Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Embroidered Button Front Slip

Sheer mesh slip dress with button front opening and gorgeous embroidered detailing all over. Peter pan style sheer mesh collar in front. An amazing layering piece for all seasons! *92% Polyester, 8% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 43" Bust (all around): 37" Waist (all around): 33" Armhole Drop: 9 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Review 1 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Awesome layering piece!!!!!!!
6.2.2014
"I was lucky enough to snag this in the beautiful plum color pictured. I went with a small. I'm 5'6 and 106lbs. It is awesome with the embroidered babydoll slip in cream.
Please Free People......restock this dress!!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:United States
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Ordered once, ordered again
8.31.2013
"I love this. I saw other folks wearing it, but didn't know it is this one. I finally found it and ordered the cream color, and then ordered the wine color again. Can't wait to get it. I love it so much. It is true to size, but I like it not too loose, so I ordered it in XS, normally my size swings from S-M just depends on... I love not to close the buttons so leave it like cadi. Pretty cute on me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
More beautiful in person
7.29.2013
"I did not look twice at this on the website but one of the girls at Water Tower suggested I try it on in Ivory because she thought it was very me. She was right! I absolutely love it as a long, dreamy vest. Not so much as a dress, I think it looks frumpy on me that way. But they only had a size M but could not locate one anywhere else in XS. So I passed on it. I also wasn't sure about buying a piece of almost-nothing lace for $148. But I put my name down on the website in case an XS got returned... When it happened, I chalked it down to fate and bought it. No regrets here. I love wearing it over longer dresses as a vest. I even had to buy a few more plain long knit dresses just for this vest. The details on the lace are just amazing and the pictures on the website do not do this slip justice. For reference, I'm 5'0, 85 lbs."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful slip dress
7.1.2013
"I have this in ivory and it is the most beautiful dress I think I have ever owned. I tend to wear it with the ivory seamless slip underneath, though sometimes I wear the black one-and this really makes all the beautiful details in the dress pop!!
My usual size fits a little bit loose but I like that as the weight of the lacy fabric means it hangs perfectly from the waist.. The lovely little collar adds a beautiful accent to the dress and I have worn it with another slip (from another company-boo!) over it and the collar peeping over the top-and it looked lovely. I tend not to wear this dress too often as it is so precious and I like that I have a beautiful dress that I can save for the best occasions!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Soooo Gorgeous<3
6.22.2013
"Got this today and wore it to work with the ivory seamless slip underneath. The details on this dress are incredible, and it's so floaty and pretty. I'm normally an s or m in FP sizes, but I'd say the bust is a bit narrow on this (I'm a 34D) so I just stuck with a medium for a little extra room up there. There are little ties on the back part of the waist that cinch it in, so I don't have to worry about any extra fabric. The plum colour is also really beautiful in person. Great fit, and a beautiful piece to have!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:London
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Stunning dress
6.17.2013
"I hesitated for a while before purchasing this dress coz it is not my usual tomboy style, but it is just too beautiful on the pictures and I couldn't help ordering it online. The detail of this dress is so delicate and it is totally worth the price! I received a lot of compliment and it is a real head-turner! =)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Plus size pear girl review
6.1.2013
"I am pear shaped and currently a size US 18/16 (depending). Bought this is the cream color size LARGE and it is really STUNNING! I have been searching for a lace dress that was more boho casual and didn't look like I was wearing a wedding dress. I didn't really expect it to fit just yet (process of losing weight) but to my surprise it fit all buttoned up! That's why I stated it runs large. Perfect cut for a pear shapes as it cinches at waist and flows over hips but not poofy. There are ties in the back so as I continue to lose weight I will be able to cinch it even more. I highly recommended this to the curvy girls out there especially pear shapes. It's so pretty I can't stop looking at it! :o)"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Russia
age:31-35
body type:slender
terribly
5.31.2013
"It looks awfully cheap as net to catch fish :). Polyester never looks rich. Cheap vulgar robe. Absolutely not worth the money."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.31.2013
So sorry you weren't happy with your slip. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:N. California
age:36-40
body type:curvy
lovely embroidery
5.24.2013
"What a lovely piece! I have waited to order it for months until my birthday/mother's day present for myself. It is a little pricy for my budget, but it is totally worthy!! I can't wait to wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
stunning piece
3.16.2013
"bought the plum color and it is so beautiful in person. This is a great layering piece with a lot of possibilities. would highly recommend to anyone. i'm 5' 11" and love the length."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Embroidered Button Front Slip
3.6.2013
"This slip is more beautiful in real than it is in the pictures. The embroidered detail is just divine. It is a stunning piece, so glad that I got it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
dissapointed
3.5.2013
"I ordered the plum, since the color was a beautiful purple plum, but the dress I received was a reddish purple, looked awful, will have to return it. Otherwise it was really well made, and the fabric was nice, not flimsy.
