Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Rugged Herringbone Coat

pHerringbone jacket with detachable hood that is plaid lined and has detachable faux fur trim. Drawstring ties at the hood, waistband and bottom hem. Two front pockets with buckle tab and snap air vent on the back. Back is slightly longer than front. Detachable faux shearling vest. Hidden zip front and snap closure. pp 100 Cotton br Machine Wash br Importedbr Faux Fur ppMeasurements for Size 6 br Length 30 58br Chest 40 br Waist 41 p
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Review 1 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:Alta Loma, Ca
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
I like this coat
1.19.2010
" I really like this coat because of the price I got it for only $30.00 on sale on the freepeople site. I am 34b and 5 feet and 8 inches and I got size 2 and this coat runs small. I wish I could have got a size 4. I would have also bought the bark color since that would have been more versatile since I usually wear jeans but that was not available. I love the jeans look, I would have rathered dark denim and the Herder's Denim Coat was no longer available at the time. I like the faux shearling vest that is detatchable so you can take it out depending on the weather. Its really warm too. I was at my friend's house and I put the coat over me and it was so warm I fell asleep in it. The sleeves are not warm, that's actually one of the places that I feel the cold. The sleeves are too tight when you try to wear a sweater the sleeves bunch up. I do not like the plaid, it looks old and cheap. When I wore this the other day the snaps on the vest kept popping off when I put my arms in it. I was in the rain and it was freezing so I didn't have time to readjust it. I love the detatchable hood and detatchable fur trim on hood so you can have different looks. The hood is really warm and big so you can't really see to well but I rather that then a small hood. I love the ties to adjust the fit at the hood, waist and the back where their is snaps at the back that you can let out which is also longer than the front. I like to hide my butt when I am wearing a coat and keep it warm. I hate when coats are not long enough to keep you warm. I love the pockets! It can be a pain getting in and out of when you need to get something fast, so I just open it up a little bit. When the vest is on, it creates bulk and can be uncomfortable. There is no shape to the jacket when its on and looks a little strange. I also wear the vest over other clothes and other jackets when I am not wearing this jacket. I love the invisible zipper so you can create more warmth. I like the buttons on the cuff to make it smaller or bigger. Of course I got a size 2, so it does me no good. My arms are very skinny and long so I wish I could have got a 4 instead but there was no more. The sleeves are too short but I cover it by wearing gloves that are long to keep the draft out. I am afraid that its going to shrink since its 100% cotton. Its a pain to try to pull sleeves down that I am wearing under the jacket. I have to dig under the sleeve and the sleeve gets bunched up. So, I am happy I didn't pay full price for it. But, at the sale price its almost perfect. I have got compliments from my friend and my sister that really like my coat how it looks vintage and cute. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 2 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love My New Coat
3.29.2009
" With the unusually cold weather we have had this winter, I have been so glad that I purchased this WARM coat. It has a liner that snaps in & out, and a removable hood, which makes the jacket more versatile and will allow me to wear it into the spring. It was a little smaller than I had anticipated... but not too small to wear (I like my coats a little over-sized). The lining is quite warm, but can sometimes be a bit cumbersome when putting the jacket on (will ride up in the back a bit). It's worth the trouble, however, as the jacket really keeps me warm. I've had a lot of compliments on this coat. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:VT
age:21-25
body type:athletic
So so
2.8.2009
" I really like the overall look of the coat and everything, but it's definitely not the best quality coat I own. I have only had it for 4 days and already one of the pockets has completely come unstitched, and the hood is enormous and the fur is always coming unbuttoned!! The lining vest also is really inconvenient to have in, and is bulky. I do really like the flannel lined sleeves though and the material is very soft. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:Indiana, Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:petite
Warm and Fuzzy
2.6.2009
" I love how warm this jacket is, however it's a bit of a pain to put on because of the interior vest. The vest scrunches up so you have to adjust it when you get the jacket on. I also had to remove the fur on the hood because it comepletely covers my eyes when I have the hood up so I can't see. Overall it keeps me warm in the cold wester PA weather but it isn't very practical. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Easily the most versatile piece of outerwear I own
1.30.2009
" I was a bit surprised how flattering this jacket was on me. Especially since clothing here can run extremely small and I'm quite curvy. I love how there are multiple looks to this, as you can remove the hood and/or inner vest, wear it in the very cold to the kind of cold. Great investment.. and it's my first free people purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:baltimore, md
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
functional jacket
1.29.2009
" i love how this jacket can be worn for more than one season. however with the lining in it feels super bulky and makes you look like a marshmallow. but it's super cute just as the shell! love it =] "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:mv
age:14-20
body type:slender
great
1.26.2009
" really warm and cute! the lining is too big when you cinch the waist though...but that's not a big deal. my favorite coat! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:califonia
age:21-25
body type:slender
cute coat
1.5.2009
" This coat is cute and warm..
