Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Overholt Ankle Boot

Distressed faux leather western-style ankle boots with two wrapped ankle buckle straps. Zips up the back heel. Low heeled. Real leather inside lining. *By Jeffrey Campbell
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Overholt Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
just right
12.4.2013
"It took me a while to decide on a good cut-out bootie and I was so happy when I got these! They need a good leather protector before wearing. They are unexpectedly comfortable and the heel height is just right. Overall really pleased with this purchase!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
great!
11.28.2013
"These little boots are gorgeous quality and are very versatile. I've worn them with tights, skinny jeans, rolled up boyfriend jeans, and boot cut jeans and they make the outfit every time. I get compliments every time I wear them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Scottsdale
age:26-30
body type:petite
I am in love!!! cant wait to wear them
9.24.2013
"I normally wear a 7.5 and had to order a 6.5 since they are not real leather I know they will loosen up a bit. Very versitile litterally wear them with everything. Comfortable too!
My 2nd pair of JC and other than the size im totally stoked about them : )
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Alberta
age:26-30
body type:petite
Love them but they cut me.
9.17.2013
"I love these boots, they are true to size and I can wear them with everything... but when I wear them they cut into the back of my ankle, they literally cut my legs. Does this happen to anyone else? I have only worn them around 3 times because of this, and I could wear them with tights but they look so cute with rolled up bf jeans.
help.
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.18.2013
There are little heel gel pads that you can buy at a convenience store that just might do the trick. Try this out and if they don't work email us at service@freepeople.com for further assistance. Hope this helps! I've used them on plenty of my heeled shoes and they work like a charm xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:over 45
body type:slender
Don't love these boots
9.14.2013
"I am not a vegan, so the fact that these are not leather wasn't a personal preference. These boots look great in the photos but in person they looked kind of plastic-y. I prefer leather more than... what ever man made material these boots are made of. I didn't like the cut of the boots around the toes either, it just looked cheap and poorly made to me. So I returned them and ordered another pair of FP boots, made by FP (not Jeffrey Campbell) in leather that I love. This is the second time i have returned JC boots, so far I am not impressed by his workmanship."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Great fall boot!
9.10.2013
"I've been looking for something that could make the transition from summer to fall in the PNW. Something I could wear with a short skirt and sweater for the next few weeks, then wear with jeans in the winter. The cut out makes these perfect! I'm usually a size 8.5 and got a size 9, and am satisfied with the fit. You can tighten up the buckle a bit, and they make your ankles look great. I am completely satisfied with the quality for the price of these guys. First pair of JC's, and see many more in my future..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
love!
8.30.2013
"Love these boots. They are not as distressed as they look in the picture, but the leather is beautiful. They are super comfy and I have worn them while being fairly active and my feet are still happy. Definitely worth the purchase"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Asheville, NC
age:over 45
body type:petite
ATTRACTIVE, BUT NARROW
8.28.2013
"I'm normally a size 6.5 or 7, but I had to send these back for a size 8 just to get my high-instepped regular-width foot into these. they're really great looking, and I'm keeping the size 8. One more note - they end right at the place on your foot where it makes it look like you've been truncated at the ankles, so I only plan on wearing them with leggings or pants. They're not a true black, more of a distressed black."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:CALiFoRNiA
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
all year round boot
8.28.2013
"JC has done it again! So in love with these boots the moment I saw them online. I was worried about the heel being too high and not being able to work for longer periods BUT they are actually very comfortable & I can wear them all day long! You can wear these all year long with dresses, jeans, leggings, shorts, etc. The black washed out color gives them a little vintage look. I have been getting a lot of compliments with them."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Coolest boots I've ever worn
8.27.2013
"I am so in love with these boots. After a long hunt for the perfect ankle booties, I found these and ordered them within minutes of seeing the photos. The leather is soft and flexible, the heel is a nice height for work or play, and the washed finish gives them a sexy laidback feel. Love that the buckles are adjustable- I have narrow feet and my ankles usually swim in boots, a quick adjustment and my ankles weren't swimming so much. There's still room on the sides of my feet but this allows the wearer to add some cute socks without discomfort."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Crazy Sexy Cool
8.25.2013
"Omg what a sexy boot. Comfortable, TTS. but not distressed like in the photos. My black pair looked new but that's cool bc they look much much better not distressed.
