athletic
OUCH!~
3.23.2011
" I adored these when I first saw them and bought them immediately. I listened to everyone who said they ran big an ordered a size up...and they were way too bi, so I returned them and got them in my normal size and they fit perfectly. They absolutley fit true to size. They are cute as all get out, and I got tons of compliments. They are easy to walk in, despite how they look. The problems is they were KILLING my feet within 5 minutes..no joke..sitting down! The straps are SO tights my toe next to my pinky went 100% numb after unbearable pain. I was in a professional meeting and had to take them off they hurt so badly. When I did my feet were swollen and looked like 2 softballs. This was after only having them on less than an hour, and like I said was sitting own the whole time!! When I took my tights off, I literally had indentations from the straps that were so deep and red, they didn't go away until the next day. There is no getting around it...even if you order a bigger size, those laces will dig into your feett. I don't care how much you love them, or if they're giving them away fro free. They are simply impossilbe to wear...even if you popped a few painkillers!! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Southern Ca.
age:36-40
body type:slender
I like them...
3.21.2011
" I read all the reviews and decided to buy them one size up. I'm a 7 - 7.5 with a average to slender foot, so I went with the 8. I did have to spend a little time getting the laces in a place where they were comfortable, but once I did that they were fine. I wore them all night. The laces will not be long enough to tie around your ankle. SUPER CUTE ON! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:21-25
body type:slender
Precious, about comfort.
3.17.2011
" Pros: They are precious, no other word to describe how they look. They are the perfect peachy/nude, and they can go with everything. I think they fit a half size small. I usually wear an 8 and went with size 9... but they look a tad big at the toes.
Cons: The reason they are slightly uncomfortable is because of the lacing. It is elastic!!! Since it is elastic, it pulls into your skin, it is the same feel as wearing a hair tie on your wrist when it gets a little tight, and indents your skin. The shoe itself is comfortable. I am going to buy some small width ribbon to see if that would be more comfortable.
All in all, they are really gorgeous shoes, but like any heel.. They are not meant for all day wear.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Better than expected
10.15.2010
" I had better luck than some of the reviewers - these shoes fit perfectly and were not uncomfortable. Here's a tip: do not undo the laces, just slide your foot behind the elastic and shove down. My foot is a little wide and I was worried this shoe might be narrow, but it popped right in. The elastic was all bunched near the front of my foot but I just pulled it back up to rearrange.
I did not notice discomfort even without wearing stockings; however, I have not had a chance to walk a lot in these yet.
I ordered the nude color and they have a very slight stain finish to show the leather texture. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ballet Platform
Name:
Location:Gilbert, AZ
age:14-20
body type:petite
amazing!
10.14.2010
" I got these shoes in the mail today. I haven't worn them for a night out yet but I don't think I will have any problem. I am a 7.5 and I ordered the 8 because the reviews said they run a bit small (thanks guys!) and the 8 fits me perfect. Just to let you guys know- if you get these shoes, there is NO possible way that you can wear them how they have them in the pictures. The strings aren't long enough to tie them around your ankle like that. It IS possible to do because the strings are stretchy but it is highly uncomfortable because then the string is too tight on the rest of the foot. I loosened them as far as I could and now they fit well and the strings aren't too tight. I am a little disappointed that I can't tie them around my ankle like she has in the pic but they are still way cute the way I am going to have to wear them. These shoes are such a good addition to any shoe collection!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 next>>