I bought the blue, size 2.
I usually wear size 2 for free people's jaket, but this one is large on shoulder part.
overall, I like this coat.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Called Bark on package - shipped the blue one
12.24.2008
" I ordered the Bark version of this jacket. They shipped the Blue jacket in a Bark bag. The bark version is what my daughter had her heart set on. Stupid me, i did not open the box until it was 2 days before Christmas. Of course, there are no more Bark jackets left. So, i am disappointed with their mismanging and i do not like the Blue version. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:Arlington
age:14-20
body type:petite
SIMPLY PERFECT
12.15.2008
" What can I say, I love this jacket. Its warm enough that it actually keeps me warm, and the vest on the inside, and the fur on the hood are so soft!! Definetly worth it!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:ohio (mostly)
age:14-20
body type:athletic
couldn't be better if it tried
12.14.2008
" i don't often write reviews... but i couldn't resist. i am in love with this jacket.
bought the blue online with a little uncertainty, but it got here, and now i live in it. end of story.
its oh-so comfortable! and hey, maybe its not meant for extreme cold climates like antarctica, but i go to school in ohio and its just great for that-- i will even try to wear this in the spring and fall.
a ton of ways to wear it. lots of compliments-- boys especially seem to dig it. huh.
so, if you're even a little thinking about buying this jacket... buy it. WONDERFUL. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:little ole pennsylvania
age:14-20
body type:slender
uh oh!
12.1.2008
" this jacket is fantastic and fits me perfectly. ( size 6) and the detachable vest feels so nice and is realy comfortable. the only problem i had was with one of the sleeves. one of the sleeves i guess had some stitching problem. but i returned it and am getting a new one. :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Perfect!
12.1.2008
" I love this coat so much! I was kind of scared to buy it at first because I was afraid it would be too long (I'm 5'2'', long coats look weird on me), but it's perfect! It's also incredibly warm and comfy. I bought the blue version, size 4 and it is wonderful! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:ithaca, ny
age:14-20
body type:slender
impressed...!
10.28.2008
" i'm a college student tight on budget.
the removable vest keeps you pretty much warm and dry (even in horrible upstate ny weather) but the arms, which do not really have that much lining are cold...
for the price i would say the jacket is definitely worth it.
it looks perfect with wool skirt, leggings, and snug winter boots :)
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:MV, CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
LOVE this jacket!
10.28.2008
" My favorit part is the hood, I like how it frames the face. I bought the bark color and I love it! The inner lining does come out but the good thing is that the arms have a flannel lining to keep you warm on those winter nights. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Rugged Herringbone Coat
Name:
Location:Ardmore
age:14-20
body type:petite
This will keep you WARM! I Promise
8.22.2008
" Wow! This has to be the softest, warmest coat I have ever put on. I will live in this when it gets colder. You can take the lining out and zip the hood off to make a lightweight fall jacket. Fits true to size! I love the lighter color, it feels very vintage! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large