Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Engineered Stripe Cowl

Cozy cowl neck knit sweater, featuring a stripe pattern across the top.
overall average rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Review 1 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Waterloo, NY
age:over 45
body type:slender
The best!
3.11.2014
" I LOVE this sweater! I own it in the off white and the black! Love it! I wear it with jeans, pants. I wear it off the shoulders or layered! Love the fit, very loose, and love the look! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Exquisite!
1.8.2014
" Yes! When fp does it well, they do it really, really well! This sweater is gorgeous. I love the fit, the slouch, the yarn, everything about this sweater is fabulous. Don't miss out on this before they're all gone; you will love! (5'8, 135 lbs, 34-27-37) ordered a small, and it is roomy w/slightly more fitted sleeves. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:curvy
LOVE
1.3.2014
" I got this jumper in the grey and absolutely love it. I usually take a large but am finding that now the mediums always fit best. its soft and cuddly. i've gotten many compliments on it - now i am thinking of getting the black one since its on sale! the only thing i think you should be aware of is that it is a bit see-thru so you will need to wear a tank under it - if i don't you can see my bra.... also - the sleeves are a bit tight. other than that - LOVE. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
So Cool
12.31.2013
" Love this beautiful, feminine sweater. It's incredibly thick and cozy. Looks Fantastic when worn off both shoulders. My only gripe is that it's way too boxy. I'm size 4, 32b cup, and the xs swallowed my figure completely. Will get it tailored. The gray color is cool and so versatile. xoxo "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Northern NJ
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Why stop at just one?
12.8.2013
" Why, indeed? I just received my third sweater, and now have it in all three colors! No, I'm not obsessive; I just know that when I love something, it pays to capitalize on it. This sweater is warm, flattering and very comforting now that the weather here in the Northeast has turned blustery. I have it in two sizes - medium and small, depending on what was available at the time. It does run rather large, and, although I'm generally a FP medium, I prefer this sweater in small. I'm still able to wear it with leggings and maintain my modesty, and it doesn't overpower my body. The sleeves are fitted, which prevents the piece from looking chunky, and I generally prefer to wear a sleek layering piece underneath, especially to keep my neck and shoulders warm at this time of year. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Not for me
11.24.2013
" I really wanted a nice and cosy sweater for winter and then this arrived. It looked so lovely in the pictures but for me in person well, not so much. First the sleeves, way too tight. Second the cowl had some kind of lining to stop it from slipping it also felt like I was trapped at the top of the sweater. Third the material this sweater is made of is cheap and it is see through and cold. I sent it back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous, very long!
11.12.2013
" I am usually a size S-M in Free People clothing but that is in itself odd as I am 5'10 and while I am quite thin, I usually take M or even L in other brands due to sleeve and hem length. Not so with FP and in part this top - so glad I read reviews and went for a Small (usually choose Medium to be safe). It is a very long jumper even on me and the sleeves are great. Very thing sleeves but stretchy and s shorter person can easily fold them and it'll still look great.
A tiiiiiny bit itchy due to high wool content but much better than I expected and can be worn with a short sleeved Tee underneath. Really love it, it feels so luxurious, kinda Sharon Stone in the beach scene in Basic Instinct feel... Showing my age, I know ;) Prividing it washes well, this will be a staple for years to come.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
Sweater I was looking for
11.4.2013
" Absolutely gorgeous material. This sweater is not itchy at all, quite soft and snugly. I ordered the grey with red stripes and it is a superb colour combination. Very striking and I can wear the neck in different ways, wear the sweater for casual or formal occasions. Love it. Had no issue with the sleeves. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Laguna Hills, Calif.
age:over 45
body type:slender
Snuggly and roomy
10.25.2013
" I got this sweater in xs and I am 5'5" 125 pounds and 36DD. Plenty of room yet not boxy. I love that you can wear the collar so many different ways. I wound up getting all 3 colors and know they will be my go to sweaters this winter along with the Fuzzy Fairisle sweaters. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Burlington, VT
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Gone Swimming
10.16.2013
" This sweater looks so cute in the photos! Then I get it and the fit is terrible:( The sleeves are tight, the armhole drop is way too low and the body is 3 times my body width! I look like I'm wearing a garbage bag. Too bad because it really looks amazing on the model! Size down, and only get this is you have small arms... any muscles and you are doomed. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Cozy Comfy Perfection
10.16.2013
" This sweater is so comfy and cozy. I was worried it would be too oversized (and make me look too slouchy) but it is perfect. I did size down - usually wear a medium but got a small. The weave is open, I plan to wear a cami under it. Perfect with skinny jeans and tall boots or booties. I can't wait till it's cold enough in TX to wear it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Perfection!
10.14.2013
" This sweater is rt up my alley! I LOVE the open-stitch texture, the over-sized look. This sweater is really well-made, yes it is somewhat see-through but I like that look & hate being hot. Ordered my customary S & it fits as intended, drapey & long. The only thing I wish was different was the seam attaching the cowl neck to the neckline of the sweater--it is very tight & probably won't stretch given the material used. I can only wear this off one shoulder--not both as shown on the model. This being said I do have broad muscular shoulders for my size. (5'5", 130lbs, 34C) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Engineered Stripe Cowl
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Runs large everywhere but the arms
10.8.2013
" If you like your sweaters oversized this is the one for you! The cowl and body of the sweater are boxy and large. The sleeves however run true to size. It's a long sweater, hitting about halfway down my thighs and slightly longer in the back than the front. All of the stripes are sheer, so the top portion is somewhat see-through over the bust.
I'm usually a small in Free People's sweaters. When I first tried this sweater in the small it felt really big, so I tried an x-small. But I found the sleeves way too tight on the x-small. So I'd say stick with your usual size, just be prepared for the body and cowlneck to be very loose and drapey. I'm 5'8", 34D, 34-29-39 for reference. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large