Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

High Waist Scrunch Skirt

Stretch knit high waisted mini skirt with ruched panels on the front and back. Elastic pull on waistband. Fully lined.
overall average rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Review 1 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:florida
age:21-25
body type:slender
decent
10.5.2014
"I bought the olive in Medium and its pretty much what I would expect. I ordered a size up to get extra length, which worked out well. I like the runching on the front and back, to cover up panty lines. Although the length is good, I prefer to wear shorts underneath for extra coverage since it is a mini skirt after all. The color is true to the picture. Overall its a normal mini skirt, so thats why the four stars. Not quite worth $40 bucks, but a good staple piece."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Flattering, great price
6.24.2014
"I have this skirt in both the cherry and the taupe, and both colors are wonderful. There are so many options with this skirt. The ruched panels are very flattering. Can't find a better fitted cotton skirt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:CO
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Love!
4.1.2014
"I'd be so thrilled if they had this skirt in white! It's a great skirt. I have the black one now and it's such a staple."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great skirt but inconsistent sizing.
3.25.2014
"I first bought this skirt in taupe, size s, and fell in love! The material was great and it fit like a glove! I loved it so much that I went to my local Free People store and bought it in black. First off the material didn't quite feel the same and then it took a bit of a struggle to get it on. It definitely still fit just not the same. I was worried about pulling any of the seams loose getting it on. I still bought it anyway because I do like it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Carmel, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Such a great basic!
3.14.2014
"I've been searching for a basic black going out skirt for so long and finally found it! I originally got this in a medium (my normal bottom size) but ended up exchanging it for a small. The ruching is adorable and extremely flattering. This is a perfect staple any girl needs in their closet and I will probably end up getting it in more colors!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:TN
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Disappointed with new style
3.14.2014
"I've been buying this skirt for 4 years. If I had to pick 1 article of clothing out of my closet to be my favorite it would be this skirt (I have multiple colors, and I always replace them when they get worn out). It's extremely flattering and versatile, so when I saw the Cherry color I jumped on it. HOWEVER, when I got it in the mail I was pretty disappointed to find they've changed the fabric it is made with. The old fabric was thicker and very soft, but the new skirt I received was made with a thinner and noticeably cheaper looking/feeling fabric. The old fabric also had a little more stretch to it so it always hugged the right places, but not so much with this one. With these new updates I don't think it's worth the amount of money."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:NY, USA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Cute but fell apart on me.
2.20.2014
"I think this skirt is adorable and own it in 4 different colors, however, after having it for less than a year- the elastic from the waste is completely gone. It is now completely baggy and loose around my waste and basically unwearable and sloppy looking. I'm an extremely loyal FP customer and I find this upsetting because I now can't wear an adorable skirt."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
super cute but...
2.2.2014
"Love this skirt, really flattering and I plan to wear it as long as I can throughout my pregnancy! My only concern is the material..it's rather flimsy and I thought it would be a little more substantial. Still I plan to keep all three colors: black, cherry and taupe. Wish they would upgrade the material and get more colors! I'm usually a medium but could probably get a large so I could grow into it but I'm early so will see how long these can last..."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:curvy
I love this skirt but
1.26.2014
"did anyone else's shrink in the wash?"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:cambridge, mass
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE.
1.23.2014
"I LOVE this skirt! I purchased a small in the taupe color which is really more of a mauve as pictured. I didn't have any problems with it riding up and it is true to size. I also bought the grey big dipper tee it is pictured with and they look so adorable together. love love love! definitely a great staple piece to add to your closet."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE IT
12.28.2013
"This is my go-to mini skirt. It works with everything. It is true to size and incredibly comfortable. I wear it in the summer as is, in the fall with tights and ankle boots, and then even all winter with leggings, high boots, and sweaters. At this price, it cannot be beat! SO tempted to buy more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
Go-To Skirt!
11.11.2013
"The fit and fabric on this gem is amazing. Comfortable, flattering, sexy, great quality as its not a single flimsy layer - the ruching goes a long way in quality. Goes with everything. Love it. Would give it more than 5 stars if I could. I picked up the Fig, and now Im going to pick up some more colors :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:St Simons Island GA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
perfect staple skirt
7.29.2013
"Love this skirt, its a little tight, I usually wear a medium and would go with a large if I had gotten it in one of the lighter colors. Looks just like it does on the model in person"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Size Up!
7.8.2013
"Cute little skirt, great price but it runs very small. I am 5'5" 120 and ordered a Medium. Love the scrunch, very versatile. Soft and the fabric is good quality."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:ontario,canada
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Definitely prefer the original ^^;
6.18.2013
"Like other reviewers,I was SOO excited to see the scrunch skirts being brought back to the site.Unfortunately the fit & fabric of them has been changed since the originals.I purchased this in my usual size Large and struggled to get it over my hips,I was actually nervous it might pop some stitches! Once it was on it didn't feel too tight or uncomfortable,though it def fit slim and I have to be careful getting in/out of it.The fabric is also much thinner,and feels a bit cheaper than my original scrunch skirts,but that I don't mind as much as the fit issue.
I hope the skirts will be revamped to address these issues,as it is very flattering & I'd love to have it more colors/patterns :)
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Denver
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very flattering skirt
6.14.2013
"I bought this in black and really love it. It is the perfect skirt to wear out to a bar, on a date, or even as a day-time piece. It is so basic and simple, it's easy to wear with almost anything. The fabric and cut are comfy and very flattering."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
not like the original design
6.11.2013
"i had bought this same skirt about 2-3 years ago. back then the fabric was thick, soft and very stretchy. I'm 5'7'' and bought the small in black and the taupe color. when i saw that they were making them in other colors i bought the green. when i received it i was so disappointed! the quality was not the same, it wasnt thick at all, quite thin and not as stretchy as the original, i had to struggle to get it on which i dont have to do with the ones i bought before. the quality went down with the new colors they made them in, so for that i have to send it back. when i shop at free people i kinda expect quality with the price point but this one fell wayyy short of that, which sucks because i loved the first 2 i bought! free people please get the old fabric back! the new fabric is terrible in comparison!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.11.2013
Hi, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We'll be sure to share this feedback with our design team! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute, Comfy skirt
6.1.2013
"got this skirt in the peache puree & army green! Ive been wanting an army green skirt forever and this is a wonderful purchase. color is just as pictured, same with the peach. the only odd thing i noticed is the elastic band in the top of the skirt -in my peach colored one its stretchy, normal. however, in the army green one, its really tight and only stretches to a certain point, causing the seams to tear. it was hard to get on at first even though it was the same size as the other one, xs.. not too worried about it though. love this piece!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Easy, flattering, versatile
5.31.2013
"This skirt is really slimming, but still comfortable. Since it is ruched it has the tendency to ride up a little, but doesn't need constant adjustment. It's a little on the short side on me, but my inseam is 37" and I'm sure length shouldn't be a problem on most frames. It does run small though - I'm between sizes and glad I went with the larger. Great skirt!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for High Waist Scrunch Skirt
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Simple Skirt
5.29.2013
"This is a basic, simple cotton mini skirt. Nothing special. Great to have for an effortless dressing up or an easy casual day skirt. I got it in black, for those don't-know-what-to-wear nights out."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>