Also people who have a short torso, shouldn't buy this, since the waist falls at an odd place.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:New York, NY, USA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Amazing
2.24.2013
"Just purchased this slip and I can honestly say that it is my favourite piece in my wardrobe. It's so stunning, and when you walk into a room you feel like everyone is looking at you when you're wearing it. It's so detailed and perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Auckland, NZ
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love it
2.20.2013
"Very romantic. Runs quite large. I purchased the ivory, which is an off white colour. Happy with dress.Very girlie and feminine. I seem to have an obsession for dresses that are like old fashioned nighties!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:CHINA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Exquisite design
2.18.2013
"Look at the photos think this dress is very beautiful.I compare like ivory color.More can display the beautiful embroidery .Like the design of the dress. Lovely small lapel ,The waist with elastic accept waist, and match with silk chatelaine, more random nature, full of leisure vacation wind.But the embroidery workmanship rough ,There are holes in dress ,So only rated 4 stars ."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Lovely, romantic dress
2.12.2013
"The dress is delicate, but very well made. The lace is stunning and the whole vibe is romantic and feminine.
I am 5'4" and a size 14 with a 36DD chest. I was worried that I would be sized out of this dress, but the large actually fits with no pulling buttons across the chest. On my body, this fits more like a typical dress than a loose layer piece. I was worried that at my "age" it might be too youthful (no one wants to look like mutton dressed up as lamb), but it looks great with boots, belt and a cropped cardigan. It got the big thumbs up from my teenage daughter.
I bought the Ivory color. Please note.... it is true Ivory with a creamy cast. It is NOT white. For this reason, I think you might need to play a little with what color you wear underneath. I thought a white slip was too stark and a champagne colored one looked too pink against the dress. Black made the lace detail POP too much for my taste. I had the best luck with a silk, greyish-taupe slip dress."
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Living on the beach in Margate NJ
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Simply beautiful
11.5.2012
"I bought this slip in the beige color. I am 5ft 5 and a half and have an athletic build. This fits like a dream and is very beautiful.. I plan to wear sweaters over it in the winter and when I visit Costa Rica in February I can peel my layers off. Looks great with Frye boots under it. I have other slips from Free People so I have found one I like under this slip . This slip is very sheer! YOU must wear something under it! I wonder about the rope tie though... I would have used another kind of tie with this but YOU can't go wrong with this slip! YOU can do so much with it! I love love love it! treat yourself and buy it.. The compliments will never stop!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
age:31-35
body type:petite
Simply Amazing!
10.25.2012
"Let me start by saying this is one of the most beautiful FP pieces I've owned over the years. It is definitely delicate so beware of possible snags but the embroidered bow and floral design is stunningly romantic, yet the style has a hint of bohemian. The collar adds a nice school-girl touch too. Great combinations! It's 100% sheer. I purchased the FP seamless slip in ivory to wear underneath, which looks great, but the darn thing rides up. Constantly having to awkwardly adjust under this beautiful slip just didn't seem right. So I returned the seamless slip and purchased a good ole Vanity Fair nude colored flowy slip that works perfectly :)"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Absolutely Gorgeous!
10.19.2012
"I have adored this dress since the moment I first saw it online. I was so excited when one finally came available online. I purchased the dress in ivory. This dress is beautiful. It is very sheer so you must wear a FP slip, body cam, or other FP pieces underneath as layering pieces. The fine detail of the dress is alluring and the material is amazing. The buttons are a perfect touch.The tie around the waist gives more form to the dress when cinched tightly. This is a true bohemian style dress. The fit I found is true to size, I purchased one size up so that I can layer and wear long sleeves underneath, fighting the waist up alleviates the extra waist material from sizing up. A piece to carry you through the seasons and to keep for years to come. I am so in love with this beautiful piece."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Embroidered Button Front Slip
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Beautiful
10.14.2012
"I could have gone with an XS or S in this slip but took the S so that I could layer long sleeves underneath. The S had extra room in the armpit area but not excessive. I went with the ivory color, though the navy was also beautiful (although I didn't like the light . I didn't like the white buttons on navy). A gorgeous, versatile slip."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>