Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Ombre Foil Dress

Lace mini sleeveless dress with metallic dipped bottom. Fitted at the waist. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Customer Reviews for Ombre Foil Dress
Review 1 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Very favorite Dress
5.13.2014
" I really really love this dress. It looks great on my curves. The material is very stretchy. I have it in the black with the silver on the bottom. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
In Love!
4.11.2014
" I got this dress in blackberry and absolutely loved it. The colour is gorgeous I am super petite under 5ft and it still fit me really well (xs). I didnt even really notice the unfinished bottom in fact I think it adds to the dress. I think its super versatile also. I woe it to a banquet and am planning on wearing it to a wedding also. Worth its price. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:26-30
body type:slender
Adorable
3.27.2014
" I received this dress in purple a little over a year ago and absolutely adore it. It's really not something that I would have ever thought to purchase for myself, which is nice because I don't really own anything else like it. My only issue with it is that it's not very versatile and only rarely do I have an opportunity to wear it. That said, it is super cute and I found it to be a flattering fit for me. I wear a 32D, have a long torso, short legs, am about 5'7" and weigh 130 lb. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
NEW FAVE
3.4.2014
" Like all of FP fit and flare styles, this one is tight and form fitting. I usually wear an xs in FP and that's what I got. No fit problems (I'm 5' 8'', 125lbs with a small chest). I originally had the taupe color, but it really looks different from the picture, darker I would say (I just felt like it wasn't doing much for my skin color). I returned it, and decided to hold onto my $$$. My bf, however, bought me the ivory one. I prefer the color, especially the foil. It's kind of an ambiguous metal color so you can pair it with silver or gold. Love this dress, very flattering, looks great with boots. The hem is unfinished, but that unfinished look is what makes FP stuff special, IMO. Love the ribbon straps! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Pears beware?
2.13.2014
" Unfortunately, for me, this dress ultimately looked pretty bad on. I was excited to order the dress, and I knew when I ordered it that it probably wouldn't look as good in person as it does online, so I wasn't too surprised by the difference in the look of the quality (as expected, I thought it looked better online). While still a nice dress, I just thought the foiling effect looked cheaply done (on my dress - something I was willing to work with), the dress isn't hemmed, and the straps on my dress almost looked like bra straps (rather than more ribbon-y as they look online).
I'm 135lbs, 5'5", and ordered the medium, which fit comfortably and reached around my mid thigh in the middle of the dress.
What I didn't expect was the strange flaring out at the sides. It's almost as if the hem is longer on both sides of the dress. As in, noticeably, inches longer (very different than it appears online). Perhaps it was simply a bad batch, but it does appear upon closer inspection that the dress does get a bit longer on the sides in pics online, but not inches longer. For someone who wants to accentuate their hips, this probably won't be a problem, but for a pear shaped gal, this didn't help and made the fit look terrible on me. Regardless of how much I wanted to love this dress (I had been planning on wearing it to my brother's wedding after wanting to buy it for awhile), there was no way that fit was going to work for me.
Non pears, I say go for it. It's pretty in its simplicity (albeit not spectacular quality for ~$100 in my opinion, it's still an interesting and different idea for a dress). The unexpected skirt shape, which looked weird on my body shape and didn't work for me, seems to look stunning on others.
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Saskatchewan
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Amazing
2.11.2014
" This dress was absolutely great. It fit perfectly, and was exactly as described. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it and it lived up to my expectations. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Savannah,Ga
age:14-20
body type:slender
A Good but Tight Fit
2.8.2014
" So I got this dress in the blackberry combo and I love it. It's very appealing to the eye and seems to be well made. The Ombre looks well in the combination and the foil portion is shimmery but not too loud. More of a subtle glimmer. This issue is with the fit. I usually wear an extra small in FP clothing but I read about the bust issue so I sized up. This dress does run a little small and snug in the chest area which can be a pain for people with my body type. I'm extremely thin all over but I have a not even busty figure but a full in the chest area so while the bust fits a little snugly the rest of the dress is very loose on me. I'm having it taken in but if you are thin with a bit more of a chest this might not be the dress for you because you might have to alter it. Over all it's great the chest area could just a little bit more give room. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Poorly Made
2.5.2014
" I found this dress in the store and loved it! I usually wear a medium at free people but since they only had one left- a small- I tried it on and it fit perfectly! The first time I put the dress on after purchasing it, the front of both straps started to fray as I was rushing to get dressed. BUT, I wanted to wear it to a party so I sewed the straps more securely rather than returning it. It's cheaply made for the price, but so unique I couldn't resist! "
Response from Free People:By Free People2.6.2014
Hi doxiesal,

We're sorry to hear about your dress. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, Washington
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful but poorly made
1.24.2014
" This dress is gorgeous and i get all sorts of complements but i wore it two times and it already has a large hole in the front by the waistline :( With how expensive it is you would think it could withstand more than a couple wears. I love free people and i'm really disappointed with this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Stunning
12.30.2013
" Only worn it once and I have received many compliments. However, I always fit a size small at FP, and the small for this dress fit everywhere except for the bust. My advice is order a size up if you happen to be busty. The darker part of the dress is a bit sticky, but in the blackberry combo it seems to flow a lot better in person. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Houston, Texas
age:14-20
body type:slender
gorgeous but...