The straps, the cutout design, the western boot style all work in tandem in this beautiful boot."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love them!!
8.21.2013
"These boots are so cute and comfortable! I have ridiculously wide feet and I am an 8.5 so I wanted to order a 9 or 9.5 especially since JC runs narrow than the usual, at least for me. But unfortunately, all they had was a size 10. I ordered them anyways and the worst thing that could happen was for me to exchange it for another pair, but as soon as I put them on they were so comfortable and so cute even though they are an inch bigger than my actual size.
Definitely keeping them! Would look so cute with my FP boyfriend jeans or skinny jeans!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Cute and Trendy
8.17.2013
"These boots are adorable and the heel height makes them super comfortable to walk in. I found them to be true to size.
Several people have referred to them as summer boots. I live in Houston so these will be worn all winter with a thin pair of socks.
The reason for the 4 stars? I ordered the black wash. I don't quite like the color but I am keeping them anyway b/c I have a lot of gray and these will match perfectly.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Trendy
8.9.2013
"I read reviews before ordering this shoe, which I believe is on trend. Because it was reviewed as "run large", while usually a size 11, I ordered the 10 (maximum size they had).
It runs true to size, so the 10 was too small for me, so I had to return it.
But it is a trendy shoe, for the right size.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:sp
age:14-20
body type:slender
in love
8.3.2013
"In regards to the people saying that the shoe isn't vegan -- it is! But not entirely :) I own a pair of vegan Jeffrey Campbell litas by Convert and both arrived with the same strong vegan leather smell and feel. The only part that isn't vegan is the inside of the shoe. Regardless, it's beautiful and I always get compliments when I wear it. It also fits true to size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Cute but not vegan
6.28.2013
"While these boots are really cute, and I do like the height of the heel, when I bought them the description only said "faux leather" (I had come across the boots after searching vegan on the site), so I thought they were completely vegan. Unfortunately they are lined with real leather, as I found out after the description was updated and I had already bought the shoes."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.2.2013
We're sorry to hear this! Our team will be in touch to help. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:athletic
NOT vegan
5.16.2013
"While these are super cute, I gave only 2 stars because I purchased them because I thought they were vegan. Only CONVERT sells Jeffrey Campbell vegan styles. These are lined in lots of leather from an animal. So not vegan. Please change description FP. Thanks."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.16.2013
So sorry about that -- we are updating our product information and will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
summertime staple.
5.15.2013
"fell in love with these boots the moment i laid eyes on them. unfortunately i had to order a half a size up than my usual size as the 7s were sold out and i didn't want to wait for them to be restocked. as expected they were a tad too big but I wear them with halve socks so they are perfect! the socks also helps my feet from sweating and stops my feet from sliding which can cause blisters, so i would recommend them. with that being said, these boots are true to size and so comfortable to walk in. i purchased them in the distressed black and it's the perfect shade to match any outfit. the cutout and the buckles gives it the perfect edge to an ordinary pair of boots and perfect for summertime wear! the photos do not do the shoes justice .. so glad i found my summertime staple! xoxo.<3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:orange county
age:31-35
body type:petite
so fashionable!
5.4.2013
"I was really excited to receive these in the mail. These are first western style boots I've owned. I was thrilled these are so Comfortable! I'm a size 36 and bought them in a 6. I think they run a little big, but they are so cute! They ate faux leather but you can't tell! I bought them in the black. They are a Faded black color. Don't miss out on these because they will sell out ! Y't ever go wrong with Jeffrey !"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Overholt Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Very sexy boot
4.29.2013
"I'm so excited that I ordered these before they where sold out in my size. Mine arrived today and I'm happy to report that they fit TTS and that they are super comfortable. So far I've been wearing them for the past 3 hours to make sure they don't rub and they do not at all. I even venture out to the grocery store in them and my feet feel great. This boot has a 2 1/2 inch heel. I love the way they look. Currently I'm wearing them with skinny jeans and the texture on them looks great in person and really adds dimension to the shoe and my outfit. I will definitely going to get a lot of use out of them since they will go with so many outfits. I can't wait to try them out with some of my dresses and skirts."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large