Product Reviews

FP ONE Cast Away Gown

Stunning pieced together sheer lace and embroidered mesh maxi dress with oversized eyelet decorated upper bodice. Deep "V" neckline in front. Straps crisscross in the back and tie together at the lower back. Straps are adjustable and are trimmed with neon yellow stitching. Lower portion of dress has neon pink stitch detailing at all edges. Fully lined. Bottom hem is raw edge. Dress is longer in some areas. FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Review 1 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:costa mesa, ca.
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Big Boobs need more coverage!
10.19.2013
"Bought this one for a wedding, tried it on in NYC in a small (sometimes i can wear a small or medium in FP) the small fit perfect waist down and the top part didn't cover. I am a 34DD.. So I ordered it in a medium. Sadly it arrived the day I had to leave for the wedding and I quickly had to take it in to alter the bust area. It's beautiful but this dress is better suited for the smaller chest gal.
My tailor added some black lace to the front bart of it to add a little more coverage. The plunging neckline is nice but once again better on a smaller chest gal. Also there is no support to the bust area. So you should be perky.
Is it worth $450, I would say NO and I regret having bought it at this price and not wait till it went on sale. I could see spending $200 but $450 was pricey plus I had to have lace added to it for more coverage. Other than that it's beautiful. I guess I am slightly modest.."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA, USA
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
a nice wedding dress
6.21.2013
"Hi I bought x_small. I love the dress.
I am 5'4 and 140pound. lately I have started buying fp clothes lots. love love love
I will the dress for my wedding in Las Vegas.
I hope they will make jeans length for short person .
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:St Albert
age:36-40
body type:curvy
AMAZING!...
5.8.2013
"This dress is simply beautiful!!! It's exactly what I dreamed of for my wedding day. Getting married on the beach in negril jamaica soon! I carefully read the reviews and was worried but it turned out more awesome then I expected. The added color of green on the straps and pink stitching makes the dress original and unique and it's not over powering its subtle. I will be wearing this dress for many years. It can be dressed up or down. I'm 5'9 and very curvy. It compliments my figure from head to toes. The length is perfect. Its just simply perfect! It was worth every penny"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Twin Cities, MN
age:26-30
body type:slender
In Love!
3.29.2013
"This dress is stunning! I love how sturdy the fabric is yet it is still such a delicate dress. The back is adjustable so you can make it fit according to your size. The dress is more of a cream color rather than white; which I actually prefer because it makes it more versatile.
The only complaint I have is that there is little support for your chest. I am an A to B cup and it still is a bit of trick to get the dress adjusted. I am 5’5’’ 111 pounds and I ordered the XS. Overall I love the dress and it looks amazing, even better in person!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA, USA
age:over 45
body type:slender
dissapointed
2.21.2013
"I was excited to get this dress as I thought it would be THE dress for our vow renewal ceremony in Hawaii. However the 'orange threads' carelessly sewn throughout in a haphazard and unfinished manner and "neon green' on the straps was a real turn off. I didn't bother to try the dress on. It is also much more 'tan' than ivory. See photo for detail. Color me disappointed. This is the fourth FP dress I've tried. Sigh.
I wish the photos truly represented the dresses. It's a big waste of time and resources.
"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.26.2013
We are so sorry that you were unhappy with the dress. A member of our support team will be in touch to offer assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:26-30
body type:petite
quite beautiful
2.20.2013
"This dress is better than the photos!! Yes the neon green detail on the straps and pink threading is very noticeable in the box, but once out of the package it blends perfectly into the dress. The lace on the skirt is unique and not so delicate I would fear ripping it. I am 5 4 , xs, and it isn't that long on me...maybe a few inches on the floor but I expect that at my height. I would keep this if i had a use for it but I don't, which kills me:)."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Fort Pierce
age:41-45
body type:slender
Uniquely Classy!
2.20.2013
"When I first saw this dress I knew I had to have it! I loved it in the photos and loved it even more when it arrived. The pink and yellow trim was absolutely stunning and added to the unique style of this dress. The fit was perfect and not too long at all. I am 5’5 and it hangs perfectly just barely touching the floor. The way the dress flows as you walk is absolutely magical and makes you feel like a princess. No complaints here…. Definitely one of my favorites!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:41-45
body type:slender
Long
2.17.2013
"I love the dress, however, the color stitching would make it not a forever one.... Once flour colors are out of fashion, the 450$ dress will be too. Also, the dress is way too long and you will step in it all the time, unless you are as tall as the model and wear high heels....which will end up ruining the dress. I will return mine too."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Beyond Amazing.
2.16.2013
"First of all: I DISAGREE with the first review. This dress is to die for. The colors in the online pictures are not quite right. The dress is more of a creamy ivory than a true white. It has pink thread that holds the pieced lace together, and in my opinion it only adds to the dress and makes it more versatile and much less formal. I usually wear a large but I tried it in a medium and it looked amazing! This hits your arm-pit in a a very flattering spot and prevents getting the little fat bubble that some halter styles create. The length was perfect at 5'9" and hit me just like it does the model. The back of this is AWESOME and totally adjustable. This can be made casual with a denim vest and boots. Seriously amazing dress."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:Miami
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Wow, neon? Really?
2.15.2013
"The dress looks lovely online, very girly and delicate. You can imagine my surprise when I pulled it out of the packaging to discover the all over neon pink stitching and neon green/yellow straps! The images online don't show these details AT ALL. I was so put off by the neon I sent it back right away. Disappointed to say the least. I wish FP would remake the dress without the neon threads..."
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Cast Away Gown
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
age:over 45
body type:slender
So disappointed!!!!!
2.14.2013
"I was very much looking forward to receiving this dress, despite having taken a gulp at the price tag. It looked so pretty online even though I had thought that it would have been better in pure white. When I received it today, I was shocked to see green trim on the straps and orange stitching running in a checkerboard pattern all over the lovely lace skirt! Those two additions made absolutely no sense in the design and took away from the beauty of the lace. As a result, the dress is going back without even taking it out of the plastic. It could have been stunning; what a design mistake."
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large