12.26.2013
" I am 5'2, 120 lbs and a 34C and I ordered the blackberry combo in XS. I immediately fell in love with the color and uniqueness of this dress. However, the fit was a bit off. The fabric would bunch up next to the zipper area on the side, making me look like i had misplaced fat above my hips, which was extremely unflattering and annoying. Overall beautiful dress with poor fit "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
age:14-20
body type:petite
First Purchase
12.9.2013
" This is my first purchase from free people and I'm glad to say I'm quite satisfied. I live in Canada which takes longer to arrive because they use USPS then transfers to Canada Post. It took about a week and a half to arrive. Overall this dress was very comfortable and flattering, it has a layer under the the lace because it's see through, but the material is very comfortable. The straps however are cheap for a $100 dress (at least they're adjustable!). Another slight issue is that the chest area is a little tight, I am usually a XS in any stores and I'm 5'2 with a 32C-34C. The length of the dress was to my mid thigh and I plan to use this dress as my birthday dress. Very pleased with my first purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
I love it
11.27.2013
" I ordered the black in a medium and it cites me perfect! I kinda have a big butt and usually dresses are way shorter in the back but this dress is the perfect length. I love it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous but SHORT
11.26.2013
" First of all, a small is my go-to size in Free People. I am around 140 lbs and 5'9. If this model is 5'10, I find it hard to believe she's wearing a small unless the length of this dress varies by dress. I find it way too short and not age appropriate for me. I wanted to wear it New Year's Eve. I was also terrified about the size of the top until I discovered the zipper, but it's still a little hard to get on.
Once on, it doesn't feel too tight on me, but looks a little bad in the area around my front shoulders. I fear that sizing up might be too loose though.
Other than that it's gorgeous and the lining is super soft and comfortable.
I really love it but am on the fence about returning it or even sizing up. I think a shorter girl could pull it off much better than I can. I got it in the black - very funky and festive. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Such a disappointment!
11.24.2013
" I ordered this dress in a small in the blackberry combo and was very disappointed. What looks like a pretty ombre effect online actually looks like a dress dipped in paint in person. The bottom of the dress has a very unappealing and almost sticky texture and looks vaguely like an oil spill. Also, the seam that should go across the waist droops at the sides in a very unflattering way. The straps are also slightly too long. All in all, the dress is not nearly as pretty in person as shown online "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:26-30
body type:petite
Quality is lacking for the price
11.22.2013
" I received this as a birthday present 2 months ago, the XS fits just a tad bigger than I would like (5'3, 110lbs, 30D, 26in waist), but the real issue is the quality. It is very thin and sheer. Make sure you wear flesh-toned undies! The stretchy lace overlay is pilling and falling apart and most of the gold foil has come off in the wash. The care instructions are machine wash cold; I took an extra step by washing it inside out in a laundry bag in an effort to preserve the gold, but no dice. I leave a trail of gold flakes wherever I sit. Now one of the straps has come undone at the seam and I don't think I can wear it anymore. For almost a $100 I expect this dress to last more than 2 months. Such a bummer because it is a very cute and versatile dress and can be worn many ways across many seasons. Very disappointing FP. I am one unhappy customer. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Manchester, UK
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Not as amazing as I was expecting it to be.
11.12.2013
" I had very high expectations for this dress but when it arrived I was surprisingly dissapointed! Definitely not what I expected, it's so simple apart from the foiling. As it is still a very pretty dress, I deliberated over keeping it for at least a week before deciding to return it. I have my eye on a few more dresses which I would much prefer, so I made the right decision to return.
I bought a small and for ref I am a 32DD, 26, 34 UK size 8-10, US 4-6. This dress was actually lose around my waist.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Delighted with this dress
11.10.2013
" This dress is fantastic. I only discovered this site recently and this is one of my first purchases and I am thrilled with it. I am around 156lb and 5ft 8 inc and it fits perfect in the medium..a little loose on top maybe as I am a pear but easily adjusted with the straps. Also the skirt is quite long which makes it very pretty. Thrilled with this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:New York City, New York
age:14-20
body type:petite
Great Holiday Dress!
11.3.2013
" I am 5'2", 95 lbs. and 32B and the XS fit well in the top, but a bit loose in the waist and slightly long - it went a few inches above my knee. The quality is great and I love the adjustable straps! The ombre is very subtle yet elegant. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ombre Foil Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Claus, GA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
What I think
11.2.2013
" It's a nice dress. I wouldn't mind getting it someday. "
0 of 17 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>